yes, therapy helps!
Do you know how to detect a liar? The 8 types of lies

Do you know how to detect a liar? The 8 types of lies

May 6, 2021

We all know the famous Disney character called Pinocchio , who grew his nose every time he lied. Well, more than one would have to stretch this organ of the respiratory system, because we lie more than we think.

That seems to indicate a study published in the book "Liespotting: Proven Techniques to Detect Deception" from the author Pamela Meyer. As this text explains, people usually lie between 10 and 200 times a day, since we usually say parts of the truth . In other words, we say only those phrases that people want to hear, which are considered socially acceptable.

Also, lying is more frequent when we have just met someone new. In another book called "The liar in your life", the professor of Psychology at the University of Massachusetts, Robert Feldman, explains that: "We lie between two and three times in the first 10 minutes of the first conversation with someone we have just met." How is this explained? According to Feldman, lying is an automatic mechanism of self-esteem protection that is activated when we meet someone for the first time .


The "Pinocchio Effect" to detect lies

But the relationship between the lies and the nose, which characterizes the famous Disney character, is not only science fiction. A research of the Department of Experimental Psychology of the University of Granada has discovered that the temperature of our face increases when we lie, especially in the area of ​​the nose. This is what is known as the "Pinocchio Effect". To carry out their study, they used thermography: a technique that detects body temperature .

The truth is that human beings are detectors of very bad lies. This is confirmed by a study by Brigham Young University in the United States, which concludes that when we have a person in front of us, we only realize that the other is cheating us between 54% and 56% of the time. And if it's hard to catch a liar in person, it's harder to catch him when we talk on WhatsApp.


If you want to know some tricks to interpret WhatsApp messages, you can read our article: "How can I know if they lie to me on WhatsApp?"

The 8 types of lies

As we see, we've all lied at some time. But are all lies the same? Certainly not. There are lies that are used not to hurt someone, lies that are used to get something and lies that are the result of exaggeration. Then we present you the different types of lies , in a practical guide that can be useful to be preventative to your appointments and in your daily life.

1. Pious Lies

We could say that the pious lies are lies that are justified and that, for many, are forgivable . This is because the pious lies have a benevolent intention. For example, if someone gives us something that for them may be special, but you do not like it and, besides, you know you will not use it in your life. Surely you lie to him and tell him that you loved his gift. Basically, in this example, the lie is used to not hurt the feelings of another person.


2. Broken promises

The broken promises they are a failure to maintain a previously spoken commitment , and they are characterized because there is a kind of implicit contract. Broken promises can be especially harmful when the person who made the promise had no intention of keeping his word from the beginning, because they generate hope in the other person.

At times, a pious lie can also be a broken promise. For example, if a girl you have asked to go for a drink, accept your invitation to be well. But then, when the time comes, it gives you a sit-down because at no time did you intend to go out with you. That is, he only did it so that you would not feel bad at that moment and could get out of that compromised situation.

3. Intentional or instrumental lies

The intentional or instrumental lies they do not have benevolent character, but quite the opposite: they look for the own interest . This type of lies have the characteristic that they are used to get something, for example, a job.

There are many people who have lied in the curriculum vitae to get a job. As you see, these lies do not have to have a malicious intention. Although, in some cases, people can use them to harm another individual.

4. The lies towards oneself (self-deception)

These types of lies are unconscious and have to do with our beliefs, because it is hard for us to question them.Also, sometimes, it is difficult for us to accept reality and it is easier to lie to ourselves to avoid the fear of uncertainty, because we do not have to leave the comfort zone.

Cognitive dissonance is one of the most frequent causes of self-deception . A classic example of this phenomenon is that of smokers. They know that smoking can cause cancer, respiratory problems, chronic fatigue and even death. Even so, the vast majority continues to smoke because they self-deceive with phrases such as: "What is the use of living a lot if you can not enjoy life?"

5. The rumors

The rumors have to do, more than with the intention, with the effect produced by a lie. One of its features is that several people participate in the rumors. A rumor is an information whose veracity is in doubt or can not be corroborated, because it is not known with certainty if it is true . Someone can intentionally spread a rumor although it does not have to have a basic intention.

For example, a man named Antonio, saw a co-worker leave his boss's office with a very friendly attitude and they gave each other a hug. Surprised, and as his boss is not exactly the friendliest person in the world, he runs to tell another partner (Juan). Juan, who has not seen the event, but because of Antonio's reaction thinks there is something serious between the boss and the employee, the next morning is told by another roommate. The latter tells it to another partner, who does the same until the entire office knows it. The last person who reports it has received the distorted information, and the details about what happened have been exaggerated in such a way that there really seems to be a romantic relationship between both actors.

The rumors can cause a lot of damage, and in fact, it was one of the strategies used by the Nazis for the German population to reject the Jews during World War II.

6. Exaggeration

Surely you've ever crossed paths with someone who tends to exaggerate everything he says. For example, he has linked with many girls when in reality he has only succeeded with one. Well, exaggeration is not more than that. They are usually stories that have something true, but are often exaggerated to impress others .

In addition to the stories in which lies are added, there are also lies by omission, characterized because the person does not invent the story, but omits relevant data.

7. Plagiarism

The plagiarism refers not only to lying, but also to theft . It consists of copying the work of another. Plagiarism is a serious act and can have legal consequences. Some students have suspended subjects for this, and some professional writers have been denounced for copying works by other individuals. In addition, in plagiarism there is voluntariness, it is an act of bad faith. That is why it is one of the most reproachful lies, because it combines both the appropriation of a work that is not proper as the idol.

8. Compulsive Lies

The compulsive lies are the lies that compulsive liars perform over and over again . They are usually caused by a serious problem (for example, low self-esteem) so these people usually require attention. In fact, a compulsive liar may have difficulty stopping his urge to lie, and they often tell lies even when it is easier to tell the truth.

Know the real case of a compulsive liar in our article: "Psychoanalyzed compulsive liar: a real case"

5 Foolproof Ways to Spot a Liar (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Savez-vous comment détecter un menteur? Les 8 types de mensonges

Savez-vous comment détecter un menteur? Les 8 types de mensonges

Mai 22, 2019

Nous connaissons tous le célèbre personnage de Disney appelé Pinocchio , qui a grandi son nez chaque fois qu'il a menti. Eh bien, plus d'un devrait étirer cet organe du système respiratoire, parce que nous mentons plus que nous le pensons.

Cela semble indiquer une étude publiée dans le livre "Liespotting: Techniques éprouvées pour détecter la tromperie" de l'auteur Pamela Meyer. Comme ce texte l'explique, les gens mentent généralement entre 10 et 200 fois par jour, puisque nous disons généralement des parties de la vérité . En d'autres termes, nous ne disons que les phrases que les gens veulent entendre, qui sont considérées comme socialement acceptables.

De plus, le mensonge est plus fréquent quand on vient de rencontrer quelqu'un de nouveau. Dans un autre livre intitulé "Le menteur dans votre vie"Robert Feldman, professeur de psychologie à l’Université du Massachusetts, explique: «Nous nous trouvons entre deux et trois fois au cours des 10 premières minutes de la première conversation avec une personne que nous venons de rencontrer. Comment est-ce expliqué? Selon Feldman, mentir est un mécanisme automatique de protection de l'estime de soi qui s'active lorsque nous rencontrons quelqu'un pour la première fois .


L'effet "Pinocchio" pour détecter les mensonges

Mais la relation entre le mensonge et le nez, qui caractérise le célèbre personnage de Disney, n’est pas seulement de la science-fiction. Une recherche du département de psychologie expérimentale de l'université de Grenade a révélé que la température de notre visage augmente lorsque nous nous allonçons, en particulier dans la région du nez. C'est ce qu'on appelle "l'effet Pinocchio". Pour mener à bien leur étude, ils ont utilisé la thermographie: une technique qui détecte la température du corps .

La vérité est que les êtres humains sont des détecteurs de très mauvais mensonges. Ceci est confirmé par une étude de l'université Brigham Young aux États-Unis, qui conclut que lorsque nous avons une personne devant nous, nous ne réalisons que l'autre nous trompe entre 54% et 56% du temps. Et s'il est difficile d'attraper un menteur en personne, il est plus difficile de l'attraper lorsque nous parlons sur WhatsApp.


Si vous souhaitez connaître quelques astuces pour interpréter les messages WhatsApp, vous pouvez lire notre article: "Comment puis-je savoir s’ils me mentent sur WhatsApp?"

Les 8 types de mensonges

Comme nous le voyons, nous avons tous menti à un moment donné. Mais est-ce que tous les mensonges sont pareils? Certainement pas. Il y a des mensonges qui sont utilisés pour ne pas blesser quelqu'un, des mensonges qui sont utilisés pour obtenir quelque chose et des mensonges qui résultent d'une exagération. Ensuite nous vous présentons les différents types de mensonges , dans un guide pratique qui peut être utile pour être préventif à vos rendez-vous et dans votre vie quotidienne.

1. Des mensonges pieux

On pourrait dire que les pieux mensonges sont des mensonges qui sont justifiés et qui, pour beaucoup, sont pardonnables . C'est parce que les pieux mensonges ont une intention bienveillante. Par exemple, si quelqu'un nous donne quelque chose qui, pour eux, peut être spécial, mais vous ne l'aimez pas et, en outre, vous savez que vous ne l'utiliserez pas dans votre vie. Vous lui mentez sûrement en lui disant que vous avez aimé son cadeau. Fondamentalement, dans cet exemple, le mensonge est utilisé pour ne pas blesser les sentiments d'une autre personne.


2. promesses non tenues

Les promesses non tenues ils sont un échec pour maintenir un engagement précédemment prononcé , et ils sont caractérisés parce qu’il existe une sorte de contrat implicite. Les promesses non tenues peuvent être particulièrement préjudiciables lorsque la personne qui les a promises n’a pas l’intention de tenir parole dès le début, car elles génèrent de l’espoir en l’autre.

Parfois, un mensonge pieux peut aussi être une promesse non tenue. Par exemple, si une fille à qui vous avez demandé d'aller boire un verre, acceptez votre invitation pour être en bonne santé. Mais ensuite, le moment venu, cela vous donne un siège car à aucun moment vous n’avez eu l’intention de sortir avec vous. C'est-à-dire qu'il l'a fait uniquement pour que vous ne vous sentiez pas mal à ce moment-là et que vous puissiez vous sortir de cette situation compromise.

3. Mensonges intentionnels ou instrumentaux

Les mensonges intentionnels ou instrumentaux ils n’ont pas un caractère bienveillant, mais bien au contraire: ils cherchent leur propre intérêt . Ce type de mensonge a la particularité d'être utilisé pour obtenir quelque chose, par exemple un travail.

De nombreuses personnes ont menti dans le curriculum vitae pour trouver un emploi. Comme vous le voyez, ces mensonges ne doivent pas nécessairement avoir une intention malveillante. Bien que, dans certains cas, les gens puissent les utiliser pour nuire à une autre personne.

4. Les mensonges vers soi (tromperie)

Ces types de mensonges sont inconscients et ont à voir avec nos croyances, car il est difficile pour nous de les interroger.En outre, il nous est parfois difficile d’accepter la réalité et il est plus facile de nous mentir pour éviter la peur de l’incertitude, car nous n’avons pas à quitter la zone de confort.

Dissonance cognitive est l'une des causes les plus fréquentes d'auto-illusion . Un exemple classique de ce phénomène est celui des fumeurs. Ils savent que fumer peut causer le cancer, des problèmes respiratoires, une fatigue chronique et même la mort. Même dans ce cas, la grande majorité continue de fumer parce qu'ils s'auto-séduisent avec des phrases telles que: "A quoi sert de vivre beaucoup si on ne peut pas profiter de la vie?"

5. Les rumeurs

Les rumeurs ont plus à voir avec l'intention que l'effet produit par un mensonge. L'une de ses caractéristiques est que plusieurs personnes participent aux rumeurs. Une rumeur est une information dont la véracité est en doute ou ne peut pas être corroborée, car on ne sait pas avec certitude si c'est vrai . Quelqu'un peut délibérément faire circuler une rumeur, même si elle ne doit pas nécessairement avoir l'intention de base.

Par exemple, un homme du nom d'Antonio a vu un collègue quitter le bureau de son patron avec une attitude très amicale et ils se sont fait un câlin. Surpris, et comme son patron n'est pas exactement la personne la plus amicale au monde, il court en parler à un autre partenaire (Juan). Juan, qui n'a pas vu l'événement, mais à cause de la réaction d'Antonio pense qu'il y a quelque chose de grave entre le patron et l'employé, le lendemain matin, un autre camarade de chambre lui dit. Ce dernier le dit à un autre partenaire, qui fait la même chose jusqu'à ce que tout le bureau le sache. La dernière personne qui l'a signalé a reçu les informations déformées et les détails de ce qui s'est passé ont été exagérés, de sorte qu'il semble vraiment exister une relation amoureuse entre les deux acteurs.

Les rumeurs peuvent causer beaucoup de dégâts et, en fait, c'était l'une des stratégies utilisées par les nazis pour que la population allemande rejette les Juifs pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

6. Exagération

Vous avez sûrement déjà croisé quelqu'un qui a tendance à exagérer tout ce qu'il dit. Par exemple, il a noué des liens avec de nombreuses filles alors qu’en réalité il n’en a réussi qu’une. Eh bien, l'exagération n'est pas plus que cela. Ce sont généralement des histoires qui ont quelque chose de vrai, mais qui sont souvent exagérées pour impressionner les autres. .

En plus des histoires dans lesquelles des mensonges sont ajoutés, il existe également des mensonges par omission, caractérisés par le fait que la personne n'invente pas l'histoire, mais omet des données pertinentes.

7. Plagiat

Le plagiat se réfère non seulement à mentir, mais aussi au vol . Il consiste à copier le travail d'un autre. Le plagiat est un acte grave qui peut avoir des conséquences juridiques. Certains étudiants ont suspendu des sujets pour cela, et certains écrivains professionnels ont été dénoncés pour avoir copié des œuvres d'autres personnes. De plus, dans le plagiat, il y a du bénévolat, c'est un acte de mauvaise foi. C’est pourquoi il s’agit d’un des mensonges les plus réprobateurs, car il combine à la fois l’appropriation d’une œuvre qui ne convient pas et idole.

8. Mensonges compulsifs

Les mensonges compulsifs sont les mensonges que les menteurs compulsifs exécutent encore et encore . Ils sont généralement causés par un problème grave (par exemple, une faible estime de soi) et nécessitent donc généralement l’attention de ces personnes. En fait, un menteur compulsif peut avoir de la difficulté à arrêter son envie de mentir, et ils mentent souvent même lorsqu'il est plus facile de dire la vérité.

Connaître le cas réel d'un menteur compulsif dans notre article: "Un menteur compulsif psychanalysé: un cas réel"

9 indices pour reconnaitre un manipulateur ! Tout le monde doit savoir ça ! (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes