yes, therapy helps!
Dissatisfaction in the couple and divorce: what factors explain it?

Dissatisfaction in the couple and divorce: what factors explain it?

May 10, 2021

In recent decades there has been a substantial gradual increase in the number of separations and divorces from previous periods. According to the data of the INE (National Institute of Statistics), in 1990 there were about 95,000 divorce proceedings . In the year 2000, the figure was about 98,000; in 2014, the total of 100,000 legal separations was exceeded, 5.6% more than the index of the previous year.

Faced with this upward trend, there are several investigations that have tried to shed some light on the factors that can lead to the appearance of a feeling of marital dissatisfaction and, in some cases, the decision to end the marital relationship. Let's see some of the hypotheses studied in this regard.


What influences affective relationships and marital dissatisfaction?

The defining aspect common to all intimate relationships (family, friendly, loving, etc.) is the interdependence . Interdependence is understood as the ability of one element to influence the other in a reciprocal and consistent manner in the respective thoughts, emotions and behaviors.

A factor that significantly influences the way an individual relates to others, and especially to the couple, is the development during childhood of the affective bond with parents . Evidence from published studies shows that a secure link, based on affection and trust, is associated in the future with traits of positive affect, empathy, high self-esteem and non-conflictive interactions with others.


In reference to marital relationships, the adult who has developed a secure bond in the first years of life, then seeks privacy , he feels comfortable within his relationship and is not constantly worried about losing her. These types of people are able to establish long, committed and satisfying relationships.

The affective bonds

Bartholomew and Horowitz have established a model for classifying the affective bond in adults that includes two dimensions: positive self-evaluation vs. negative and positive hetero-evaluation vs. negative (Bartholomew and Worowitz, 1991).

A person with a positive self-image assumes that others will generally react to an interaction in a positive way, will be esteemed by the other and treated correctly, so he will be comfortable in intimate relationships. A negative self-evaluation is related to rejection on the part of others, with which the intimate relationships that you establish will generate anxiety, inadequacy and dependence. These facts can precipitate the individual to avoid a closer and deeper type of relationship.


Commitments versus freedom

In a study by Baron and Byrne in 2004, the authors found that most of the conjugal problems were derived from the loss of freedom of each of the members since, being unable to act unilaterally, they had to agree on the decisions with the other member.

According to the aforementioned study, the desire for independence conflicts with the need for privacy unavoidably in most cases studied.

The end of the idealization, the beginning of the divorce?

On the other hand, the idealized vision of the other that each member possesses at the beginning of the relationship gradually disappears, and over time the negative aspects of the couple that went unnoticed earlier may become more relevant. Studies show that spouses tend to overestimate their level of agreement in general and especially in the style of coping with problems or difficulties.

That is to say, couples present a greater disparity of opinions than they themselves really consider . In addition, the nature of the verbalizations expressed by each member during a discussion also becomes a relevant factor in the perception of satisfaction of the marital relationship.

Thus, within a continuum where the extremes are delimited by the variables "destructive-critical-unreflective" and "constructive-consensual-reflected", the most dissatisfied couples are clearly placed in the first typology.

Negative dynamics

Related to the above, individual differences in hostility, presence of defensive attitudes towards the couple and feelings of sadness, are determining in the way couples interact. In this way, has been shown as the spouses who express more their feelings are happier In particular, it has been concluded that satisfied women define themselves as expressive, feminine and positively value that their partners are also loving and protective towards them.In the case of males, the group feels more satisfied if it is considered decisive and expressive, detesting on the other hand the fact of being rejected sexually by their partner.

In a study conducted by Fincham and Bradbury at the end of the last century, the conclusion was drawn thatto marital dissatisfaction is determined mainly by the feeling of monotony and boredom perceived by the members of the couple and that the discrepancy in the assessment of this aspect is a precipitating factor that marks the beginning of the deterioration of the marriage relationship.

The triangular model of love

One of the contributions that has had greater relevance in the field of the distinction between the different types of love has been the one made by Sternberg. With his "Triangular Model of Love" this author conceptualized love relationships based on three basic components: intimacy, passion and commitment .

According to the proposal, all love relationships have all three components but in different proportions. The data point out that those couples that have all three components equally become those that tend to establish more lasting and satisfactory relationships. Conversely, if the proportions are very unbalanced the probability of the dissatisfaction feeling is increased Regarding the relationship of couple.

Let's see then a brief definition of these components:

  • The Privacy it refers to the bond and the union of the members of the couple as they spend time together.
  • The Passion it's motivation and sexual arousal.
  • The Commitment indicates the cognitive elements involved in the decision to form the relationship and expressions of continuing commitment to it.

The field of the sexual

Finally, other aspects that can negatively influence the feeling of conjugal dissatisfaction are: the perception that each one has regarding the type and quality of the sexual relations that they maintain between themselves (Henderson-King and Veroff, 1994) or the negative emotions linked to the professional performance that extend to the personal plot and that end up overflowing the marital relationship.

This situation it can be the prelude to a separation or divorce .

Concluding

In short, as it has been observed throughout the text, it seems that the aspects relating both to the establishment of a satisfactory interdependent link, as well as to the breaking of routine and monotony, a dynamic of open and assertive communication or a balance in the intimacy, passion and commitment components are the determining factors to favor the maintenance of a positive perception of the marital relationship and interest in its continuity over time, being elements that correlate negatively with respect to the appearance of spousal level deterioration.

Bibliographic references:

  • Baron Robert A. & Byrne, Donn (2004): Social psychology. 10th Ed. Pearson Prentice Hall: Madrid.
  • Bartholomew, K., & Horowitz, L.M. (1991). Attachment styles amongyoung adults: A test of a four-category model. Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, 61, 226-244.
  • Fincham, F.D. & Bradbury, T.N. (1988b). The impact of attributions in marriage: Empirical and conceptual foundations. British Journal of Clinical Psychology, 27, 77-90.
  • Henderson-King, D. H., & Veroff, J. (1994). Sexual satisfaction and marital well-being in the first years of marriages. Journal of Social and Personal Relationships, 11, 509-534.
  • National Institute of Statistics (2015): Statistics of separations, nullities and divorces Year 2014. Retrieved from //www.ine.es/prensa/np927.pdf
  • Sternberg, R. J. (1986). A triangular theory of love. Psicological review, 93, 2, 119-136.

The Sex-Starved Relationship (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Insatisfaction dans le couple et divorce: quels facteurs l'expliquent?

Insatisfaction dans le couple et divorce: quels facteurs l'expliquent?

Mai 22, 2019

Au cours des dernières décennies, le nombre de séparations et de divorces a considérablement augmenté progressivement par rapport aux périodes précédentes. Selon les données de l'INE (Institut national de la statistique), en 1990, il y avait environ 95 000 procédures de divorce . En 2000, ce chiffre était d’environ 98 000; en 2014, le nombre total de 100 000 séparations légales a été dépassé, soit 5,6% de plus que l'indice de l'année précédente.

Face à cette tendance à la hausse, plusieurs enquêtes ont tenté de faire la lumière sur les facteurs pouvant conduire à l’apparition d’un sentiment d’insatisfaction conjugale et, dans certains cas, à la décision de mettre fin à la relation conjugale. Voyons quelques-unes des hypothèses étudiées à cet égard.


Qu'est-ce qui influence les relations affectives et l'insatisfaction conjugale?

L’aspect déterminant commun à toutes les relations intimes (famille, amis, amour, etc.) est la interdépendance . L'interdépendance est comprise comme la capacité d'un élément à influencer l'autre de manière réciproque et cohérente dans les pensées, les émotions et les comportements respectifs.

Un facteur qui influence de manière significative la manière dont une personne se lie à d’autres, et en particulier au couple, est le développement durant l'enfance du lien affectif avec les parents . Les études publiées montrent qu'un lien sécurisé, basé sur l'affection et la confiance, est associé à l'avenir à des caractéristiques d'affect positif, d'empathie, de haute estime de soi et d'interactions non conflictuelles avec les autres.


En référence aux relations conjugales, l'adulte qui a développé un lien sécurisé dans les premières années de la vie, puis cherche la vie privée , il se sent bien dans sa relation et ne craint pas de la perdre. Ces personnes sont capables d’établir de longues relations engagées et satisfaisantes.

Les liens affectifs

Bartholomew et Horowitz ont établi un modèle de classification du lien affectif chez l'adulte qui comprend deux dimensions: l'auto-évaluation positive par rapport à hétéro-évaluation négative et positive contre négatif (Bartholomew et Worowitz, 1991).

Une personne avec une image de soi positive suppose que les autres réagiront généralement de manière positive à une interaction, seront estimés par l'autre et traités correctement, de sorte qu'ils seront à l'aise dans les relations intimes. Une auto-évaluation négative est liée au rejet d'autrui, avec lequel les relations intimes que vous établissez généreront anxiété, insuffisance et dépendance. Ces faits peuvent inciter l'individu à éviter un type de relation plus étroit et plus profond.


Engagements contre liberté

Dans une étude réalisée par Baron et Byrne en 2004, les auteurs ont découvert que la plupart des problèmes conjugaux découlaient de la perte de liberté de chacun des membres étant donné que, incapables d'agir unilatéralement, ils devaient se mettre d'accord sur les décisions avec l'autre membre.

Selon l'étude susmentionnée, le désir d'indépendance est en contradiction avec le besoin de protection de la vie privée dans la plupart des cas étudiés.

La fin de l'idéalisation, le début du divorce?

D'autre part, la vision idéalisée de l'autre que chaque membre possède au début de la relation disparaît progressivement et, avec le temps, les aspects négatifs du couple passés inaperçus peuvent devenir plus pertinents. Des études montrent que les époux ont tendance à surestimer leur degré d’accord en général, et plus particulièrement dans la manière de gérer des problèmes ou des difficultés.

C'est-à-dire, les couples présentent une plus grande disparité d'opinions qu'ils ne le considèrent réellement . De plus, la nature des verbalisations exprimées par chaque membre au cours d’une discussion devient également un facteur important dans la perception de la satisfaction de la relation conjugale.

Ainsi, dans un continuum où les extrêmes sont délimités par les variables "destructif-critique-non réfléchissant" et "constructif-consensuel-réfléchi", les couples les plus insatisfaits sont clairement placés dans la première typologie.

Dynamique négative

En lien avec ce qui précède, les différences individuelles d’hostilité, la présence d’attitudes défensives envers le couple et le sentiment de tristesse sont déterminants dans la manière dont les couples interagissent. De cette façon, a été démontré que les époux qui expriment plus leurs sentiments sont plus heureux En particulier, il a été conclu que les femmes satisfaites se définissent comme expressives, féminines et valorisent positivement le fait que leurs partenaires sont aussi aimantes et protectrices envers elles.Dans le cas des hommes, le groupe se sent plus satisfait s'il est considéré comme décisif et expressif, détestant par contre le fait d'être rejeté sexuellement par son partenaire.

Dans une étude menée par Fincham et Bradbury à la fin du siècle dernier, il a été conclu queà l'insatisfaction conjugale est principalement déterminée par le sentiment de monotonie et d'ennui perçu par les membres du couple et que la divergence dans l’évaluation de cet aspect est un facteur précipitant qui marque le début de la détérioration de la relation conjugale.

Le modèle triangulaire de l'amour

L'une des contributions les plus pertinentes dans le domaine de la distinction entre les différents types d'amour a été celle de Sternberg. Avec son "modèle triangulaire de l'amour" cet auteur relations amoureuses conceptualisées basées sur trois composantes de base: intimité, passion et engagement .

Selon la proposition, toutes les relations amoureuses ont les trois composantes mais dans des proportions différentes. Les données indiquent que les couples qui ont les trois composantes deviennent également ceux qui tendent à établir des relations plus durables et satisfaisantes. Au contraire, si les proportions sont très déséquilibrées, la probabilité de ressentir de l'insatisfaction augmente En ce qui concerne la relation de couple.

Voyons ensuite une brève définition de ces composants:

  • Le Intimité il fait référence au lien et à l'union des membres du couple lorsqu'ils passent du temps ensemble.
  • Le La passion c'est la motivation et l'excitation sexuelle.
  • Le Engagement indique les éléments cognitifs impliqués dans la décision de former la relation et les expressions d'un engagement continu envers celle-ci.

Le domaine du sexuel

Enfin, d’autres aspects pouvant influencer négativement le sentiment d’insatisfaction conjugale sont: la perception que chacun a du type et de la qualité des relations sexuelles qu’ils entretiennent entre eux (Henderson-King et Veroff, 1994) ou des émotions négatives liées au une performance professionnelle qui s’étend au complot personnel et qui finit par déborder la relation conjugale.

Cette situation cela peut être le prélude à une séparation ou à un divorce .

En conclusion

En résumé, comme il a été observé tout au long du texte, il semble que les aspects liés à la fois à l’établissement d’un lien interdépendant satisfaisant, ainsi qu’à la rupture de la routine et de la monotonie, à une dynamique de communication ouverte et assertive L'équilibre entre les composantes d'intimité, de passion et d'engagement sont les facteurs déterminants pour favoriser le maintien d'une perception positive de la relation conjugale et de son intérêt pour sa continuité dans le temps, ces éléments étant en corrélation négative avec l'apparition d'une détérioration du niveau conjugal.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Baron Robert A. & Byrne, Donn (2004): Psychologie sociale. Dixième Ed. Pearson Prentice Hall: Madrid.
  • Bartholomew, K., et Horowitz, L.M. (1991). Styles d'attachement chez les jeunes adultes: Test d'un modèle à quatre catégories. Journal de la personnalité et de la psychologie sociale, 61, 226-244.
  • Fincham, F.D. & Bradbury, T.N. (1988b). L'impact des attributions dans le mariage: fondements empiriques et conceptuels. British Journal of Clinical Psychology, 27, 77-90.
  • Henderson-King, D.H. et Veroff, J. (1994). Satisfaction sexuelle et bien-être conjugal dans les premières années du mariage. Journal des relations sociales et personnelles, 11, 509-534.
  • Institut national de la statistique (2015): statistiques sur les séparations, les nullités et les divorces, année 2014. Extrait de http://www.ine.es/prensa/np927.pdf
  • Sternberg, R. J. (1986). Une théorie triangulaire de l'amour. Revue psychologique, 93, 2, 119-136.

6 troubles que peuvent provoquer les divorces dans la vie des enfants (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes