yes, therapy helps!
Drinking coffee: advantages and disadvantages of its consumption

Drinking coffee: advantages and disadvantages of its consumption

May 10, 2021

The history of coffee starts in the 14th century in Ethiopia to , where he began to attribute stimulating properties. From the Horn of Africa spread its use to Yemen in the fifteenth century and from there spread to the rest of the Middle East and North Africa. It was the trade of the Venetian ships with the Middle East that brought coffee to Europe, from where it was introduced to America (Cano-Marquina, Tarín and Cano, 2013).

In Spain alone, 14,000 million cups of coffee are consumed per year, with an average daily consumption of 3.6 cups per day among those over 15 years of age. It should be added that 22 million people in Spain take at least one daily coffee (Ramírez, 2016). These patterns of consumption are similar in America and in the rest of Europe, with the Nordic countries leading the way in terms of per capita consumption.


Therefore, taking into account how caffeinated beverages such as coffee are in the Western diet, the study of its effects in the short, medium and long term has become of great importance . The analyzes and investigations have been carried out both psychologically and physiologically.

What is coffee made up of?

One of the main components of coffee, and that gets its name from this, is caffeine. This substance, which we ingest in each cup, is a plant alkaloid that acts as an antagonist of adenosine receptors in the nervous system .

Caffeine prevents the degradation of cyclic adenosine monophosphate by phosphodiesterases, which potentiates post synaptic neurotransmission in the sympathetic nervous system. Because of this, one of the main effects of caffeine in the body is, by increasing the intensity of transmission, triggering an activation in the body (Glade, 2010). Although caffeine is the best known, inside a cup of coffee we can find, among others, components such as vitamin B3, magnesium and potassium .


Beneficial effects of its consumption

According to the information provided by science over dozens of years of research, it seems that the positive effects of moderate and chronic coffee consumption far outweigh the possible harm it may cause. In the consequences and effects of caffeine consumption are other factors that increase alertness, in addition to the substance itself such as, for example, the personality of the consumer and the time of day (time of the circadian cycle).

Caffeine improves, above all, the performance in surveillance tasks and other simple tasks that require sustained attention. It also increases the level of alertness and reduces the feeling of fatigue (both mental and physical), this effect being beneficial for sports practice. These effects are especially marked when, due to the situation, the activation level of the subject is markedly low (night work, driving on a motorway with few curves, etc.). Taking into account the latter, the use of caffeine can lead to an increase in safety and efficiency in certain jobs and environments such as driving (Smith, 2002). Moderate consumption has also been linked to a decrease in the incidence of diabetes and liver diseases (Cano-Marquina, Tarín and Cano, 2013).


Going back to your relationship with adenosine, In recent years, studies have been developed in which they evaluate the neuroprotective role of caffeine in certain diseases . Adenosine itself plays an important role in the control of brain disorders, with A1R inhibitory receptors (which would function as an obstacle to neurodegeneration) and A2AR facilitating receptors (whose blocking would alleviate the long-term damage of various neurodegenerative conditions). Caffeine would come into play acting as an antagonist of the A2AR receptor, which would favor the phenomenon of synaptic plasticity and, like the other antagonists of this receptor, would act as a cognitive "normalizer", preventing deterioration and reducing its progress .

Therefore, this could be a promising start in the study of A2AR receptor blockers of adenosine, providing new and diverse therapeutic options for the treatment of the early stages of, for example, Alzheimer's disease (Gomes et al., 2011).

The bitter side of caffeine

With regard to the pernicious effects of caffeine, in the review of the topic by Smith (2002), he states that these damages only appear under certain conditions. One would be to be consumed by people with anxiety problems, whose level of activation is already high.

In people not affected by this problem, the negative effects would occur when excessively high amounts are consumed. The intake of beverages such as coffee, in these situations, would cause an increase in anxiety and this would result in, for example, tachycardias, sleep difficulties, or even a worsening of fine motor control (Smith, 2002). When the consumption exceeds approximately 300 mg per day, the motor system can be greatly activated, as well as the sleep-wake cycle can be altered, as well as the cerebral metabolism rates increase in a generalized way.

Although, as with many other substances, the inappropriate consumption of caffeine can lead to various problems, there are reasons to be optimistic in this regard. Almost all the group of consumers makes an intake between low and moderate (50-300 mg per day), these doses being the beneficial behavioral effects mentioned above. Although there are people who qualify coffee and, therefore, caffeine, as a socially accepted drug, the brain mechanisms that are affected by using this psychostimulant differ greatly with respect to other substances of abuse such as cocaine, amphetamines, alcohol, THC and nicotine (Nehlig, 1999).

Why then does this consumption not reach harmful levels?

The area of ​​the brain most related to drug dependence is considered in neuroscience as the area of ​​pleasure, that is, the nucleus accumbens. This nucleus is divided both functionally and morphologically in a central zone and in the crustal zone. The mesolimbic system of dopamine, which originates in the ventral tegmental area and ends in the nucleus accumbens, also plays an important role in the reinforcement of the addictive behavior.

Sufficient amounts to feel the effects of drugs of abuse such as cocaine, alcohol and others, selectively activate dopaminergic neurotransmission in the cortex of the nucleus accumbens , which supports the very high addictive capacity of these substances. On the contrary, the consumption of caffeine necessary to activate its properties increases the release of dopamine only in the caudate nucleus without inducing any release in the nucleus accumbens. This selective activation of the caudate nucleus would be related to the stimulatory properties of caffeine in psychomotor activity.

On the other hand, caffeine also stimulates the release of dopamine in the prefrontal cortex, which would be consistent with its psychostimulant properties and with the reinforcement of drinking behavior. For caffeine to increase the functional activity of the core cortex accumbens, it should be consumed in an amount five times higher than the daily average. This high consumption would activate many other brain structures such as most of the limbic and thalamic regions and those related to the extrapyramidal motor system. This would explain the side effects of excessive consumption. As a conclusion to these data, Astrid Nehlig (1999) states that Although caffeine has some criteria to be considered a drug of abuse, there is a very low risk of addiction .

Finally, taking into account the good capacity of self-regulation by the general population both in the amount to be consumed and at the time of day, knowledge of the pros and cons of something as usual as having a cup of coffee, will favor an even more responsible consumption. In light of the information offered by scientific research, there does not seem to be a more powerful excuse to take a break and have a coffee in the company of friends, family or colleagues that improve their own health. Everything for the welfare.

Bibliographic references:

  • Cano-Marquina, A., Tarin, J. J., & Cano, A. (2013). The impact of coffee on health. Maturitas, 75 (1), 7-21.
  • Glade, M. J. (2010). Caffeine - not just a stimulant. Nutrition, 26 (10), 932-938.
  • Gomes, C.V., Kaster, M.P., Tomà ©, A.R., Agostinho, P.M., & Cunha, R.A. (2011). Adenosine receptors and brain diseases: neuroprotection and neurodegeneration. Biochimica et Biophysica Acta (BBA) -Biomembranes, 1808 (5), 1380-1399.
  • Nehlig, A. (1999). Are we dependent upon coffee and caffeine? A review on human and animal data. Neuroscience & Biobehavioral Reviews, 23 (4), 563-576.
  • Ramírez, E. (2016). The presence of coffee increases in the life of the Spaniards - elEconomista.es. Eleconomista.es. Recovered from: //www.eleconomista.es/empresas-finanzas/consumo/noticias/7174035/11/15/Crece-la-presencia-de-cafe-en-la-vida-de-los-espanoles.html
  • Smith, A. (2002). Effects of caffeine on human behavior. Food and chemical toxicology, 40 (9), 1243-1255.

Mayo Clinic Minute: Health Benefits of Coffee (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Boire du café: avantages et inconvénients de sa consommation

Boire du café: avantages et inconvénients de sa consommation

Mars 25, 2019

L’histoire du café commence au 14ème siècle en Ethiopie un , où il a commencé à attribuer des propriétés stimulantes. Depuis la Corne de l'Afrique, son utilisation s'est répandue au Yémen au XVe siècle, puis au reste du Moyen-Orient et de l'Afrique du Nord. C'est le commerce des navires vénitiens avec le Moyen-Orient qui a amené le café en Europe, d'où il a été introduit en Amérique (Cano-Marquina, Tarín et Cano, 2013).

En Espagne seulement, 14 000 millions de tasses de café sont consommées chaque année, avec une consommation quotidienne moyenne de 3,6 tasses par jour chez les personnes de plus de 15 ans. Il convient d'ajouter que 22 millions d'Espagne prennent au moins un café par jour (Ramírez, 2016). Ces modèles de consommation sont similaires en Amérique et dans le reste de l'Europe, les pays nordiques étant en tête en termes de consommation par habitant.


Par conséquent, compte tenu de la place des boissons contenant de la caféine dans l’alimentation occidentale, comme le café, l'étude de ses effets à court, moyen et long terme est devenue d'une grande importance . Les analyses et les investigations ont été effectuées à la fois psychologiquement et physiologiquement.

De quoi est composé le café?

La caféine est l’un des principaux composants du café. Cette substance, que nous ingérons dans chaque tasse, est un alcaloïde d'origine végétale qui agit comme un antagoniste des récepteurs de l'adénosine dans le système nerveux .

La caféine empêche la dégradation de l'adénosine monophosphate cyclique par les phosphodiestérases, ce qui potentialise la neurotransmission post-synaptique dans le système nerveux sympathique. De ce fait, l'un des principaux effets de la caféine dans le corps est, en augmentant l'intensité de la transmission, de déclencher une activation dans le corps (Glade, 2010). Bien que la caféine soit la plus connue, dans une tasse de café, on peut trouver, entre autres, des composants tels que la vitamine B3, le magnésium et le potassium .


Effets bénéfiques de sa consommation

Selon les informations fournies par la science sur des dizaines d'années de recherche, il semble que les effets positifs d'une consommation de café modérée et chronique l'emportent largement sur les dommages éventuels qu'elle peut causer. Les conséquences et les effets de la consommation de caféine sont d'autres facteurs qui augmentent la vigilance, en plus de la substance elle-même, telle que, par exemple, la personnalité du consommateur et l'heure du jour (heure du cycle circadien).

La caféine améliore avant tout les performances des tâches de surveillance et autres tâches simples nécessitant une attention soutenue. Il augmente également le niveau de vigilance et réduit le sentiment de fatigue (mentale et physique), cet effet étant bénéfique pour la pratique sportive. Ces effets sont particulièrement marqués lorsque, en raison de la situation, le niveau d'activation du sujet est nettement faible (travail de nuit, conduite sur autoroute peu courbe, etc.). Compte tenu de ce dernier facteur, l’utilisation de la caféine peut améliorer la sécurité et l’efficacité de certains emplois et environnements, tels que la conduite (Smith, 2002). Une consommation modérée a également été associée à une diminution de l'incidence du diabète et des maladies du foie (Cano-Marquina, Tarín et Cano, 2013).


Pour en revenir à votre relation avec l'adénosine, Ces dernières années, des études ont été développées dans lesquelles ils évaluent le rôle neuroprotecteur de la caféine dans certaines maladies. . L'adénosine elle-même joue un rôle important dans le contrôle des troubles cérébraux, avec des récepteurs inhibiteurs de l'A1R (qui fonctionneraient comme un obstacle à la neurodégénérescence) et des récepteurs facilitant A2AR (dont le blocage atténuerait les dommages à long terme causés par diverses conditions neurodégénératives). La caféine jouerait le rôle d'antagoniste du récepteur A2AR, ce qui favoriserait le phénomène de plasticité synaptique et, comme les autres antagonistes de ce récepteur, agirait comme un "normalisateur" cognitif empêchant la détérioration et ralentissant sa progression. .

Par conséquent, cela pourrait être un début prometteur pour l’étude des bloqueurs du récepteur A2AR de l’adénosine, offrant ainsi de nouvelles options thérapeutiques pour le traitement des stades précoces de la maladie d’Alzheimer, par exemple (Gomes et al., 2007). 2011).

Le côté amer de la caféine

En ce qui concerne les effets pernicieux de la caféine, dans l’examen du sujet par Smith (2002), il déclare que ces dommages ne se manifestent que sous certaines conditions. On pourrait être consommé par des personnes ayant des problèmes d’anxiété, dont le niveau d’activation est déjà élevé.

Chez les personnes non touchées par ce problème, les effets négatifs se produiraient lorsque des quantités excessivement élevées sont consommées. La consommation de boissons telles que le café, dans ces situations, provoquerait une augmentation de l'anxiété et cela entraînerait, par exemple, des tachycardies, des troubles du sommeil ou même une aggravation du contrôle de la motricité fine (Smith, 2002). Lorsque la consommation dépasse environ 300 mg par jour, le système moteur peut être grandement activé, le cycle veille-sommeil peut être modifié, de même que les taux de métabolisme cérébral augmentent de manière généralisée.

Bien que, comme pour de nombreuses autres substances, la consommation inappropriée de caféine puisse entraîner divers problèmes, il existe des raisons d’être optimiste à cet égard. Presque tout le groupe de consommateurs fait un apport compris entre faible et modéré (50-300 mg par jour), ces doses étant les effets comportementaux bénéfiques mentionnés ci-dessus. Bien que certaines personnes qualifient le café et, par conséquent, la caféine, de drogue socialement acceptée, les mécanismes cérébraux affectés par l'utilisation de ce psychostimulant diffèrent considérablement de ceux d'autres substances faisant l'objet d'abus, telles que la cocaïne, les amphétamines, etc. alcool, THC et nicotine (Nehlig, 1999).

Pourquoi alors cette consommation n'atteint pas des niveaux nocifs?

La zone du cerveau la plus liée à la toxicomanie est considérée en neuroscience comme la zone de plaisir, c’est-à-dire le noyau accumbens. Ce noyau est divisé fonctionnellement et morphologiquement en une zone centrale et en une zone crustale. Le système mésolimbique de la dopamine, qui prend naissance dans la région tegmentale ventrale et se termine dans le noyau accumbens, joue également un rôle important dans le renforcement du comportement provoquant une dépendance.

Des quantités suffisantes pour ressentir les effets d'abus de drogues telles que la cocaïne, l'alcool et d'autres, activer sélectivement la neurotransmission dopaminergique dans le cortex du noyau accumbens , qui supporte la très forte capacité de dépendance de ces substances. Au contraire, la consommation de caféine nécessaire pour activer ses propriétés n'augmente la libération de dopamine que dans le noyau caudé sans provoquer de libération dans le noyau accumbens. Cette activation sélective du noyau caudé serait liée aux propriétés stimulantes de la caféine dans l'activité psychomotrice.

D'autre part, la caféine stimule également la libération de dopamine dans le cortex préfrontal, ce qui serait compatible avec ses propriétés psychostimulantes et avec le renforcement du comportement de consommation d'alcool. Pour que la caféine augmente l’activité fonctionnelle du noyau cortical accumbens, elle doit être consommée dans une proportion cinq fois supérieure à la moyenne quotidienne. Cette consommation élevée activerait de nombreuses autres structures cérébrales telles que la plupart des régions limbiques et thalamiques et celles liées au système moteur extrapyramidal. Cela expliquerait les effets secondaires d'une consommation excessive. En conclusion de ces données, Astrid Nehlig (1999) déclare que Bien que la caféine ait certains critères pour être considérée comme une drogue, il existe un très faible risque de dépendance .

Enfin, compte tenu de la bonne capacité d'autorégulation de la population en général, tant en ce qui concerne la quantité à consommer qu'au moment de la journée, la connaissance du pour et du contre de quelque chose d'aussi usuel que prendre une tasse de café favorisera une consommation encore plus responsable. À la lumière des informations fournies par la recherche scientifique, il ne semble pas y avoir de prétexte plus puissant pour faire une pause et prendre un café en compagnie d'amis, de membres de la famille ou de collègues qui améliorent leur santé. Tout pour le bien-être.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Cano-Marquina, A., J. Tarin, et A. Cano (2013). L'impact du café sur la santé. Maturitas, 75 (1), 7-21.
  • Glade, M. J. (2010). La caféine - pas seulement un stimulant. Nutrition, 26 (10), 932-938.
  • Gomes, C.V., Kaster, M.P., Tomé, A.R., Agostinho, P.M. et Cunha, R.A. (2011). Récepteurs d'adénosine et maladies cérébrales: neuroprotection et neurodégénérescence. Biochimica et Biophysica Acta (BBA) -Biomembranes, 1808 (5), 1380-1399.
  • Nehlig, A. (1999). Sommes-nous dépendants du café et de la caféine? Un examen des données humaines et animales. Neuroscience & Biobehavioral Reviews, 23 (4), 563-576.
  • Ramírez, E. (2016). La présence de café augmente dans la vie des Espagnols - elEconomista.es. Eleconomista.es. Récupéré de: //www.eleconomista.es/empresas-finanzas/consumo/noticias/7174035/11/15/Crece-la-presencia-de-cafe-en-la-vida-de-los-espanoles.html
  • Smith, A. (2002). Effets de la caféine sur le comportement humain. Toxicologie alimentaire et chimique, 40 (9), 1243-1255.

CAFÉ : Bon ou Mauvais pour la Santé ? (Mars 2019).


Articles Connexes