yes, therapy helps!
Differences between personality, temperament and character

Differences between personality, temperament and character

November 17, 2022

In everyday language the terms "personality", "temperament" and "character" are often used interchangeably; However, from Psychology, clear limits have been established between these three concepts, which account for differentiated aspects of human experience.

In this article we will define what personality, temperament and character are . For this we will make a brief review of the etymology of the terms and the use that has been given throughout history, as well as the point of view of scientific psychology with respect to their differences and similarities.

  • Related article: "The 5 big personality traits: sociability, responsibility, openness, kindness and neuroticism"

What is temperament?

When talking about temperament we are referring to the biological and instinctive dimension of personality , which manifests itself before the rest of the factors. During the life of any person the environmental influences that it receives interact with its temperamental base, giving rise to the features that will characterize it and differentiate it from the rest.


The temperament is determined by the genetic inheritance, which influences in a very remarkable way in the functioning of the nervous and endocrine systems , that is, in the relative influence of different neurotransmitters and hormones. Other innate aspects, such as the level of brain alertness, are also important for the development of the personality.

These individual differences generate variations in different traits and predispositions; for example, the hyperreactivity of the sympathetic nervous system favors the occurrence of anxiety sensations, while extroverts are characterized by chronically low levels of cortical activation, according to the PEN model described by Hans Eysenck.


Historical evolution of the concept

In Ancient Greece the celebrated physician Hippocrates asserted that human personality and disease depended on balance or imbalance between four bodily humors: yellow bile, black bile, phlegm and blood .

In the second century AD, about 500 years later, Galen of Pergamum created a temperamental typology that classified people according to prevailing mood. In the choleric type the yellow bile predominated, in the melancholic the black, in the phlegmatic the phlegm and in the blood the blood.

Much later, already in the twentieth century, authors like Eysenck and Pavlov developed theories of personality based on biology. Like Hippocrates and Galen models, both used stability (Neuroticism-Emotional Stability) and activity (Extraversion-Introversion) of the central nervous system as basic differentiating criteria.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Emotional people: 10 features and characteristics that define them"

Defining the character

The character is the learned component of personality . It appears as a consequence of the experiences that we live, that influence our way of being modulating the biological predispositions and tendencies, that is, temperamental.

While there is not as much agreement about the definition of character as in the case of temperament, most proposals highlight the fact that it is derived from social interaction . This means that it depends on the context in which we develop, and therefore has a cultural origin.

At the beginning of the XX century the study of the character, or characterology, was a predominant tendency that would end up being replaced by the Psychology of the Personality; In the end, these perspectives were not too different from current models. Ernst Kretschmer and William Stern stand out among the authors who worked with the concept of character.

Currently in many cases no distinction is made between these elements , character and personality. Strictly speaking, the first term specifically designates the part of our nature that is determined by the environment, but the difficulty of separating it from the temperament makes the definitions of character and personality frequently overlap.

Personality: the sum of biology and environment

In psychology, the term "personality" is defined as a organization of emotions, cognitions and behaviors that determine the behavior patterns of a person. In the formation of the personality both the biological basis (temperament) and the environmental influences (character) intervene.

Therefore, the most remarkable aspect of the personality in comparison with the concepts of temperament and character is that it encompasses both. Given the difficulties in defining what part of the way of being is given by inheritance and what by the environment, this term it is more useful than the previous ones at a theoretical and practical level .

From psychology, a large number of conceptions of personality have been offered. One of the most influential is Gordon Allport, which also highlights the mental and behavioral manifestations and the organizational component, although it adds a factor of dynamism (continuous interaction with the environment) and individual specificity.

Every psychological theory about personality highlights different aspects of human experience. In addition to Allport's individualistic theory, among the most important are Eysenck's, which focuses on the biological dimensions, and those of the humanists Rogers and Maslow.

It is important too mention the situationist models , that approach the concept of personality to the behavior. From these perspectives, it is proposed that human behavior depends not so much on mental constructs as on environmental influences in a specific situation, or that personality is a behavioral repertoire.

History of the word "personality"

In Ancient Greece the word "person" was used to refer to the masks worn by the theater actors. Later, in Rome, it would be used as a synonym for "citizen", designating mainly the social roles of privileged and influential individuals.

Over time, the term "person" began to refer to the individual as being differentiated from their environment. "Personality", which was derived from this word, has been used since the Middle Ages to describe a series of characteristics that determine the behavioral tendencies of a person .


The 4 Temperaments (November 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Différences entre personnalité, tempérament et caractère

Différences entre personnalité, tempérament et caractère

Mai 16, 2022

Dans le langage courant, les termes "personnalité", "tempérament" et "caractère" sont souvent utilisés de manière interchangeable; Cependant, de la psychologie, des limites claires ont été établies entre ces trois concepts, qui représentent des aspects différenciés de l'expérience humaine.

Dans cet article nous définirons ce que sont la personnalité, le tempérament et le caractère . Pour cela, nous ferons un bref survol de l'étymologie des termes et de l'usage qui en a été donné au cours de l'histoire, ainsi que du point de vue de la psychologie scientifique en ce qui concerne leurs différences et leurs similitudes.

  • Article connexe: "Les 5 grands traits de personnalité: sociabilité, responsabilité, ouverture d'esprit, gentillesse et neuroticisme"

Quel est le tempérament?

Quand on parle de tempérament on parle de la dimension biologique et instinctive de la personnalité , qui se manifeste avant le reste des facteurs. Au cours de la vie d’une personne, les influences environnementales qu’elle reçoit interagissent avec sa base de tempérament, donnant lieu aux caractéristiques qui la caractériseront et la différencieront des autres.


Le tempérament est déterminé par le patrimoine génétique, qui influe de manière très remarquable sur le fonctionnement des systèmes nerveux et endocrinien c'est-à-dire l'influence relative de différents neurotransmetteurs et hormones. D'autres aspects innés, tels que le niveau de vigilance du cerveau, sont également importants pour le développement de la personnalité.

Ces différences individuelles génèrent des variations dans différents traits et prédispositions; Par exemple, l'hyperréactivité du système nerveux sympathique favorise l'apparition de sensations d'anxiété, tandis que les extravertis sont caractérisés par des niveaux d'activation corticale chroniquement bas, selon le modèle PEN décrit par Hans Eysenck.


Evolution historique du concept

Dans la Grèce antique, le célèbre médecin Hippocrate affirmait que la personnalité et la maladie humaines dépendaient de l'équilibre ou du déséquilibre entre quatre humeurs corporelles: bile jaune, bile noire, mucosités et sang .

Au deuxième siècle de notre ère, environ 500 ans plus tard, Galen of Pergamum créa une typologie de tempérament qui classait les personnes en fonction de l'humeur prédominante. Dans le type colérique, la bile jaune prédominait, dans le mélancolique le noir, dans le flegmatique le flegme et dans le sang le sang.

Beaucoup plus tard, déjà au vingtième siècle, des auteurs comme Eysenck et Pavlov ont développé des théories de la personnalité basée sur la biologie. À l'instar des modèles d'Hippocrate et de Galen, tous deux utilisaient la stabilité (extraversion-introversion) et l'activité (extraversion-introversion) du système nerveux central comme critères de différenciation de base.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Personnes émotives: 10 caractéristiques et caractéristiques qui les définissent"

Définir le personnage

Le personnage est le composant appris de la personnalité . Cela apparaît comme une conséquence des expériences que nous vivons, qui influencent notre façon de moduler les prédispositions et les tendances biologiques, c’est-à-dire le tempérament.

Bien qu’il n’y ait pas autant d’accord sur la définition du caractère que dans le cas du tempérament, la plupart des propositions soulignent le fait que il est dérivé de l'interaction sociale . Cela signifie que cela dépend du contexte dans lequel nous évoluons et a donc une origine culturelle.

Au début du XXe siècle, l’étude du caractère, ou de la caractérologie, était une tendance prédominante qui finirait par être remplacée par la psychologie de la personnalité; Au final, ces perspectives ne différaient pas trop des modèles actuels. Ernst Kretschmer et William Stern se distinguent parmi les auteurs qui ont travaillé avec le concept de personnage.

Actuellement dans de nombreux cas aucune distinction n'est faite entre ces éléments , caractère et personnalité. Strictement parlant, le premier terme désigne spécifiquement la partie de notre nature qui est déterminée par l'environnement, mais la difficulté de le séparer du tempérament fait que les définitions de caractère et de personnalité se chevauchent fréquemment.

Personnalité: la somme de la biologie et de l'environnement

En psychologie, le terme "personnalité" est défini comme un organisation des émotions, des cognitions et des comportements qui déterminent les modèles de comportement d'une personne. Dans la formation de la personnalité interviennent à la fois la base biologique (tempérament) et les influences environnementales (le caractère).

Par conséquent, l’aspect le plus remarquable de la personnalité par rapport aux concepts de tempérament et de caractère est qu’il englobe les deux. Étant donné la difficulté de définir quelle partie de la façon d’être est donnée par l’héritage et quelle est l’environnement, ce terme il est plus utile que les précédents au niveau théorique et pratique .

De la psychologie, un grand nombre de conceptions de la personnalité ont été proposées. Gordon Allport, l’un des plus influents, met également en évidence les manifestations mentales et comportementales et la composante organisationnelle, bien qu’il ajoute un facteur de dynamisme (interaction continue avec l’environnement) et de spécificité individuelle.

Toute théorie psychologique sur la personnalité met en évidence différents aspects de l'expérience humaine. Outre la théorie individualiste d'Allport, les plus importantes sont celles d'Eysenck, qui se concentre sur les dimensions biologiques, et celles des humanistes Rogers et Maslow.

C'est important aussi mentionner les modèles situationnistes , qui aborde le concept de personnalité du comportement. Dans cette perspective, il est proposé que le comportement humain ne dépende pas tant des constructions mentales que des influences environnementales dans une situation donnée, ni que la personnalité soit un répertoire comportemental.

Histoire du mot "personnalité"

Dans la Grèce antique, le mot "personne" était utilisé pour désigner les masques portés par les acteurs de théâtre. Plus tard, à Rome, il serait utilisé comme synonyme de "citoyen", désignant principalement les rôles sociaux d'individus privilégiés et influents.

Au fil du temps, le terme "personne" a commencé à se référer à la personne comme différenciée de son environnement. La «personnalité», qui dérive de ce mot, est utilisée depuis le Moyen Âge pour décrire une série de caractéristiques qui déterminent les tendances comportementales d'une personne .


Caractère + Tempérament = PERSONNALITÉ (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes