yes, therapy helps!
Differences in the expression of mental disorders between the West and Japan

Differences in the expression of mental disorders between the West and Japan

May 6, 2021

The differences in the expression of psychopathologies between Japan and the West have a great cultural component, and this includes the different manifestations of the pathologies according to the region, sex and environmental pressures. The philosophical differences between the West and Japan are tangible in family, interpersonal and self-development relationships.

But one can observe an approach of the pathologies from one region to the other, due to the current socioeconomic context derived from globalization.

Psychological disorders: differences and similarities between the West and Japan

A clear example could be the proliferation of the Hikikomori phenomenon in the West. This phenomenon observed initially in Japan is breaking through in the West, and the number continues to grow. Piagetian theories on evolutionary development show similar patterns in terms of maturation in different cultures, but In the case of psychopathologies, it can be observed how in adolescence and childhood the first signs begin to appear .


The high rate of maladaptive personality patterns found in this sector of the population is of interest due to the relevance of childhood and adolescence as a period of development in which a wide variety of disorders and symptoms may occur. psychopathological (Fonseca, 2013).

How do we perceive psychopathologies according to our cultural context?

The manifestation of psychopathologies is seen differently according to the West and Japan. For example, the pictures classically qualified as hysteria they are in clear decline in Western culture . This type of reaction has come to be considered a sign of weakness and lack of self-control and it would be a socially less tolerated form of expression of emotions. Something very different from what happened, for example, in the Victorian era in which fainting was a sign of sensitivity and delicacy (Pérez, 2004).


The conclusion that can be drawn from the following could be that according to the historical moment and the behavior patterns considered acceptable, they shape the expression of psychopathologies and intra and interpersonal communication. If we compare epidemiological studies carried out on soldiers in World War I and II, we can observe the almost disappearance of the conversion and hysterical pictures, being replaced mostly by anxiety and somatization pictures. This appears indifferently from the social class or intellectual level of the military ranks, which indicates that the cultural factor would predominate over the intellectual level when determining the form of distress expression (Pérez, 2004).

Hikikomori, born in Japan and expanding around the world

In the case of the phenomenon called Hikikomori, whose literal meaning is "to move away, or to be confined", it can be seen how it is currently classified as a disorder within the DSM-V manual, but due to its complexity, comorbidity, differential diagnosis and little diagnostic specification, It does not yet exist as a psychological disorder, but as a phenomenon that acquires characteristics of different disorders (Teo, 2010).


To illustrate this, a recent three-month study led Japanese child psychiatrists to examine 463 cases of young people under 21 years of age with the signs of the so-called Hikikomori. According to the criteria of the DSM-IV-TR manual, the 6 diagnoses most frequently detected are: generalized developmental disorder (31%), generalized anxiety disorder (10%), dysthymia (10%), adaptive disorder (9%) , obsessive-compulsive disorder (9%) and schizophrenia (9%) (Watabe et al, 2008), cited by Teo (2010).

The differential diagnosis of Hikikomori is very broad, we can find psychotic disorders such as schizophrenia, anxiety disorders such as post-traumatic stress, major depressive disorder or other mood disorders, and schizoid personality disorder or personality avoidant disorder, among others. (Teo, 2010). There is no consensus yet on the categorization of the phenomenon Hikikomori to enter as a disorder in the manual DSM-V, being considered as a syndrome rooted in culture according to the article (Teo, 2010). In Japanese society, the term Hikikomori is more socially accepted, because they are more reluctant to use psychiatric labels (Jorm et al, 2005), cited by Teo (2010). The conclusion drawn from this in the article could be that the term Hikikomori is less stigmatizing than other labels for psychological disorders.

Globalization, economic crisis and mental illness

In order to understand a phenomenon rooted in a type of culture, we must study the socio-economic and historical framework of the region . The context of globalization and global economic crisis reveals a collapse of the labor market for young people, which in societies with deeper and stricter roots, forces young people to find new ways to manage transitions even when they are in a rigid system . Under these circumstances, anomalous patterns of response to situations are presented, where tradition does not provide methods or clues for adaptation, thus reducing the possibilities of reducing the development of pathologies (Furlong, 2008).

Relating to the aforementioned on the development of pathologies in childhood and adolescence, we see in Japanese society how parental relationships greatly influence . Parental styles that do not promote the communication of emotions, overprotection (Vertue, 2003) or aggressive styles (Genuis, 1994; Scher, 2000) cited by Furlong (2008), are related to anxiety disorders. The development of the personality in an environment with risk factors can be triggers of the Hikikomori phenomenon even if a direct causality is not demonstrated due to the complexity of the phenomenon.

Psychotherapy and cultural differences

In order to apply effective psychotherapy for patients from different cultures, a cultural competence in two dimensions is necessary: ​​generic and specific. The generic competence includes the knowledge and skills necessary to perform their work competently in any cross-cultural encounter, while the specific competence refers to the knowledge and techniques necessary to practice with patients from a specific cultural environment (Lo & Fung, 2003), cited by Wen-Shing (2004).

Patient-therapist relationship

Regarding the patient-therapist relationship, we must bear in mind that each culture has a different conception about hierarchical relationships, including the patient-therapist, and act according to the constructed concept of the patient's culture of origin (Wen-Shing , 2004). The latter is very important in order to create a climate of trust towards the therapist, otherwise there would be situations in which communication would not arrive effectively and the perception of the therapist's respect for the patient would be compromised. The transfer Y against transfer it should be detected as soon as possible, but if psychotherapy is not given according to the receptor's culture it will not be effective or it could be complicated (Comas-Díaz & Jacobsen, 1991; Schachter & Butts, 1968), cited by Wen-Shing (2004).

Therapeutic approaches

Also the focus between cognition or experience is an important point, in the West the inheritance of the "logos" and the Socratic philosophy becomes patent, and the experience of the moment is given greater emphasis even without an understanding at the cognitive level. In Eastern cultures, a cognitive and rational approach is followed to understand the nature that causes the problems and how to deal with them. An example of Asian therapy is the "Morita Therapy" originally called "Therapy of the experience of a new life". Unique in Japan, for patients with neurotic disorders, is to stay in bed for 1 or 2 weeks as the first stage of therapy, then begin to re-experience life without obsessive or neurotic concerns (Wen-Shing, 2004). The objective of Asian therapies focuses on experiential and cognitive experience, as in meditation.

A very important aspect to take into account in the selection of therapy is the concept of self Y ego in all its spectrum depending on culture (Wen-Shing, 2004), since in addition to culture, socioeconomic situation, work, resources for adapting to change, influences when creating self-perception as discussed above, in addition to communicating with others about emotions and psychological symptoms. An example of the creation of self and ego can occur in relationships with superiors or family members, it should be mentioned that passive-aggressive parental relationships are considered immature by Western psychiatrists (Gabbard, 1995), quoted by Wen-Shing (2004), while in Eastern societies, this behavior is adaptive. This affects the perception of reality and the assumption of responsibilities.

In conclusion

There are differences in the manifestations of psychopathologies in the West and Japan or Eastern societies in the perception of them, constructed by culture. Thus, to perform appropriate psychotherapies, these differences must be taken into account . The concept of mental health and relationships with people are shaped by tradition and by the prevailing socio-economic and historical moments, since in the globalizing context in which we find ourselves, it is necessary to reinvent mechanisms of coping with changes, all of them from the different cultural perspectives, since they are part of the wealth of collective knowledge and diversity.

And finally, be aware of the risk of the somatization of psychopathologies due to what is considered socially accepted according to culture, since it affects the different regions in the same way, but the manifestations of them should not be due to differentiation between sexes, socioeconomic classes or various distinctions.

Bibliographic references:

  • Pérez Sales, Pau (2004). Psychology and transcultural psychiatry, practical bases for action. Bilbao: Desclée De Brouwer.
  • Fonseca, E .; Paino, M .; Lemos, S .; Muñiz, J. (2013). Characteristics of the adaptive personality patterns of Cluster C in the general adolescent population. Spanish Acts of Psychiatry; 41 (2), 98-106.
  • Teo, A., Gaw, A. (2010). Hikikomori, a Japanese Culture-Bound Syndrome of Social Withdrawal ?: A Proposal for DSM-5. Journal of Nervous & Mental Disease; 198 (6), 444-449. doi: 10.1097 / NMD.0b013e3181e086b1.

  • Furlong, A. (2008). The Japanese hikikomori phenomenon: acute social withdrawal among young people. The Sociological Review; 56 (2), 309-325. doi: 10.1111 / j.1467-954X.2008.00790.x.

  • Krieg, A .; Dickie, J. (2013). Attachment and hikikomori: A psychosocial developmental model. International Journal of Social Psychiatry, 59 (1), 61-72. doi: 10.1177 / 0020764011423182

  • Villaseñor, S., Rojas, C., Albarrán, A., Gonzáles, A. (2006). A cross-cultural approach to depression. Journal of Neuro-Psychiatry, 69 (1-4), 43-50.
  • Wen-Shing, T. (2004). Culture and psychotherapy: Asian perspectives. Journal of Mental Health, 13 (2), 151-161.

Western & Japanese RPGs - II: Narrative vs. Expression - Extra Credits (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Différences d'expression des troubles mentaux entre l'Occident et le Japon

Différences d'expression des troubles mentaux entre l'Occident et le Japon

Mai 22, 2019

Les différences dans l'expression des psychopathologies entre le Japon et l'Occident ont une grande composante culturelle, et cela inclut les différentes manifestations des pathologies selon la région, le sexe et les pressions environnementales. Les différences philosophiques entre l’Occident et le Japon sont tangibles dans les relations familiales, interpersonnelles et de développement personnel.

Mais on peut observer une approche des pathologies d’une région à l’autre, en raison du contexte socio-économique actuel issu de la mondialisation.

Troubles psychologiques: différences et similitudes entre l'Occident et le Japon

Un exemple clair pourrait être la prolifération du phénomène Hikikomori en Occident. Ce phénomène, observé initialement au Japon, est en train de se développer à l’Ouest et son nombre ne cesse de croître. Les théories piagétiennes sur le développement évolutif montrent des tendances similaires en termes de maturation dans différentes cultures, mais Dans le cas des psychopathologies, on peut observer comment apparaissent les premiers signes à l'adolescence et à l'enfance .


Le taux élevé de schémas de personnalité mésadaptés observés dans ce secteur de la population présente un intérêt en raison de la pertinence de l'enfance et de l'adolescence en tant que période de développement au cours de laquelle une grande variété de troubles et de symptômes peuvent survenir. psychopathologique (Fonseca, 2013).

Comment percevons-nous les psychopathologies en fonction de notre contexte culturel?

La manifestation des psychopathologies est vue différemment selon l'Occident et le Japon. Par exemple, les images classiquement qualifiées de l'hystérie ils sont en net déclin dans la culture occidentale . Ce type de réaction est désormais considéré comme un signe de faiblesse et de manque de maîtrise de soi et constituerait une forme d'expression des émotions socialement moins tolérée. Quelque chose de très différent de ce qui s'est passé, par exemple, à l'époque victorienne, où l'évanouissement était un signe de sensibilité et de délicatesse (Pérez, 2004).


La conclusion que l'on peut tirer de ce qui suit pourrait être que, selon le moment historique et les modes de comportement considérés comme acceptables, ils façonnent l'expression des psychopathologies et de la communication intra et interpersonnelle. Si nous comparons les études épidémiologiques effectuées sur les soldats lors des deux guerres mondiales, nous pouvons observer la quasi-disparition des images de conversion et hystériques, remplacées principalement par des images d'anxiété et de somatisation. Cela apparaît indifféremment de la classe sociale ou du niveau intellectuel des rangs militaires, ce qui indique que le facteur culturel prédominera sur le niveau intellectuel lors de la détermination de la forme d'expression de détresse (Pérez, 2004).

Hikikomori, né au Japon et en expansion dans le monde entier

Dans le cas du phénomène appelé Hikikomori, dont le sens littéral est "s'éloigner ou être confiné", on peut voir comment il est actuellement classé dans le désordre dans le manuel du DSM-V, mais en raison de sa complexité, de la comorbidité, du diagnostic différentiel et petite spécification de diagnostic, Il n’existe pas encore en tant que trouble psychologique, mais en tant que phénomène qui acquiert les caractéristiques de différents troubles. (Teo, 2010).


Pour illustrer cela, une étude récente de trois mois a conduit les pédopsychiatres japonais à examiner 463 cas de jeunes de moins de 21 ans présentant les signes du soi-disant Hikikomori. Selon les critères du manuel DSM-IV-TR, les 6 diagnostics les plus fréquemment détectés sont: trouble du développement généralisé (31%), trouble d'anxiété généralisé (10%), dysthymie (10%), trouble d'adaptation (9%). , trouble obsessionnel-compulsif (9%) et schizophrénie (9%) (Watabe et al, 2008), cité par Teo (2010).

Le diagnostic différentiel d'Hikikomori est très large, on peut trouver des troubles psychotiques tels que la schizophrénie, des troubles anxieux tels que le stress post-traumatique, un trouble dépressif majeur ou d'autres troubles de l'humeur, et un trouble de la personnalité schizoïde ou évitant de la personnalité, entre autres. (Teo, 2010). Il n'y a pas encore de consensus sur la catégorisation du phénomène Hikikomori à entrer comme trouble dans le manuel DSM-V, considéré comme un syndrome enraciné dans la culture selon l'article (Teo, 2010). Dans la société japonaise, le terme Hikikomori est plus accepté socialement, car ils hésitent davantage à utiliser des étiquettes psychiatriques (Jorm et al, 2005), cités par Teo (2010). La conclusion qui en découle dans l'article pourrait être que le terme Hikikomori est moins stigmatisant que d'autres libellés de troubles psychologiques.

Mondialisation, crise économique et maladie mentale

Pour comprendre un phénomène enraciné dans un type de culture, il faut étudier le cadre socio-économique et historique de la région . Le contexte de la mondialisation et de la crise économique mondiale révèle un effondrement du marché du travail pour les jeunes, qui, dans des sociétés aux racines plus profondes et plus strictes, les oblige à trouver de nouveaux moyens de gérer les transitions, même dans un système rigide . Dans ces circonstances, des schémas anormaux de réponse aux situations sont présentés, où la tradition ne fournit pas de méthodes ni d'indices d'adaptation, réduisant ainsi les possibilités de réduire le développement de pathologies (Furlong, 2008).

Concernant ce qui précède sur le développement de pathologies chez l’enfant et l’adolescence, on constate dans la société japonaise comment les relations parentales influencent grandement . Les styles parentaux qui ne favorisent pas la communication des émotions, la surprotection (Vertue, 2003) ou les styles agressifs (Genuis, 1994; Scher, 2000) cités par Furlong (2008), sont liés aux troubles anxieux. Le développement de la personnalité dans un environnement avec des facteurs de risque peut être le déclencheur du phénomène Hikikomori même si une causalité directe n’est pas démontrée en raison de la complexité du phénomène.

Psychothérapie et différences culturelles

Pour appliquer une psychothérapie efficace à des patients de différentes cultures, une compétence culturelle à deux dimensions est nécessaire: générique et spécifique. La compétence générique inclut les connaissances et les compétences nécessaires pour effectuer son travail avec compétence lors de toute rencontre interculturelle, tandis que la compétence spécifique fait référence aux connaissances et techniques nécessaires pour exercer auprès de patients issus d'un environnement culturel spécifique (Lo & Fung, 2003), cité par Wen-Shing (2004).

Relation patient-thérapeute

En ce qui concerne la relation patient-thérapeute, nous devons garder à l’esprit que chaque culture a une conception différente des relations hiérarchiques, y compris le patient thérapeute, et agit selon le concept construit de la culture d’origine du patient (Wen-Shing , 2004). Cette dernière est très importante pour créer un climat de confiance avec le thérapeute, sinon il y aurait des situations dans lesquelles la communication ne serait pas efficace et la perception du respect du thérapeute envers le patient serait compromise. Le transfert et contre transfert elle doit être détectée le plus tôt possible, mais si la psychothérapie n'est pas administrée en fonction de la culture du récepteur, elle ne sera ni efficace ni compliquée (Comas-Díaz & Jacobsen, 1991; Schachter & Butts, 1968), cité par Wen-Shing. (2004).

Approches thérapeutiques

De plus, la focalisation entre la cognition et l'expérience est un point important. En Occident, l'héritage des "logos" et la philosophie socratique deviennent patents et l'expérience du moment est davantage mise en avant, même sans compréhension au niveau cognitif. Dans les cultures orientales, une approche cognitive et rationnelle est suivie pour comprendre la nature qui cause les problèmes et comment les résoudre. Un exemple de thérapie asiatique est la "Thérapie Morita" appelée à l'origine "Thérapie de l'expérience d'une nouvelle vie". Au Japon, la première étape du traitement est unique au Japon pour les patients atteints de troubles névrotiques: rester au lit pendant 1 ou 2 semaines, puis commencer à revivre la vie sans soucis obsessionnels ou névrotiques (Wen-Shing, 2004). L'objectif des thérapies asiatiques se concentre sur l'expérience expérientielle et cognitive, comme dans la méditation.

Un aspect très important à prendre en compte dans le choix de la thérapie est le concept de soi et ego dans tout son spectre en fonction de la culture (Wen-Shing, 2004), car outre la culture, la situation socio-économique, le travail, les ressources pour s’adapter au changement, les influences pour créer une perception de soi telle que discutée ci-dessus, en plus de communiquer avec les autres sur les émotions et les symptômes psychologiques. Un exemple de création de soi et d'ego peut se produire dans les relations avec les supérieurs ou les membres de la famille. Il convient de mentionner que les relations parentales passives-agressives sont considérées comme immatures par les psychiatres occidentaux (Gabbard, 1995), citées par Wen-Shing. (2004), alors que dans les sociétés orientales, ce comportement est adaptatif. Cela affecte la perception de la réalité et la prise de responsabilités.

En guise de conclusion

Il existe des différences dans les manifestations des psychopathologies dans les sociétés occidentales et japonaises ou orientales dans leur perception, construites par la culture. Pour lui, psychothérapies appropriées, ces différences doivent être prises en compte . Le concept de santé mentale et les relations avec les personnes sont façonnés par la tradition et par les moments socio-économiques et historiques prédominants, car, dans le contexte de globalisation dans lequel nous nous trouvons, il est nécessaire de réinventer les mécanismes d'adaptation aux changements, tous sous des perspectives culturelles différentes, car ils font partie de la richesse du savoir collectif et de la diversité.

Et enfin, prendre conscience du risque de somatisation des psychopathologies du fait de ce qui est considéré socialement accepté selon la culture, dans la mesure où il affecte les différentes régions de la même manière, mais que leur manifestation ne devrait pas être due à la différenciation entre les sexes, les classes socio-économiques. ou diverses distinctions.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Pérez Sales, Pau (2004). Psychologie et psychiatrie transculturelle, bases pratiques de l'action. Bilbao: Desclée De Brouwer.
  • Fonseca, E.; Paino, M.; Lemos, S .; Muñiz, J. (2013). Caractéristiques des modèles de personnalité adaptative du groupe C dans la population générale adolescente. Actes de psychiatrie espagnols; 41 (2), 98-106.
  • Teo, A., Gaw, A. (2010). Hikikomori, un syndrome de retrait social lié à la culture japonaise?: Une proposition pour le DSM-5. Journal of Nervous & Mental Disease; 198 (6), 444-449. doi: 10.1097 / NMD.0b013e3181e086b1.

  • Furlong, A. (2008). Phénomène hikikomori japonais: retrait social aigu chez les jeunes. La revue sociologique; 56 (2), 309-325. doi: 10.1111 / j.1467-954X.2008.00790.x.

  • Krieg, A .; Dickie, J. (2013). Attachement et hikikomori: un modèle de développement psychosocial. Journal international de psychiatrie sociale, 59 (1), 61-72. doi: 10.1177 / 0020764011423182

  • Villaseñor, S., C. Rojas, A. Albarrán, A. Gonzáles (2006). Une approche interculturelle de la dépression. Journal of Neuro-Psychiatry, 69 (1-4), 43-50.
  • Wen-Shing, T. (2004). Culture et psychothérapie: perspectives asiatiques. Journal of Mental Health, 13 (2), 151-161.

WW2 - OverSimplified (Part 1) (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes