yes, therapy helps!
Dimitri Mendeleev: biography of the chemist author of the periodic table

Dimitri Mendeleev: biography of the chemist author of the periodic table

June 26, 2024

Probably a large part of the people who read these lines will have seen, studied or worked with the periodic table, which consists of the different elements ordered by their atomic weight and valence. Although today we see this table as something that, although complex, represents a logical order and we take for granted its veracity, the truth is that its creation is very recent in the time that was originally little taken into account.

The author of this table is the famous chemist Dimitri Mendeleev, whose biography we are going to make a brief review in this article.

  • Related article: "The 11 types of chemical reactions"

The biography of Dimitri Mendeleiev

Dimitri Mendeleiev, whose full name was Dmitri Ivanovich Mendeléyev, was born on February 8, 1834 from our Gregorian calendar in Tobolsk, Siberia . Born into a large family, he was the youngest of seventeen brothers children of the school director Ivan Pavlovich Mendeleiev and Mariya Dmitriyevna Kornilevas.


During the same year of his birth his father lost his job as well as his vision, which led to a situation that was somewhat precarious for the family. Fortunately, her mother went on to run a crystal factory owned by her family. This generated little curiosity in the little Mendeleev, and his mother often took him to the factory with her.

In this factory I would meet one of the chemists who worked there , something that would end up generating in the young person (along with the influence of an exiled brother-in-law) a great interest in scientific subjects.

Early education

In regard to his education in childhood, already in it the young Mendeleev showed some interest in aspects such as mathematics and physics . However, the ratings on the rest of the topics were rather low. Despite this, he managed to get his bachelor's degree back then.


The year 1848 would be a difficult year for the young man, since during this his father died. In addition, during the month of December of the same year, the factory that managed his mother suffered a fire that ended with its destruction. The family moved to Moscow, due to the fact that her mother decided to dedicate her savings in the education of the youngest of the family.

However, due to his Siberian origin he was denied access to the University of that city. After that they moved to St. Petersburg , where for the same reasons he could not access the university. However, he was finally able to enroll in the Main Pedagogical Institute of the latter city.

When he was around twenty years of age, he who would be one of the greatest chemists in history presented several health problems, among them the presence of violent coughs that were sometimes accompanied by blood . This suggested possible tuberculosis, but he managed to recover from his condition (whether or not it was a case of tuberculosis, something that is not entirely clear).


He graduated in 1855, dying his mother shortly before, presenting a thesis About specific volumes. After that he obtained a place as a teacher in a school in the Crimea. However, a few months later he moved to the city of Odessa in Ukraine as a teacher at a local lyceum .

In 1856 he obtained a scholarship that helped him to move to Germany, expanding his studies at the University of Heidelberg and even owning a laboratory in his own home. In this stage he was able to meet great personalities of chemistry and physics, such as Kirchhoff or Cannizzaro, and even participate in the International Chemistry Congress of Karlsruhe. Later I would return to St. Petersburg.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Atomism: what is and how has this philosophical paradigm developed?"

Professional life and scientific contributions

For the year 1864 he was appointed Professor of Technology and Chemistry at the Technical Institute of St. Petersburg and three years later he held the Chair of Chemistry at the University of the same city. However, his reformist ideas and liberal tendencies did not like the elite of the moment, being denied membership in the Imperial Academy of Sciences.

It would be in 1869 when he would publish the book Principles of Chemistry, in which would make its contribution to the best known science, the periodic table . Said table started by classifying the elements in an increasing way according to their atomic mass, establishing an ordering from lowest to highest and even proposing the existence of elements not yet discovered with properties located between two of those already recognized.

However, although this would be his most recognized contribution is not the only one: Mendeleev worked on topics as varied as the expansion of liquids, the search and discovery of the critical point and great contributions that allowed to improve the Russian oil industry.

He also made various contributions such as the preparation of smokeless gunpowder (developing his own formula). However, in 1890 he resigned his post at the university after a conflict due to his support for student protests.

He retired from political life for a while, but later would come to work as an advisor to the government, including the Ministry of Finance. In 93 he obtained the address of the Office of Weights and Measures (being also a powerful influence in making the metric system reach Russia). Later he explored aspects such as radioactivity (knowing the Curie marriage). He was also part of the team that designed the first icebreaker.

Mendeleev was an internationally recognized figure, to the point of having been nominated for the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1906 . However, the award was granted to Henri Moissan.

Other aspects that aroused his interest were the exploration and study of solar eclipses or research on fertilizers. Also, his study of liquids and their combinations would help to generate a specific form of vodka, which gives it its characteristic 40 degrees of alcohol.

Personal life

Dimitri Mendeleiev had a complicated life, not only professionally but also personally. He was forced by one of his sisters to marry in 1862 with Feozva Nikitichna Leschiova, with whom she had a stormy and difficult relationship and whose relationship resulted in three children (one of whom died). However, nine years later they separated.

