yes, therapy helps!
Does the Adderall serve to study better and concentrate more?

Does the Adderall serve to study better and concentrate more?

September 14, 2022

We live in an extremely competitive society, in which a high level of performance and productivity is demanded in practically all areas of life and continuously. Work and access to the labor market is one of the areas where most can be seen. Studies are another of them, especially at university level: young students are subjected to a lot of pressure in order to pass and get the highest possible grade in order to stand out and be able to obtain in the future the best job they can achieve, arriving at times to make marathon efforts in exam season.

The pressure can become excessive, to the point that some people decide to resort to some substances and drugs that can supposedly facilitate concentration and cognitive ability. One of these substances is a psychostimulant drug called Adderall, designed to treat various disorders such as attention deficit hyperactivity disorder. Does the Adderall serve to study and concentrate? It's something we're going to talk about throughout this article.


  • Related article: "Types of psychotropic drugs: uses and side effects"

What is Adderall?

The medicine known as Adderall is a type of psychopharmaceutical with high-potency stimulant properties , which is formed by the combination of two types of amphetamine salts. Specifically, it is a synthetic substance that arises from the combination of dextroamphetamine (75%) and levamfetamine (25%).

This substance acts greatly increases the levels of dopamine and noradrenaline in the brain, being agonist of the receptors of these neurotransmitters at presynaptic level. It also generates an agonist action in the serotonin receptors, but the effect on this neurotransmitter is much lower.


The effects of this drug are in practice similar to those of cocaine , generating an increase in brain activity as well as feelings of euphoria, increased alertness, reduced reaction time to stimuli and resistance to fatigue and sleep, as well as an increase in the ability to focus and mental alertness . It also seems to generate an increase in the ability to motivate oneself, as well as an improvement of the capacity and physical resistance and alterations in the libido, frequently causing an increase in it. It also reduces the need to rest and sleep, as well as the appetite and the perception of the need to hydrate.

When it's used?

Adderall is mainly thought of as a drug that, in small doses and correctly prescribed, allows the treatment of different alterations. Thus, the main application of this drug, for sale with a prescription, is of therapeutic orientation.


Specifically Adderall is indicated in the treatment of attention deficit hyperactivity disorder , generating in subjects with this disorder an improvement in their capacity for self-control, in the reduction of disruptive behaviors and in the focus of attention. It also enhances your ability to motivate and concentrate.

This may seem counterintuitive, given that amphetamines tend to increase activity and energy and that at a symptomatic level many children with ADHD present great restlessness and energy, but it has been observed in those who have this disorder that there is a cerebral level a deficit and dysregulation of dopamine and noradrenaline in different brain nuclei.

Another disorder in which Adderall is indicated is in narcolepsy, presenting some effectiveness in reducing daytime sleepiness.

But Adderall's psychostimulant abilities have not only been used therapeutically. Given that in a population without any of the above disorders the effects are similar to those of cocaine, it has been observed that it is often used recreationally, due to its euphoric properties. Likewise, like other derivatives of amphetamines have sometimes been used by athletes in order to enhance their performance and reduce fatigue and fatigue.

Finally and since it seems to favor the ability to concentrate, cognitive ability, mental lucidity or even memory capacity, it is being seen that Adderall is increasingly used by students in order to enhance their abilities for study, . In other words, it is used as a nootropic, although its use should always be indicated by doctors . It is about this last application that we will focus on.

Is it really good to study?

The studies on the nootropic properties of the Adderall have been investigated by different groups of experts, finding that Although Adderall generates an increase in some cognitive capacities it also generates a detrimental effect in other , in such a way that the subject's global capacity does not improve too much. Also, through experiments with cases in which part of the participants consumed this drug and others were given a placebo, it was observed that there were no statistically significant differences in performance level.

Specifically, in a recent experiment it was observed that the subjects taking Adderall did they showed an increase in attention capacity and tended to give a greater number of answers (although this does not imply that they were correct), although in the execution of memory tasks they showed a worse performance.

One result that has also been interesting is the fact that the euphoric properties of Adderall they generated a sensation of notorious activation and it enhanced the subjective feeling of feeling better and more sure of herself.

Other studies show that it allows increasing the level of activity, energy and concentration, but that nevertheless seems to reduce the creativity of those who consume it by decreasing sensitivity to new stimuli by generating hyperfocalization.

  • Maybe you're interested: "10 tips to study better and efficiently"

Possible risks of its use

Regardless of whether or not it has a nootropic effect, when Adderall is used therapeutically, the doses used are carefully measured by professionals who will issue a therapeutic dose and reduce side effects as much as possible. But nevertheless, its use as a nootropic or stimulant drug It usually occurs in doses that are not controlled and do not take into account possible side effects, which can be serious.

Among its risks we can find the appearance of insomnia problems, nausea, vomiting and diarrhea, erectile dysfunction, depression (after passing the effect), irritability, headaches, hypersudation, lack of appetite and tachycardia. It can cause cardiac problems such as arrhythmias, and in severe cases, it can cause heart attacks or strokes.

In high doses it can also generate neurotoxicity and loss of cognitive faculties, hallucinations and delusions and kidney problems. Also in certain doses it is possible that Adderall causes addiction (although in the therapeutic doses this risk

That is why it is contraindicated for people with heart problems, diabetes, kidney or liver problems, psychotic disorders, anorexia nervosa, glaucoma, thyroid problems, epilepsy, bipolarity, Tourette syndrome or depression. It is also contraindicated for diabetics.

Bibliographic references:

  • Rettew, D. (2018). Does Adderall Make You Smarter ?. Psychology Today [Online]. Available at: //www.psychologytoday.com/us/blog/abcs-child-psychiatry/201807/does-adderall-make-you-smarter.
  • Weyandt, L.L, White, T.L., et al. (2018). Neurocognitive, Autonomic, and Mood Effects of Adderall: A Pilot Study of Healthy College Students. Pharmacy, 6 (3): 58.

Some Students Misusing Medications While Studying (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Est-ce que l'Adderall sert à mieux étudier et à se concentrer davantage?

Est-ce que l'Adderall sert à mieux étudier et à se concentrer davantage?

Septembre 11, 2022

Nous vivons dans une société extrêmement compétitive, dans laquelle un haut niveau de performance et de productivité est exigé dans pratiquement tous les domaines de la vie et de façon continue. Le travail et l'accès au marché du travail sont l'un des domaines où l'on peut voir le plus. Les études en sont une autre, en particulier au niveau universitaire: les jeunes étudiants sont soumis à de fortes pressions pour réussir et obtenir la meilleure note possible, afin de se démarquer et de pouvoir obtenir à l'avenir le meilleur travail possible, arriver parfois à faire des efforts de marathon en saison des examens.

La pression peut devenir excessive, au point que certaines personnes décident de recourir à des substances et médicaments susceptibles de faciliter la concentration et les capacités cognitives. L'une de ces substances est un médicament psychostimulant appelé Adderall, conçu pour traiter divers troubles tels que le trouble d'hyperactivité avec déficit de l'attention. Est-ce que l'Adderall sert à étudier et à se concentrer? Nous allons en parler tout au long de cet article.


  • Article connexe: "Types de médicaments psychotropes: usages et effets secondaires"

Qu'est-ce que l'Adderall?

Le médicament appelé Adderall est un type de produit psychopharmaceutique ayant des propriétés stimulantes de grande puissance , qui est formé par la combinaison de deux types de sels d’amphétamine. Plus précisément, il s’agit d’une substance synthétique issue de l’association de dextroamphétamine (75%) et de lévamfétamine (25%).

Cette substance agit augmente considérablement les niveaux de dopamine et de noradrénaline dans le cerveau, agoniste des récepteurs de ces neurotransmetteurs au niveau présynaptique. Il génère également une action agoniste des récepteurs de la sérotonine, mais l’effet sur ce neurotransmetteur est beaucoup plus faible.


Les effets de cette drogue sont en pratique similaires à ceux de la cocaïne , générant une augmentation de l'activité cérébrale ainsi que des sentiments d'euphorie, une vigilance accrue, une réduction du temps de réaction aux stimuli et une résistance à la fatigue et au sommeil, ainsi qu'une augmentation de la capacité de concentration et de la vigilance mentale . Cela semble également générer une augmentation de la capacité de motivation, ainsi qu'une amélioration de la capacité et de la résistance physique ainsi que des modifications de la libido, provoquant fréquemment une augmentation de celle-ci. Cela réduit également le besoin de se reposer et de dormir, ainsi que l'appétit et la perception du besoin de s'hydrater.

Quand est-il utilisé?

Adderall est principalement considéré comme un médicament qui, à petites doses et correctement prescrit, permet le traitement de différentes altérations. Ainsi, la principale application de ce médicament, en vente avec ordonnance, est d’orientation thérapeutique.


Plus précisément Adderall est indiqué dans le traitement du trouble d'hyperactivité avec déficit de l'attention , générant chez les sujets atteints de ce trouble une amélioration de leur capacité de maîtrise de soi, de réduction des comportements perturbateurs et de concentration de l'attention. Cela améliore également votre capacité à motiver et à vous concentrer.

Cela peut sembler contre-intuitif, étant donné que les amphétamines ont tendance à augmenter l'activité et l'énergie et que, à un niveau symptomatique, de nombreux enfants atteints de TDAH présentent une grande agitation et une grande énergie. un déficit et une dysrégulation de la dopamine et de la noradrénaline dans différents noyaux du cerveau.

