yes, therapy helps!
Divorce in maturity: keys to know how to face it

Divorce in maturity: keys to know how to face it

May 23, 2022

The stage of maturity has been and continues to be studied by psychology, and although there is no rule that defines exactly what is maturity in its entirety, psychology has been used as an interdisciplinary science of a variety of constructs in order to gather and give a definition not only psychological but integrative of what this stage of life involves.

The dictionary of the Spanish Royal Academy defines the maturity as that stage in which the vital fullness has been reached and has not yet reached old age . The theorists have come to the conclusion that the maturity fluctuates between 45 to 65 years and is for many the stage where the responsibilities (family or work) are gradually ending: those who formed a family in their youth, for example, see how their children form new families and move away from home.


In short, maturity is a stage of transition that all human beings are destined to live. A phase in which people, in general, have achieved a large part of their professional, family, social, academic goals, etc. Of course, that does not mean that it is exempt from crises and potentially problematic phenomena.

The crisis of divorce

Among the many crises and problems that usually occur at this stage, there is one that has been on the rise in the last 10 to 15 years: The divorce . The possibility of experiencing this stage usually increases in this stage of life, a phenomenon with a multi-causal origin and over which it is not always easy to intervene from psychology.


Interestingly, about two decades ago it was less common to think about a divorce in this vital stage. Although there were cases, it was not the alternative to choose if there were conjugal problems, as many people considered that this stage is where couples life can be enjoyed more and more easily. Time to enjoy the company of the spouse with privacy, in short.

Social and even religious issues have gone into the background and divorce has taken force to such an extent that it is considered the most viable option when you no longer want to live with your partner.

What can be the causes of divorce?

A divorce can not be explained by a single cause, but there are certain aspects that influence more than others. For example, several experts in mental health claim that one of the causes of divorces in middle age or later is due to what they have called the empty nest syndrome, which consists of the feeling of loneliness and abandonment that some parents can experience or guardians when the children stop living in the same home and / or form a family.


Experts point out that the majority of couples focus more on parenting and less on the relationship, and when the children complete their cycle within the family and the parents are left alone, they discover their spouses in full, with all its pleasant and unpleasant aspects that were not noticed before. If, in addition, within the relationship there have been conjugal problems that have not been solved (infidelities, conflicts in the distribution of tasks, etc.), the syndrome becomes the fastest way to terminate the marriage or the conjugal relationship .

Fit the divorce with integrity

A divorce at this stage of maturity it tends to be very painful , since the idea of ​​arriving alone at old age terrifies many people. Not having a company, not having physical or emotional support, can be devastating.

In this sense, for example, the magazine British Medical Journal, published a study in people of mature age, where it was stated that loneliness caused by widowhood, separation or divorce, rises the risk of suffering cognitive deterioration later in the lives of people. This can be interpreted as an effect of the social and affective impoverishment that some of these people can experience.

Love may end, but a much more difficult task arises after all this stage. And it is to break the emotional bonds that have united us to that person for years, a difficult task to cope with.

Can a divorce be avoided?

Each pair has its history and can not give an exact and correct formula to this question since each pair is very different. Anyway, the question "can you avoid a divorce?" It is itself a sign of a problem: consider that under certain conditions a member of the couple may be able to decide for the other person .

What it is about is to make a good balance of the needs and objectives that the other person can have, and apply self-criticism to see in which points it is oneself that is favoring the appearance of conflictividade s . And, if the other person wants a divorce, respect their decision.The divorce becomes an ordeal when one of the two parties does not want to accept it, and refuses to take a step to the side of the relationship.

What to do if a divorce occurs at maturity?

Yes, divorce is a very difficult stage, but the attitude we take before it will be essential to not transform this crisis into something greater. The objective must be pass through the divorce peacefully and with an appropriate self-regulation of emotions .

When someone goes through a divorce, it will always be necessary for people of great confidence to be in those moments, people who serve as emotional support and who, due to their experience and affective ties towards the person, are very suitable to listen and attend to the person who goes through this painful stage. Empathy plays an important role.

For it, it's good to let them know that you need their support (if it is needed) so that they can act accordingly by being informed: some people may assume that their attempts at rapprochement and comfort may be ill-received.

However, in some cases staying calm will sometimes be impossible. When the situation becomes unsustainable it is better to seek professional help.

Once the divorce process is over, it is advisable to carry out sports activities if in the case of the person can do it, or r perform any activity that breaks the routine and that is pleasant . It is also useful to work to improve self-esteem, which may have been compromised during the divorce.

Bibliographic references:

  • Graig, G. J. and Baucum, D. (1999): Psychological development. Mexico D.F: Pearson.
  • Berger, K. S. (2008): Developmental Psychology: Adult and Old Age. Madrid: Editorial Panamericana.
  • Caballo, V. (2010): Therapy and Behavior Modification. Faculty of Psychological Sciences University of Guayaquil.

Single, Married, Separated & Life After Divorce | Myles Munroe (May 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le divorce à maturité: des clés pour savoir comment y faire face

Le divorce à maturité: des clés pour savoir comment y faire face

Août 10, 2022

Le stade de maturité la psychologie a été et continue d’être étudiée par la psychologie, et bien qu’aucune règle ne définisse exactement ce qu'est la maturité dans son ensemble, la psychologie a été utilisée comme science interdisciplinaire de diverses constructions afin de rassembler et de donner une définition psychologique mais intégrateur de ce que cette étape de la vie implique.

Le dictionnaire de l’Académie royale espagnole définit les maturité comme ce stade où la plénitude vitale a été atteinte et n'a pas encore atteint la vieillesse . Les théoriciens sont parvenus à la conclusion que la maturité fluctue entre 45 et 65 ans et constitue pour beaucoup le stade où les responsabilités (familiales ou professionnelles) se terminent progressivement: ceux qui ont formé une famille dans leur jeunesse, par exemple, voir comment leurs enfants forment de nouvelles familles et s’éloignent de la maison.


En bref, la maturité est une étape de transition que tous les êtres humains sont destinés à vivre. Une phase au cours de laquelle les personnes ont en général atteint une grande partie de leurs objectifs professionnels, familiaux, sociaux, universitaires, etc. Bien entendu, cela ne signifie pas pour autant qu'il est exempt de crises et de phénomènes potentiellement problématiques.

La crise du divorce

Parmi les nombreuses crises et problèmes qui se produisent habituellement à ce stade, il en est une qui est en augmentation depuis 10 à 15 ans: le divorce . La possibilité de vivre cette étape augmente généralement dans cette étape de la vie, un phénomène d’origine multi-causale et sur lequel il n’est pas toujours facile d’intervenir de la psychologie.


Fait intéressant, il y a environ deux décennies, il était moins courant de penser à un divorce à ce stade vital. Bien qu'il y ait eu des cas, ce n'était pas l'alternative de choisir s'il y avait des problèmes conjugaux, car beaucoup de personnes ont estimé que c'est à ce stade que l'on peut jouir de plus en plus facilement de la vie de couple. Le temps de profiter de la compagnie du conjoint en toute intimité, en bref.

Des problèmes sociaux et même religieux sont passés au second plan et le divorce a pris une telle ampleur qu'il est considéré comme l'option la plus viable lorsque vous ne souhaitez plus vivre avec votre partenaire.

Quelles peuvent être les causes du divorce?

Un divorce ne peut être expliqué par une seule cause, mais certains aspects influencent plus que d'autres. Par exemple, plusieurs experts en santé mentale prétendent que l’une des causes de divorces à l’âge moyen ou plus tard est due à ce qu’ils ont appelé le syndrome du nid vide, qui consiste en sentiment de solitude et d'abandon que certains parents peuvent ressentir ou tuteurs lorsque les enfants cessent de vivre dans le même foyer et / ou forment une famille.


Les experts soulignent que la majorité des couples se concentrent davantage sur la parentalité et moins sur la relation. Lorsque les enfants terminent leur cycle au sein de la famille et que les parents sont laissés à eux-mêmes, ils découvrent pleinement leur conjoint, avec tous ses aspects agréables et désagréables qui n’avaient pas été remarqués auparavant. Si, en outre, des problèmes conjugaux non résolus (infidélités, conflits dans la répartition des tâches, etc.) ont été rencontrés dans la relation, le syndrome devient le moyen le plus rapide de mettre fin au mariage ou à la relation conjugale. .

Fit le divorce avec intégrité

Un divorce à ce stade de maturité ça a tendance à être très douloureux , car l'idée d'arriver seul à la vieillesse effraie beaucoup de gens. Ne pas avoir d'entreprise, de soutien physique ou émotionnel, peut être dévastateur.

En ce sens, par exemple, le magazine British Medical Journal, a publié une étude chez les personnes d'âge mûr, où il a été déclaré que solitude causée par le veuvage, la séparation ou le divorce, augmente le risque de souffrir de détérioration cognitive plus tard dans la vie des gens. Cela peut être interprété comme un effet de l'appauvrissement social et affectif que certaines de ces personnes peuvent ressentir.

L'amour peut finir, mais une tâche beaucoup plus difficile se pose après tout ce stade. Et c’est briser les liens émotionnels qui nous unissent à cette personne depuis des années, une tâche difficile à gérer.

Peut-on éviter un divorce?

Chaque paire a son histoire et ne peut pas donner une formule exacte et correcte à cette question car chaque paire est très différente. Quoi qu'il en soit, la question "pouvez-vous éviter un divorce?" C'est en soi un signe de problème: considérer que, dans certaines conditions, un membre du couple peut être en mesure de décider pour l'autre personne .

Il s’agit d’équilibrer les besoins et les objectifs que l’autre personne peut avoir, et pratiquer l'autocritique pour voir en quels points c'est soi-même qui favorise l'apparition de conflictividade s . Et, si l'autre personne veut divorcer, respectez sa décision.Le divorce devient une épreuve quand l’une des deux parties ne veut pas l’accepter et refuse de faire un pas de côté de la relation.

Que faire si un divorce survient à maturité?

Oui, le divorce est une étape très difficile, mais l'attitude que nous adoptons avant qu'il soit essentiel de ne pas transformer cette crise en quelque chose de plus grave. L'objectif doit être passer par le divorce pacifiquement et avec une auto-régulation appropriée des émotions .

Lorsqu'une personne divorce, il sera toujours nécessaire que les personnes de grande confiance soient dans ces moments, des personnes qui servent de soutien émotionnel et qui, de par leur expérience et leurs liens affectifs avec la personne, sont très appropriées pour écouter personne qui traverse cette étape douloureuse. L'empathie joue un rôle important.

Pour cela, il est bon de leur faire savoir que vous avez besoin de leur soutien (si cela est nécessaire) pour qu’ils puissent agir en conséquence en étant informés: certaines personnes peuvent présumer que leurs tentatives de rapprochement et de réconfort peuvent être mal reçues.

Cependant, dans certains cas, rester calme sera parfois impossible. Lorsque la situation devient insoutenable, il est préférable de faire appel à un professionnel.

Une fois la procédure de divorce terminée, il est conseillé de pratiquer des activités sportives si la personne peut le faire, ou r effectuer toute activité qui brise la routine et qui est agréable . Il est également utile de travailler à améliorer l'estime de soi, qui peut avoir été compromise pendant le divorce.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Graig, G. J. et Baucum, D. (1999): développement psychologique. Mexico D.F: Pearson.
  • Berger, K. S. (2008): Psychologie du développement: l'âge adulte et le vieil âge. Madrid: Panamericana éditorial.
  • Caballo, V. (2010): Thérapie et modification du comportement. Faculté des sciences psychologiques Université de Guayaquil.

PASTEUR YVAN CASTANOU- 5 CHOSES A SAVOIR POUR DOMINER UN ESPRIT MÉCHANT (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes