yes, therapy helps!
Dravet syndrome: causes, symptoms and treatment

Dravet syndrome: causes, symptoms and treatment

June 21, 2024

Within the group of neurological diseases that we know as epilepsy we find Dravet syndrome, a very severe variant that occurs in children and that involves alterations in the development of cognition, motor skills and socialization, among other aspects.

In this article we will describe What is Dravet syndrome and what are its causes and symptoms? most common, as well as interventions that are commonly applied to treat this type of epilepsy.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 10 most frequent neurological disorders"

What is Dravet syndrome?

Dravet's syndrome, also called myoclonic epilepsy of childhood , is a serious type of epilepsy which starts in the first year of life. Epileptic seizures are usually triggered by states of fever or by the presence of high temperatures and consist of abrupt muscle contractions.


In addition, Dravet syndrome It is characterized by its resistance to treatment and because of its chronic nature . In the long term, it usually evolves towards other types of epilepsy and causes alterations in psychomotor development and severe cognitive deterioration.

This disorder gets its name from Charlotte Dravet , the psychiatrist and epileptologist who identified him in 1978. It has a genetic origin and is estimated to affect 1 in every 15-40 thousand approximately newborns, which is why Dravet syndrome is considered a rare disease.

  • Related article: "Epilepsy: definition, causes, diagnosis and treatment"

Types of epileptic seizures

We call epilepsy a set of neurological diseases whose main characteristic is that they favor the appearance of seizures or epileptic attacks, episodes of excessive cerebral electrical activity that produce different symptoms.


Epileptic seizures can be very different between them, depending on the type of epilepsy suffered by the person. Next, we will describe the main types of crises that can occur in the context of epilepsy.

1. Focal crisis

Focal epileptic seizures occur in a limited (or focal) way in a certain area of ​​the brain. When a crisis of this type occurs the person maintains consciousness, unlike what is usual in the rest of types. They are often preceded by sensory experiences called "aura" .

2. Tonic-clonic crisis

This type of crisis is of a generalized nature, that is, it affects both cerebral hemispheres. They consist of two phases: the tonic, during which the extremities become rigid, and the clonic, which consists of the appearance of spasms in the head, arms and legs.


3. Myoclonic (or myoclonic) crises

It is known as "myoclonus" epileptic seizures that they involve abrupt muscle contractions , as in the case of Dravet syndrome. Myoclonic seizures are usually generalized (they occur throughout the body), although they can also be focal and affect only some muscles.

4. Absence crisis

Absence crises last a few seconds and are more subtle than the rest; Sometimes they are only detectable by the movement of an eye or an eyelid. In this type of crisis the person does not usually fall to the ground . Disorientation may occur after epileptic seizures.

Signs and symptoms

Dravet's syndrome usually starts around 6 months of age , debuting with febrile seizures, which occur as a consequence of a high body temperature and occur almost exclusively in children. Later the disorder evolves towards other types of crisis, with predominance of myoclonic.

The seizures of childhood myoclonic epilepsy are often longer than normal, and may last more than 5 minutes. In addition to the states of fever, other common triggers are intense emotions, changes in body temperature caused by physical exercise or heat and the presence of visual stimuli, such as intense lights.

Children with this disorder usually experience symptoms such as ataxia, hyperactivity, impulsivity, insomnia, drowsiness and, in some cases, behavioral and social alterations similar to those of autism.

Also, the appearance of this type of epilepsy usually involves a significant delay in the development of cognitive abilities , motor and linguistic . These problems are not reduced as the child grows, so Dravet syndrome leads to severe deterioration in multiple areas.

  • Maybe you are interested: "Ataxia: causes, symptoms and treatments"

Causes of this disorder

Between 70 and 90% of cases of Dravet syndrome is attributed to mutations in the SCN1A gene , related to the functioning of cellular sodium channels and therefore to the generation and propagation of action potentials. These alterations cause a lower sodium availability and GABAergic inhibitory neurons are more difficult to activate.

The mutations in this gene do not seem to have a hereditary origin, but rather they are produced as random mutations. However, between 5 and 25% of cases are associated with a family component; in these cases the symptoms are usually less severe.

The first epileptic seizure in babies with Dravet syndrome is usually associated with the administration of vaccines, which is carried out regularly at approximately 6 months of age.

Intervention and treatment

The clinical characteristics and course of Dravet syndrome vary greatly depending on the case, so no general intervention protocols have been established, although there are multiple measures that can be helpful. The main objective of treatment is to reduce the frequency of crises .

Among the drugs used to treat epileptic seizures typical of this disorder we find anticonvulsants such as topiramate , valproic acid and clobazam . Blockers of sodium channels include gabapentin, carbamazepine and lamotrigine. Benzodiazepines such as midazolam and diazepam are also given in cases of prolonged seizures. Of course, the medication is only used under medical supervision.

Also, the modification of the feeding can be effective to reduce the likelihood of epileptic seizures. Specifically the ketogenic diet is recommended , that is, that the levels of carbohydrates are low and that the levels of fats and proteins are high. This type of diet can involve risks, so it should not be applied without medical prescription and supervision.

The usual interventions in Dravet syndrome often include the psychomotor and linguistic rehabilitation , necessary to minimize cognitive deterioration and developmental affectations.

The other secondary symptoms of this disease, such as social deficits, sleep disorders or infections, are treated separately by specific interventions.


Baby with epilepsy receives early diagnosis and specialized care at Mayo Clinic (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Syndrome de Dravet: causes, symptômes et traitement

Syndrome de Dravet: causes, symptômes et traitement

Août 11, 2020

Parmi le groupe de maladies neurologiques que nous appelons épilepsie, nous retrouvons le syndrome de Dravet, une variante très grave qui survient chez les enfants et implique des modifications du développement de la cognition, de la motricité et de la socialisation, entre autres aspects.

Dans cet article, nous allons décrire Qu'est-ce que le syndrome de Dravet et quelles en sont les causes et les symptômes? les plus courantes, ainsi que les interventions couramment appliquées pour traiter ce type d'épilepsie.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 10 troubles neurologiques les plus fréquents"

Qu'est-ce que le syndrome de Dravet?

Le syndrome de Dravet, aussi appelé épilepsie myoclonique de l'enfance , est un type d'épilepsie grave qui commence dans la première année de la vie. Les crises d'épilepsie sont généralement déclenchées par des états de fièvre ou par la présence de températures élevées et consistent en des contractions musculaires brutales.


En outre, le syndrome de Dravet Il se caractérise par sa résistance au traitement et à cause de sa nature chronique . À long terme, il évolue généralement vers d'autres types d'épilepsie et provoque des altérations du développement psychomoteur et une grave détérioration cognitive.

Ce trouble tire son nom de Charlotte Dravet , le psychiatre et l'épileptologue qui l'a identifié en 1978. Il est d'origine génétique et on estime qu'il affecte environ un nouveau né de 15 à 40 000 personnes, raison pour laquelle le syndrome de Dravet est considéré comme une maladie rare.

  • Article connexe: "Épilepsie: définition, causes, diagnostic et traitement"

Types de crises d'épilepsie

Nous appelons l'épilepsie un ensemble de maladies neurologiques dont la caractéristique principale est qu'ils favorisent l'apparition de crises d'épilepsie ou d'épilepsie, épisodes d'activité électrique cérébrale excessive produisant des symptômes différents.


Les crises d'épilepsie peuvent être très différentes entre elles, en fonction du type d'épilepsie subi par la personne. Ensuite, nous décrirons les principaux types de crises pouvant survenir dans le contexte de l'épilepsie.

1. crise focale

Les crises d'épilepsie focales se produisent de manière limitée (ou focale) dans une certaine zone du cerveau. Lorsqu'une crise de ce type se produit, la personne conserve sa conscience, contrairement à ce qui est habituel dans le reste des types. Ils sont souvent précédés par des expériences sensorielles appelées "aura" .

2. Crise tonico-clonique

Ce type de crise est de nature généralisée, c’est-à-dire qu’il touche les deux hémisphères cérébraux. Ils se composent de deux phases: la tonique, au cours de laquelle les extrémités deviennent rigides, et la clonique, qui consiste en l'apparition de spasmes dans la tête, les bras et les jambes.


3. Crises myocloniques (ou myocloniques)

Il est connu comme des crises d'épilepsie «myoclonales» qui ils impliquent des contractions musculaires abruptes comme dans le cas du syndrome de Dravet. Les crises myocloniques sont généralement généralisées (elles surviennent dans tout le corps), bien qu'elles puissent également être focales et n'affecter que certains muscles.

4. crise d'absence

Les crises d'absence durent quelques secondes et sont plus subtiles que les autres; Parfois, ils ne sont détectables que par le mouvement d'un œil ou d'une paupière. Dans ce type de crise, la personne ne tombe généralement pas sur le sol . Une désorientation peut survenir après une crise d'épilepsie.

Signes et symptômes

Syndrome de Dravet commence habituellement vers l'âge de 6 mois , faisant ses débuts avec des convulsions fébriles, qui résultent d'une température corporelle élevée et qui surviennent presque exclusivement chez les enfants. Plus tard, le désordre évolue vers d'autres types de crise, à prédominance myoclonique.

Les crises d'épilepsie myoclonique chez l'enfant sont souvent plus longues que la normale et peuvent durer plus de 5 minutes. Outre les états de fièvre, d'autres facteurs déclencheurs courants sont les émotions intenses, les changements de la température corporelle causés par l'exercice physique ou la chaleur et la présence de stimuli visuels, tels que des lumières intenses.

Les enfants atteints de ce trouble éprouvent généralement des symptômes tels que l'ataxie, l'hyperactivité, l'impulsivité, l'insomnie, la somnolence et, dans certains cas, des modifications comportementales et sociales similaires à celles de l'autisme.

En outre, l’apparition de ce type d’épilepsie implique généralement une retard important dans le développement des capacités cognitives , moteur et linguistique . Ces problèmes ne sont pas réduits à mesure que l'enfant grandit. Le syndrome de Dravet entraîne donc une grave détérioration dans de nombreux domaines.

  • Peut-être vous êtes intéressé: "Ataxia: causes, symptômes et traitements"

Causes de ce trouble

Entre 70 et 90% des cas de syndrome de Dravet est attribuée à des mutations dans le gène SCN1A , liées au fonctionnement des canaux sodiques cellulaires et donc à la génération et à la propagation de potentiels d’action. Ces altérations entraînent une disponibilité réduite de sodium et les neurones inhibiteurs GABAergiques sont plus difficiles à activer.

Les mutations dans ce gène ne semblent pas avoir une origine héréditaire, mais sont plutôt produites sous forme de mutations aléatoires. Cependant, entre 5 et 25% des cas sont associés à une composante familiale; dans ces cas, les symptômes sont généralement moins graves.

La première crise d'épilepsie chez les bébés atteints du syndrome de Dravet est généralement associée à l'administration de vaccins, qui est effectuée régulièrement à l'âge de 6 mois environ.

Intervention et traitement

Les caractéristiques cliniques et l'évolution du syndrome de Dravet varient considérablement en fonction des cas. Par conséquent, aucun protocole général d'intervention n'a été établi, bien que plusieurs mesures puissent être utiles. Le principal objectif du traitement est de réduire la fréquence des crises .

Parmi les médicaments utilisés pour traiter les crises d'épilepsie typiques de ce trouble, on trouve les anticonvulsifs tels que le topiramate , acide valproïque et clobazam . Les bloqueurs des canaux sodiques comprennent la gabapentine, la carbamazépine et la lamotrigine. Des benzodiazépines telles que le midazolam et le diazépam sont également administrées en cas de convulsions prolongées. Bien sûr, le médicament n'est utilisé que sous surveillance médicale.

En outre, la modification de l'alimentation peut être efficace pour réduire le risque de crises d'épilepsie. Spécifiquement le régime cétogène est recommandé c’est-à-dire que les niveaux de glucides sont bas et que les niveaux de graisses et de protéines sont élevés. Ce type de régime peut comporter des risques, il ne doit donc pas être appliqué sans prescription médicale et supervision.

Les interventions habituelles dans le syndrome de Dravet incluent souvent la rééducation psychomotrice et linguistique , nécessaire pour minimiser la détérioration cognitive et les altérations du développement.

Les autres symptômes secondaires de cette maladie, tels que les déficits sociaux, les troubles du sommeil ou les infections, sont traités séparément par des interventions spécifiques.


Épilepsie : quels sont les différents types de crise ? (Août 2020).


Articles Connexes