yes, therapy helps!
Discover the body map of emotions

Discover the body map of emotions

June 24, 2024

A team of Finnish scientists has managed to generate a Body map showing human emotions . These researchers from the University of Aalto discovered that each emotion generates specific responses in specific body areas, these reactions being independent of the cultural substrate of the subject.

The body map of human emotions

Accordingly, the Finnish researchers came to the conclusion that This map of emotions suggests that human emotional responses have a biological basis and are universal .

The study explains that the emotional reactions of the human body are biological mechanisms that enable us to respond to a changing context, empowering us to defend our integrity or to enjoy good times.


According Lauri Nummenmaa , professor of neuroscience and one of the outstanding members of the team that carried out the research, the emotions modulate not only the mental health of the subject, but also the corporal state of the same.

"Thus, emotions prepare us to be able to respond almost instinctively to dangers, and enable us to react in other contexts, such as the enjoyment of social interactions," he adds.

Map of emotions: happiness and love

To carry out the research, a total of 5 experiments were carried out in which 700 subjects had to locate in which part of the body they felt each of the basic emotions: anger, disgust, fear, sadness or happiness, as well as other more complex emotions. , such as anxiety, depression, pride, envy or shame.


The participants of the study colored in a mannequin the areas that were activated to a greater or lesser degree as they were listening to certain words that were associated with each of the emotions. Red designated areas with greater activity, while blue did the same with areas of less influence.

It can be seen in the image, that the two emotions that cause a more intense body response are love and joy.

In the same way, it can be seen as, broadly speaking, all the basic emotions are located in the upper part of the trunk , where the vital organs are located, and very prominently in the head.

"Taking a look at the topography of bodily emotions will allow us to devise a tool for the study of emotions, it is possible that this tool could, in the future, offer a relationship of biological signs of certain emotional disorders," the researchers affirm.


Parallel to the test that tried to evoke emotions from words, four other experiments were also carried out using images, photographs, stories and short films that aimed to convey the same emotions to the participants.

Universal emotions? The study points to "yes"

In order to make sure that the body map of the emotions was independent of the cultural substratum or linguistic group to which the subjects were part, the study was repeated with three different ethnic and cultural groups: Finns, Swedes and Taiwanese.

The researchers agreed that the results showed coincidences beyond the cultural origin of the participants: it seems, therefore, that the bodily reaction to emotions is universal.

Bibliographic references:

  • Original study: Lauri Nummenmaaa, Enrico Glereana, Riitta Harib, and Jari K. Hietanend (2013)

Which Parts Of The Brain Do What? (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Découvrez la carte corporelle des émotions

Découvrez la carte corporelle des émotions

Mai 27, 2022

Une équipe de scientifiques finlandais a réussi à générer une Carte du corps montrant les émotions humaines . Ces chercheurs de l'Université d'Aalto ont découvert que chaque émotion génère des réponses spécifiques dans des zones spécifiques du corps, ces réactions étant indépendantes du substrat culturel du sujet.

La carte corporelle des émotions humaines

En conséquence, les chercheurs finlandais sont arrivés à la conclusion que Cette carte des émotions suggère que les réactions émotionnelles humaines ont une base biologique et sont universelles. .

L'étude explique que les réactions émotionnelles du corps humain sont des mécanismes biologiques nous permettant de réagir à un contexte en mutation, nous permettant de défendre notre intégrité ou de passer de bons moments.


Selon Lauri Nummenmaa , professeur de neuroscience et l’un des membres les plus remarquables de l’équipe qui a mené la recherche, les émotions modulent non seulement la santé mentale du sujet, mais également son état corporel.

"Ainsi, les émotions nous préparent à pouvoir réagir presque instinctivement aux dangers et nous permettent de réagir dans d'autres contextes, tels que le plaisir des interactions sociales", ajoute-t-il.

Carte des émotions: bonheur et amour

Pour mener à bien la recherche, cinq expériences ont été réalisées, dans lesquelles 700 sujets devaient localiser la partie du corps où ils ressentaient chacune des émotions fondamentales: colère, dégoût, peur, tristesse ou bonheur, ainsi que d’autres émotions plus complexes. comme l’anxiété, la dépression, l’orgueil, l’envie ou la honte.


Les participants à l'étude ont coloré dans un mannequin les zones qui étaient plus ou moins activées alors qu'ils écoutaient certains mots associés à chacune des émotions. Les zones désignées en rouge avec une plus grande activité, tandis que le bleu a fait de même avec les zones moins influentes.

On voit sur l'image que les deux émotions qui provoquent une réaction plus intense du corps sont l'amour et la joie.

De la même manière, on peut voir, d’une manière générale, toutes les émotions de base sont situées dans la partie supérieure du tronc , où se trouvent les organes vitaux et très en évidence dans la tête.

"En examinant la topographie des émotions corporelles, nous pourrons concevoir un outil pour l'étude des émotions. Il est possible que cet outil offre, à l'avenir, une relation de signes biologiques de certains troubles émotionnels", affirment les chercheurs.


Parallèlement au test qui visait à évoquer des émotions à partir de mots, quatre autres expériences ont également été réalisées à l'aide d'images, de photographies, d'histoires et de courts métrages visant à transmettre les mêmes émotions aux participants.

Émotions universelles? L'étude souligne "oui"

Afin de s'assurer que la carte corporelle des émotions était indépendante du substrat culturel ou du groupe linguistique auquel les sujets faisaient partie, l'étude a été répétée avec trois groupes ethniques et culturels différents: les Finlandais, les Suédois et les Taïwanais.

Les chercheurs ont convenu que les résultats ont montré des coïncidences allant au-delà de l'origine culturelle des participants: il semble donc que la réaction corporelle aux émotions soit universelle.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Étude originale: Lauri Nummenmaaa, Enrico Glereana, Riitta Harib et Jari K. Hietanend (2013).

Comment décoder vos émotions ? (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes