yes, therapy helps!
Does breastfeeding increase the intelligence of babies?

Does breastfeeding increase the intelligence of babies?

November 27, 2021

Both in the scientific community and in the general population a large number of benefits are attributed to breastfeeding compared to the use of a bottle. In addition to the improvement of the immune system or the rhythm of physical growth, demonstrated by science, sometimes it is also said that breastfeeding increases the intelligence of babies .

The available research currently does not allow to affirm in a clear way that the consumption of breast milk has a direct relationship with the IQ. However, although there are contradictory data in this regard, the probability that there is a small but significant causal relationship between these two variables is high.


  • You may be interested: "The exercise of paternity: repentant mothers and fathers?"

Relationship between breastfeeding and intelligence

According to a meta-analysis of 17 studies on this topic by Horta, Loret de Mola and Victora (2015), there seems to be a relationship between breastfeeding and a better performance in the tests that measure the IQ.

The average of the differences, say the authors of this research, would have a value of approximately 3.44 points of CI . It is a relatively small difference but with a high statistical significance and that is maintained in later stages of development.

However, these researchers highlight the fact that the heterogeneity between studies is high, which makes it difficult to draw definitive conclusions. Even so, it should be taken into account that they tried to control the IQ of the mother, a variable that could interfere, but not the family socioeconomic level, potentially key.


Another interesting finding of this meta-analysis is that breastfeeding is not only associated with an increase in IQ, but also it could also influence academic performance in general and on the level of income during adulthood. These effects may be due directly to breastfeeding, but also to unidentified mediating variables.

  • Related article: "Are the most intelligent people by genetic inheritance?"

What are these effects due to?

Horta and his collaborators suggest that the link between breastfeeding and the increase in IQ does not have to be due to breast milk itself but could be determined by other factors, particularly the greater interaction between the child and his mother, that would lead to an increase in the stimulation that the baby receives.

In the event that the assumption is assumed that breastfeeding increases intelligence directly, this causal relationship could be attributed to two main facts: the strengthening of the bond between the baby and the mother and the nutritional richness of breast milk.


This food contains very beneficial nutrients for young children, such as long-chain polyunsaturated fatty acids. Its consumption could boost the development of the brain and white matter in particular, according to Isaacs et al. (2011).

  • Maybe you're interested: "The theories of human intelligence"

Evidence against this hypothesis

A longitudinal study conducted with a sample of more than 8 thousand families in Ireland (Girard et al., 2017) found a statistically significant relationship between breastfeeding and IQ in the early stages of life; however, it is a small increase and that it has practically disappeared when it reaches 5 years of age .

This research team found that babies who were breastfed systematically by their mothers during the first 6 months after birth showed an improvement in cognitive functions, although it was not maintained in the medium term. Therefore, in adulthood this increase in IQ would be predictably non-existent.

According to these authors, the effects found in other studies are due to insufficient control of variables. Particularly noteworthy are the educational and socio-economic levels of parents , which in turn are associated with better health, including a lower probability of tobacco use.

Other benefits of breastfeeding

Different investigations have found relationships between the early consumption of breast milk and a better functioning of the immune system. This would help prevent very varied diseases, from infections to diabetes and even sudden infant death syndrome.

In fact, the World Health Organization says that the risk of death in the first month of life is six times lower in babies who are fed with breast milk in comparison with those who are nourished exclusively by the bottle.

In any case, it is important to bear in mind that many of the studies on the effects of breastfeeding in the organism could be biased in a similar way to those we have mentioned when describing the relationship of this food with intelligence.

Finally, it is worth mentioning the relevance of the bond of attachment between mother and baby . This can have a great influence on the development of the child, especially from a psychological point of view. Breastfeeding enhances this intimate relationship, but of course there are many other elements that can do so.

  • Related article: "Child attachment: definition, functions and types"

Bibliographic references:

  • Girard, L.C., Doyle, O. & Tremblay, R. E. (2017). Breastfeeding, cognitive and noncognitive development in early childhood: a population study. Pediatrics, 139 (4).
  • Horta, B. L., Loret de Mola, C. & Victora, C. G. (2015). Breastfeeding and intelligence: a systematic review and meta-analysis. Acedia Paediatrica, 104: 14-19.
  • Isaacs, E.B., Fischl, B.R., Quinn, B.T., Chong, W.K., Gadian, D.G. & Lucas, A. (2010). Impact of breast milk on intelligence quotient, brain size, and white matter development. Pediatric Research, 67 (4): 357-62.
  • Lucas, A., Morley, R., Cole, T. J., Lister, G. & Leeson-Payne, C. (1992). Breast milk and subsequent intelligence quotient in children born preterm. The Lancet, 339 (8788): 261-264.
  • Victora, C. G., Horta, B. L., Loret de Mola, C., Quevedo, L., Tavares Pinheiro, R., Gigante, D. P., Gonçalves, H. & Barros, F. C. (2015). Association between breastfeeding and intelligence, educational attainment, and income at 30 years of age: a prospective birth cohort study from Brazil. The Lancet: Global Health, 3 (4): 199-205.

Does Breastfeeding Make A Baby More Intelligent? | Good Morning Britain (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
L'allaitement augmente-t-il l'intelligence des bébés?

L'allaitement augmente-t-il l'intelligence des bébés?

Janvier 23, 2023

Tant dans la communauté scientifique que dans la population en général, l'allaitement est associé à un grand nombre d'avantages par rapport à l'utilisation d'un biberon. En plus de l’amélioration du système immunitaire ou du rythme de croissance physique, démontré par la science, on dit parfois que l'allaitement augmente l'intelligence des bébés .

Les recherches disponibles actuellement ne permettent pas d'affirmer clairement que la consommation de lait maternel a une relation directe avec le QI. Cependant, bien qu'il existe des données contradictoires à cet égard, la probabilité qu'il existe une relation de cause à effet petite mais significative entre ces deux variables est élevée.


  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "L'exercice de la paternité: mères et pères repentants?"

Relation entre l'allaitement et l'intelligence

Selon une méta-analyse de 17 études sur ce sujet réalisée par Horta, Loret de Mola et Victora (2015), il semble exister un lien entre l'allaitement et une meilleure performance dans les tests de mesure du QI.

La moyenne des différences, disent les auteurs de cette recherche, aurait une valeur d'environ 3,44 points de CI . Il s’agit d’une différence relativement faible, mais de grande importance statistique et qui se maintient aux derniers stades de développement.

Cependant, ces chercheurs soulignent le fait que l'hétérogénéité entre les études est élevée, ce qui rend difficile de tirer des conclusions définitives. Même dans ce cas, il faut tenir compte du fait qu’ils ont essayé de contrôler le QI de la mère, une variable susceptible d’interférer, mais pas le niveau socioéconomique de la famille, potentiellement clé.


Une autre conclusion intéressante de cette méta-analyse est que l’allaitement est associé non seulement à une augmentation du QI, mais aussi à une augmentation du QI. il pourrait également influencer la performance académique en général et sur le niveau de revenu à l'âge adulte. Ces effets peuvent être directement dus à l'allaitement, mais également à des variables médiatrices non identifiées.

  • Article connexe: "Les personnes les plus intelligentes sont-elles héréditaires?"

Quels sont ces effets dus?

Horta et ses collaborateurs suggèrent que le lien entre l'allaitement et l'augmentation du QI ne doit pas nécessairement être attribué au lait maternel, mais pourrait être déterminé par d'autres facteurs, notamment la plus grande interaction entre l'enfant et sa mère, cela conduirait à une augmentation de la stimulation que le bébé reçoit.

Dans l'hypothèse où l'hypothèse est supposée que l'allaitement augmente directement l'intelligence, cette relation de cause à effet pourrait être attribuée à deux faits principaux: le renforcement du lien entre le bébé et la mère et la richesse nutritionnelle du lait maternel.


Cet aliment contient des nutriments très bénéfiques pour les jeunes enfants, tels que les acides gras polyinsaturés à longue chaîne. Sa consommation pourrait stimuler le développement du cerveau et de la substance blanche en particulier, selon Isaacs et al. (2011).

  • Peut-être que vous êtes intéressé: "Les théories de l'intelligence humaine"

Preuve contre cette hypothèse

Une étude longitudinale menée auprès d'un échantillon de plus de 8 000 familles en Irlande (Girard et al., 2017) a révélé une relation statistiquement significative entre l'allaitement au sein et le QI aux premiers stades de la vie. cependant, c’est une petite augmentation et que il a pratiquement disparu à l'âge de 5 ans .

Cette équipe de recherche a constaté que les bébés allaités systématiquement par leur mère au cours des six premiers mois suivant la naissance présentaient une amélioration de leurs fonctions cognitives, bien que cela n’ait pas été maintenu à moyen terme. Par conséquent, à l’âge adulte, cette augmentation du QI serait, selon toute vraisemblance, inexistante.

Selon ces auteurs, les effets constatés dans d'autres études sont dus à un contrôle insuffisant des variables. Les niveaux d’éducation et socio-économique des parents sont particulièrement remarquables. , qui à leur tour sont associés à une meilleure santé, y compris une probabilité plus faible de consommation de tabac.

Autres avantages de l'allaitement

Différentes études ont mis en évidence des relations entre la consommation précoce de lait maternel et un meilleur fonctionnement du système immunitaire. Cela aiderait à prévenir des maladies très variées, des infections au diabète et même au syndrome de mort subite du nourrisson.

En fait, l'Organisation mondiale de la santé dit que le risque de décès au cours du premier mois de la vie est six fois moins élevé chez les bébés nourris au lait maternel en comparaison avec ceux qui sont nourris exclusivement par la bouteille.

Quoi qu’il en soit, il est important de garder à l’esprit que nombre des études sur les effets de l’allaitement au sein sur l’organisme pourraient être faussées de la même manière que celles que nous avons mentionnées lors de la description du lien entre cet aliment et l’intelligence.

Enfin, il convient de mentionner la pertinence du lien d'attachement entre mère et bébé . Cela peut avoir une grande influence sur le développement de l'enfant, notamment d'un point de vue psychologique. L'allaitement améliore cette relation intime, mais bien entendu, de nombreux autres éléments peuvent le faire.

  • Article connexe: "Pièce jointe enfant: définition, fonctions et types"

Références bibliographiques:

  • Girard, L.C., Doyle, O. et Tremblay, R. E. (2017). Allaitement, développement cognitif et non cognitif dans la petite enfance: une étude de population. Pediatrics, 139 (4).
  • Horta, B. L., Loret de Mola, C. et Victora, C. G. (2015). Allaitement et intelligence: revue systématique et méta-analyse. Acedia Paediatrica, 104: 14-19.
  • Isaacs, E. B., Fischl, B. R., Quinn, B. T., Chong, W. K., Gadian, D. G. et Lucas, A. (2010). Impact du lait maternel sur le quotient intellectuel, la taille du cerveau et le développement de la substance blanche. Pediatric Research, 67 (4): 357-62.
  • Lucas, A., R. Morley, T. J., Lister, G. et C. Leeson-Payne (1992). Le lait maternel et le quotient intellectuel subséquent chez les enfants nés avant terme. The Lancet, 339 (8788): 261-264.
  • Victora, C. G., Horta, B. L., C. Loret de Mola, L. Quevedo, R., Tavares Pinheiro, D. P. Gigante, H. Gonçalves et F. C. (2015). Association entre l'allaitement et l'intelligence, le niveau de formation et le revenu à 30 ans: une étude de cohorte de naissance prospective réalisée au Brésil. The Lancet: Global Health, 3 (4): 199-205.

On s'dit tout : Grossesse, suivi et accompagnement & Comment réussir son allaitement? (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes