yes, therapy helps!
DMT: effects and mechanism of action of this substance

DMT: effects and mechanism of action of this substance

July 19, 2024

DMT is a psychoactive substance with potent hallucinogenic effects . It is a compound present in different plants, and to a lesser extent in the brain of mammals. Likewise, it is an element that has been used frequently in mystical and spiritual rituals over time. In recent times, its use has also been transferred to pharmacology in different psychiatric treatments.

Next we will see what the DMT is, what are its main effects and what is its mechanism of action.

  • Related article: "Types of drugs: know their characteristics and effects"

What is DMT?

DMT stands for the N, N-dimethyltryptamine, a chemical substance with powerful hallucinogenic properties that is obtained from vegetable substances . Its consumption can be in the form of extract, or as a refined synthetic. In the latter case, the product is a small solid that, in general, has a white color; although when mixed with other substances for illegal sale it can have different colors.


This substance is consumed orally, either by intake or by inhalation (ie, smoked). In both cases, its effects are perceived almost immediately, although when consumed by inhalation, its effect is faster and prevents the possible adverse reactions involved in its absorption by the stomach at the time of intake.

As it is a component that can be found in one or more plant elements, the DMT it is considered as an entheogenic substance . One of these elements is, for example, the psychotria vidris or chacruna, a plant that is used to prepare ayahuasca or yagé (traditional indigenous drink used by several American peoples).


Likewise, and in small proportions, DMT is produced by our own brain, which is also considered an endogenous chemical. On the other hand, DMT belongs to the pharmacological category of tryptamines, which are alkaloids with neuromodulatory effects.

Finally, because of its effects on the body, DMT is considered a hallucinogenic psychoactive substance. That is to say, Its main effect is to produce hallucinations , with special existential and mystical content. For this very reason it is also known as "the molecule of God".

  • Maybe you're interested: "The story of the doctor who tried to treat his depression by smoking DMT every day"

Mechanism of action

DMT acts by inhibiting an enzyme called monoamine oxidase (MAO). That is, it is activated when another substance prevents the MAOs from acting within the organism. This is because this enzyme, MAO, has as its main function to inactivate or degrade some neurotransmitters, among which is Dopamine, serotonin, noradrenaline, adrenaline , and also the DMT.


Stated differently, when monoamine oxidase activity is inhibited, DMT levels are also prevented from gradually decreasing. Thus, for DMT to have its effects, it must be mixed with a substance that is inhibiting monoamine oxidase (MAOI).

Some substances that act as MAOIs are beta-carboline class alkaloids, present in plants such as Cape vinca, English grass, or fescue arundinacea. On the other hand, the plants that contain DMT (whose analog in pharmacology is the group of the tryptamines) are the chacruna or the chaliponga.

In short, for DMT to have its effects, it is necessary mix this tryptamine with some MAOI substance . For this reason, DMT is usually consumed together with drugs of this type, originally used for the treatment of depression. When mixed, the effects of DMT are enhanced and lengthened, although these usually last no longer than 30 minutes.

However, DMT can also be consumed without the need for IMAO substances and drugs, having an imperceptible effect. It is rapidly metabolized in the body and its consumption without MAOIs does not generate tolerance, probably due to its endogenous and entheogenic nature.

  • Maybe you're interested: "MAOIs (monoamine oxidase inhibitors): effects and types"

Three main effects and uses

The effects of DMT usually last between 5 and 30 minutes and are mainly hallucinations of various types. Although these effects have a short duration, the experiences they provoke are usually very intense. Likewise, DMT has been related to brain activity and the pharmacological treatment of some psychiatric diagnoses . Following the above, we will see three of its main effects below.

1. Hallucinations

As we have said, the main effect of DMT is to provoke hallucinations, both visual and auditory and sensory, with a fairly elaborate mystical content. For example, may include extrasensory or non-verbal communications with different beings or perception of having made astral travel.

Also, prolonged use and high doses can induce manic and psychotic episodes, or an increase in the symptoms associated with these states. Similarly (and as is often the case with psychoactive substances), it can generate abstinence syndromes in the face of a sudden withdrawal.

  • Related article: "Hallucinations: definition, causes, and symptoms"

2. Hypothesis about its role in the brain

The functions of this substance in the brains of humans and animals continues to be a mystery. Some hypotheses argue that is involved in dream experiences , that is, in the visual effects developed when we dream. Likewise, some hypotheses say that it can serve as a precursor of experiences close to death. This last is another reason why it is considered as "the molecule of God" or "molecule of the spirit".

3. Medical use

In the same way, this substance has been related to some neurodegenerative medical conditions, due to its activity in the Sigma-1 receptor (a protein found in a large part of the central nervous system). For the same reason its use has been significantly related to different psychiatric diagnoses such as schizophrenia , and also with the treatment of depression.

The latter may be related to an increase in the global connectivity of some areas of the brain, as well as an enhancing effect of neurotransmitters such as serotonin, associated with mood states euphoric, although there is no consensus of the scientific community on this.

Bibliographic references:

  • Brown, T .; Shao, W .; Ayub, S .; Chong, D. & Cornelius, C. (2017). A Physician's Attempt to Self-Medicate Bipolar Depression with N, NDimethyltryptamine (DMT), Journal of Psychoactive Drugs. Taylor & Francis Group. United States of America.
  • Miliano, C., Serpelloni, G., Rimondo, C., Mereu, M., Matteo, M. and De Luca, MA. (2016). Neuropharmacology of New Psychoactive Substances (NPS): Focus on the Rewarding and Reinforcing Properties of Cannabimimetics and Amphetamine-Like Stimulants. Front Neuroscience, 10: 153.
  • Sánchez-Monge, M. (2016). The journey of LSD from the counterculture to the treatment of psychiatric pathologies. Medical Journal, Madrid. Retrieved September 11, 2018. Available at //www.diariomedico.com/especialidades/salud-mental/el-viaje-del-lsd-desde-la-contracultura-al-tratamiento-de-las-patologias-psiquiatricas.html .
  • Wallach, JV. (2009). Endogenous hallucinogens as ligands of the trace amine receptors: a possible role in sensory perception. Med Hypotheses, 72 (1): 91-94.

Your Brain On Ayahuasca: The Hallucinogenic Drug (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
DMT: effets et mécanisme d'action de cette substance

DMT: effets et mécanisme d'action de cette substance

Mai 21, 2022

Le DMT est une substance psychoactive avec des effets hallucinogènes puissants . C'est un composé présent dans différentes plantes et, dans une moindre mesure, dans le cerveau des mammifères. De même, c'est un élément qui a été utilisé fréquemment dans les rituels mystiques et spirituels au fil du temps. Ces derniers temps, son utilisation a également été transférée à la pharmacologie dans différents traitements psychiatriques.

Nous verrons ensuite ce qu'est le DMT, quels sont ses principaux effets et son mécanisme d'action.

  • Article connexe: "Types de drogues: connaître leurs caractéristiques et leurs effets"

Qu'est ce que le DMT?

DMT signifie la N, N-diméthyltryptamine, une substance chimique aux propriétés hallucinogènes puissantes obtenue à partir de substances végétales . Sa consommation peut être sous forme d'extrait, ou sous forme de synthèse raffinée. Dans ce dernier cas, le produit est un petit solide de couleur blanche; bien que mélangé avec d'autres substances pour la vente illégale, il peut avoir des couleurs différentes.


Cette substance est consommée par voie orale, soit par ingestion, soit par inhalation (c.-à-d. Fumé). Dans les deux cas, ses effets sont perçus presque immédiatement, bien que, lorsqu'il est consommé par inhalation, ses effets soient plus rapides et évitent les effets indésirables éventuels impliqués dans son absorption par l'estomac au moment de la prise.

Comme il s’agit d’un composant que l’on trouve dans un ou plusieurs éléments de l’installation, le DMT il est considéré comme une substance enthéogénique . L'un de ces éléments est, par exemple, la psychotria vidris ou chacruna, une plante utilisée pour préparer l'ayahuasca ou yagé (boisson autochtone traditionnelle utilisée par plusieurs peuples américains).


De même, et dans de faibles proportions, le DMT est produit par notre propre cerveau, qui est également considéré comme un produit chimique endogène. Par ailleurs, le DMT appartient à la catégorie pharmacologique des tryptamines, des alcaloïdes ayant des effets neuromodulateurs.

Enfin, en raison de ses effets sur le corps, le DMT est considéré comme une substance psychoactive hallucinogène. C'est-à-dire, Son effet principal est de produire des hallucinations , avec un contenu existentiel et mystique spécial. Pour cette raison même, on l'appelle aussi "la molécule de Dieu".

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "L'histoire du médecin qui a essayé de traiter sa dépression en fumant du DMT tous les jours"

Mécanisme d'action

Le DMT agit en inhibant une enzyme appelée monoamine oxydase (MAO). En d'autres termes, il est activé lorsqu'une autre substance empêche les MAO d'agir dans l'organisme. En effet, cette enzyme, la MAO, a pour fonction principale d’inactiver ou de dégrader certains neurotransmetteurs, parmi lesquels: Dopamine, sérotonine, noradrénaline, adrénaline et aussi le DMT.


En d'autres termes, lorsque l'activité de la monoamine oxydase est inhibée, les niveaux de DMT sont également empêchés de diminuer progressivement. Ainsi, pour que le DMT ait ses effets, il doit être mélangé à une substance inhibitrice de la monoamine oxydase (MAOI).

Certaines substances qui agissent comme des IMAO sont les alcaloïdes de la classe bêta-carboline, présents dans des plantes telles que le cap Vinca, l'herbe anglaise ou la fétuque arundinacea. Par ailleurs, les plantes contenant du DMT (dont l’analogue en pharmacologie est le groupe des tryptamines) sont la chacruna ou la chaliponga.

En bref, pour que le DMT ait ses effets, il est nécessaire mélanger cette tryptamine avec une substance MAOI . Pour cette raison, le DMT est généralement consommé avec des médicaments de ce type, utilisés à l'origine pour le traitement de la dépression. Une fois mélangés, les effets du DMT sont renforcés et prolongés, bien qu'ils ne durent généralement pas plus de 30 minutes.

Cependant, le DMT peut également être consommé sans nécessiter de substances IMAO ni de médicaments, ce qui a un effet imperceptible. Il est rapidement métabolisé dans le corps et sa consommation sans IMAO ne génère pas de tolérance, probablement en raison de sa nature endogène et enthéogénique.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "IMAO (inhibiteurs de la monoamine oxydase): effets et types"

Trois principaux effets et utilisations

Les effets de la DMT durent généralement entre 5 et 30 minutes et sont principalement des hallucinations de divers types. Bien que ces effets aient une courte durée, les expériences qu’ils provoquent sont généralement très intenses. De même, le DMT a été lié à l'activité cérébrale et le traitement pharmacologique de certains diagnostics psychiatriques . Après ce qui précède, nous verrons ci-dessous trois de ses principaux effets.

1. hallucinations

Comme nous l’avons dit, l’effet principal du DMT est de provoquer des hallucinations, à la fois visuelles, auditives et sensorielles, avec un contenu mystique assez élaboré. Par exemple, peut inclure des communications extrasensorielles ou non verbales avec différents êtres ou la perception d'avoir fait un voyage astral.

En outre, une utilisation prolongée et des doses élevées peuvent provoquer des épisodes maniaques et psychotiques ou une augmentation des symptômes associés à ces états. De même (et comme souvent avec les substances psychoactives), elle peut générer des syndromes d’abstinence face à un retrait soudain.

  • Article connexe: "Hallucinations: définition, causes et symptômes"

2. Hypothèse sur son rôle dans le cerveau

Les fonctions de cette substance dans le cerveau des humains et des animaux continuent d’être un mystère. Certaines hypothèses soutiennent que est impliqué dans des expériences de rêve c'est-à-dire dans les effets visuels développés lorsque nous rêvons. De même, certaines hypothèses indiquent qu'il peut servir de précurseur d'expériences proches de la mort. Ce dernier est une autre raison pour laquelle il est considéré comme "la molécule de Dieu" ou "molécule de l'esprit".

3. Usage médical

De la même manière, cette substance a été liée à certaines conditions médicales neurodégénératives, en raison de son activité sur le récepteur Sigma-1 (une protéine présente dans une grande partie du système nerveux central). Pour la même raison son utilisation a été significativement lié à différents diagnostics psychiatriques tels que la schizophrénie et aussi avec le traitement de la dépression.

Ces derniers pourraient être liés à une augmentation de la connectivité globale de certaines zones du cerveau, ainsi qu’à un effet accru de neurotransmetteurs tels que la sérotonine, associés à des états de l’humeur euphoriques, bien qu’il n’y ait pas de consensus de la communauté scientifique à ce sujet.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Brown, T .; Shao, W; Ayub, S .; Chong, D. et Cornelius, C. (2017). Tentative d'auto-médication de la dépression bipolaire avec N, NDimethyltryptamine (DMT), Journal of Psychoactive Drugs. Groupe Taylor & Francis. États-Unis d'Amérique.
  • Miliano, C., Serpelloni, G., Rimondo, C., Mereu, M., Matteo, M. et De Luca, MA. (2016). Neuropharmacologie des nouvelles substances psychoactives (NPS): Accent mis sur les propriétés valorisantes et renforçantes des cannabimimétiques et des stimulants de type amphétamine. Neuroscience avant, 10: 153.
  • Sánchez-Monge, M. (2016). Le parcours du LSD de la contre-culture au traitement des pathologies psychiatriques. Journal médical, Madrid. Récupéré le 11 septembre 2018. Disponible à l'adresse suivante: http://www.diariomedico.com/especialidades/salud-mental/el-viaje-del-lsd-desde-la-contracultura-al-tratamiento-de-las-patologias-psiquiatricas.html .
  • Wallach, JV. (2009). Hallucinogènes endogènes en tant que ligands des récepteurs de l'amine en trace: rôle possible dans la perception sensorielle. Med Hypotheses, 72 (1): 91-94.

[Documentaire] DMT : La molécule de l'esprit (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes