yes, therapy helps!
Educate in the use of new technologies: why it is necessary

Educate in the use of new technologies: why it is necessary

June 14, 2024

Every few centuries, humanity takes a giant step in its cultural development based on the discovery and proliferation of a new revolutionary resource. It happened with fire, it happened in the industrial revolution, and now it's happening with what, for now, we call technological revolution .

And it is a fact that new technologies are assuming a paradigm shift in our society. Being able to maintain contact channels indefinitely open through social networks or being a click of the latest news anywhere in the world, involves changes at cultural and commercial level that, like it or not, are there. And like all great change, this implies a gradual process of adaptation and learning , especially in the case of younger generations, very exposed to these resources.


  • Maybe you're interested: "12 technological and digital tools for psychologists"

Why educate in the use of new technologies?

We must maximize the advantages that these resources offer to our society, while at the same time we prevent the risks associated with them as much as possible. In this sense, there is a growing awareness of the importance of train the new generations who have known the world with all this technology that is growing in the middle of a technological revolution.

The goal is for them to know how to make good use of these new resources. They may technically move like fish in water in their use as users, but that does not mean they are able to integrate them into their lives in a healthy way .


And it is that you do not need a bad conception of social networks to fall into any of its dangers, sometimes enough with a spontaneous and natural use guided by the principle of immediate gratification offered by the Internet connection and access to all kinds of contents and virtual interactions. That is why it is vital to guide and train people in proper use.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 18 types of education: classification and characteristics"

The danger of addiction to technology

One of the most prominent dangers is that these new technologies are potentially addictive. Video games, applications, social networks or simple navigation involve intrinsic mechanisms that can lead us to suffer addiction by obtaining a reward (or, rather, reinforcer) immediately.

Let's take an example. When I carry out the behavior of writing a message by chat, the response message obtained works as a reinforcement or reward. Reinforcements are defined as those consequences of a behavior that increase the likelihood of repetition in the future . Under this framework, it is easy to understand that the more I write and the more they answer me ... the more likely they are to rewrite. If you have become familiar with any instant messaging application, you will be beginning to understand the magnitude of this risk.


Videogames base their operation on this mechanism . I carry out the behavior of playing and, eventually, the video game itself administers me a reinforcement, such as an achievement, a skill, unlock a new level ... every time we activate one of these reinforcements, our behavior of playing is perpetuated more and more and, if we pay attention, we will see how the game at the beginning offers us the prizes by doing the simplest tasks but, as we advance in the game, we will obtain them every time and after performing feats that imply greater effort or skill.


This is because in order to provoke a behavior the reinforcements must be constant, while to maintain it, these reinforcements must be administered intermittently. So, going back to the chat, when we already wrote forty times to the same person, and suddenly he answers us ... not only will he have reinforced the one we wrote, but he will have reinforced that we do it forty times.

  • Related article: "Nomophobia: the growing addiction to the mobile phone"

Smartphones and the Internet: the realm of immediacy

As in any addiction, it is not enough to know the possible long-term negative consequences , since the psychology of behavior tells us that, in general, an immediate reinforcer has more effect on our behavior than a deferred punishment. In other words, we usually prefer bread for today despite hunger for tomorrow.


Thus, we must offer concrete guidelines and alternative behaviors , also duly reinforced, if we want to avoid this malaise that already affects around 20% of young people.


However, while we put on this prevention work, it is easy for many of us to be in the grip of new technologies, and therefore if we suffer symptoms such as irritability or anxiety when the Smartphone is not available or another device, if our academic or work life is being affected or if we detect a lack of self-control regarding the use of new technologies, perhaps it is time to reveal ourselves to our reinforcers and seek the guidance of a specialist.

Because of technology, reinforcers are everywhere, and it is better that we choose them ... and not the other way around.


Top 10 Reasons to Use Technology in Education: iPad, Tablet, Computer, Listening Centers (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Éduquer à l'utilisation des nouvelles technologies: pourquoi c'est nécessaire

Éduquer à l'utilisation des nouvelles technologies: pourquoi c'est nécessaire

Juin 18, 2022

Tous les quelques siècles, l’humanité fait un pas de géant dans son développement culturel basé sur la découverte et la prolifération d’une nouvelle ressource révolutionnaire. C'est arrivé avec le feu, c'est arrivé dans la révolution industrielle, et maintenant ça se passe avec ce que nous appelons pour l'instant la révolution technologique .

Et il est un fait que les nouvelles technologies assument un changement de paradigme dans notre société. Pouvoir maintenir des canaux de contact indéfiniment ouverts par le biais de réseaux sociaux ou consulter les dernières actualités partout dans le monde implique des changements culturels et commerciaux qui existent, qu’on le veuille ou non. Et comme tous les grands changements, cette implique un processus graduel d'adaptation et d'apprentissage , surtout dans le cas des jeunes générations très exposées à ces ressources.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "12 outils technologiques et numériques pour les psychologues"

Pourquoi éduquer à l'utilisation des nouvelles technologies?

Nous devons maximiser les avantages que ces ressources offrent à notre société, tout en évitant autant que possible les risques qui y sont associés. En ce sens, on prend de plus en plus conscience de l’importance de la former les nouvelles générations qui ont connu le monde avec toute cette technologie qui se développe au milieu d’une révolution technologique.

Le but est pour eux de savoir utiliser ces nouvelles ressources. Ils peuvent techniquement se déplacer comme des poissons dans l'eau dans leur utilisation en tant qu'utilisateurs, mais cela ne signifie pas qu'ils sont capables de les intégrer dans leur vie de manière saine .


Et c’est que vous n’avez pas besoin d’une mauvaise conception des réseaux sociaux pour tomber dans l’un de ses dangers, parfois assez avec une utilisation spontanée et naturelle guidée par le principe de gratification immédiate offerte par la connexion Internet et l’accès à toutes sortes de réseaux sociaux. contenus et interactions virtuelles. C'est pourquoi il est essentiel de guider et de former les gens à bien s'en servir.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Les 18 types d'enseignement: classification et caractéristiques"

Le danger de la dépendance à la technologie

L'un des dangers les plus importants est que ces nouvelles technologies sont potentiellement addictives. Les jeux vidéo, les applications, les réseaux sociaux ou la navigation simple impliquent mécanismes intrinsèques qui peuvent nous amener à souffrir de dépendance en obtenant une récompense (ou plutôt un renforçant) immédiatement.

Prenons un exemple. Lorsque j'écris un message par discussion, le message de réponse obtenu agit comme un renforcement ou une récompense. Les renforts sont définis comme ceux conséquences d'un comportement qui augmente le risque de répétition à l'avenir . Dans ce cadre, il est facile de comprendre que plus j'écris et plus ils me répondent ... plus ils sont susceptibles de réécrire. Si vous êtes familiarisé avec une application de messagerie instantanée, vous allez commencer à comprendre l'ampleur de ce risque.


Les jeux vidéo basent leur fonctionnement sur ce mécanisme . J'adopte le comportement de jeu et, finalement, le jeu vidéo lui-même m'administre un renforcement, tel qu'un exploit, une compétence, débloquant un nouveau niveau ... chaque fois que nous activons l'un de ces renforts, notre comportement de jeu se perpétue de plus en plus. de plus, et si nous sommes attentifs, nous verrons comment le jeu au début nous offre les récompenses en effectuant les tâches les plus simples, mais, à mesure que nous avançons dans le jeu, nous les remporterons à chaque fois et après des exploits impliquant davantage d’efforts ou de compétences.


En effet, pour provoquer un comportement, les renforts doivent être constants, tandis que pour le maintenir, ces renforts doivent être administrés par intermittence. Donc, pour revenir au chat, quand nous avons déjà écrit quarante fois à la même personne, et tout à coup il nous répond ... non seulement aura-t-il renforcé celui que nous avons écrit, mais il aura renforcé le fait que nous le faisons quarante fois.

  • Article connexe: "Nomophobie: la dépendance croissante au téléphone mobile"

Smartphones et Internet: le domaine de l'immédiateté

Comme dans toute dépendance, il ne suffit pas de connaître les conséquences négatives possibles à long terme , puisque la psychologie du comportement nous dit qu’en général, un renforçateur immédiat a plus d’effet sur notre comportement qu’un châtiment différé. En d'autres termes, nous préférons généralement le pain d'aujourd'hui malgré la faim de demain.


Pour lui, nous devons proposer des directives concrètes et des comportements alternatifs , également dûment renforcé, si nous voulons éviter ce malaise qui touche déjà environ 20% des jeunes.


Cependant, pendant que nous faisons ce travail de prévention, il est facile pour beaucoup d’entre nous d’être en proie aux nouvelles technologies, et donc si nous souffrons des symptômes tels que l'irritabilité ou l'anxiété lorsque le smartphone n'est pas disponible ou un autre dispositif, si notre vie académique ou professionnelle est affectée ou si nous détectons un manque de maîtrise de soi en ce qui concerne l’utilisation des nouvelles technologies, il est peut-être temps de nous révéler à nos renforceurs et de demander conseil à un spécialiste.

À cause de la technologie, les renforcements sont partout et il vaut mieux les choisir ... et non l'inverse.

Articles Connexes