Un autre trouble pour lequel Adderall est indiqué est la narcolepsie, présentant une certaine efficacité dans la réduction de la somnolence diurne.

Mais les capacités psychostimulantes d'Adderall n'ont pas seulement été utilisées à des fins thérapeutiques. Étant donné que dans une population ne présentant aucun des troubles susmentionnés, les effets sont similaires à ceux de la cocaïne, il a été observé que il est souvent utilisé à des fins récréatives, en raison de ses propriétés euphoriques. De même, les athlètes ont parfois utilisé des dérivés d'amphétamines pour améliorer leurs performances et réduire leur fatigue.

Enfin et comme il semble favoriser la capacité de concentration, la capacité cognitive, la lucidité mentale ou même la capacité de mémoire, on voit qu'Adderall est de plus en plus utilisé par les étudiants pour améliorer leurs capacités d'étude, . En d'autres termes, il est utilisé comme nootropique, bien que son utilisation devrait toujours être indiquée par les médecins . Nous allons nous concentrer sur cette dernière application.

Est-ce vraiment bien d'étudier?

Les études sur les propriétés nootropes de l’Adderall ont été examinées par différents groupes d’experts, concluant que Bien que Adderall augmente certaines capacités cognitives, il génère également un effet néfaste sur d’autres , de telle sorte que la capacité globale du sujet ne s’améliore pas trop. En outre, lors d'expériences avec des cas dans lesquels une partie des participants a consommé ce médicament et d'autres qui ont reçu un placebo, il a été observé qu'il n'y avait aucune différence statistiquement significative dans le niveau de performance.

Plus précisément, dans une expérience récente, il a été observé que les sujets prenant Adderall ne ils ont montré une augmentation de la capacité d'attention et avaient tendance à donner un plus grand nombre de réponses (bien que cela n’implique pas qu’elles étaient correctes), bien que lors de l’exécution de tâches de mémoire, elles aient montré une performance inférieure.

Un résultat également intéressant est le fait que les propriétés euphoriques d’Adderall ils ont généré une sensation d'activation notoire et cela augmentait le sentiment subjectif de se sentir mieux et plus sûr d'elle.

D'autres études montrent que cela permet d'augmenter le niveau d'activité, d'énergie et de concentration, mais cela semble néanmoins réduire la créativité de ceux qui le consomment en diminuant la sensibilité aux nouveaux stimuli en générant une hyperfocalisation.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "10 conseils pour étudier mieux et plus efficacement"

Risques possibles de son utilisation

Qu'il ait ou non un effet nootropique ou non, quand l'Adderall est utilisé à des fins thérapeutiques, les doses utilisées sont minutieusement mesurées par des professionnels qui émettront une dose thérapeutique et réduiront autant que possible les effets indésirables. Cependant, son utilisation comme médicament nootrope ou stimulant Il se produit généralement à des doses qui ne sont pas contrôlées et ne tiennent pas compte des éventuels effets indésirables, qui peuvent être graves.

Parmi ses risques, on peut citer l'apparition de problèmes d'insomnie, nausée, vomissements et diarrhée, dysfonctionnement érectile, dépression (après avoir passé l'effet), irritabilité, maux de tête, hypersudation, manque d'appétit et tachycardie. Il peut causer des problèmes cardiaques tels que des arythmies et, dans les cas graves, une crise cardiaque ou un AVC.

À fortes doses, il peut également générer une neurotoxicité et perte des facultés cognitives, des hallucinations et des délires et des problèmes rénaux. En outre, à certaines doses, il est possible qu'Adderall provoque une dépendance (bien que, aux doses thérapeutiques, ce risque

C'est pourquoi il est contre-indiqué aux personnes souffrant de problèmes cardiaques, de diabète, de problèmes rénaux ou hépatiques, de troubles psychotiques, d'anorexie mentale, de glaucome, de problèmes thyroïdiens, d'épilepsie, de bipolarité, de syndrome de Tourette ou de dépression. Il est également contre-indiqué pour les diabétiques.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Rettew, D. (2018). Est-ce que Adderall vous rend plus intelligent? Psychology Today [En ligne]. Disponible à l'adresse suivante: http://www.psychologytoday.com/us/blog/abcs-child-psychiatry/201807/does-adderall-make-you-smarter.
  • Weyandt, L.L, White, T.L., et al. (2018). Effets neurocognitifs, autonomes et sur l’humeur d’Adderall: une étude pilote sur des étudiants en bonne santé. Pharmacie, 6 (3): 58.

Healing Meditation Music, Relaxing Music, Calming Music, Stress Relief Music, Peaceful Music, ☯2998 (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes