yes, therapy helps!
Discourse analysis: what it is and uses in social psychology

Discourse analysis: what it is and uses in social psychology

June 20, 2024

Discourse analysis is a qualitative research technique which has had an important impact in social sciences as well as in social psychology, and which arises from the importance that language has acquired not only as a way of expressing a certain social reality, but as a way of constructing it.

It is also a complex orientation that has gained an important popularity in social studies and can be done in very different ways. Below you will find a general description of discourse analysis, its background and the impact it has had on social psychology.

  • Related article: "What is Political Psychology?"

Language study in social psychology

Language is undoubtedly one of the most complex and interesting elements that we share human beings, that is why it has positioned itself as an object of scientific discussion and research for centuries.


In the social sciences, the twentieth century is recognized as a period in which language was placed at the center of research and social, historical, philosophical and scientific analyzes, what is known as the linguistic turn . In other words, the study of language has been a very useful tool for understanding both psychological and social processes.

From this arises the interest of social psychology to study and analyze discourses, which in turn has generated research techniques such as discourse analysis, thematic analysis, content analysis or conversational analysis.

What distinguishes discourse analysis is that it considers the theory of language as something complex. Unlike, for example, the analysis of content, which focuses on the direct manifestation of a concept and the times it is repeated, discourse analysis pays attention to some elements that structure everyday language, like irony the double meaning, the metaphors, the implications, or the context itself , among others, that can account for relationships that are implicit or latent.


  • Maybe you're interested: "What is Social Psychology?"

Discourse analysis: a theoretical and methodological proposal

Discourse analysis is the name that has been given to a set of theoretical and methodological proposals that are actually very diverse . Therefore it is difficult to offer a single definition of this technique and there is also a kind of recipe that can be used in the same way by all researchers.

Some background

Although its antecedents can be traced also in other traditions, the analysis of the discourse arises mainly from the linguistic philosophy of the Oxford school , which considers that language directly affects social reality (interpersonal relationships, behavior, cognition, language).

Specifically, the theory of speech acts has had an important impact on discourse analysis, since it proposes that linguistic expressions produce effects that go beyond words that are used. On the other hand, discourse analysis is also influenced by works that have a more political and sociological orientation.


Possible definitions

One of the possible ways to define discourse analysis is to point out that it is a flexible research method that is useful for perform a systematic interpretation of the speeches .

And a discourse is a set of linguistic practices that maintain and promote social relationships (Iñiguez and Antaki, 1994), with which, language is not only an individual communicative ability but is a practice that constitutes and regulates social relationships that are susceptible to be studied.

There are many ways to analyze a speech. In any case, the starting point is to ask what are and how are the social relationships that we want to explain (pose a research problem related to the discourse), and then gather the corpus of data that will be analyzed, that is, the linguistic materials (for example, press release, interviews, public policy, regulation, etc.).

From there, Speeches can be analyzed through different tools . Some researchers start by conducting a content analysis, categorizing the content of the texts according to the objectives of their research and then interpreting some of these categories.

Other researchers perform deep, careful, repeated and systematic readings of each statement looking for language resources such as irony, metaphors, contradictions, trying to reveal the social relationships that are mobilized through these resources, that is, looking for the latent effects of the language.

What in any case is important in terms of the rigor of the research is to adequately justify the steps we have followed during the analysis.

Critical discourse analysis

Critical discourse analysis has recently positioned itself as a new research method and has gained much popularity. Very broadly speaking, it consists of applying a critical perspective to discourse analysis, that is, Pay attention not only to social relationships, but to power relations, abuse of power and domination that shape the social reality and that are mobilized through language.

That is, the critical analysis of discourse seeks to understand how it is that domination is produced and reproduced through discourses. At the methodological level there is not a great substantial difference, it is just as flexible and interpretive as the traditional discourse analysis.

Your contribution to social psychology

The main impact of discourse analysis in social psychology is that it allows to develop an alternative to research methods focused on experimentation , considering that this is not a neutral process where the researcher does not affect the reality he investigates, but rather the opposite.

Likewise, it has impacted the way of doing social psychology, because it understands language not as something that is in each individual but as a way to build ourselves and ourselves, and the environment with which we interact.

Being such a broad and heterogeneous tradition, there are schools, authors and paradigms that differentiate both the theory of language and research methods, in the more traditional perspectives of discourse analysis as well as in the current of critical analysis of the speech.

Bibliographic references:

  • Íñiguez, L. (2003). The analysis of discourse in the social sciences: varieties, traditions and practice, Pp: 83-124. in Íñiguez, I. (Ed.) Analysis of discourse. Manual for social sciences, Editorial UOC: Barcelona
  • Van Dijk, T. (2002). The critical analysis of discourse and social thought. Athenea Digital. Journal of Thinking and Social Research, 1: 18-24.
  • Íñiguez, L. and Antaki, C. (1994). In discourse analysis in social psychology. Psychology Bulletin, 4: 57-75.

What is DISCURSIVE PSYCHOLOGY? What does DISCURSIVE PSYCHOLOGY mean? (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Analyse du discours: qu'est-ce que c'est et qu'utilise en psychologie sociale

Analyse du discours: qu'est-ce que c'est et qu'utilise en psychologie sociale

Septembre 21, 2022

L'analyse du discours est une technique de recherche qualitative qui a eu un impact important dans les sciences sociales ainsi que dans la psychologie sociale et qui découle de l’importance que le langage a acquise non seulement comme moyen d’exprimer une certaine réalité sociale, mais aussi de la construire.

C'est aussi une orientation complexe qui a acquis une grande popularité dans les études sociales et qui peut être faite de différentes manières. Vous trouverez ci-dessous une description générale de l'analyse du discours, de son contexte et de son impact sur la psychologie sociale.

  • Article connexe: "Qu'est-ce que la psychologie politique?"

Etude linguistique en psychologie sociale

La langue est sans aucun doute l’un des éléments les plus complexes et les plus intéressants que nous partageons l’être humain, c’est pourquoi il se positionne depuis des siècles en tant qu’objet de discussion et de recherche scientifiques.


En sciences sociales, le XXe siècle est reconnu comme une période au cours de laquelle la langue a été placée au centre de la recherche et des analyses sociales, historiques, philosophiques et scientifiques. ce qu'on appelle le tournant linguistique . En d’autres termes, l’étude du langage s’est révélée être un outil très utile pour comprendre les processus psychologiques et sociaux.

De là découle l'intérêt de la psychologie sociale pour étudier et analyser les discours, ce qui a généré des techniques de recherche telles que l'analyse de discours, l'analyse thématique, l'analyse de contenu ou l'analyse conversationnelle.

Ce qui distingue l’analyse du discours, c’est qu’elle considère la théorie du langage comme quelque chose de complexe. À la différence, par exemple, de l’analyse du contenu, qui met l’accent sur la manifestation directe d’un concept et les moments où il se répète, l’analyse du discours prête attention à certains éléments qui structurent le langage courant, comme l'ironie le double sens, les métaphores, les implications ou le contexte lui-même , entre autres, qui peuvent expliquer des relations implicites ou latentes.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Qu'est-ce que la psychologie sociale?"

Analyse du discours: proposition théorique et méthodologique

L'analyse du discours est le nom qui a été donné à un ensemble de propositions théoriques et méthodologiques réellement très diverses . Par conséquent, il est difficile de proposer une définition unique de cette technique et il existe également une sorte de recette qui peut être utilisée de la même manière par tous les chercheurs.

Un peu de fond

Bien que ses antécédents puissent être retrouvés également dans d'autres traditions, l'analyse du discours se pose principalement de la philosophie linguistique de l'école d'Oxford , qui considère que le langage affecte directement la réalité sociale (relations interpersonnelles, comportement, cognition, langage).

Plus précisément, la théorie des actes de langage a eu un impact important sur l’analyse du discours, car elle propose que les expressions linguistiques produire des effets qui vont au-delà des mots qui sont utilisés. D'autre part, l'analyse du discours est également influencée par des œuvres ayant une orientation plus politique et sociologique.


Définitions possibles

L’une des manières possibles de définir l’analyse du discours est de souligner qu’il s’agit d’une méthode de recherche flexible, utile pour effectuer une interprétation systématique des discours .

Et un discours est un ensemble de pratiques linguistiques qui maintiennent et favorisent les relations sociales (Iñiguez et Antaki, 1994), avec lesquelles la langue n’est pas seulement une capacité de communication individuelle, mais une pratique qui constitue et régit susceptible d'être étudié.

Il y a plusieurs façons d'analyser un discours. Dans tous les cas, le point de départ est de demander quelles sont et comment sont les relations sociales que nous voulons expliquer (pose un problème de recherche lié au discours), puis de rassembler le corpus de données à analyser, à savoir les matériaux linguistiques (par exemple, communiqué de presse, interviews, politique publique, réglementation, etc.).

À partir de là, Les discours peuvent être analysés à travers différents outils . Certains chercheurs commencent par effectuer une analyse de contenu, en catégorisant le contenu des textes en fonction des objectifs de leur recherche, puis en interprétant certaines de ces catégories.

D'autres chercheurs effectuent des lectures approfondies, soigneuses, répétées et systématiques de chaque énoncé en recherchant des ressources linguistiques telles que l'ironie, des métaphores, des contradictions, en essayant de révéler les relations sociales mobilisées au travers de ces ressources, c'est-à-dire en recherchant les effets latents des langue

Quoi qu’il en soit, ce qui est important en termes de rigueur de la recherche est de justifier de manière adéquate les étapes que nous avons suivies au cours de l’analyse.

Analyse critique du discours

L'analyse critique du discours s'est récemment positionnée comme une nouvelle méthode de recherche et a acquis une grande popularité. De manière très générale, il consiste à appliquer une perspective critique à l'analyse du discours, c'est-à-dire Faites attention non seulement aux relations sociales, mais aussi aux relations de pouvoir, aux abus de pouvoir et à la domination qui façonnent la réalité sociale et qui sont mobilisés par le langage.

En d’autres termes, l’analyse critique du discours cherche à comprendre comment la domination est produite et reproduite à travers les discours. Sur le plan méthodologique, il n’ya pas de grande différence substantielle, elle est aussi souple et interprétative que l’analyse du discours traditionnelle.

Votre contribution à la psychologie sociale

L’analyse du discours en psychologie sociale a pour principal impact de permettre de développer une alternative aux méthodes de recherche axées sur l'expérimentation , considérant qu'il ne s'agit pas d'un processus neutre dans lequel le chercheur n'affecte pas la réalité sur laquelle il enquête, mais plutôt le contraire.

De même, cela a eu un impact sur la manière de faire de la psychologie sociale, car elle comprend le langage non pas comme quelque chose qui appartient à chaque individu, mais comme un moyen de se construire et de se construire soi-même, ainsi que l'environnement avec lequel on interagit.

Étant une tradition aussi large et hétérogène, il existe des écoles, des auteurs et des paradigmes qui différencient à la fois la théorie du langage et les méthodes de recherche, dans les perspectives plus traditionnelles de l'analyse du discours ainsi que dans le courant de l'analyse critique du langage. discours

Références bibliographiques:

  • Íñiguez, L. (2003). L'analyse du discours en sciences sociales: variétés, traditions et pratiques, Pp: 83-124. dans Íñiguez, I. (Ed.) Analyse du discours. Manuel pour les sciences sociales, Editorial UOC: Barcelona
  • Van Dijk, T. (2002). L'analyse critique du discours et de la pensée sociale. Athenea Digital. Journal de la pensée et de la recherche sociale, 1: 18-24.
  • Íñiguez, L. et Antaki, C. (1994). Dans l'analyse du discours en psychologie sociale. Psychology Bulletin, 4: 57-75.

Manipulation dans les débats politiques - Psychologie Sociale (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes