yes, therapy helps!
Differences between Love, Sadism, Masochism and Sadomasochism

Differences between Love, Sadism, Masochism and Sadomasochism

May 19, 2024

Masochism is defined as the sexual perversion of those who enjoy being humiliated or mistreated by another person (Of L. von Sacher-Masoch, 1836-1895, Austrian novelist). Sadism is defined as the sexual perversion of those who provoke their own excitement committing acts of cruelty in another person (From D. A. François, Marquis de Sade, 1740-1814, French writer).

Differentiating between Sadism, Masochism and Sadomasochism

These behaviors that we have always related as something unhealthy and related to sexual perversion, are that they have a psychological basis, which is not very different from the basis that unites the couple relationships, which are supposed to be based on emotional factors.


Psychological profile

Erich Fromm (1900), German psychoanalyst, considered that people in pairs, emotionally dependent on others, they tend to have masochistic and sadistic impulses towards their partner , as a result of the fear of being left alone, he explains it in the following way:

The goal of the masochist is to abandon his own individual identity, which is free, since he considers that the condition of freedom of the individual means loneliness, something that terrifies him, that is why he seeks something or someone to whom to chain his self. Sadism shares with masochism that fear of being found only when it loses its object of subjection. So the masochist and the sadist, create the union of an individual self with another, capable of making each one lose the integrity of their personality, making them reciprocally dependent, with a common goal, not to be alone.

It is therefore possible to differentiate between sadomasochism, sadism and masochism. For Fromm, in his book The fear to the freedom [ 1], masochistic character traits such as sadists tend to help the individual escape from their unbearable feeling of loneliness and impotence. And that fear is manifested in the three possible ways.


Masochistic behaviors

  • The person feels small and helpless : the person tries to submit to another, to which he grants an overwhelming force on her, is able to convince himself that he can not do anything to avoid it, since he recognizes himself as smaller and helpless.
  • Let yourself be overwhelmed by pain and agony , people think you have to pay a cost of suffering, but in the end will come inner peace and tranquility, we think it is the price you have to pay for not being alone, even knowing that the end of happiness usually does not come .
  • Abandon to the effect of intoxication z: the person prefers to renounce his own self, his own personality, giving it to another individual who will make decisions for her, will assume responsibilities for her, but as part of a person, she will not feel alone and will not have to assume doubts in the decision making

Sadistic behaviors

The person tries to dominate and have power over another , but not to destroy it but to keep it by its side.


In people both masochistic and sadistic behaviors oscillate in time, these masochistic behaviors are present in relationships and are considered as expressions of love, sadistic behaviors are considered expressions of jealousy and obsession with the couple.

So now, we can reflect on ourselves and question whether we prefer individual freedom and face loneliness or we prefer to submit to someone or manipulate a third party just to not find ourselves alone.

If you think you are in a situation of abuse, we recommend reading this post: "The 30 signs of psychological abuse in a relationship"

Bibliographic references:

  • Fromm, E. (1993). the fear to the freedom. Masterpieces of Contemporary Thought. Barcelona. Planeta-Agostini

Understanding Sadomasochism (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Différences entre amour, sadisme, masochisme et sadomasochisme

Différences entre amour, sadisme, masochisme et sadomasochisme

Septembre 1, 2022

Le masochisme est défini comme le perversion sexuelle chez ceux qui aiment être humiliés ou maltraités par une autre personne (De L. von Sacher-Masoch, 1836-1895, romancier autrichien). Le sadisme est défini comme le perversion sexuelle de ceux qui provoquent leur propre excitation en commettant des actes de cruauté envers une autre personne (De D. A. François, marquis de Sade, 1740-1814, écrivain français).

Différencier le sadisme, le masochisme et le sadomasochisme

Ces comportements, que nous avons toujours associés à quelque chose de malsain et liés à la perversion sexuelle, sont qu’ils ont une base psychologique, qui n’est pas très différente de la base qui unit les relations de couple, supposées être basées sur des facteurs émotionnels.


Profil psychologique

Erich Fromm (1900), psychanalyste allemand, considérait que les personnes par paires, émotionnellement dépendantes des autres, ils ont tendance à avoir des pulsions masochistes et sadiques envers leur partenaire , en raison de la peur de rester seul, il l'explique de la manière suivante:

L’objectif du masochiste est d’abandonner sa propre identité individuelle, qui est libre, car il considère que la condition de liberté de l’individu est synonyme de solitude, de chose qui le terrifie, c’est pourquoi il cherche quelque chose ou une personne à qui s’enchaîner. Le sadisme partage avec le masochisme cette crainte de n'être trouvé que lorsqu'il perd son objet de sujétion. Ainsi, le masochiste et le sadiste créent l'union d'un individu individuel avec un autre, capable de faire perdre à chacun l'intégrité de sa personnalité, les rendant réciproquement dépendants, avec un objectif commun, ne pas être seuls.

Il est donc possible de différencier le sadomasochisme, le sadisme et le masochisme. Pour Fromm, dans son livre La peur de la liberté [ 1], les traits de caractère masochistes tels que les sadiques ont tendance à aider l'individu à échapper à son insupportable sentiment de solitude et d'impuissance. Et cette peur se manifeste de trois manières.


Comportements masochistes

  • La personne se sent petit et impuissant : la personne qui essaie de se soumettre à une autre, à laquelle elle accorde une force écrasante, parvient à se convaincre qu’elle ne peut rien faire pour l’éviter, puisqu’elle se reconnaît plus petite et impuissante.
  • Laissez-vous submerger par la douleur et l'agonie , les gens pensent que vous devez payer un coût de souffrance, mais à la fin viendra la paix et la tranquillité intérieures, nous pensons que c’est le prix à payer pour ne pas être seul, même en sachant que la fin du bonheur n'arrive généralement pas .
  • Abandonner sous l'effet de l'ivresse z: la personne préfère renoncer à elle-même, sa propre personnalité, la confier à une autre personne qui prendra les décisions à sa place, assumera ses responsabilités, mais en tant que personne, elle ne se sentira pas seule et ne devra pas assumer de doutes la prise de décisions.

Comportements sadiques

La personne essaie de dominer et d'avoir le pouvoir sur une autre , mais pas pour le détruire, mais pour le garder à ses côtés.


Chez les personnes, les comportements masochistes et sadiques oscillent dans le temps, ces comportements masochistes sont présents dans les relations et sont considérés comme des expressions de l'amour, les comportements sadiques sont considérés comme des expressions de la jalousie et de l'obsession du couple.

Alors maintenant, nous pouvons réfléchir sur nous-mêmes et nous demander si nous préférons la liberté individuelle et faire face à la solitude ou si nous préférons nous soumettre à quelqu'un ou manipuler un tiers simplement pour ne pas nous retrouver seuls.

Si vous pensez être en situation de maltraitance, nous vous recommandons de lire le post suivant: "Les 30 signes de maltraitance psychologique dans une relation"

Références bibliographiques:

  • Fromm, E. (1993). La peur de la liberté. Chefs-d'œuvre de la pensée contemporaine. Barcelone Planeta-Agostini

Qu'est-ce que le sado-masochisme ? (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes