yes, therapy helps!
Donepezil: uses, characteristics and effects of this drug

Donepezil: uses, characteristics and effects of this drug

June 21, 2024

Due to the large number of symptoms and the gradual nature of these, neurodegenerative diseases are virtually impossible to stop or cure. However, at present, there are drugs that enable the improvement of functions, giving the patient greater autonomy and, consequently, a higher quality of life.

This is the case of donepezil, a drug prescribed in the treatment of Alzheimer's disease that, despite not achieving the remission of symptoms, favors the improvement of psychological functions such as memory, communication skills and even mobility.

  • Related article: "Types of psychotropic drugs: uses and side effects"

What is donepezil?

Donepezil, known commercially under the name of Aricept, is a drug belonging to the so-called cholinesterase inhibitors and administered for the palliative treatment of Alzheimer's disease.


The main effects that this drug exerts on the patient with Alzheimer's are related to the improvement of mental functions . Its effects on cognition and patient behavior are remarkable, improving functions such as memory, attention, interaction with other people, speech and the ability to reason.

However, despite these improvements donepezil does not slow the progression of the disease nor can it be considered a cure for Alzheimer's, but it is used as a palliative medication that improves the level of dependence and the quality of life of patients.

The research that resulted in the development of donepezil began in 1983, but it was not until 1996 when it received approval from the American Food and Drug Administration (FDA). After fourteen years, the donepezilo began to be commercialized by the pharmaceutical Pfizer and in 2011 became the best-selling treatment for Alzheimer's disease in the world , being sold also in generic format.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Alzheimer's: causes, symptoms, treatment and prevention"

In what cases is it used?

As discussed above, donepezil is administered in most cases for the treatment of Alzheimer's disease. This condition causes progressive neuronal destruction or degeneration It affects both memory processes and the ability to reason, learn, speak or perform a large number of daily activities.

In addition, this drug can also be administered for the treatment of certain types of dementias in which the capacities that enable recall, reasoning, communication, as well as emotional stability and personality are affected.

However, as specified above, there is still no evidence that donepezil alters the course or progression of Alzheimer's disease. The administration of this drug in mild to moderate dementias is recommended, but in any case the person must undergo continuous monitoring and follow-up, as well as a psychological therapy that accompanies the effects of the medication.


What is your mecanism of action?

The active substance of donepezil unites and paralyzes the action of cholinesterases irreversibly , thus inhibiting the hydrolysis of acetylcholine. As a result, donepezil increases acetylcholine concentrations in cholinergic synapses. What favors the proper functioning of neuronal transmissions.

Alzheimer's disease involves a substantial loss of certain elements of the cholinergic system so it is hypothesized that the symptoms of this are related to a deficit of acetylcholine, especially in the cerebral cortex and other areas of the brain such as hippocampal formation. This loss of cholinergic neurons in the central nervous system generates a cognitive deterioration that causes the symptoms related to attention, memory and learning.

How is it administered?

Donepezil is administered in two different formats: tablets and oral tablets soluble in the mouth, both to be consumed orally. The recommended dose is usually one tablet or tablet a day, preferably consumed always at the same time and at night just before bedtime. However, these are some general recommendations, so the patient must always adhere to the indications provided by the medical professional , which will adjust the treatment to each specific case. Therefore, in no case should the patient alter the indicated doses on their own and can only stop taking it under the supervision of the pertinent doctor.

It is possible that donepezil takes a few weeks to take effect. However, the patient should continue with their consumption.Otherwise it is possible that a whole series of adverse effects that harm the state of health of the person appear.

What are the side effects?

As with all drugs and medications, donepezil can generate a series of adverse effects which, depending on the degree of intensity in which they occur, can be really annoying for the patient.

These reactions typical of treatment can be divided into those side effects that are not serious, so they do not always require medical attention, and those other more serious effects, in which it is necessary to consult the doctor as soon as possible; to adjust the medication.

1. Non-serious side effects

  • Nausea and / or vomiting
  • Gastric alterations as diarrhea.
  • Loss of appetite and the consequent loss of weight.
  • Increase the need to urinate.
  • Muscle cramps .
  • Joint pain.
  • Sensation of fatigue and fatigue.
  • Sleeping problems.
  • Headaches .
  • Dizziness
  • Sensation of nervousness.
  • Depressive symptoms .
  • Confusion.
  • Alterations in the mood.
  • Skin disorders such as redness or itching.

2. Serious side effects

These are the side effects that have to be detected and taken care of more quickly.

  • Hallucinations
  • Fainting.
  • Decreased heart rate .
  • Chest pain.
  • Respiratory problems .
  • Stools darker than usual.
  • Blood in the stool.
  • Vomiting with traces of blood or with granules similar to coffee.
  • Pain when urinating .
  • Low back pain
  • Fever.
  • Convulsions
  • Discoloration or cardinals without apparent justification.

What precautions should be taken with their consumption?

The patient should inform his doctor of any special health condition you are in, including pregnancy , both before and during the treatment. In addition, donepezil should be administered cautiously in patients with heart disease, cardiac conduction disorders, chronic obstructive pulmonary diseases, asthma, severe cardiac arrhythmias and sick sinus syndrome.

In the same way, the doctor must have proof of any other treatment to which the patient is subject. This includes prescription and non-prescription drugs, vitamins, nutritional supplements and natural herbal supplements.


Pharmacology - CHOLINERGIC DRUGS (MADE EASY) (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Donepezil: utilisations, caractéristiques et effets de ce médicament

Donepezil: utilisations, caractéristiques et effets de ce médicament

Avril 15, 2021

En raison du grand nombre de symptômes et de leur nature progressive, les maladies neurodégénératives sont pratiquement impossibles à arrêter ou à guérir. Cependant, à l'heure actuelle, il existe des médicaments qui permettent d'améliorer les fonctions, donnant au patient une plus grande autonomie et, par conséquent, une meilleure qualité de vie.

C'est le cas du donépézil, un médicament prescrit dans le traitement de la maladie d'Alzheimer que, même s’il n’obtient pas la rémission des symptômes, il favorise l’amélioration des fonctions psychologiques telles que la mémoire, les capacités de communication et même la mobilité.

  • Article connexe: "Types de médicaments psychotropes: usages et effets secondaires"

Qu'est-ce que le donépézil?

Le donépézil, connu dans le commerce sous le nom d'Aricept, est un médicament appartenant aux inhibiteurs de la cholinestérase et administré pour le traitement palliatif de la maladie d'Alzheimer.


Les principaux effets que ce médicament exerce sur le patient atteint de la maladie d'Alzheimer sont liés à l'amélioration des fonctions mentales . Ses effets sur la cognition et le comportement du patient sont remarquables et améliorent des fonctions telles que la mémoire, l'attention, les interactions avec les autres, la parole et la capacité de raisonner.

Cependant, malgré ces améliorations, le donépézil ne ralentit pas la progression de la maladie et ne peut pas être considéré comme un traitement curatif de la maladie d'Alzheimer, mais il est utilisé comme médicament palliatif qui améliore le niveau de dépendance et la qualité de vie des patients.

La recherche qui a abouti à la mise au point du donépézil a débuté en 1983, mais ce n’est qu’en 1996 qu’elle a été approuvée par la Food and Drug Administration (FDA). Après quatorze ans, le donepezilo a commencé à être commercialisé par le laboratoire pharmaceutique Pfizer et en 2011 est devenu le traitement le plus vendu dans le monde pour la maladie d'Alzheimer , vendu aussi en format générique.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Alzheimer: causes, symptômes, traitement et prévention"

Dans quels cas est-il utilisé?

Comme indiqué ci-dessus, le donépézil est administré dans la plupart des cas pour le traitement de la maladie d'Alzheimer. Cette condition provoque une destruction ou une dégénérescence neuronale progressive Elle affecte à la fois les processus de la mémoire et la capacité de raisonner, d’apprendre, de parler ou d’exécuter un grand nombre d’activités quotidiennes.

En outre, ce médicament peut également être administré pour le traitement de certains types de démences dans lesquelles les capacités qui permettent le rappel, le raisonnement, la communication ainsi que la stabilité émotionnelle et la personnalité sont affectées.

Cependant, comme indiqué ci-dessus, il n’existe toujours aucune preuve que le donépézil modifie l’évolution ou la progression de la maladie d’Alzheimer. L'administration de ce médicament dans les démences légères à modérées est recommandée, mais dans tous les cas, la personne doit faire l'objet d'une surveillance et d'un suivi continus, ainsi que d'une thérapie psychologique accompagnant les effets du médicament.


Quel est son mécanisme d'action?

La substance active de donépézil unit et paralyse l'action des cholinestérases de manière irréversible , inhibant ainsi l’hydrolyse de l’acétylcholine. En conséquence, le donépézil augmente les concentrations d'acétylcholine dans les synapses cholinergiques. Ce qui favorise le bon fonctionnement des transmissions neuronales

Comme la maladie d'Alzheimer entraîne une perte substantielle de certains éléments du système cholinergique, on suppose que les symptômes sont liés à un déficit en acétylcholine, en particulier dans le cortex cérébral et dans d'autres zones du cerveau telles que la formation de l'hippocampe. Cette perte de neurones cholinergiques dans le système nerveux central génère une détérioration cognitive qui provoque les symptômes liés à l’attention, à la mémoire et à l’apprentissage.

Comment est-il administré?

Le donépézil est administré sous deux formats différents: les comprimés et les comprimés oraux solubles dans la bouche, qui doivent être consommés par voie orale. La dose recommandée est généralement d'un comprimé ou d'un comprimé par jour, de préférence toujours à la même heure et le soir, juste avant le coucher. Cependant, ce sont quelques recommandations générales, donc le patient doit toujours respecter les indications fournies par le professionnel de la santé , qui ajustera le traitement à chaque cas particulier. Par conséquent, le patient ne doit en aucun cas modifier seul les doses indiquées et ne peut cesser de le prendre que sous la surveillance du médecin compétent.

Il est possible que le donépézil prenne quelques semaines pour produire ses effets. Cependant, le patient doit continuer à consommer.Autrement, il est possible que toute une série d’effets indésirables nocifs pour l’état de santé de la personne apparaissent.

Quels sont les effets secondaires?

Comme avec tous les médicaments et médicaments, le donépézil peut générer une série d'effets indésirables qui, en fonction du degré d’intensité dans lequel ils se produisent, peuvent être vraiment gênants pour le patient.

Ces réactions typiques du traitement peuvent être divisées en effets secondaires non graves, de sorte qu’elles ne nécessitent pas toujours de soins médicaux, et en effets plus graves, dans lesquels il est nécessaire de consulter le médecin le plus tôt possible; ajuster le médicament.

1. Effets secondaires non graves

  • Nausées et / ou vomissements
  • Altérations gastriques comme la diarrhée.
  • Perte d'appétit et perte de poids conséquente.
  • Augmenter le besoin d'uriner.
  • Crampes musculaires .
  • Douleur articulaire
  • Sensation de fatigue et de fatigue.
  • Problèmes de sommeil
  • Maux de tête .
  • Vertige
  • Sensation de nervosité.
  • Symptômes dépressifs .
  • Confusion
  • Altérations dans l'ambiance.
  • Troubles cutanés tels que rougeurs ou démangeaisons.

2. Effets secondaires graves

Ce sont les effets secondaires qui doivent être détectés et traités plus rapidement.

  • Hallucinations
  • Évanouissement
  • Diminution de la fréquence cardiaque .
  • Douleur à la poitrine
  • Problèmes respiratoires .
  • Les selles sont plus sombres que d'habitude.
  • Sang dans les selles.
  • Vomissements avec des traces de sang ou des granules similaires au café.
  • Douleur en urinant .
  • Douleur lombaire.
  • Fièvre
  • Convulsions
  • Décoloration ou cardinaux sans justification apparente.

Quelles précautions faut-il prendre avec leur consommation?

Le patient doit informer son médecin de tout état de santé particulier dans lequel vous vous trouvez, y compris la grossesse avant et pendant le traitement. De plus, le donépézil doit être administré avec prudence chez les patients présentant une maladie cardiaque, des troubles de la conduction cardiaque, des bronchopneumopathies chroniques obstructives, un asthme, une arythmie cardiaque grave et un syndrome des sinus.

De la même manière, le médecin doit avoir la preuve de tout autre traitement auquel le patient est soumis. Cela inclut les médicaments sur ordonnance et sans ordonnance, les vitamines, les suppléments nutritionnels et les suppléments naturels à base de plantes.


OriGene Protocol: TissueScan qPCR Arrays (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes