yes, therapy helps!
Diseases of the cerebellum: characteristics and symptoms

Diseases of the cerebellum: characteristics and symptoms

May 23, 2022

Generally when talking about the brain and / or the brain, we usually think of the area known as the cerebral cortex, the most visible part from the outside. However, on a few occasions there is a tendency to think of a structure located in its lower and posterior part between the trunk of the brain and the occipital lobe, resembling a second brain in smaller dimensions. We are talking about the cerebellum .

This area is fundamental for our survival, so that injuries or alterations in it suppose the presence of serious complications at different levels, both motor, emotional and cognitive. That is why in this article we will make a brief review of different alterations and diseases of the cerebellum and how they can affect us.


  • Related article: "Human cerebellum: its parts and functions"

The cerebellum: that little unknown

The cerebellum is a structure in the shape of a ball of wool that is located in the back of the brain, specifically behind the brainstem and below the occipital lobe, as I mentioned before.

Despite its size, it is a complex structure that almost resembles a second encephalon: It has its own crust with two hemispheres united by a structure called vermis, bundles of white matter, nuclei and cerebellar peduncles. It has both excitatory and inhibitory neurons.

Although apparently less named than other cortical or subcortical structures, the cerebellum is of great importance in different vital aspects for the human being, participating in different cognitive and language functions, in emotionality, in the feedback received by the movement and in fine motor skills In fact, this structure contains more than half of brain neurons .


It has also been shown that the cerebellum is linked to the heartbeat and its frequency. However, traditionally it was considered that only possessed functions related to motor skills, not being until more recent times when it has begun to verify its relevance in other areas.

So we are facing a structure with a lot of functions , with which damages in the cerebellum can trigger serious repercussions in the life of the person.

  • You may be interested: "Parts of the human brain (and functions)"

General symptoms

While the type and location of the damage in particular will determine to a greater or lesser extent the symptoms that are going to manifest, roughly we can say that a disease of the cerebellum or the presence of different lesions in it may cause the following symptoms .


Ataxia

Ataxia is the lack or absence of stability, coordination and maintenance of the posture and the movement. In the case of damage to the cerebellum is one of the most recognizable symptoms. Damages in this region will cause imbalances and uncontrolled and inaccurate movements.

  • Related article: "Ataxia: causes, symptoms and treatments"

Other motor alterations

The presence of uncontrolled tremors, upheavals of the maintenance of the march or muscular dystrophy can be caused by injury or illness of the cerebellum.

Alterations in memory

Memory, especially procedural memory, is linked to the cerebellum and basal ganglia among other areas. The destruction of part or all of the cerebellum causes serious difficulties in this type of learning .

Alterations of speech

It is frequent that alterations of the cerebellum cause diverse forms of anomalies in the communication and expression of the language. One of the most frequent is dysarthria .

Cognitive disorders

Several studies show that the activity of the cerebellum has a certain level of relationship with the level of intelligence manifested. In this sense, a damaged cerebellum could contribute to decrease the intellectual abilities of those affected .

Perceptual alterations

Different diseases of the cerebellum can cause perceptual alterations, especially in areas related to vision and hearing .

Participation in different mental disorders

The alteration or injury of the cerebellum or its functioning can help to generate or maintain various types of psychic disorders, such as autism, anxiety, ADHD, schizophrenia or mood disorders (the latter especially linked to the vermis).

Main diseases of the cerebellum

There are different types of alterations and diseases that can affect this structure the nervous system. Some of the different diseases of the cerebellum that we can find are the following.

Friedreich's ataxia

This disease is one of the most well-known types of ataxia due to genetic causes.The most evident symptoms are the presence of rigidity, ocular uncoordination, instability and imbalance, dysarthria and different bone problems. They can also appear vision and hearing problems, tremors and metabolic disorders such as diabetes. It is a neurodegenerative condition .

Tumors

The presence of a tumor inside the skull is a serious risk for those who suffer from it, even if it is a benign cyst since the pressure exerted against the skull destroys the neurons of the system. In the case of the cerebellum we can find tumors of different types , as well as a link between the lesions that can cause in the cerebellum and the presence of cognitive deterioration.

Von Hippel-Lindau disease

This disease of the cerebellum is caused by a mutation of a gene of chromosome three , which does not appear or is defective. Its most known effect is the provocation of different tumors in different areas of the body, including the cerebellum.

Cerebellar syndrome

Disease characterized by the presence of ataxia, hypotonia, changes in gait, motor slowing, tremor during the performance of actions and / or nystagmus due

Joubert syndrome

It is a disease of the cerebellum of genetic origin in which the vermis that connects both hemispheres of the cerebellum is deformed or simply does not exist, so that communication between hemispheres can not be done correctly. The patient usually presents symptoms similar to autism. It usually causes developmental delay, intellectual disability, echopraxia, hypotonia and ataxia, among other symptoms.

Cerebrality

Inflammation of the brain for various reasons, whether viral or bacterial (can be produced for example by tuberculosis) or produced by infection of the cerebellum or nearby structures.

Dandy-Walker syndrome

This disease of the cerebellum causes that part of the cerebellar vermis does not exist or is deformed, in addition to having a fourth enlarged internal ventricle and producing cysts inside the skull. It usually causes muscular dystrophy, visual disturbances, spasticity and seizures.

  • Maybe you are interested: "Dandy Walker malformation: causes, symptoms and treatment"

Stroke

The presence of strokes and strokes it can cause neuronal death in large part of the cerebellum. The symptoms depend on the location and degree of involvement of the area in question.

Injuries and traumatisms

Although it is not a disease of the cerebellum, the presence of lesions generated by different traumas can cause serious damage in this region of the brain. It is common for them to cause engine slowdown and that possible injuries and abilities take longer than usual to recover.

Bibliographic references:

  • Baillieux, H .; De Smet, H. J .; Dobbeleir, A .; Paquier, P. F .; From Deyn, P; Mariën, P. (2010). Cognitive and affective disturbances following focal cerebellum damage in adults: A neuropsychological and SPECT study. CORTEX, 46, 869-897.
  • Daroff, R.B. & Bradley, W.G. (2012). Bradley's neurology in clinical practice. 6th ed. Philadelphia: Elsevier / Saunders.
  • Joyal, C.C., Meyer, C., Jacquart, G., Mahler, P., Caston, J. and Lalonde, R. (1996). Effects of midline and lateral cerebellar lesions on motor coordination and spatial orientation.Brain Research, 739 (1-2), 1-11.

Cerebellar Gait (May 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Maladies du cervelet: caractéristiques et symptômes

Maladies du cervelet: caractéristiques et symptômes

Juin 5, 2020

Généralement, lorsque l’on parle du cerveau et / ou du cerveau, on pense généralement à la région appelée cortex cérébral, la partie la plus visible de l’extérieur. Cependant, à quelques occasions, on a tendance à penser à une structure située dans sa partie inférieure et postérieure entre le tronc du cerveau et le lobe occipital, ressemblant à un deuxième cerveau de plus petites dimensions. Nous parlons du cervelet .

Ce domaine est fondamental pour notre survie, de sorte que des lésions ou des altérations de celui-ci supposent la présence de complications graves à différents niveaux, à la fois moteur, émotionnel et cognitif. C’est pourquoi, dans cet article, nous ferons une brève revue des différents altérations et maladies du cervelet et comment ils peuvent nous affecter.


  • Article connexe: "Cervelet humain: ses parties et ses fonctions"

Le cervelet: ce petit inconnu

Le cervelet est une structure en forme de pelote de laine située à l'arrière du cerveau, plus précisément derrière le tronc cérébral et sous le lobe occipital, comme je l'ai déjà mentionné.

Malgré sa taille, il s’agit d’une structure complexe qui ressemble presque à un deuxième encéphale: Il a sa propre croûte à deux hémisphères unis par une structure appelée vermis, des faisceaux de matière blanche, des noyaux et des pédoncules cérébelleux. Il possède à la fois des neurones excitateurs et inhibiteurs.

Bien qu'apparemment moins nommé que d'autres structures corticales ou sous-corticales, le cervelet revêt une grande importance pour différents aspects vitaux de l'être humain, participant à différentes fonctions cognitives et langagières, à l'émotivité, au retour d'information reçu par le mouvement et dans la motricité fine En fait, cette structure contient plus de la moitié des neurones du cerveau .


Il a également été démontré que le cervelet est lié au rythme cardiaque et à sa fréquence. Cependant, traditionnellement, on considérait que seules les fonctions liées à la motricité étaient possédées, ce n’est que plus récemment qu’il a commencé à vérifier sa pertinence dans d’autres domaines.

Nous sommes donc confrontés une structure avec beaucoup de fonctions , avec lequel des dommages dans le cervelet peuvent déclencher des répercussions graves dans la vie de la personne.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Parties du cerveau humain (et fonctions)"

Symptômes généraux

Alors que le type et l'emplacement des dommages déterminent plus ou moins les symptômes qui vont se manifester, on peut dire en gros qu'une maladie du cervelet ou la présence de différentes lésions à l'intérieur peut causer les symptômes suivants .


Ataxie

L'ataxie est le manque ou l'absence de stabilité, de coordination et de maintien de la posture et le mouvement. En cas de lésion du cervelet, l’un des symptômes les plus reconnaissables. Les dommages dans cette région provoqueront des déséquilibres et des mouvements incontrôlés et imprécis.

  • Article connexe: "Ataxie: causes, symptômes et traitements"

Autres altérations motrices

La présence de tremblements incontrôlés, de bouleversements dans le maintien de la marche ou de la dystrophie musculaire peut être causée par une blessure ou une maladie du cervelet.

Altérations en mémoire

La mémoire, en particulier la mémoire procédurale, est entre autres liée au cervelet et aux ganglions de la base. La destruction de tout ou partie du cervelet provoque de graves difficultés dans ce type d'apprentissage .

Altérations de la parole

Il est fréquent que les altérations du cervelet causent diverses formes d'anomalies dans la communication et l'expression de la langue. L'un des plus fréquents est la dysarthrie .

Troubles cognitifs

Plusieurs études montrent que l'activité du cervelet a un certain niveau de relation avec le niveau d'intelligence manifesté. En ce sens, un cervelet endommagé pourrait contribuer à diminuer les capacités intellectuelles des personnes touchées .

Altérations perceptuelles

Différentes maladies du cervelet peuvent provoquer des altérations de la perception, en particulier dans les domaines liés à la vision et à l'audition .

Participation à différents troubles mentaux

L'altération ou la lésion du cervelet ou son fonctionnement peuvent aider à générer ou à maintenir divers types de troubles psychiques, tels que l'autisme, l'anxiété, le TDAH, la schizophrénie ou des troubles de l'humeur (ces derniers étant liés en particulier au vermis).

Principales maladies du cervelet

Différents types d'altérations et de maladies peuvent affecter cette structure du système nerveux. Certaines des différentes maladies du cervelet que nous pouvons trouver sont les suivantes.

L'ataxie de Friedreich

Cette maladie est l'un des types d'ataxie les plus connus dus à des causes génétiques.Les symptômes les plus évidents sont la présence de rigidité, de manque de coordination oculaire, d'instabilité et de déséquilibre, la dysarthrie et divers problèmes osseux. Ils peuvent également apparaître des problèmes de vision et d'audition, des tremblements et des troubles métaboliques tels que le diabète. C'est une maladie neurodégénérative .

Tumeurs

La présence d'une tumeur à l'intérieur du crâne représente un risque sérieux pour ceux qui en souffrent, même s'il s'agit d'un kyste bénin, car la pression exercée sur le crâne détruit les neurones du système. Dans le cas du cervelet, on peut trouver des tumeurs de différents types , ainsi qu’un lien entre les lésions pouvant être causées par le cervelet et la détérioration cognitive.

Maladie de Von Hippel-Lindau

Cette maladie du cervelet est causée par une mutation d'un gène du chromosome trois , qui n'apparaît pas ou est défectueux. Son effet le plus connu est la provocation de différentes tumeurs dans différentes zones du corps, y compris le cervelet.

Syndrome cérébelleux

Maladie caractérisée par la présence d'ataxie, d'hypotonie, de modifications de la démarche, d'un ralentissement moteur, de tremblements lors de la réalisation d'actions et / ou d'un nystagmus dû

Syndrome de Joubert

C’est une maladie du cervelet d’origine génétique dans laquelle le vermis qui relie les deux hémisphères du cervelet est déformé ou n’existe tout simplement pas, de sorte que la communication entre les hémisphères ne peut pas se faire correctement. Le patient présente généralement des symptômes similaires à ceux de l'autisme. Il provoque généralement un retard de développement, une déficience intellectuelle, une echopraxie, une hypotonie et une ataxie, entre autres symptômes.

Cérébralité

Inflammation du cerveau pour diverses raisons, qu'elles soient virales ou bactériennes (peut être produite par exemple par la tuberculose) ou par une infection du cervelet ou des structures avoisinantes.

Syndrome de Dandy-Walker

Cette maladie du cervelet cause la disparition ou la déformation d’une partie du vermis cérébelleux, en plus d’un quatrième ventricule interne élargi et de la production de kystes à l’intérieur du crâne. Il provoque généralement une dystrophie musculaire, des troubles visuels, de la spasticité et des convulsions.

  • Peut-être vous êtes intéressé: "Malformation de Dandy Walker: causes, symptômes et traitement"

AVC

La présence de coups et de coups il peut causer la mort neuronale dans une grande partie du cervelet. Les symptômes dépendent de l'emplacement et du degré d'implication de la zone en question.

Blessures et traumatismes

Bien qu'il ne s'agisse pas d'une maladie du cervelet, la présence de lésions générées par différents traumatismes peut provoquer des lésions graves dans cette région du cerveau. Il est courant qu'ils provoquent un ralentissement du moteur et que d'éventuelles blessures et capacités prennent plus de temps que d'habitude pour se rétablir.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Baillieux, H .; De Smet, H.J.; Dobbeleir, A .; Paquier, P. F .; De Deyn, P; Mariën, P. (2010). Troubles cognitifs et affectifs consécutifs à des lésions focales du cervelet chez l’adulte: étude neuropsychologique et SPECT. CORTEX, 46, 869-897.
  • Daroff, R.B. & Bradley, W.G. (2012). La neurologie de Bradley en pratique clinique. 6ème éd. Philadelphie: Elsevier / Saunders.
  • Joyal, C. C., Meyer, C., G. Jacquart, P., Mahler, J. Caston et R. Lalonde (1996). Effets des lésions cérébrales médianes et latérales sur la coordination motrice et l'orientation spatiale.Brain Research, 739 (1-2), 1-11.

Les troubles du cerveau - L'Esprit Sorcier (Juin 2020).


Articles Connexes