At this time, in which he had already separated but not yet divorced, he fell in love with Anna Ivanovna Popova, a music student with whom he had a relationship. His still wife refused to give him a divorce initially, although he was granted four years later.

In 1882 he would marry Anna Ivanovna , despite the fact that the seven years required by the legislation to remarry after their divorce had not yet passed. This would generate a great controversy and controversy in the Russian society of the time, this being considered bigamy, but it was decided that the punishment would not correspond to the contracting parties but to who officiated the wedding. This last marriage was quite happy, being born from their relationship four more children.

Death and legacy

Dimitri Mendeleev died in St. Petersburg at the age of 72 years, on February 2, 1907. His death is associated with suffering from influenza, but also could be associated with the supposed tuberculosis that he suffered in his youth . He also points out that he suffered a considerable loss of vision, to the point that he practically became blind.

His death was a serious blow to science. Nevertheless, in spite of the great importance of his work, his death did not have a great impact on the Russia of that time, probably due to his liberal and reformist ideas, which did not agree with the ideology of the system in which he lived.

His legacy and his wide contribution to science is still valid today, being its systematization of the different elements object of study and having allowed the discovery of multiple elements with the step of the times. There is, in fact, an element called mendelevio in his honor.


The Periodic Table: Crash Course Chemistry #4 (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Dimitri Mendeleev: biographie du chimiste auteur du tableau périodique

Dimitri Mendeleev: biographie du chimiste auteur du tableau périodique

Avril 14, 2021

Probablement une grande partie des lecteurs de ces lignes aura vu, étudié ou travaillé avec le tableau périodique composé des différents éléments ordonnés par leur poids atomique et leur valence. Bien que nous voyions aujourd’hui ce tableau comme quelque chose qui, bien que complexe, représente un ordre logique et que nous prenons pour acquis sa véracité, la vérité est que sa création est très récente, à l’époque peu prise en compte.

L'auteur de ce tableau est le célèbre chimiste Dimitri Mendeleev, dont nous allons faire une brève biographie dans cet article.

  • Article connexe: "Les 11 types de réactions chimiques"

La biographie de Dimitri Mendeleiev

Dimitri Mendeleiev, dont le nom complet était Dmitri Ivanovich Mendeléyev, est né le 8 février 1834 de notre calendrier grégorien à Tobolsk, en Sibérie . Né dans une famille nombreuse, il était le plus jeune des dix-sept frères et soeurs du directeur de l’école, Ivan Pavlovich Mendeleiev et de Mariya Dmitriyevna Kornilevas.


La même année, son père perd son emploi ainsi que sa vision, ce qui entraîne une situation quelque peu précaire pour la famille. Heureusement, sa mère dirigea une fabrique de cristal appartenant à sa famille. Cela suscitait peu de curiosité chez le petit Mendeleïev et sa mère l’emmenait souvent à l’usine.

Dans cette usine, je rencontrais un des chimistes qui y travaillaient , quelque chose qui finira par générer chez le jeune (avec l'influence d'un beau-frère exilé) un grand intérêt pour les sujets scientifiques.

Éducation précoce

En ce qui concerne son éducation dans l'enfance, déjà dans le jeune Mendeleev a montré un certain intérêt pour des aspects tels que les mathématiques et la physique . Cependant, les notes sur le reste des sujets étaient plutôt faibles. Malgré cela, il a réussi à obtenir son baccalauréat à l'époque.


L'année 1848 serait une année difficile pour le jeune homme, son père étant décédé pendant cette période. De plus, au cours du mois de décembre de la même année, l’usine qui dirigeait sa mère a subi un incendie qui a pris fin avec sa destruction. La famille a déménagé à Moscou en raison du fait que sa mère a décidé de consacrer ses économies à l'éducation des plus jeunes de la famille.

Cependant, en raison de son origine sibérienne, il n'a pas été autorisé à accéder à l'université de cette ville. Après cela, ils ont déménagé à Saint-Pétersbourg , où, pour les mêmes raisons, il n'a pas pu accéder à l'université. Cependant, il a finalement pu s'inscrire à l'Institut pédagogique principal de cette dernière ville.

À l’âge de vingt ans environ, l’un des plus grands chimistes de l’histoire a présenté plusieurs problèmes de santé, parmi lesquels: la présence de toux violentes parfois accompagnées de sang . Cela suggérait une possibilité de tuberculose, mais il a réussi à se remettre de son état (qu’il s’agisse ou non d’une tuberculose, ce qui n’est pas tout à fait clair).


Il obtint son diplôme en 1855 et mourut peu avant avec sa mère, présentant une thèse. A propos de volumes spécifiques. Après cela, il a obtenu une place en tant que professeur dans une école de Crimée. Cependant, quelques mois plus tard il a déménagé à Odessa en Ukraine en tant qu'enseignant dans un lycée local .

En 1856, il obtint une bourse lui permettant de s'établir en Allemagne, développant ses études à l'Université de Heidelberg et possédant même un laboratoire à son domicile. À ce stade, il a pu rencontrer de grandes personnalités de la chimie et de la physique, telles que Kirchhoff ou Cannizzaro, et même participer au Congrès international de chimie de Karlsruhe. Plus tard, je retournerais à Saint-Pétersbourg.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Atomisme: qu'est-ce et comment ce paradigme philosophique s'est-il développé?"

Vie professionnelle et contributions scientifiques

En 1864, il est nommé professeur de technologie et de chimie à l'Institut technique de Saint-Pétersbourg. Trois ans plus tard, il est titulaire de la chaire de chimie de l'université de la même ville. Cependant, ses idées réformistes et ses tendances libérales n'apprécient pas l'élite du moment, à qui il est refusé l'adhésion à l'Académie impériale des sciences.

Ce serait en 1869 quand il publierait le livre Principes de chimie, dans lequel apporterait sa contribution à la science la plus connue, le tableau périodique . Ce tableau a commencé par classer les éléments de plus en plus en fonction de leur masse atomique, en établissant un ordre du plus bas au plus élevé et même en proposant l’existence d’éléments non encore découverts avec des propriétés situées entre deux de ceux déjà reconnus.

Cependant, bien que ce soit sa contribution la plus reconnue, ce n’est pas la seule: Mendeleïev a travaillé sur des sujets aussi variés que l'expansion des liquides, la recherche et la découverte du point critique et de grandes contributions qui ont permis d’améliorer l’industrie pétrolière russe.

Il a également apporté diverses contributions telles que la préparation de poudre à canon sans fumée (mise au point de sa propre formule). Cependant, en 1890, il démissionna de son poste à l'université après un conflit dû à son soutien aux manifestations étudiantes.

Il a pris sa retraite de la vie politique pendant un certain temps, mais il est venu plus tard comme conseiller auprès du gouvernement, y compris du ministère des Finances. En 93, il obtint l'adresse du bureau des poids et mesures (exerçant également une influence importante sur l’introduction du système métrique en Russie). Plus tard, il a exploré des aspects tels que la radioactivité (connaître le mariage de Curie). Il faisait également partie de l'équipe qui a conçu le premier brise-glace.

Mendeleev était une figure internationalement reconnue, au point d'avoir été nominé pour le prix Nobel de chimie en 1906 . Cependant, le prix a été attribué à Henri Moissan.

L'exploration et l'étude des éclipses solaires ou la recherche sur les engrais ont également suscité son intérêt. En outre, son étude des liquides et de leurs combinaisons aiderait à générer une forme spécifique de vodka, qui lui confère sa caractéristique alcoolique à 40 degrés.

Vie personnelle

Dimitri Mendeleiev a eu une vie complexe, non seulement sur le plan professionnel, mais aussi sur le plan personnel. Une de ses soeurs l’a forcé à se marier en 1862 avec Feozva Nikitichna Leschiova, avec qui elle a eu une relation difficile et orageuse et dont la relation a résulté en trois enfants (dont un est décédé). Cependant, neuf ans plus tard, ils se sont séparés.

A cette époque, dans laquelle il s'était déjà séparé mais pas encore divorcé, il est tombé amoureux d'Anna Ivanovna Popova, une étudiante en musique avec qui il avait eu une relation. Son épouse restante a d'abord refusé de lui donner le divorce, bien qu'il lui ait été accordé quatre ans plus tard.

En 1882, il épouserait Anna Ivanovna , malgré le fait que les sept ans requis par la législation pour se remarier après leur divorce n’aient pas encore passé. Cela créerait une grande controverse dans la société russe de l'époque, ce qui serait considéré comme une bigamie, mais il a été décidé que la punition ne correspondrait pas aux parties contractantes mais à la personne qui a célébré le mariage. Ce dernier mariage était très heureux, étant né de leur union quatre autres enfants.

La mort et l'héritage

Dimitri Mendeleev est décédé à Saint-Pétersbourg à l'âge de 72 ans, le 2 février 1907. Sa mort est associée à la grippe, mais aussi à pourrait être associé à la tuberculose supposée qu'il a souffert dans sa jeunesse . Il souligne également qu'il a subi une perte de vision considérable, au point qu'il est pratiquement devenu aveugle.

Sa mort a été un coup dur pour la science. Néanmoins, malgré la grande importance de son travail, sa mort n’a pas eu un grand impact sur la Russie de cette époque, probablement en raison de ses idées libérales et réformistes, qui ne correspondaient pas à l’idéologie du système dans lequel il vivait.

Son héritage et sa large contribution à la science sont encore valables aujourd'hui, étant sa systématisation des différents éléments objet d'étude et ayant permis la découverte de multiples éléments au fil des temps. Il y a en fait un élément appelé mendelevio en son honneur.


Saison culturelle 18-19 - Beaucoup de bruit pour rien (24/05/19) (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes