yes, therapy helps!
Differences between pedophilia and pedophilia

Differences between pedophilia and pedophilia

October 1, 2022

Child sexual abuse is a serious crime that has serious effects on the psychological development of minors. Most people use the terms "pedophile" and "pedophile" interchangeably to refer to those who perform these types of acts, considering them synonymous.

However, although deeply linked both concepts do not refer exactly to the same. That is why in this article we propose to distinguish and show the differences between pedophilia and pedophilia .

Defining pedophilia

Pedophilia or pedophilia is a paraphilia, that is, a disorder of sexual inclination that is characterized by the presence of recurrent fantasies and producing a high level of sexual arousal in which the object of desire is an object, persons or non-consents entities or a situation of humiliation and own and others' suffering. The experimentation of said fantasies can lead to their realization and / or feelings of intense discomfort for those who suffer.


In the specific case of pedophilia, the object of desire or what causes sexual attraction are prepubertal children . Specifically, a chronophilia can be considered, because there is a great difference between the age of the subject and that of the object of desire. For its diagnosis it is necessary that the subject is over sixteen years of age and that the victim or object of desire is at least five years younger.

As a general rule the pedophile will seek contact with his object of desire, often resorting to pornographic images and self-stimulation based on his fantasies, but you do not have to try to have sex .

What do we call pedophilia?

With regard to pedophiles, they are considered as such individuals in which the fantasies of the pedophile have been brought to reality. That is, pedophilia is the committing a sexual abuse to menore s .


Within this abuse comes all that conduct in which the child is used as a sexual object by an individual with whom there is a relationship of inequality in relation to age, power or maturity.

It is a criminal practice punishable by law that can cause serious repercussions in the present and / or future psychosocial and sexual development of the child attacked. Even if the sexual relationship is consented to by the minor, if this is below the age of sexual consent, the act itself will be considered abuse, being classified as a violation. The consensual sexual connection between subjects at the end of adolescence with individuals of at least thirteen years is not taken into account as such.

  • Related article: "Prevent and detect early childhood sexual abuse"

Common elements and main differences

Having visualized the definitions of both pedophilia and pedophilia, it is easy to establish what elements they have in common and how they differ.


In both cases there is talk of the presence of an illicit link between an adult and a minor, there being a romantic or sexual attraction from the former to the latter. This attraction occurs continuously over time, persisting for at least six months.

The main difference is in the fact that the sexual attraction is concrete or not in an action . While a pedophile can only feel the impulse and maintain recurring fantasies of a sexual nature in which his object of desire is underage, a pedophile is considered to be the one who has committed the sexual act itself. In other words, while the pedophile has had sexual relations with a boy or girl, the pedophile fails to perform the act (in which case he would become a pedophile).

So that not all pedophiles are pedophiles , while as a general rule, every pedophile is a pedophile. However, this is not always true either, since it is possible to find cases of sexual abuse of minors without them being subject to sexual preference on the part of the adult.

Criminal chargeability

Pedophilia is a disorder of the sexual inclination or the choice of the sexual object, this choice of the sexual object being limited. However, as a general rule, the sufferer is perfectly able to realize what it means for the children involved , the damages caused and the fact that it is a serious crime typified by law. Their decision-making capacity is not altered, with which they are fully responsible for their actions.

In this way, pedophilia and various activities carried out by pedophiles (corruption of minors, creation, possession or possession of child pornography, etc.) are punishable by law, and are considered as imputable to most of these individuals.

  • Related article: "7 myths about child sexual abuse (pedophilia)"

Bibliographic references:

  • American Psychiatric Association.(2013). Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. Fifth edition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelona.
  • Echeburúa, E. and Guerricaechevarría, C. (2005). Sexual abuse in childhood: victims and aggressors. A clinical approach 2nd edition. Ariel, Barcelona.

Sickboy: The Science of Pedophilia (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Différences entre pédophilie et pédophilie

Différences entre pédophilie et pédophilie

Septembre 27, 2022

La maltraitance sexuelle d'enfants est un crime grave qui a de graves conséquences sur le développement psychologique des mineurs. La plupart des gens utilisent les termes "pédophile" et "pédophile" de manière interchangeable pour désigner ceux qui commettent ce type d'actes, qu'ils considèrent comme synonymes.

Cependant, bien que profondément liés, les deux concepts ne se réfèrent pas exactement au même. C’est pourquoi, dans cet article, nous proposons de distinguer et de montrer les différences entre pédophilie et pédophilie .

Définir la pédophilie

Pédophilie ou pédophilie est une paraphilie, c’est-à-dire un trouble de l’inclination sexuelle caractérisé par la présence de fantasmes récurrents et produisant un niveau élevé d’excitation sexuelle dans lequel l’objet du désir est un objet, des personnes ou des entités sans consentement ou une situation d'humiliation et de souffrance personnelle et d'autrui. L'expérimentation de dit les fantasmes peuvent conduire à leur réalisation et / ou à un sentiment de malaise intense pour ceux qui souffrent.


Dans le cas spécifique de la pédophilie, l’objet du désir ou la cause de l’attir sexuel sont enfants prépubères . Plus précisément, une chronophilie peut être envisagée, car il existe une grande différence entre l'âge du sujet et celui de l'objet du désir. Pour le diagnostic, il est nécessaire que le sujet ait plus de seize ans et que la victime ou l'objet de désir soit au moins cinq ans plus jeune.

En règle générale, le pédophile cherchera le contact avec son objet de désir, en recourant souvent à des images pornographiques et à une auto-stimulation basée sur ses fantasmes, mais tu n'as pas besoin d'essayer d'avoir des relations sexuelles .

Comment appelle-t-on la pédophilie?

Les pédophiles sont considérés comme des individus dans lesquels les fantasmes du pédophile ont été réalisés. C’est-à-dire que la pédophilie est la commettre un abus sexuel à menore s .


Cette maltraitance englobe tous les comportements dans lesquels l’enfant est utilisé comme objet sexuel par un individu avec lequel il existe un lien d’inégalité par rapport à l’âge, au pouvoir ou à la maturité.

C'est un pratique criminelle punissable par la loi qui peuvent avoir de graves répercussions sur le développement psychosocial et sexuel actuel et / ou futur de l'enfant attaqué. Même si le mineur a consenti à la relation sexuelle, si cet âge est inférieur à l'âge du consentement sexuel, l'acte lui-même sera considéré comme un abus, classé comme une violation. Le lien sexuel consensuel entre des sujets de fin d'adolescence et des individus d'au moins treize ans n'est pas pris en compte en tant que tel.

  • Article connexe: "Prévenir et détecter les abus sexuels dans la petite enfance"

Éléments communs et principales différences

Après avoir visualisé les définitions de pédophilie et de pédophilie, il est facile d’établir quels éléments elles ont en commun et en quoi elles diffèrent.


Dans les deux cas, on parle de la présence d'un lien illicite entre un adulte et un mineur, l'attirance amoureuse ou sexuelle de l'un à l'autre. Cette attraction se produit de manière continue dans le temps et dure au moins six mois.

La principale différence réside dans le fait que l'attirance sexuelle est concrète ou non dans une action . Alors qu'un pédophile ne peut que ressentir l'impulsion et maintenir des fantasmes récurrents de nature sexuelle dans lesquels son objet de désir est mineur, un pédophile est considéré comme celui qui a commis l'acte sexuel lui-même. En d'autres termes, alors que le pédophile a eu des relations sexuelles avec un garçon ou une fille, le pédophile omet d'accomplir l'acte (auquel cas il deviendrait pédophile).

Donc tous les pédophiles ne sont pas pédophiles En règle générale, tout pédophile est un pédophile. Cependant, cela n’est pas toujours vrai non plus, car il est possible de trouver des cas d’abus sexuels sur mineurs sans qu’ils soient soumis à la préférence sexuelle de la part de l’adulte.

Charge criminelle

La pédophilie est un trouble de l'inclinaison sexuelle ou du choix de l'objet sexuel, ce choix de l'objet sexuel étant limité. Cependant, en règle générale, le patient est parfaitement capable de réaliser ce que cela signifie pour les enfants impliqués , les dommages causés et le fait qu’il s’agit d’un crime grave caractérisé par la loi. Leur capacité décisionnelle n’est pas altérée, ce qui les rend pleinement responsables de leurs actes.

Ainsi, la pédophilie et diverses activités des pédophiles (corruption de mineurs, création, possession ou possession de pornographie juvénile, etc.) sont punies par la loi et sont considérées comme imputables à la plupart de ces personnes.

  • Article connexe: "7 mythes sur les abus sexuels sur enfants (pédophilie)"

Références bibliographiques:

  • Association américaine de psychiatrie.(2013). Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux. Cinquième édition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelone.
  • Echeburúa, E. et Guerricaechevarría, C. (2005). Abus sexuel dans l'enfance: victimes et agresseurs. Une approche clinique 2ème édition. Ariel, Barcelone.

2.C Différence entre vraie et fausse pédophilie (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes