yes, therapy helps!
Dyscalculia: the difficulty when it comes to learning mathematics

Dyscalculia: the difficulty when it comes to learning mathematics

August 11, 2022

Oddly enough, there is evidence that human beings already we are born with certain abilities to think in mathematical terms . For example, newborns are already able to count units in small quantities, which is the prelude to add and subtract in the future.

However, just as we are especially prepared for mathematics, it is also true that in some cases this kind of specific mental processes may be affected by a disorder . This is what happens in cases where it is detected a type of difficulty called dyscalculia .

What is dyscalculia?

Dyscalculia is a kind of learning difficulty that specifically affects the mental operations related to mathematics and that can not be explained by the presence of mental retardation or by bad education.


To put it in some way, in the same way in which dyslexia affects reading, dyscalculia affects the handling of numbers and arithmetic in general, especially in relation to the simplest mathematical operations, such as adding and subtracting. That's why the dyscalculia it is also directly known as difficulties in learning mathematics (DAM) .

Symptoms and diagnosis

It is very common that dyscalculia is accompanied by other difficulties in learning, such as dyslexia or dysgraphia. Therefore, in the diagnostic manual DSM-V the dyscalculia is part of a wider diagnostic category known as Specific Learning Disorders . Within this one can specify what concrete difficulties are manifested in each case, such as problems in reading and mastery of mathematics, only in writing, etc.


Regarding the symptoms of dyscalculia, these are grouped into several categories, and can not be due to an injury or a malformation linked to a known disease:

Graphic transcription

In some cases, people with dyscalculia have It costs to memorize the symbol that represents each number , or draws them in an abnormal way, such as the other way around. In the same way, it is common that you will not be able to order groups of numbers writing them from left to right.

Failures in learning quantity notions

In the dyscalculia it is very normal that it is not understood that a number is formed by groups of units , and that the idea of ​​association number-object necessary to perform the basic mathematical operations is not created, which is why we try to count on the fingers (the position of the fingers makes the function of working memory).


Causes of dyscalculia

As with learning disorders in general, the exact cause of dyscalculia is not known, probably because there is not only one but several that act together and feed each other .

That is why, for the moment, it is assumed that dyscalculia has a multifactorial origin in which problems of maturation of certain parts of the brain are involved as well as more psychological aspects related to cognition and emotion management.

To understand this better, let's use an example. The brain of a girl with dyscalculia will probably directly affect areas of the brain responsible for working with numbers, but on top of that he will have got used to the idea that mathematics is not good at all , which will make you do less effort and, consequently, your results will be even worse.

It is important to point out that psychologists and psycho-pedagogues can intervene on the psychological aspects of dyscalculia, making the learning performance of people diagnosed improve or, at least, not get worse.

Prognosis and treatment

Currently, very little is known about how cases of dyscalculia that are not treated evolve, although in the medium term it is known that it is associated with psychological problems such as low self-esteem or the appearance of symptoms of depression.

However, dyscalculia can be treated from psychological and psychopedagogical work. For this it is necessary to carry out a process of cognitive restructuring related to the use of basic mathematics and self-concept.

In this way, the fundamental foundations of mathematics are taught without which no progress can be made, and at the same time ideas that hinder learning are rejected, such as the belief that numbers do not exist.


Understanding Dyscalculia: Math Learning Disability - Child Growth (August 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Dyscalculie: la difficulté à apprendre les mathématiques

Dyscalculie: la difficulté à apprendre les mathématiques

Novembre 1, 2022

Curieusement, il existe des preuves que les êtres humains déjà nous sommes nés avec certaines capacités de penser en termes mathématiques . Par exemple, les nouveau-nés sont déjà capables de compter des unités en petites quantités, ce qui est le prélude à l’addition et à la soustraction dans le futur.

Cependant, tout comme nous sommes spécialement préparés aux mathématiques, il est également vrai que dans certains cas, ce type de des processus mentaux spécifiques peuvent être affectés par un trouble . C'est ce qui se passe dans les cas où il est détecté un type de difficulté appelée dyscalculie .

Qu'est-ce que la dyscalculie?

La dyscalculie est une sorte de difficulté d'apprentissage qui affecte spécifiquement les opérations mentales liées aux mathématiques et cela ne peut pas être expliqué par la présence d'un retard mental ou par une mauvaise éducation.


En quelque sorte, de la même manière que la dyslexie affecte la lecture, la dyscalculie affecte le traitement des nombres et l’arithmétique en général, en particulier en ce qui concerne les opérations mathématiques les plus simples, telles que l’addition et la soustraction. C'est pourquoi la dyscalculie il est également directement connu sous le nom de difficultés d’apprentissage des mathématiques (DAM) .

Symptômes et diagnostic

Il est très courant que la dyscalculie s'accompagne d'autres difficultés d'apprentissage, telles que la dyslexie ou la dysgraphie. Par conséquent, dans le manuel de diagnostic DSM-V, la dyscalculie fait partie d'une catégorie plus large de diagnostics connue sous le nom de troubles d'apprentissage spécifiques . A l'intérieur de celui-ci, on peut spécifier quelles difficultés concrètes se manifestent dans chaque cas, tels que des problèmes de lecture et de maîtrise des mathématiques, uniquement en écriture, etc.


En ce qui concerne les symptômes de dyscalculie, ceux-ci sont regroupés en plusieurs catégories et ne peuvent être dus à une blessure ou à une malformation liée à une maladie connue:

Transcription graphique

Dans certains cas, les personnes atteintes de dyscalculie ont Il en coûte de mémoriser le symbole qui représente chaque numéro , ou les dessine de manière anormale, comme l’inverse. De la même manière, il est fréquent que vous ne puissiez pas groupes de commande de nombres en les écrivant de gauche à droite.

Échecs dans l'apprentissage des notions de quantité

Dans la dyscalculie il est très normal qu'il ne soit pas compris qu'un nombre est formé par des groupes d'unités , et que l'idée d'association numéro-objet nécessaire pour effectuer les opérations mathématiques de base ne soit pas créée, c'est pourquoi nous essayons de compter sur les doigts (la position des doigts rend la fonction de mémoire de travail).


Causes de la dyscalculie

Comme pour les troubles de l'apprentissage en général, la cause exacte de la dyscalculie n'est pas connue, probablement parce que il n'y a pas qu'un mais plusieurs qui agissent ensemble et se nourrissent .

C'est pourquoi on suppose pour le moment que la dyscalculie a une origine multifactorielle dans laquelle interviennent des problèmes de maturation de certaines parties du cerveau ainsi que des aspects plus psychologiques liés à la cognition et à la gestion des émotions.

Pour mieux comprendre cela, prenons un exemple. Le cerveau d'une fille atteinte de dyscalculie affectera probablement directement les zones du cerveau responsables du travail avec les nombres, mais en plus de cela il se sera habitué à l'idée que les mathématiques ne sont pas bonnes du tout , ce qui vous fera faire moins d’efforts et, par conséquent, vos résultats seront encore pires.

Il est important de souligner que les psychologues et les psychopédagogues peuvent intervenir sur les aspects psychologiques de la dyscalculie, en améliorant les performances d'apprentissage des personnes diagnostiquées ou, du moins, en ne les aggravant pas.

Pronostic et traitement

À l'heure actuelle, on sait très peu de choses sur l'évolution des cas de dyscalculie non traités, même si, à moyen terme, on sait qu'elle est associée à des problèmes psychologiques tels qu'un manque d'estime de soi ou l'apparition de symptômes de dépression.

Cependant, la dyscalculie peut être traitée par un travail psychologique et psychopédagogique. Pour cela, il est nécessaire de mener à bien un processus de restructuration cognitive lié à l'utilisation des mathématiques de base et du concept de soi.

De cette manière, les bases fondamentales de la mathématique sont enseignées sans lesquelles aucun progrès ne peut être accompli et, parallèlement, les idées qui entravent l’apprentissage sont rejetées, telles que la conviction que les chiffres n’existent pas.


Propositions aux troubles de l'apprentissage : Mathématiques et dyscalculie (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes