yes, therapy helps!
Duloxetine: uses and side effects of this drug

Duloxetine: uses and side effects of this drug

May 27, 2024

Pharmacological science advances every day more to create increasingly effective medications with fewer side effects. One of these newly created drugs is duloxetine , which was marketed for the first time in 2004.

Throughout this article we will talk about the properties and form of action of this antidepressant , as well as the disorders in which it is administered, its side effects and the precautions that those who consume it must take into account.

  • Related article: "Types of psychotropic drugs: uses and side effects"

What is duloxetine?

Duloxetine, known commercially as Cymbalta, is an antidepressant that falls within the category of Inhibitors of Reuptake of Serotonin and Noradrenaline, or SNRI. As such it exerts an effect on the levels of these two neurotransmitters, which work by regulating the mood of the people.


The good tolerance of duloxetine has made it a drug of choice for the treatment of major depression and to combat the symptomatic pain of diabetic neuropathy and fibromyalgia.

The investigations carried out around the effectiveness of this drug reveal that the usefulness of duloxetine is higher than other antidepressant drugs thanks to its double mechanism of action. Thus, it is more effective than traditional Selective Serotonin Reuptake Inhibitors (SSRIs) when it comes to encompassing and reducing the intensity of symptoms and therefore achieving a much more successful remission.

Finally, like other antidepressant drugs in this category, it also exerts a slight dopamine reuptake inhibitor effect , which makes it a fairly complete antidepressant.


  • You may be interested: "Types of antidepressants: characteristics and effects"

For what disorders is it used?

The disorders and conditions in which an antidepressant such as duloxetine is administered are varied and range from psychological disorders such as major depression and generalized anxiety disorder; even physical illnesses such as pain caused by peripheral neuropathic conditions, chronic low back pain, osteoarthritis or fibromyalgia.

Further, It is also prescribed at the beginning of urinary incontinence for effort. This type of incontinence is one in which the person suffers some urine escape while doing physical activities or effort. They can also appear when you cough, lift a heavy object or make some physical effort.

In any case, the use of this drug can only be given by medical indication, and it is also essential to follow exactly the indications given by the professional.


1. Major depression

In major depression, the patient presents a symptomatology that it is characterized by a low mood , invasive and persistent. It is often accompanied by low self-esteem and anhedonia or lack of interest and joy in activities that were perceived as pleasurable before depression.

  • Related article: "Major depression: symptoms, causes and treatment"

2. Generalized anxiety disorder (GAD)

This condition is distinguished by causing feelings of persistent fear and concern in the person related to any aspect of daily life. The person is completely incapable of controlling this restlessness which ends up generating other physical and psychological discomforts and interfering with the patient's daily activities .

  • Related article: "Generalized Anxiety Disorder: symptoms, causes and treatment"

3. Peripheral neuropathic pain

Neuropathic pain is the product of an injury or disease that acts on the somatosensory system. Its main symptoms are: allodynia or when a harmless stimulus causes a response of disproportionate pain, and hyperalgesia or when a mild painful stimulus produces a marked pain reaction.

4. Chronic low back pain

Duloxetine has also proven to be very effective in the treatment of pain caused by chronic low back pain. This pain appears locally at the level of the lower back of the spine and must have a duration of more than three months.

5. Osteoarthritis

The pain caused by osteoarthritis is caused by a damage to the cartilage that covers the end of the bones in the joints . This causes the direct friction of the bones which causes pain, swelling and a deterioration in the movement of the joint.

6. Fibromyalgia

Fibromyalgia is a chronic condition that is distinguished by cause musculoskeletal pain in those patients who suffer from it, without it having an organic origin that justifies it.

  • Related article: "Fibromyalgia: causes, symptoms and treatments"

How is this drug given?

Duloxetine is produced in delayed-release capsules to be taken orally. This means the active ingredients are not released until they reach the intestine and thus elude gastric acid in the stomach that could interfere with and spoil the effect of the medication.

The treatment will start gradually, initially administering a low dose which will be increased once a week. In the treatment of anxiety, normally the amount will be one or two daily doses. according to the patient's condition, while in the rest of the cases Doctors usually prescribe a single dose a day .

In any of the cases, the patient must follow the instructions of the doctor to the letter. In none of the cases can the patient vary the dose on their own, or take it more times than indicated.

What side effects does it have?

Like other serotonin and norepinephrine reuptake inhibitor drugs, duloxetine has a lot of side effects . However, not all are serious and are more bearable than those caused by other antidepressants. In addition, these are significantly reduced if consumed accompanied by food.

Unwanted side effects can be divided into serious and not serious. In the former, the patient should contact their doctor if they become worse or longer, while in the latter they should inform immediately.

Not serious side effects

The side effects of duloxetine that are considered less serious are the following.

  • Gastric problems
  • Vomiting
  • Lack of appetite .
  • Dry mouth.
  • Problems in urination.
  • Vertigos .
  • Headaches
  • Sweating and / or night sweating.
  • Fatigue sensation
  • Weakness.
  • Drowsiness .
  • Pain and / or muscle spasms.
  • Alteration of desire and / or sexual capacity.
  • Uncontrollable tremors .

Serious side effects

This psychotropic drug also has other side effects of greater severity. They are the following.

  • Skin disorders and itching.
  • Bleeding and / or bruising without apparent cause.
  • Inflammation of the abdomen.
  • Yellow eye color .
  • Dark tone urine.
  • Extreme fatigue
  • Confusion .
  • Problems in vision
  • Fever .
  • Flu symptoms.
  • Blisters, rash and / or urticaria .
  • Problems in breathing and swallowing.
  • Inflammation in various areas of the body.
  • Hoarseness.

Precautions to consider

It is necessary for the patient to report any allergy, illness, condition or special health condition that could interfere with the effectiveness of the treatment.

In addition, you must also inform about any medication, vitamin supplement or natural complex that the patient is consuming at the time of beginning treatment with duloxetine, as well as their alcohol consumption habits.

Due to the sedative effects of this antidepressant, Patients may experience confusion or impaired judgment , so they should avoid or take special precautions when driving or operating heavy machinery.

In cases of pregnancy and lactation only those cases in which it is demonstrated that there is no risk to the fetus or the baby should be administered, since duloxetine can be excreted in breast milk.


What is Duloxetine? London Pain Clinic (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Duloxétine: utilisations et effets secondaires de ce médicament

Duloxétine: utilisations et effets secondaires de ce médicament

Juillet 23, 2022

La science pharmacologique avance chaque jour davantage pour créer des médicaments de plus en plus efficaces avec moins d’effets secondaires. La duloxétine est l'un de ces médicaments nouvellement créés. , commercialisé pour la première fois en 2004.

Tout au long de cet article nous parlerons des propriétés et de la forme d'action de cet antidépresseur , ainsi que les troubles dans lesquels il est administré, ses effets secondaires et les précautions que ceux qui le consomment doivent prendre en compte.

  • Article connexe: "Types de médicaments psychotropes: usages et effets secondaires"

Qu'est-ce que la duloxétine?

La duloxétine, connue dans le commerce sous le nom de Cymbalta, est un antidépresseur qui appartient à la catégorie des inhibiteurs de la recapture de la sérotonine et de la noradrénaline, ou IRSN. En tant que tel, il exerce un effet sur les niveaux de ces deux neurotransmetteurs, qui agissent en régulant l'humeur des gens.


La bonne tolérance de la duloxétine en a fait un médicament de choix pour le traitement de la dépression majeure et pour lutter contre la douleur symptomatique de la neuropathie diabétique et de la fibromyalgie.

Les enquêtes menées autour de l'efficacité de ce médicament révèlent que l'utilité de la duloxétine est supérieure à celle des autres antidépresseurs grâce à son double mécanisme d'action. Ainsi, il est plus efficace que les inhibiteurs sélectifs du recaptage de la sérotonine (ISRS) traditionnels lorsqu'il s'agit d'englober et de réduire l'intensité des symptômes et d'obtenir ainsi une rémission beaucoup plus efficace.

Enfin, comme les autres antidépresseurs de cette catégorie, il exerce également une légère effet inhibiteur de la recapture de la dopamine , ce qui en fait un antidépresseur assez complet.


  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Types d'antidépresseurs: caractéristiques et effets"

Pour quels troubles est-il utilisé?

Les troubles et les conditions dans lesquels un antidépresseur tel que la duloxétine est administré sont variés et vont de troubles psychologiques tels que la dépression majeure et le trouble d'anxiété généralisée; même les maladies physiques telles que la douleur causée par des affections neuropathiques périphériques, la lombalgie chronique, l’arthrose ou la fibromyalgie.

En outre, Il est également prescrit au début de l'incontinence urinaire pour l'effort. Ce type d'incontinence est un type dans lequel la personne souffre d'une fuite d'urine lors d'activités physiques ou d'effort. Ils peuvent également apparaître lorsque vous toussez, soulevez un objet lourd ou faites un effort physique.

Dans tous les cas, l'utilisation de ce médicament ne peut être administrée que sur indication médicale, et il est également essentiel de suivre exactement les indications données par le professionnel.


1. dépression majeure

Dans la dépression majeure, le patient présente une symptomatologie qui il est caractérisé par une humeur basse , invasif et persistant. Cela s'accompagne souvent d'une faible estime de soi et d'anhédonie ou d'un manque d'intérêt et de joie pour des activités perçues comme agréables avant la dépression.

  • Article connexe: "Dépression majeure: symptômes, causes et traitement"

2. Trouble d'anxiété généralisé (TAG)

Cette affection se distingue en provoquant chez la personne des sentiments de peur et d'inquiétude persistants liés à tout aspect de la vie quotidienne. La personne est complètement incapable de contrôler cette agitation qui finit par générer d’autres désagréments physiques et psychologiques et interférer avec les activités quotidiennes du patient .

  • Article connexe: "Anxiété généralisée: symptômes, causes et traitement"

3. Douleur neuropathique périphérique

La douleur neuropathique est le produit d'une blessure ou d'une maladie qui agit sur le système somatosensoriel. Ses principaux symptômes sont les suivants: allodynie ou lorsqu'un stimulus inoffensif provoque une réponse de douleur disproportionnée, et une hyperalgésie ou lorsqu'un stimulus légèrement douloureux provoque une réaction douloureuse marquée.

4. Lombalgie chronique

La duloxétine s'est également révélée très efficace dans le traitement de la douleur causée par la lombalgie chronique. Cette douleur apparaît localement au niveau du bas du dos de la colonne vertébrale et doit durer plus de trois mois.

5. arthrose

La douleur causée par l'arthrose est causée par un endommagement du cartilage qui recouvre la fin des os dans les articulations . Cela provoque le frottement direct des os qui provoque une douleur, un gonflement et une détérioration du mouvement de l'articulation.

6. Fibromyalgie

La fibromyalgie est une maladie chronique qui se distingue par causer des douleurs musculo-squelettiques chez les patients qui en souffrent, sans que cela ait une origine organique qui le justifie.

  • Article connexe: "Fibromyalgie: causes, symptômes et traitements"

Comment ce médicament est-il administré?

La duloxétine est produite dans des gélules à libération retardée à prendre par voie orale. Ça signifie les ingrédients actifs ne sont pas libérés jusqu'à ce qu'ils atteignent l'intestin et élimine ainsi l'acide gastrique dans l'estomac qui pourrait interférer avec l'effet du médicament et le gâcher.

Le traitement débutera progressivement en administrant initialement une faible dose qui sera augmentée une fois par semaine. Dans le traitement de l'anxiété, normalement, le montant sera d'une ou deux doses quotidiennes. selon l'état du patient, alors que dans le reste des cas Les médecins prescrivent généralement une seule dose par jour .

Dans tous les cas, le patient doit suivre les instructions du médecin à la lettre. Dans aucun des cas, le patient ne peut modifier la dose par lui-même ou le prendre plus de fois que prévu.

Quels sont les effets secondaires?

Comme d’autres médicaments inhibiteurs de la recapture de la sérotonine et de la noradrénaline, la duloxétine a beaucoup d'effets secondaires . Cependant, tous ne sont pas graves et sont plus supportables que ceux causés par d'autres antidépresseurs. En outre, ceux-ci sont considérablement réduits s'ils sont consommés accompagnés de nourriture.

Les effets secondaires indésirables peuvent être divisés en graves et non graves. Dans le premier cas, le patient doit contacter son médecin si son état s'aggrave ou se prolonge, alors que dans le second, il doit en informer immédiatement.

Effets secondaires peu graves

Les effets indésirables de la duloxétine considérés comme moins graves sont les suivants.

  • Problèmes gastriques
  • Vomissements
  • Manque d'appétit .
  • Bouche sèche.
  • Problèmes de miction.
  • Vertigos .
  • Maux de tête
  • Transpiration et / ou transpiration nocturne.
  • Sensation de fatigue
  • Faiblesse
  • Somnolence .
  • Douleur et / ou spasmes musculaires.
  • Altération du désir et / ou de la capacité sexuelle.
  • Tremblements incontrôlables .

Effets secondaires graves

Ce médicament psychotrope a également d’autres effets secondaires plus graves. Ils sont les suivants.

  • Troubles cutanés et démangeaisons.
  • Saignements et / ou ecchymoses sans cause apparente.
  • Inflammation de l'abdomen.
  • Couleur des yeux jaune .
  • Ton urine sombre.
  • Fatigue extrême
  • Confusion .
  • Problèmes de vision
  • Fièvre .
  • Symptômes de la grippe.
  • Cloques, éruption cutanée et / ou urticaire .
  • Problèmes de respiration et de déglutition.
  • Inflammation dans diverses zones du corps.
  • Enrouement

Précautions à prendre en compte

Le patient doit signaler toute allergie, maladie, affection ou état de santé particulier susceptible de nuire à l'efficacité du traitement.

En outre, vous devez également informer de tout médicament, supplément de vitamines ou complexe naturel consommé par le patient au début du traitement par la duloxétine, ainsi que de ses habitudes de consommation d’alcool.

En raison des effets sédatifs de cet antidépresseur, Les patients peuvent éprouver de la confusion ou un jugement altéré , ils doivent donc éviter ou prendre des précautions particulières lors de la conduite ou de l’exploitation de machines lourdes.

En cas de grossesse et d'allaitement seuls les cas dans lesquels il est démontré qu'il n'y a aucun risque pour le fœtus ou le bébé doivent être administrés, car la duloxétine peut être excrétée dans le lait maternel.


JE PRENDS DES ANTIDÉPRESSEURS (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes