yes, therapy helps!
Differences between the antisocial personality and the asocial personality

Differences between the antisocial personality and the asocial personality

October 4, 2022

Even though the antisocial and asocial personality are often confused in the common language , the truth is that it is two ways of being very different: the first is considered pathological because it is associated with harm to other people (antisocial behavior), while asociality refers to the lack of interest in interaction.

In this article we will describe in detail what they are and how antisocial and disocial personality differ . For this we will mainly rely on the diagnostic criteria of the DSM-IV psychological manual, as well as on contributions from other experts.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Differences between extraverted, introverted and timid people"

What is the antisocial personality?

Antisocial personality is considered a type of chronic psychological disorder. The DSM-IV lists it as "Antisocial Personality Disorder" within the category "Personality Disorders"; in the case of the ICD 10 it is included among the "Specific personality disorders".


The antisocial personality disorder is characterized by recurrent behaviors that involve contempt and / or violation of the rights of other people . According to the DSM-IV, at least 3 of the following diagnostic criteria must be met:

  • Repeated non-compliance with laws that can lead to arrests.
  • Lies and dishonest behaviors in order to obtain benefits or pleasure.
  • Impulsivity and lack of planning for the future.
  • Irritability and aggressiveness that manifest themselves in physical and / or verbal aggressions.
  • Lack of concern for their own safety and / or that of others.
  • Maintained irresponsibility; for example, inability to comply with economic and labor obligations.
  • Absence of remorse regarding harmful behavior.

To be able to diagnose antisocial personality disorder it is necessary that the person is at least 18 years old , as well as that some of the criteria described have been present since the age of 15 or earlier.


  • Related article: "Antisocial Personality Disorder: causes, symptoms and treatment"

Dissocial disorder as an early manifestation

Before the age of majority, persistent antisocial behaviors are classified with the label "Dissocial disorder", which the DSM-IV includes in the category "Disorders of attention deficit and disturbing behavior", in turn one of the sections of the macro-category "Disorders of onset in childhood, childhood or adolescence" .

The diagnostic criteria of the disorder also focus on the violation of the rights of other people. In particular, the criteria are categorized into four blocks: aggression against people and animals (physical cruelty, armed robbery, etc.), destruction of property (eg causing fires), fraud or theft and serious violations of regulations.


The dissocial disorder is considered the precursor of antisocial disorder , more serious since it occurs in more advanced stages of development. The earlier the symptoms appear ("Dyssocial disorder of onset in childhood"), the more likely it is that they will be serious and that they will remain as an adult as an antisocial personality disorder.

Defining asociality

The term "asocial" is used to describe the people who do not feel interest in social interaction or that they prefer to be alone. It is a characteristic not pathological especially of very introverted people, although in today's society, dominated by extroverted personalities, it is usually seen as problematic.

Hans Eysenck proposed that the degree of extraversion of people depends on the activity of the central nervous system, specifically the ascending reticular activating system (SARA). Extroverted people have a low level of activation, so they require a lot of external stimulation; the opposite happens with the introverts.

In this sense, it seems likely that many people qualified as asocial are simply very introverted , to the point that external stimulation, including social stimulation, becomes more or less unpleasant. Environmental factors can also influence the development of this personality type, on the other hand.

As it is not a pathology, the diagnostic manuals do not include any "asocial personality disorder", as it does with the antisocial disorder. However, some psychological disorders are clearly related to the lack of social interest and the lack of pleasure in interacting with other people.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 4 differences between shyness and social phobia"

Related psychological disorders

There are several personality disorders collected in the DSM-IV that are characterized in a remarkable way by asociality. In particular, schizoid personality disorder is defined as a pattern of behavior in which the tendency to isolation, emotional coldness, apathy and lack of interest in social relationships predominate.

The schizotypal disorder is also related to asociality, although in this case the lack of social contact is due more to social anxiety (which does not diminish with familiarity) and extravagant behavior. In schizophrenia, which is related to this disorder and the previous one, similar asocial signs can occur.

People with avoidant personality disorder , on the other hand, they would like to relate more but they are overcome by anxiety and by the fear of making a fool of themselves. Avoidant disorder is considered an extreme manifestation of social phobia (or social anxiety), in which asocial behaviors can also occur.

  • Related article: "Personality Disorder by Avoidance: extreme shyness?"

What is the difference between them?

Certainly there are few similarities between these two personality types; The frequent confusion between antisociality and asociality is fundamentally due to the superficial similarity between the two words , more than the fact that they share characteristics.

In particular, the word "antisocial" is usually used to describe asocial behaviors, that is, related to the lack of interest in social relationships. However, the concept of antisocial personality refers to actions against society and those who compose it, not the passive rejection of social interaction.

The prefix "anti-" means "opposite to", "against" or "preventing"; thus, in a literal way, antisocial persons are those who oppose social norms and / or act against others. Instead the prefix "a-" indicates negation or absence (we could translate it as "without"), so that asociality would be the lack of social interaction .

In any case, and given that these are two different personality dimensions, antisociality and asociality do not have to exclude each other. In fact, it is relatively common for people with antisocial disorder to feel some degree of rejection of social interaction, in a way that we could qualify as misanthrope.


ADHD and Anti-Social Personality Disorder: Minimizing the Risks (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Différences entre la personnalité antisociale et la personnalité asociale

Différences entre la personnalité antisociale et la personnalité asociale

Juillet 18, 2022

Bien que les personnalités antisociales et asociales sont souvent confondues dans la langue commune , la vérité est qu’il s’agit de deux manières d’être très différentes: la première est considérée comme pathologique car elle est associée à des atteintes à autrui (comportement antisocial), tandis que l’asocialité renvoie au manque d’intérêt pour l’interaction.

Dans cet article, nous allons décrire en détail ce qu’ils sont et comment les personnalités antisociales et disociales diffèrent . Pour ce faire, nous nous appuierons principalement sur les critères de diagnostic du manuel psychologique du DSM-IV, ainsi que sur les contributions d’autres experts.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Différences entre personnes extraverties, introverties et timides"

Quelle est la personnalité antisociale?

La personnalité antisociale est considérée comme un type de trouble psychologique chronique. Le DSM-IV le répertorie comme "trouble de la personnalité antisociale" dans la catégorie "Troubles de la personnalité"; dans le cas de la CIM 10, il fait partie des «troubles de la personnalité spécifiques».


Le trouble de la personnalité antisociale est caractérisé par des comportements récurrents qui impliquent le mépris et / ou violation des droits d'autrui . Selon le DSM-IV, au moins 3 des critères de diagnostic suivants doivent être remplis:

  • Non-respect répété des lois pouvant mener à des arrestations.
  • Mensonges et comportements malhonnêtes pour obtenir des bénéfices ou du plaisir.
  • Impulsivité et manque de planification pour l'avenir.
  • Irritabilité et agressivité qui se manifestent par des agressions physiques et / ou verbales.
  • Absence de préoccupation pour leur propre sécurité et / ou celle des autres.
  • Irresponsabilité maintenue; par exemple, incapacité à respecter les obligations économiques et de travail.
  • Absence de remords concernant un comportement néfaste.

Pour pouvoir diagnostiquer un trouble de la personnalité antisocial il faut que la personne ait au moins 18 ans , ainsi que certains des critères décrits sont présents depuis l’âge de 15 ans ou avant.


  • Article connexe: "Trouble de la personnalité antisociale: causes, symptômes et traitement"

Trouble dissocial en tant que manifestation précoce

Avant l'âge de la majorité, les comportements antisociaux persistants sont classés avec l'étiquette "Trouble dissocial", que le DSM-IV inclut dans la catégorie "Troubles du déficit de l'attention et comportement dérangeant", l'un des chapitres de la macro-catégorie. "Troubles de l'apparition dans l'enfance, l'enfance ou l'adolescence" .

Les critères de diagnostic de la maladie sont également axés sur la violation des droits d'autrui. Les critères sont classés en quatre catégories: agression contre des personnes et des animaux (cruauté physique, vol à main armée, etc.), destruction de biens (par exemple, incendies), fraude ou vol et violations graves de la réglementation.


Le désordre dissocial est considéré comme le précurseur du désordre antisocial , plus grave car il se produit à des stades plus avancés de développement. Plus les symptômes apparaissent tôt («trouble dyssocial d'apparition dans l'enfance»), plus il est probable qu'ils seront graves et qu'ils resteront à l'âge adulte en tant que trouble de la personnalité antisocial.

Définir l'asocialité

Le terme "asocial" est utilisé pour décrire le les personnes qui ne ressentent aucun intérêt pour l'interaction sociale ou qu'ils préfèrent être seuls. C'est une caractéristique non pathologique, en particulier chez les personnes très introverties, bien que dans la société d'aujourd'hui, dominée par des personnalités extraverties, elle soit généralement considérée comme problématique.

Hans Eysenck a suggéré que le degré d'extraversion des personnes dépend de l'activité du système nerveux central, en particulier du système d'activation du réticule ascendant (SARA). Les personnes extraverties ont un faible niveau d'activation, elles ont donc besoin de beaucoup de stimulation externe. l'inverse se produit avec les introvertis.

En ce sens, il semble probable que beaucoup de les personnes qualifiées comme asociales sont tout simplement très introverties , au point que la stimulation externe, y compris la stimulation sociale, devient plus ou moins désagréable. Les facteurs environnementaux peuvent également influer sur le développement de ce type de personnalité, en revanche.

Comme il ne s'agit pas d'une pathologie, les manuels de diagnostic n'incluent aucun "trouble de la personnalité asociale", comme c'est le cas du trouble antisocial. Cependant, certains troubles psychologiques sont clairement liés au manque d’intérêt social et au manque de plaisir à interagir avec d’autres personnes.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Les 4 différences entre timidité et phobie sociale"

Troubles psychologiques liés

Il y a plusieurs troubles de la personnalité recueillis dans le DSM-IV qui se caractérisent de manière remarquable par l’asocialité. En particulier, le trouble de la personnalité schizoïde est défini comme un type de comportement dans lequel prédominent la tendance à l'isolement, la froideur émotionnelle, l'apathie et le manque d'intérêt pour les relations sociales.

Le trouble schizotypique est également lié à l'asocialité, bien que dans ce cas, le manque de contact social soit davantage dû à l'anxiété sociale (qui ne diminue pas avec la familiarité) et au comportement extravagant. Dans la schizophrénie, qui est liée à ce trouble et au précédent, des signes asociaux similaires peuvent survenir.

Personnes ayant un trouble de la personnalité évitante d’autre part, ils aimeraient parler plus, mais ils sont submergés par l’anxiété et par la peur de se ridiculiser. Le trouble évitant est considéré comme une manifestation extrême de la phobie sociale (ou de l’anxiété sociale), dans laquelle des comportements asociaux peuvent également se produire.

  • Article connexe: "Trouble de la personnalité par évitement: timidité extrême?"

Comment sont-ils différents?

Certes, il y a peu de similitudes entre ces deux types de personnalité; La confusion fréquente entre antisocialité et asocialité est fondamentalement due à la similitude superficielle entre les deux mots , plus que le fait qu'ils partagent des caractéristiques.

En particulier, le mot "antisocial" est généralement utilisé pour décrire des comportements asociaux, c'est-à-dire liés au manque d'intérêt pour les relations sociales. Cependant, le concept de personnalité antisociale fait référence à des actions contre la société et ceux qui le composent, pas le rejet passif de l'interaction sociale.

Le préfixe "anti-" signifie "opposé à", "contre" ou "empêchant"; ainsi, de manière littérale, les personnes antisociales sont celles qui s'opposent aux normes sociales et / ou agissent contre les autres. Au lieu de cela, le préfixe "a-" indique une négation ou une absence (nous pourrions le traduire par "sans"), de sorte que asocialité serait le manque d'interaction sociale .

Quoi qu’il en soit, et étant donné qu’il s’agit de deux dimensions de la personnalité différentes, l’antisocialité et l’asocialité ne doivent pas nécessairement s’exclure. En fait, il est relativement courant que les personnes atteintes de troubles antisociaux ressentent un certain degré de rejet de l'interaction sociale, d'une manière que nous pourrions qualifier de misanthrope.


QUELLE EST LA DIFFÉRENCE ENTRE LE TROUBLE DE LA PERSONNALITÉ NARCISSIQUE ET LE NARCISSISME NORMAL (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes