yes, therapy helps!
Dyslexia: 10 intervention guidelines for educators

Dyslexia: 10 intervention guidelines for educators

May 29, 2024

Dyslexia has become one of the most commonly diagnosed disorders in children in recent years. Although it is very complex to detect an exact percentage of prevalence due to the problems to establish a clear diagnosis in a rigorous way, the latest studies affirm that approximately 15% of the school students present such difficulties. For this reason, it seems increasingly necessary to define what psycho-pedagogical and psychological orientations are most effective in effectively addressing this population group.

  • Related article: "Dyslexia: causes and symptoms of reading difficulties"

Dyslexia: main indicators

Dyslexia is the usual nomenclature that receives the Specific Learning Disorder (ASD) related to the presence of difficulties in the ability of reading and writing . According to the Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders in its most updated version (2013), it refers to the presence of difficulties in the fluid recognition of words, poor reading decoding in the spelling ability and deficits in reading comprehension.


further may be accompanied by alterations in written expression or mathematical reasoning , which must be specified additionally in the initial diagnosis. Another key aspect is the presence of a level of general intellectual capacity preserved, so that the TEA-Literacy is incomptible with significant levels of mental disability, as well as can not be explained by sensory deficits, either visual or auditory. The difficulties indicated must be valid for a minimum period of six months and must cause a significant interference in the student's academic development.

More specifically, when observing the following behaviors that are exposed below, we can suspect the presence of a TEA-Literacy, from which it is necessary to propose a comprehensive psychopedagogical evaluation that corroborates said indications:


  • Altered placement or omission when writing letters that make up a word
  • Difficulty in the acquisition of reading ability, low reading fluency.
  • Confusion or forgetting some words .
  • Difficulty to establish the temporal sequence between days, months, etc.
  • Alteration in the attention capacity and concentration difficulties.
  • Greater mastery in manipulative tasks by enzymes of verbal activities.
  • Better oral expression than written .
  • Lack of mastery of the alphabet or multiplication tables.
  • Need to read a text several times , poor written comprehension.
  • Greater mastery of creative or imaginative capacity.

Orientations in the educational attention in children with dyslexia

As educators, it is essential to take into account the following guidelines when dealing with a child with this particularity, since an empathic attitude, reinforcing their potentialities and flexible according to their difficulties they will have a protective effect in order to avoid problems of low self-concept or self-esteem and even more long-term school failure situations:


1. Establish a daily reading habit of about 20 minutes maximum duration

The content of this reading is recommended to be of a theme of interest to the child, regardless of whether it is a story, a magazine or a comic. The relevant point is that you acquire a positive attitude for reading. It will also be necessary to assess whether the volume of school readings to be made during the course should be limited.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Educational psychology: definition, concepts and theories"

3. Flexibility in spelling correction

It seems more effective the priority work of 3-4 orthographic rules until its domain to later add new ones.

5. Provide brief, concise statements and requests

Use short phrases to give directions using visual support that can be used as a reference. The indications must be segmented and expressed gradually. It also seems fundamental adapt the statements of exercises and exams so that they can be understood by the child, allowing specific explanatory clarifications.

6. Establish a plan of objectives adapted to each case

In these objectives, realistic and assumable goals must be specified by the student, either weekly, monthly or quarterly.

7. Facilitate planning of activities, homework, exams well in advance

In this way, the student with dyslexia You can organize your study time , dosing your work in order to avoid feeling overwhelmed.

8. Reinforce positively the effort made by the student

This must be done not prioritizing the result obtained at a quantitative level . In many cases there is a decrease in the motivation to perform school work, so the support of the educator will be essential for the child.

9. Avoid as educators comparisons with other class children, siblings, etc.

As it has been indicated, it is very frequent that the self-esteem of this type of students is affected. This fact can greatly harm their academic performance and the achievement of their potential .

10. Emphasize their autonomy when carrying out their school tasks

It is very positive to transmit the idea to the student of his potential learning capacity. It is recommended flee from overprotection regarding the non-fulfillment of their academic responsibilities .

Due to its general cognitive capacity preserved the child is able to assume their school obligations, although these are adapted to their specific difficulties. The application of these adaptations is evaluated from the educational center in order to adapt quantitatively and qualitatively the methodology, the correction criteria and the learning objectives for each student individually.

In conclusion

As mentioned in the text, usually the assimilation of the presence of psychopedagogical difficulties in the student is a process that can significantly interfere with the psychological development of the child, causing in certain situations an aggravation of the initial diagnostic situation. Thus, early detection and intervention of the indicated deficits is a fundamental process to prevent further deterioration in the different vital areas of the child, both in the academic and emotional aspects.

Bibliographic references:

  • American Psychiatric Association (2013). Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (5th ed.). Washington, DC: Author.
  • Tamayo Lorenzo, S. Dyslexia and difficulties in the acquisition of literacy. Faculty, 21 (1): 423-432 (2017).

Supporting Students with Dyslexia: Standards, Accommodations, and Strategies (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Dyslexie: 10 lignes directrices d'intervention pour les éducateurs

Dyslexie: 10 lignes directrices d'intervention pour les éducateurs

Avril 29, 2024

La dyslexie est devenue l’un des troubles les plus fréquemment diagnostiqués chez les enfants au cours des dernières années. Bien qu'il soit très complexe de détecter un pourcentage exact de prévalence en raison des problèmes rencontrés pour établir un diagnostic clair de manière rigoureuse, les dernières études indiquent qu'environ 15% des élèves présentent de telles difficultés. Pour cette raison, il semble de plus en plus nécessaire de définir quelles orientations psychopédagogiques et psychologiques sont les plus efficaces pour aborder efficacement ce groupe de population.

  • Article connexe: "Dyslexie: causes et symptômes des difficultés de lecture"

Dyslexie: principaux indicateurs

La dyslexie est la nomenclature habituelle qui reçoit le Trouble d'apprentissage spécifique (TSA) lié à la présence de difficultés en capacité de lecture et d'écriture . Selon le Manuel statistique des troubles mentaux dans sa version la plus récente (2013), il fait référence à la présence de difficultés dans la reconnaissance fluide des mots, à un faible décodage de la lecture en orthographe et à des déficits en compréhension à la lecture.


En outre peut être accompagné de modifications de l'expression écrite ou du raisonnement mathématique , qui doivent être spécifiés en plus dans le diagnostic initial. Un autre aspect clé est la présence d'un niveau de capacité intellectuelle générale préservé, de sorte que le TEA-Literacy soit incomptable avec des niveaux de handicap mental importants, et ne puisse être expliqué par des déficits sensoriels, qu'ils soient visuels ou auditifs. Les difficultés indiquées doivent être valables pour une période minimale de six mois et doivent causer une ingérence importante dans le développement académique de l'étudiant.

Plus spécifiquement, en observant les comportements suivants exposés ci-dessous, on peut suspecter la présence d’un TEA-Literacy, à partir duquel il est nécessaire de proposer une évaluation psychopédagogique complète qui corrobore lesdites indications:


  • Modification du placement ou de l'omission lors de la rédaction de lettres qui composent un mot
  • Difficulté dans l'acquisition de la capacité de lecture, faible maîtrise de la lecture.
  • Confusion ou oubli de quelques mots .
  • Difficulté à établir la séquence temporelle entre les jours, les mois, etc.
  • Altération de la capacité d'attention et difficultés de concentration.
  • Meilleure maîtrise des tâches de manipulation par les enzymes des activités verbales.
  • Meilleure expression orale qu'écrite .
  • Manque de maîtrise de l'alphabet ou des tables de multiplication.
  • Besoin de lire un texte plusieurs fois , mauvaise compréhension écrite.
  • Meilleure maîtrise de la capacité créatrice ou imaginative.

Orientations dans l'attention éducative chez les enfants dyslexiques

En tant qu’éducateurs, il est essentiel de prendre en compte les recommandations suivantes lorsqu’il s’agit d’un enfant présentant cette particularité, car une attitude empathique, renforçant leurs potentialités et souple en fonction de leurs difficultés ils auront un effet protecteur afin d’éviter les problèmes de manque de confiance en soi ou d’estime de soi et encore plus de situations d’échec scolaire à long terme:


1. Établir une habitude de lecture quotidienne d'environ 20 minutes de durée maximum

Il est recommandé que le contenu de cette lecture soit un thème d’intérêt pour l’enfant, qu’il s’agisse d’une histoire, d’un magazine ou d’une bande dessinée. Le point important est que vous acquériez une attitude positive pour la lecture. Il faudra également déterminer si le volume de lectures scolaires à effectuer pendant le cours doit être limité.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "Psychologie de l'éducation: définition, concepts et théories"

3. Flexibilité dans la correction orthographique

Cela semble plus efficace le travail prioritaire de 3-4 règles orthographiques jusqu'à son domaine pour ajouter plus tard de nouveaux.

5. Fournir des déclarations et des demandes concises et concises

Utilisez des phrases courtes pour donner des instructions en utilisant un support visuel qui peut être utilisé comme référence. Les indications doivent être segmentées et exprimées progressivement. Cela semble aussi fondamental adapter les relevés d'exercices et d'examens afin qu'ils puissent être compris par l'enfant, ce qui permet des clarifications explicatives spécifiques.

6. Établir un plan d’objectifs adapté à chaque cas

Dans ces objectifs, les objectifs réalistes et prévisibles doivent être spécifiés par l'étudiant, soit hebdomadaire, mensuelle ou trimestrielle.

7. Facilitez la planification des activités, des devoirs et des examens longtemps à l’avance

De cette façon, l’élève dyslexique Vous pouvez organiser votre temps d'étude , posez votre travail afin d’éviter de vous sentir dépassé.

8. Renforcez positivement les efforts de l'étudiant

Cela doit être fait ne pas hiérarchiser le résultat obtenu au niveau quantitatif . Dans de nombreux cas, la motivation à effectuer des travaux scolaires diminue, de sorte que le soutien de l'éducateur sera essentiel pour l'enfant.

9. Évitez, en tant qu’éducateurs, de faire des comparaisons avec d’autres enfants de la classe, frères et soeurs, etc.

Comme il a été indiqué, il est très fréquent que l’estime de soi de ce type d’élèves soit affectée. Ce fait peut grandement nuire à leurs résultats scolaires et à la réalisation de leur potentiel .

10. Souligner leur autonomie dans l'exécution de leurs tâches scolaires

Il est très positif de transmettre l'idée à l'étudiant de sa capacité d'apprentissage potentielle. Il est recommandé fuir la surprotection en ce qui concerne le non-respect de leurs responsabilités académiques .

Grâce à sa capacité cognitive générale préservée, l'enfant est capable d'assumer ses obligations scolaires, bien que celles-ci soient adaptées à ses difficultés spécifiques. L'application de ces adaptations est évaluée à partir du centre éducatif afin d'adapter quantitativement et qualitativement la méthodologie, les critères de correction et les objectifs d'apprentissage de chaque élève individuellement.

En guise de conclusion

Comme indiqué dans le texte, l'assimilation de la présence de difficultés psychopédagogiques chez l'élève est généralement un processus qui peut considérablement entraver le développement psychologique de l'enfant, entraînant dans certaines situations une aggravation de la situation diagnostique initiale. Pour lui, la détection précoce et l'intervention des déficits indiqués est un processus fondamental prévenir toute nouvelle détérioration des différents domaines vitaux de l’enfant, tant sur le plan scolaire que sur le plan émotionnel.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Association américaine de psychiatrie (2013). Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux (5 e éd.). Washington, DC: auteur.
  • Tamayo Lorenzo, S. Dyslexie et difficultés d’alphabétisation. Faculty, 21 (1): 423-432 (2017).

Tutorat à distance pour publics à handicaps par Caroline Brassard (Avril 2024).


Articles Connexes