yes, therapy helps!
Dissocial disorder: symptoms, causes and treatments

Dissocial disorder: symptoms, causes and treatments

June 11, 2024

We are gregarious beings, and the fact of living in society makes it necessary to establish a series of basic rules to ensure a healthy coexistence respectful of the basic rights of each fellow citizen, both legally and ethically. Most of us obey most of these norms, or at least the second ones, often almost unconsciously by having them internalized.

However, there are people who manifest a behavioral pattern characterized by the consistent rejection of them and the indifference towards the basic rights of others.

Probably, after this description we can think that we are going to talk about adults with antisocial personality disorder. But the truth is that these patterns are also observed in childhood, in those children with dissocial disorder . It is this disorder that we are going to talk about throughout this article.


  • Maybe you're interested: "The 6 stages of childhood (physical and psychic development)"

Defining the disorder

The dissocial disorder, now called conduct disorder in the latest version of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5), it is a characteristic alteration of underage subjects (being able to start at different stages of child and adolescent development) that throughout their childhood present a pattern of continuous behavior characterized by the presence of a systematic violation of social norms and the rights of others for at least twelve months.

Specifically, this pattern of behavior is identified with the presence of aggressive behavior against people (which may include the use of weapons) or animals (being frequently the torture and / or execution of small animals and pets), the use of fraud and theft of small objects or the breaking and entering, serious breach of the rules general social problems of cohabitation and / or vandalism.


Children with this disorder suffer significant deterioration in various areas such as social life and school . They tend to present low levels of empathy, ignoring the rights and feelings of others. It is also common to give a sense of hardness of character, as well as having preconceived ideas about society and rejection. They are also characterized, in general, by acting without thinking about the consequences and impulsively, with risky behaviors and low capacity for delaying gratification and tolerance of frustration.

Generally, their actions do not usually go unnoticed by the environment, something that can also lead to problems of socialization and frequent problems at the school level and with justice. In spite of this, some behaviors usually go unnoticed initially, being hidden or little visible (like the torture of animals). They may present disregard for their performance, superficial affection, lack of empathy and a low or no level of remorse to the consequences of their actions, although these characteristics do not occur in all cases.


Relationship with antisocial personality disorder

Dyssocial disorder has been considered throughout history, and in fact has sometimes been confused, with antisocial personality disorder. It should be noted that both are not synonymous, although in some cases there is syndromic continuity and the diagnostic criteria of both disorders have few divergences beyond the age of onset (the antisocial disorder requires that the subject already has the personality formed, considering the point of inflection as of 18 years of age although antisocial behavior patterns must appear before the age of fifteen).

In fact, although most of the disorder disappears upon reaching adulthood and develop more elaborate behaviors and capacities (especially in those cases in which the manifestation of the disorder has a rather adolescent start), a considerable percentage of these children will eventually develop an antisocial personality disorder. In this case we are largely with subjects who have had a disocial disorder of earlier onset, setting and limiting more their behavioral repertoire and their way of seeing life.

  • Related article: "Aggression in childhood: the causes of aggression in children"

Possible causes associated with this psychological phenomenon

Since the conception of this disorder, the scientific community has tried to find an explanation for this type of behavioral disorder. It is considered that there is no single cause of this disorder, but that there are multiple factors that influence its genesis .

From a biological perspective, the possible existence of behavioral inhibition problems derived from a lack of development or infraactivation of the frontal together with an excess activation of the limbic system and the cerebral reward system has been raised. It also assesses the existence of a lack of moral development, the capacity for empathy and immaturity, which may be partly due to elements intrinsic to its biology and partly because of poor socialization .

At a more psychological and social level, it has been observed that many of these children leave from homes where there are problems of behavior and marginality. The presence of ongoing intrafamilial conflicts can be associated by the minors as a natural way of proceeding, acting as a model, while at the same time can condition the child learn not to trust others . Social rejection has also been linked to the emergence of this disorder, observing that they usually have problems relating and solving problems.

The type of parenting pattern is also linked: authoritarian parents and critics with a punitive way of acting or overly permissive parents whose indications are unclear and do not allow them to learn discipline or the need to comply are more likely to teach their children to act covertly or to always have their will done. This does not necessarily imply a dissocial disorder, but it can facilitate it.

An attempt has also been made to explain this problem as an aspect based on conditioning: throughout its life the minor has observed that the performance of aggressive acts serves to meet their objectives , being the consequences of said appetitive acts initially and reinforcing the repetition of the same way of proceeding.

Treatment

Dyssocial disorder is a problem whose treatment even today is not fully established. It is common to use various multimodal programs, which include both the child and the parents and services in contact with the child, and they require the collaboration of professionals from different disciplines and with an eclectic approach.

At the psychological level, a program that includes training in social and communication skills, as well as problem solving, is usually recommended. The reinforcement of prosocial behaviors, behavioral contracts, modeling and emotional expression are also useful. Generally, cognitive-behavioral programs are used , trying to teach positive ways of relating and generating alternative behaviors to those of the disorder.

Training for parents and psychoeducation are also elements to be taken into account and can help to reassure and teach action and learning guidelines for the child.

In very extreme cases and especially in those subjects whose behavioral alterations are due to the experimentation of emotional distress, in addition to a treatment dedicated to modify the elements that generate discomfort or the perception of these the use of some drugs may be recommended as the SSRIs.

Bibliographic references:

  • American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. Fifth edition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelona.
  • Thief, A. (2012). Child Clinical Psychology. CEDE Manual of Preparation PIR, 0 .. CEDE: Madrid.
  • Pérez, M .; Fernández, J.R .; Fernández, I. (2006). Guide to effective psychological treatments III. Childhood and adolescence Pyramid: Madrid.

Antisocial Personality Disorder: Symptoms and Treatment (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Trouble dissocial: symptômes, causes et traitements

Trouble dissocial: symptômes, causes et traitements

Novembre 19, 2022

Nous sommes des êtres grégaires et le fait de vivre dans la société rend nécessaire l’établissement d’une série de règles fondamentales pour assurer une coexistence saine respectueuse des droits fondamentaux de chaque concitoyen, tant sur le plan juridique que sur le plan éthique. La plupart d'entre nous obéissent à la plupart de ces normes, ou du moins aux secondes, souvent presque inconsciemment en les intériorisant.

Cependant, il y a des gens qui manifestent un comportement comportemental caractérisé par leur rejet constant et leur indifférence à l'égard des droits fondamentaux des autres.

Probablement, après cette description, nous pouvons penser que nous allons parler d'adultes présentant un trouble de la personnalité antisocial. Mais la vérité est que ces modèles sont également observés dans l'enfance, chez les enfants atteints de trouble dissocial . C'est ce désordre dont nous allons parler tout au long de cet article.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 6 étapes de l'enfance (développement physique et psychique)"

Définir le désordre

Le trouble dissocial, maintenant appelé trouble de la conduite dans la dernière version du Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux (DSM-5), il s'agit d'une altération caractéristique des sujets mineurs (pouvant démarrer à différents stades du développement de l'enfant et de l'adolescent) qui présente tout au long de leur enfance un schéma de comportement continu caractérisé par la présence d'une violation systématique des normes sociales et des droits d'autrui pendant au moins douze mois.

Plus précisément ce type de comportement est identifié à la présence d'un comportement agressif contre des personnes (pouvant inclure l'utilisation d'armes) ou des animaux (fréquemment des actes de torture et / ou des exécutions de petits animaux et d'animaux domestiques), l'utilisation frauduleuse et le vol de petits objets ou l'introduction par effraction, une infraction grave aux règles problèmes sociaux généraux de cohabitation et / ou de vandalisme.


Les enfants atteints de ce trouble souffrent détérioration significative dans divers domaines tels que la vie sociale et scolaire . Ils ont tendance à présenter de faibles niveaux d'empathie, ignorant les droits et les sentiments des autres. Il est également courant de donner une impression de dureté de caractère et d'avoir des idées préconçues sur la société et le rejet. Ils se caractérisent également, en général, par une action sans penser aux conséquences et impulsive, avec des comportements à risque et une faible capacité à retarder la gratification et la tolérance de la frustration.

De manière générale, leurs actions ne passent généralement pas inaperçues de l'environnement, ce qui peut également entraîner des problèmes de socialisation et des problèmes fréquents au niveau de l'école et de la justice. Malgré cela, certains comportements passent généralement inaperçus au début, étant cachés ou peu visibles (comme la torture d'animaux). Ils peuvent présenter un mépris pour leurs performances, une affection superficielle, un manque d'empathie et peu ou pas de remords quant aux conséquences de leurs actes, bien que ces caractéristiques ne se manifestent pas dans tous les cas.


Relation avec trouble de la personnalité antisociale

Le trouble dyssocial a été considéré à travers l’histoire et a même parfois été confondu avec un trouble de la personnalité antisocial. Il convient de noter que les deux ne sont pas synonymes, bien que dans certains cas il existe une continuité syndromique et les critères de diagnostic des deux troubles présentent peu de divergences au-delà de l'âge d'apparition (le trouble antisocial exige que le sujet ait déjà la personnalité formée, en considérant le point d'inflexion à partir de 18 ans bien que les comportements antisociaux doivent apparaître avant l'âge de 15 ans).

En fait, bien que la plus grande partie du trouble disparaisse à l’âge adulte et développe des comportements et des capacités plus élaborés (en particulier dans les cas où la manifestation du trouble commence plutôt à l’adolescence), un pourcentage considérable de ces enfants finira par un trouble de la personnalité antisociale. Dans ce cas, nous sommes principalement avec des sujets qui ont eu un trouble désocial débutant plus tôt, fixant et limitant davantage leur répertoire comportemental et leur façon de voir la vie.

  • Article connexe: "Agression dans l'enfance: les causes de l'agression chez les enfants"

Causes possibles associées à ce phénomène psychologique

Depuis la conception de ce trouble, la communauté scientifique a tenté de trouver une explication à ce type de trouble du comportement. On considère qu'il n'y a pas de cause unique à ce trouble, mais que il y a de multiples facteurs qui influencent sa genèse .

D'un point de vue biologique, l'existence possible de problèmes d'inhibition du comportement liés à un manque de développement ou à une infraactivation du front, associée à une activation excessive du système limbique et du système de récompense cérébrale a été évoquée. Il évalue également l'existence d'un manque de développement moral, la capacité d'empathie et d'immaturité, ce qui peut être dû en partie à des éléments intrinsèques à sa biologie. et en partie à cause d'une mauvaise socialisation .

Sur un plan plus psychologique et social, il a été observé que beaucoup de ces enfants quittent des foyers où il existe des problèmes de comportement et de marginalité. Les mineurs peuvent associer la présence de conflits intrafamiliaux en cours comme une façon naturelle de procéder, en servant de modèle, tout en peut conditionner l'enfant apprendre à ne pas faire confiance aux autres . Le rejet social a également été associé à l’émergence de ce trouble, observant qu’ils ont généralement des problèmes de relation et de résolution de problèmes.

Le type de modèle parental est également lié: parents autoritaires et critiques avec une façon punitive d'agir ou les parents trop permissifs dont les indications ne sont pas claires et ne leur permettent pas d'apprendre la discipline ou la nécessité de se conformer sont plus susceptibles d'enseigner à leurs enfants à agir secrètement ou à toujours faire leur volonté. Cela n'implique pas nécessairement un trouble dissocial, mais cela peut le faciliter.

Une tentative a également été faite pour expliquer ce problème comme un aspect basé sur le conditionnement: tout au long de sa vie, le mineur a constaté que l'exécution d'actes d'agression sert à atteindre leurs objectifs , étant les conséquences desdits actes d’appétit initialement et renforçant la répétition de la même façon de procéder.

Traitement

Le désordre social est un problème dont le traitement n’est pas encore établi, même aujourd’hui. Il est courant d'utiliser divers programmes multimodaux, qui incluent à la fois l'enfant et les parents, et les services en contact avec l'enfant, et ils nécessitent la collaboration de professionnels de différentes disciplines et avec une approche éclectique.

Sur le plan psychologique, un programme qui comprend une formation en compétences sociales et en communication, ainsi que la résolution de problèmes, est généralement recommandé. Le renforcement des comportements prosociaux, les contrats de comportement, la modélisation et l'expression émotionnelle sont également utiles. Généralement, les programmes cognitivo-comportementaux sont utilisés , essayant d'enseigner des façons positives de relier et de générer des comportements alternatifs à ceux du trouble.

La formation des parents et la psychoéducation sont également des éléments à prendre en compte et peuvent aider à rassurer et à enseigner des directives d'action et d'apprentissage à l'enfant.

Dans des cas très extrêmes et en particulier chez les sujets dont les modifications de comportement sont dues à l’expérimentation de détresse émotionnelle, en plus d’un traitement destiné à modifier les éléments générant une gêne ou la perception de ceux-ci. l'utilisation de certains médicaments peut être recommandée comme les ISRS.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Association américaine de psychiatrie. (2013). Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux. Cinquième édition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelone.
  • Voleur, A. (2012). Psychologie clinique de l'enfant. CEDE Manuel de préparation PIR, 0 .. CEDE: Madrid.
  • Pérez, M .; Fernández, J.R .; Fernández, I. (2006). Guide pour des traitements psychologiques efficaces III. Enfance et adolescence Pyramide: Madrid.

Trouble de la personnalité dépendante (TPD) (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes