yes, therapy helps!
Do video games make us violent?

Do video games make us violent?

June 24, 2021

For many years, the media has fueled the rumor that video games with violent themes represent a very important risk factor in the development of behaviors of the same nature in young people.

Even for a while, it was hinted that RPGs were very dangerous tools because their players could actually believe the character they played.

Videogames: do they make us more violent or aggressive?

Back in the spring of the year 2000, a 16-year-old boy brutally murdered his parents and his nine-year-old sister with a katana and, after his acts, was named "The killer of the katana." Despite the seriousness of the crime, what made it tremendously media was the fact that, for some time, the media claimed that the murderer had committed his acts as he was strongly influenced by Squall, protagonist of the videogame Final Fantasy VIII, which led many people to stigmatize video games and role-playing games.


This article will not focus on how the media distort information or on the reactance shown by society in the face of the technological change that videogames have brought. The text focuses on find out the truth behind the binomial violence-videogames in order to get rid of social prejudices and show the true correlation.

The reality of the consequences of violent video games

The reality of the matter at present, is uncertain due to the lack of studies in this regard. However, the evidence supports mainly that video games are not guilty of producing violent behavior in their players, beyond what a violent movie or a crime novel can produce.


The truth is, that over the years, the amount of video games with violent content has been increasing , as well as the explicitness and the realism of them. But it is even more true that the level of violence among young people has been considerably reduced, in turn (C. J. Ferguson, 2010). Despite this argument, which for many would be highly enlightening on the reality of the involvement of videogames in youth violence, there are authors who strive to demonstrate the opposite, as is the case of Anderson (2004), who published a review of Several articles in which he concluded that as more studies are carried out in relation to violence and videogames, the relationship between them is clearer.

Studies for all tastes

On the other hand, other studies conducted by the research community say that the relationship between video games and violence is highly exaggerated on a daily basis, as is the case of Tear and Nielsen (2003) who conducted three experiments trying to prove that video games they diminished prosocial behavior or, in other words, the performance of socially accepted actions, obtaining results that denied their hypothesis. Another example of a similar study was carried out by Parker et al. (2013) who tried to demonstrate their hypothesis that videogames and television were strong predictors of behavior problems and where they discovered that this is not the case in the case of videogames .


As we see, There is a strong polarity in terms of the violence generated by video games. . This polarization is based on the divergence of results shown by the different studies conducted on the violence-videogame relationship, which could be explained to a large extent by the limitations that these studies suffer and that we will comment on below.

Causes of polarity in the study of the violence-videogame relationship

The main fault that the results in the studies that are responsible for assessing the relationship between video games with violent content and violence shown by young people, has, for the most part, the great difficulty to objectify this type of research (CJ Ferguson, 2010).

Measuring the level of violence is not an easy task and in fact, many standardized measures of violence, at the moment of truth, do not correlate in a positive way with real aggressive behavior, which generates that in many occasions, part of the results obtained are not one hundred percent true. In addition to this, lUnfortunately, videogames are not for the moment an object of study that interests large masses of researchers , so that a large part of these studies, are detailed studies, with low resources and therefore, only a small part of them manage to be published in magazines or widely disseminated media. To this, it should be added that in general, the effects of third variables such as gender, genetics, social context, etc. are not usually taken into account.

However, the most damaging and serious of these limitations is undoubtedly the apparent effort of many authors to aggravate the results obtained, exaggerating or omitting those that are contradictory, in order to see their study published and doing a disservice to the community of researchers and the development of video games.

Psycogaming's vision on the matter

Our vision of the relationship between violence and video games is clear. Our training and our experience make us see that this relationship does not correlate significantly , being a factor of low impact and always taking into account the sum of other factors much more serious as the socio-cultural level or the presence of family violence.

Additionally, we believe strongly thanks to research such as that of Barlett et al. (2009) or the aforementioned Ferguson (2010) and experience, that video games are powerful educational tools that are capable, being used correctly, to improve and enhance cognitive abilities such as creativity, attention, concentration and space-visual performance, among others. In addition, obviously they are very effective leisure tools and an alternative method of reading and thinking to young people who, at present, are strongly rooted in technology.

Bibliographic references:

  • Anderson, C. A. (2004). An update on the effects of playing violent computer games. Journal of Adolescence, 27, 113-122.
  • Barlett, P. C .; Vowels, L. C .; Shanteau, J .; Crow, J. & Miller, T. (2009). The effect of violent and non-violent computer games on cognitive performance. Computers in Human Behavior. Vol. 25, 96-102.
  • Ferguson, C. J. (2010). Blazing Angels or Resident Evil? Can Violent Video Games Be a Force for Good ?. Review of General Psychology. APA. Vol. 14 (2), 68-81.
  • Parkes, A., Sweeting, H., Wight, D. & Henderson, M. (2013). Do television and electronic games predict children's psychosocial adjustment? Longitudinal research using the UK Millennium Cohort Study. Arch Dis Child Vol. 98, 341-348.
  • Tear, M. J. & Nielsen, M. (2013). Failure to demonstrate that playing violent video games diminishes prosocial behavior. PLOS ONE. Vol. 8 (7), 1-7.

Do Video Games Make You Violent? (June 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les jeux vidéo nous rendent-ils violents?

Les jeux vidéo nous rendent-ils violents?

Mai 22, 2019

Pendant de nombreuses années, les médias ont alimenté la rumeur selon laquelle les jeux vidéo à thèmes violents représentent un facteur de risque très important dans le développement de comportements de même nature chez les jeunes.

Même pendant un moment, on a laissé entendre que les jeux de rôle étaient des outils très dangereux, car leurs joueurs pouvaient réellement croire le personnage qu'ils jouaient.

Les jeux vidéo: nous rendent-ils plus violents ou agressifs?

Au printemps 2000, un garçon de 16 ans a brutalement assassiné ses parents et sa sœur de neuf ans avec un katana et, après ses actes, a été nommé "Le meurtrier du katana". Malgré la gravité du crime, ce qui le rendait si médiatique, c’est le fait que, pendant un certain temps, les médias ont prétendu que le meurtrier avait commis ses actes alors qu’il était fortement influencé par Squall, protagoniste du jeu vidéo Final Fantasy VIII. ce qui a amené de nombreuses personnes à stigmatiser les jeux vidéo et les jeux de rôle.


Cet article ne se concentrera pas sur la manière dont les médias faussent l’information ni sur la réactance manifestée par la société face aux changements technologiques apportés par les jeux vidéo. Le texte se concentre sur Découvrez la vérité derrière les jeux vidéo de violence binomiale afin de se débarrasser des préjugés sociaux et de montrer la véritable corrélation.

La réalité des conséquences des jeux vidéo violents

La réalité de la question à l'heure actuelle est incertaine en raison du manque d'études à cet égard. Cependant, les preuves démontrent principalement que les jeux vidéo ne sont pas coupables de produire un comportement violent chez leurs joueurs, au-delà de ce qu'un film violent ou un roman policier peut produire.


La vérité est que, au fil des ans, la quantité de jeux vidéo à contenu violent a augmenté , ainsi que leur caractère explicite et réaliste. Mais il est encore plus vrai que le niveau de violence chez les jeunes a été considérablement réduit (C. J. Ferguson, 2010). En dépit de cet argument qui, pour beaucoup, serait très éclairant sur la réalité de l'implication des jeux vidéo dans la violence chez les jeunes, certains auteurs s'efforcent de démontrer le contraire, comme c'est le cas d'Anderson (2004), qui a publié une revue de Plusieurs articles dans lesquels il concluait que plus le nombre d’études réalisées sur la violence et les jeux vidéo était grand, plus la relation entre eux était claire.

Des études pour tous les goûts

D’autre part, d’autres études menées par la communauté des chercheurs indiquent que la relation entre les jeux vidéo et la violence est fortement exagérée au quotidien, comme dans le cas de Tear et Nielsen (2003) qui ont mené trois expériences visant à prouver que ils ont diminué le comportement prosocial ou, en d'autres termes, la performance des actions socialement acceptées, obtenant des résultats qui ont nié leur hypothèse. Un autre exemple d'étude similaire a été réalisé par Parker et al. (2013) qui ont essayé de démontrer l'hypothèse selon laquelle les jeux vidéo et la télévision étaient de puissants prédicteurs de problèmes de comportement et où ils ont découvert que ce n'était pas le cas dans le cas des jeux vidéo .


Comme on voit, Il existe une forte polarité en termes de violence générée par les jeux vidéo. . Cette polarisation est basée sur la divergence des résultats démontrée par les différentes études menées sur la relation violence-jeu vidéo, ce qui pourrait s'expliquer dans une large mesure par les limites de ces études et que nous commenterons ci-dessous.

Causes de polarité dans l'étude de la relation violence-jeu vidéo

La principale faute qui ressort des études responsables de l’évaluation de la relation entre les jeux vidéo à contenu violent et la violence manifestée par les jeunes a, en grande partie, la grande difficulté à objectiver ce type de recherche (CJ Ferguson, 2010).

Mesurer le niveau de violence n'est pas une tâche facile et, en fait, de nombreuses mesures standardisées de la violence, au moment de la vérité, ne sont pas corrélées de manière positive avec un comportement agressif réel, ce qui génère souvent une partie des résultats. obtenus ne sont pas cent pour cent vrais. En plus de cela, lMalheureusement, les jeux vidéo ne sont pas pour le moment un objet d'étude qui intéresse de grandes masses de chercheurs , de sorte qu'une grande partie de ces études sont des études détaillées, disposant de peu de ressources et que, par conséquent, seule une petite partie d'entre elles parviennent à être publiées dans des magazines ou des supports largement diffusés. À cela, il convient d'ajouter qu'en général, les effets de variables tierces telles que le sexe, la génétique, le contexte social, etc. ne sont généralement pas pris en compte.

Cependant, la plus grave et la plus dommageable de ces limitations est sans aucun doute l’apparente volonté de nombreux auteurs d’aggraver les résultats obtenus, en exagérant ou en omettant ceux qui sont contradictoires, afin de voir leur étude publiée et de nuire aux résultats escomptés. communauté de chercheurs et le développement des jeux vidéo.

La vision de Psycogaming en la matière

Notre vision de la relation entre la violence et les jeux vidéo est claire. Notre formation et notre expérience nous font voir que cette relation n’a pas de corrélation significative , étant un facteur de faible impact et tenant toujours compte de la somme d’autres facteurs beaucoup plus graves tels que le niveau socioculturel ou la présence de violence familiale.

De plus, nous croyons fermement grâce à des recherches telles que celle de Barlett et al. (2009) ou Ferguson (2010) et l'expérience susmentionnées, les jeux vidéo sont de puissants outils éducatifs capables, utilisés correctement, d'améliorer et d'améliorer les capacités cognitives telles que la créativité, l'attention, etc. concentration et performances spatiales visuelles, entre autres. De plus, ce sont évidemment des outils de loisirs très efficaces et une méthode alternative de lecture et de réflexion pour les jeunes qui, à l’heure actuelle, sont fortement enracinés dans la technologie.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Anderson, C. A. (2004). Une mise à jour sur les effets des jeux informatiques violents. Journal of Adolescence, 27, 113-122.
  • Barlett, P. C; Voyelles, L. C; Shanteau, J .; Crow, J. & Miller, T. (2009). L'effet des jeux informatiques violents et non violents sur les performances cognitives. Ordinateurs dans le comportement humain. Volume 25, 96-102.
  • Ferguson, C. J. (2010). Des anges flamboyants ou un méchant résident? Les jeux vidéo violents peuvent-ils être une force pour le bien? Examen de la psychologie générale. APA. Vol 14 (2), 68-81.
  • Parkes, A., Sweeting, H., Wight, D. et Henderson, M. (2013). La télévision et les jeux électroniques prédisent-ils l'adaptation psychosociale des enfants? Recherche longitudinale à l'aide de la UK Millennium Cohort Study. Arch Dis Child Vol 98, 341-348.
  • Tear, M. J. & Nielsen, M. (2013). L'échec à démontrer que jouer à des jeux vidéo violents diminue le comportement prosocial. PLOS ONE. Volume 8 (7), 1-7.

Les jeux vidéo rendent-ils violent ? [2 minutes pour convaincre] S01_E02 (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes