yes, therapy helps!
DiGeorge syndrome: symptoms, causes and treatment

DiGeorge syndrome: symptoms, causes and treatment

July 18, 2024

DiGeorge Syndrome affects the production of lymphocytes and can cause different autoimmune diseases, among other things. It is a genetic and congenital condition that can affect 1 of every 4,000 births, and is sometimes detected until adulthood.

Then we will see what is the DiGeorge syndrome and what are some of its consequences and main manifestations.

  • Related article: "The differences between syndrome, disorder and disease"

What is DiGeorge Syndrome?

DiGeorge Syndrome is an immunodeficiency disease caused by an excessive growth of certain cells and tissues during embryonic development . It usually affects the thymus gland, and with this, and the production of T lymphocytes, which has as a consequence the frequent development of infections.


Causes

One of the main characteristics presented by 90% of people diagnosed with this syndrome is that a small part of chromosome 22 (from position 22q11.2., Specifically) is missing. For this reason, Digeorge Syndrome is also known as chromosome deletion syndrome 22q11.2 .

Likewise and for its signs and symptoms, it is also known as Velocardiofacial Syndrome or Abnormal Conotruncal Face Syndrome. The deletion of a fraction of chromosome 22 may be caused by random episodes related to sperm or eggs , and in few cases due to hereditary factors. So far what is known is that the causes are nonspecific.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Differences between DNA and RNA"

Symptoms and main characteristics

The manifestations of DiGeorge Syndrome can vary according to the organism itself. For example, there are people who have severe cardiac affectations or some type of intellectual disability and even special susceptibility towards psychopathological symptoms, and there are people who do not present any of this.

This symptomatic variability is known as phenotypic variability , since it depends to a large extent on the genetic load of each person. In fact, this syndrome is considered as a clinical picture with a high phenotypic variability. Some of the most common characteristics are the following.

1. Characteristic facial appearance

Although this does not necessarily occur in all people, some of the facial features of Digeorge Syndrome include a very developed chin, eyes with heavy eyelids, ears slightly turned backwards with part of the upper lobes above them. There may also be cleft palate or poor palatal function .


2. Cardiac pathologies

It is common to develop different alterations of the heart, and therefore of its activity. Generally these alterations affect the aorta (the most important blood vessel) and the specific part of the heart where it develops. Sometimes these alterations may be very mild or may be absent.

3. Alterations in the thymus gland

In order to act as a protector against pathogens, the lymphatic system must produce T cells. In this process, the thymus gland plays a very important role . This gland begins its development in the first three months of fetal growth, and the size that it reaches directly affects the number of T-lymphocytes that develop. People who have a small thymus produce fewer lymphocytes.

While lymphocytes are essential for protection against viruses and for producing antibodies, people with DiGeorge Syndrome have a significant susceptibility to viral, fungal, and bacterial infections. In some patients, the thymus gland may even be absent, which requires immediate medical attention.

4. Development of autoimmune diseases

Another consequence of the lack of T lymphocytes is that can develop some autoimmune disease , which is when the immune system (antibodies) tends to act inappropriately towards the body itself.

Some of the autoimmune diseases caused by DiGeorge Syndrome are idiopathic thrombocytopenic purpura (which attacks platelets), autoimmune hemolytic anemia (against red blood cells), rheumatoid arthritis, or autoimmune thyroid disease.

5. Alterations in the parathyroid gland

The DiGeorge syndrome also can affect the development of a gland called a parathyroid gland (It is located on the front of the neck, near the thyroid). This can cause changes in the metabolism and alterations in the levels of calcium in the blood, with which, the person can present seizures. However, this effect usually becomes less severe as time passes.

Treatment

The recommended therapy for people who have DiGeorge Syndrome is aimed at correcting alterations in organs and tissues. However, and due to the high phenotypic variability, therapeutic indications may be different depending on the manifestations of each person .

For example, to treat alterations of the parathyroid gland, a calcium compensation treatment is recommended, and for cardiac alterations there is a specific medication or in some cases a surgical intervention is recommended. It can also happen that T lymphocytes function normally , whereby, no therapy for immunodeficiency is required. Likewise, it can happen that the production of T lymphocytes increases gradually with age.

In the opposite case, specific immunological attention is needed, which includes constantly monitoring the immune system and the production of T lymphocytes. For this reason, it is recommended that if a person presents recurrent infections without apparent cause, tests are performed to evaluate the entire system. Finally, in the event that the person completely lacks T cells (what may be called "Complete DiGeorge Syndrome"), it is recommended to perform a thymus transplant.

Bibliographic references:

  • Aglony, M., Lizama, M, Méndez, C. et al. (2004). Clinical manifestations and immunological variability in nine patients with DiGeorge Syndrome. Medical Journal of Chile, 132: 26-32.
  • Immune Deficiency Foundation. (2018). DiGeorge Syndrome. Retrieved June 7, 2018. Available at //primaryimmune.org/about-primary-immunodeficiencies/specific-disease-types/digeorge-syndrome.

What is 22q Deletion Syndrome and how is it diagnosed? (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Syndrome de Di George: symptômes, causes et traitement

Syndrome de Di George: symptômes, causes et traitement

Mai 25, 2022

Le syndrome de Di George affecte la production de lymphocytes et peut causer différentes maladies auto-immunes, entre autres. Il s'agit d'une maladie génétique et congénitale qui peut affecter une naissance sur 4 000 et est parfois détectée jusqu'à l'âge adulte.

Ensuite nous verrons quel est le syndrome de DiGeorge et quelles sont certaines de ses conséquences et manifestations principales.

  • Article connexe: "Les différences entre syndrome, trouble et maladie"

Qu'est-ce que le syndrome de DiGeorge?

Le syndrome de Di George est une maladie d’immunodéficience provoquée par une croissance excessive de certaines cellules et tissus au cours du développement embryonnaire . Il affecte généralement le thymus et, par conséquent, la production de lymphocytes T, ce qui a pour conséquence le développement fréquent d'infections.


Les causes

L'une des principales caractéristiques présentées par 90% des personnes diagnostiquées avec ce syndrome est qu'une petite partie du chromosome 22 (de la position 22q11.2., Plus précisément) est absente. Pour cette raison, le syndrome de Digeorge est également appelé syndrome de délétion chromosomique 22q11.2 .

De même et pour ses signes et symptômes, il est également connu sous le nom de syndrome vélocardiofacial ou de syndrome de la face conotruncal anormal. La suppression d'une fraction du chromosome 22 peut être causé par des épisodes aléatoires liés au sperme ou aux ovules , et dans quelques cas dus à des facteurs héréditaires. Jusqu'à présent, on sait que les causes ne sont pas spécifiques.


  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Différences entre l'ADN et l'ARN"

Symptômes et principales caractéristiques

Les manifestations du syndrome de Di George peuvent varier en fonction de l'organisme lui-même. Par exemple, il y a des personnes qui ont de graves affections cardiaques ou un type de déficience intellectuelle et même une sensibilité particulière aux symptômes psychopathologiques, et il y a des personnes qui n'en présentent aucun.

Cette variabilité symptomatique est connue sous le nom de variabilité phénotypique. , car cela dépend dans une large mesure de la charge génétique de chaque personne. En fait, ce syndrome est considéré comme un tableau clinique avec une grande variabilité phénotypique. Certaines des caractéristiques les plus courantes sont les suivantes.

1. Aspect du visage caractéristique

Bien que cela ne se produise pas nécessairement chez toutes les personnes, certaines des caractéristiques faciales du syndrome de Digeorge comprennent un menton très développé, des yeux avec de lourdes paupières, des oreilles légèrement tournées vers l’arrière et une partie des lobes supérieurs au-dessus d’eux. Il peut aussi y avoir une fente palatine ou une mauvaise fonction palatine .


2. Pathologies cardiaques

Il est courant de développer différentes altérations du cœur et donc de son activité. Généralement ces altérations affectent l'aorte (le vaisseau sanguin le plus important) et la partie spécifique du cœur où il se développe. Parfois, ces altérations peuvent être très légères ou peuvent être absentes.

3. Altérations du thymus

Afin de se protéger contre les agents pathogènes, le système lymphatique doit produire des cellules T. Dans ce processus, le thymus joue un rôle très important . Cette glande commence son développement au cours des trois premiers mois de croissance fœtale et la taille qu’elle atteint affecte directement le nombre de lymphocytes T qui se développent. Les personnes qui ont un petit thymus produisent moins de lymphocytes.

Les lymphocytes sont essentiels à la protection contre les virus et à la production d'anticorps, mais les personnes atteintes du syndrome de DiGeorge ont une sensibilité significative aux infections virales, fongiques et bactériennes. Chez certains patients, le thymus peut même être absent, ce qui nécessite des soins médicaux immédiats.

4. Développement de maladies auto-immunes

Une autre conséquence du manque de lymphocytes T est que peut développer une maladie auto-immune , à quel moment le système immunitaire (anticorps) a tendance à agir de manière inappropriée envers le corps lui-même.

Certaines des maladies auto-immunes causées par le syndrome de Di George sont le purpura thrombocytopénique idiopathique (qui attaque les plaquettes), l’anémie hémolytique auto-immune (contre les globules rouges), l’arthrite rhumatoïde ou la maladie thyroïdienne auto-immune.

5. Altérations de la glande parathyroïde

Le syndrome de DiGeorge a également peut affecter le développement d'une glande appelée glande parathyroïde (Il est situé sur le devant du cou, près de la thyroïde). Cela peut entraîner des modifications du métabolisme et des altérations des taux de calcium dans le sang, avec lesquels la personne peut présenter des convulsions. Cependant, cet effet devient généralement moins grave au fil du temps.

Traitement

Le traitement recommandé pour les personnes atteintes du syndrome de Di George est destiné à corriger les altérations des organes et des tissus. Cependant, et en raison de la grande variabilité phénotypique, les indications thérapeutiques peuvent être différentes selon les manifestations de chaque personne .

Par exemple, pour traiter les altérations de la parathyroïde, un traitement de compensation du calcium est recommandé, et pour les altérations cardiaques, il existe un médicament spécifique ou, dans certains cas, une intervention chirurgicale. Il peut également arriver que les lymphocytes T fonctionnent normalement aucune thérapie pour le déficit immunitaire n’est nécessaire. De même, il peut arriver que la production de lymphocytes T augmente progressivement avec l’âge.

Dans le cas contraire, une attention immunologique spécifique est nécessaire, notamment une surveillance constante du système immunitaire et de la production de lymphocytes T. Pour cette raison, il est recommandé de procéder à des tests d'évaluation du système complet si une personne présente des infections récurrentes sans cause apparente. Enfin, dans le cas où la personne serait complètement dépourvue de lymphocytes T (ce que l’on pourrait appeler "syndrome complet de DiGeorge"), il est recommandé de procéder à une greffe de thymus.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Aglony, M., Lizama, M., Méndez, C. et al. (2004). Manifestations cliniques et variabilité immunologique chez neuf patients atteints du syndrome de Di George. Journal médical du Chili, 132: 26-32.
  • Fondation pour l’immunodéficience. (2018). Syndrome de Di George. Récupéré le 7 juin 2018. Disponible à l'adresse //primaryimmune.org/about-primary-immunodeficiencies/specific-disease-types/digeorge-syndrome.

Wilson's disease - causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatment & pathology (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes