yes, therapy helps!
Educating to form independent and autonomous children

Educating to form independent and autonomous children

June 24, 2024

Make children and adolescents become independent and autonomous It is one of the main objectives that parents have set at some point in their lives.

And the truth is that although this process of educating young people to be more free sounds very well, it is not a path of roses, and often presents great difficulties: rebellious adolescents who prefer not to strive, fathers and mothers who sabotage unconsciously the attempts of their children to do things autonomously, lack of guidelines to follow, etc.

  • Related article: "Toxic families: 4 ways in which they cause mental disorders"

Next I will show keys to understanding how the learning and education process should be to train more independent children and youth .


Keys to educate in autonomy focused on parents

Part of the changes to be made to boost the independence of the little ones must be made in the way of thinking and in the behavior of the adults who take care of them. These are the guidelines that must be taken into account.

1. Believe in your ability

The first step in facilitating the autonomous learning process of children and adolescents is believe that they are capable of carrying it out . Something that is written seems very simple but, in reality, it is not so much; It means seeing with other eyes both the behavior of the children and the role of oneself as a father, mother or legal guardian.

A young person will not begin to act autonomously if the implicit message communicated by the person who encourages him or her is that this is a task that another person must do for him, giving him orders or deciding what should be done.


2. Lose the fear of the situation

Many fathers and mothers stop their children's autonomous learning unconsciously because they are afraid of what may happen . As the existence of a daughter or an independent child supposes that one loses control over what this person does, pessimistic ideas about what can happen can assault our imagination frequently. For example, you think about the dangerous friendships you can make, the drug use you can expose, the accidents you may suffer from not being careful, etc.

These ideas have such an emotional impact that when parents see that their children begin to gain independence, his attention is focused on these catastrophic thoughts, as if his existence were in itself a real danger . From there, we move on to rumination, that is, thinking in a loop about what causes stress: in this case, the (relative) dangers of having more independent children than before. Adults feel bad because they imagine those situations, and imagine those situations because they feel bad.


To solve this, it is necessary to go through two phases:

Restructuring ideas

It must be clear that the dangers faced by autonomous people due to the fact that they do not have the constant vigilance of a protective figure are very relative, and that the real possibilities of fulfilling these omens are very low. On the other hand, we must remember that the danger is much more likely to raise a daughter or son who remains helpless even when he has long since entered adulthood, if you do not change your attitude.

Break with rumination

Managing the initial stress that in some cases may imply greater autonomy for children and adolescents becomes necessary in some cases. For this, you can read this article about what rumination is and how it can be neutralized.

3. Admit the need to work harder

Educating independent sons and daughters is another task in the series of activities involved in the education of the new generations and, therefore, it requires extra effort . Although it may seem that constantly controlling young children and adolescents is a major annoyance, in reality it is not: helping children to empower themselves involves teaching them the tools to do so, and that is something that costs, especially at the beginning.

On the other hand, impatience and the desire not to devote much time to an activity that is being learned makes many parents impede the possibility of learning fundamental tasks such as dressing or bathing in younger children, or going out to buy and keep some savings, in teenagers. So keep in mind that the first few times are always slow and cost, and that "accelerating" those moments intervening oneself about what the youngster should be doing is a way to sabotage the learning, however convenient that may result from face to own comfort.

Therefore, parents and caregivers should bear in mind that often the lack of initiative and autonomy of their children is born from the fact that they prefer to continue exercising control, because that is more comfortable and simple, and that that attitude makes attempts to behave independently to be rejected and punished .

4. Know how to detect requests for independence

In their position of people who really know what is happening better than the children they educate, parents and guardians often underestimate their own criteria and petitions , believing that they know how to interpret what they really want better than they do. This reasoning is fallacious and, in addition, it is a way of creating a series of ideas about one's relationship with children that will never be challenged or forced to adapt to the rhythm of their growth.

When a child says "I alone" when performing a task that is being learned, it is necessary for the caregiver to spend at least a few seconds thinking whether opposing this request is really reasonable or not. In the same way, it must be borne in mind that petitions for autonomy by the youngest children are very diverse and, in some cases, subtle, and that it is necessary to develop a certain sensitivity in order to detect them.

Strategies to educate in independence focused on young people

Now that we have seen what attitude adults should adopt when it comes to educating young people and children to be independent, let's see how you can promote change in the latter .

1. Spend more time together

Something as simple as spending more time with young people is an ingredient that promotes learning exponentially. Of course, must be times in which the timeshare is of quality : to be in the same room seeing two different screens with an account, because there is no dialogue.

The conversations and games that appear spontaneously in these contexts are a source of knowledge that makes young people see the world with different eyes, raise new questions and become interested in more topics. The latter is fundamental, since curiosity is the motor of learning.

2. Investigate your tastes and interests

The most effective way to make children and young people interested in learning new activities that give them more autonomy is to relate them to the topics that interest them , either creating narrations in which the topics of interest are framed and those that must be learned, as exercises in which both elements are found.

3. Experiment with reward systems

In some cases, Incentive systems similar to chip economics can be useful to boost learning and independence : every time significant progress is made, a reward is given that should not be delayed.

The ideal is that the rewards are scarce and more symbolic than material, since in this way they symbolize the obtaining of a series of competences and abilities that are a consequence of learning in itself, instead of being a totally alien thing to this and, therefore, they are more related to intrinsic motivation.

This strategy, added to the previous one, can make the incentives more attractive. For example, if the child is very interested in fictions based on a magical world, the rewards can be medals related to those fictional universes.


A Dangerous Idea: Autonomy in Deaf Education | Joseph Santini | TEDxGallaudet (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Eduquer pour former des enfants indépendants et autonomes

Eduquer pour former des enfants indépendants et autonomes

Janvier 17, 2022

Rendre les enfants et les adolescents indépendants et autonomes C'est l'un des principaux objectifs que les parents se sont fixés à un moment donné de leur vie.

Et la vérité est que, bien que ce processus d’éducation des jeunes à être plus libre sonne très bien, ce n’est pas un sentier de roses et présente souvent de grandes difficultés: adolescents révoltés qui préfèrent ne pas lutter, pères et mères qui sabotent inconsciemment les tentatives de leurs enfants de faire les choses de manière autonome, le manque de directives à suivre, etc.

  • Article connexe: "Familles toxiques: 4 causes de troubles mentaux"

Ensuite, je vais montrer Clés pour comprendre comment le processus d'apprentissage et d'éducation devrait être pour former plus d'enfants et de jeunes indépendants .


Clés pour éduquer à l'autonomie centrée sur les parents

Une partie des changements à apporter pour renforcer l'indépendance des petits doit être apportée à la manière de penser et au comportement des adultes qui en prennent soin. Ce sont les lignes directrices qui doivent être prises en compte.

1. Crois en tes capacités

La première étape pour faciliter le processus d’apprentissage autonome des enfants et des adolescents consiste à: croient qu'ils sont capables de le réaliser . Quelque chose d’écrit semble très simple mais, en réalité, ce n’est pas tellement; Cela signifie voir avec les yeux du comportement des enfants et du rôle de soi-même en tant que père, mère ou tuteur légal.

Un jeune ne commencera pas à agir de manière autonome si le message implicite communiqué par la personne qui l’encourage est qu’il s’agit là d’une tâche qu'une autre personne doit s’acquitter pour lui, en lui donnant des ordres ou en décidant de ce qui doit être fait.


2. Perdre la peur de la situation

De nombreux pères et mères arrêtent inconsciemment l'apprentissage autonome de leurs enfants parce que ils ont peur de ce qui peut arriver . Comme l’existence d’une fille ou d’un enfant indépendant suppose que l’on perd le contrôle de ce qu’elle fait, des idées pessimistes sur ce qui peut se passer peuvent attaquer notre imagination fréquemment. Par exemple, vous pensez aux amitiés dangereuses que vous pouvez nouer, à la consommation de drogue que vous pouvez exposer, aux accidents que vous pourriez subir si vous ne faites pas attention, etc.

Ces idées ont un tel impact émotionnel que lorsque les parents voient que leurs enfants commencent à acquérir une indépendance, son attention est concentrée sur ces pensées catastrophiques, comme si son existence était en soi un réel danger . Nous passons ensuite à la rumination, c'est-à-dire à la réflexion en boucle sur les causes du stress: dans ce cas, les dangers (relatifs) d'avoir plus d'enfants indépendants qu'auparavant. Les adultes se sentent mal parce qu’ils imaginent ces situations et imaginent ces situations parce qu’ils se sentent mal.


Pour résoudre ce problème, il est nécessaire de passer par deux phases:

Idées de restructuration

Il doit être clair que les dangers auxquels sont confrontés les peuples autonomes du fait qu’ils n’ont pas la vigilance constante d’un personnage protecteur sont très relatifs et que les possibilités réelles de remplir ces présages sont très faibles. D'autre part, nous devons nous rappeler que le danger est beaucoup plus susceptible d'élever une fille ou un fils qui reste impuissant même s'il est entré depuis longtemps dans l'âge adulte, si vous ne changez pas votre attitude.

Pause avec rumination

Gérer le stress initial qui, dans certains cas, peut impliquer une plus grande autonomie pour les enfants et les adolescents devient nécessaire dans certains cas. Pour cela, vous pouvez lire cet article sur ce qu'est la rumination et comment la neutraliser.

3. Admettre le besoin de travailler plus fort

L'éducation des fils et des filles indépendants est une autre tâche de la série d'activités liées à l'éducation des nouvelles générations et, par conséquent, cela demande un effort supplémentaire . Bien qu'il puisse sembler que le contrôle permanent des jeunes enfants et des adolescents constitue un désagrément majeur, en réalité, il n'en est rien: aider les enfants à s'autonomiser implique de leur enseigner les outils pour le faire, ce qui est coûteux, surtout au début.

D'autre part, l'impatience et le désir de ne pas consacrer beaucoup de temps à une activité en cours d'apprentissage empêchent de nombreux parents d'acquérir des tâches fondamentales, telles que s'habiller ou se laver, ou de sortir pour acheter garder des économies, chez les adolescents. Alors gardez à l’esprit que les premiers temps sont toujours lents et coûteux, et que "accélérer" ces moments qui s’interposent sur ce que le jeune devrait faire est un moyen de saboter l’apprentissage, même si cela peut être pratique. faire face à son propre confort.

Par conséquent, les parents et les personnes en charge des enfants doivent garder à l’esprit que le manque d’initiative et d’autonomie de leurs enfants découle du fait qu’ils préfèrent continuer à exercer un contrôle, car cela est plus confortable et plus simple. cette attitude fait des tentatives de se comporter de manière indépendante pour être rejeté et puni .

4. Savoir détecter les demandes d'indépendance

Dans leur position de personnes qui savent vraiment ce qui se passe mieux que les enfants qu’ils éduquent, les parents et les tuteurs sous-estiment souvent leurs propres critères et requêtes , croyant qu'ils savent interpréter mieux ce qu'ils veulent vraiment. Ce raisonnement est fallacieux et constitue en outre un moyen de créer une série d’idées sur la relation avec les enfants qui ne seront jamais remises en question ni forcées de s’adapter au rythme de leur croissance.

Lorsqu'un enfant dit «je suis seul» lorsqu'il exécute une tâche en cours d'apprentissage, le fournisseur de soins doit passer au moins quelques secondes à se demander si s'opposer à cette demande est vraiment raisonnable ou non. De la même manière, il faut garder à l'esprit que les demandes d'autonomie des plus jeunes enfants sont très diverses et, dans certains cas, subtiles, et qu'il est nécessaire de développer une certaine sensibilité pour les détecter.

Stratégies d'éducation à l'indépendance centrées sur les jeunes

Maintenant que nous avons vu quelle attitude les adultes devraient adopter pour éduquer les jeunes et les enfants à l’indépendance, Voyons comment vous pouvez promouvoir le changement dans ce dernier .

1. Passez plus de temps ensemble

Une chose aussi simple que de passer plus de temps avec les jeunes est un ingrédient qui favorise l’apprentissage de façon exponentielle. Bien sûr, doit être des moments où la multipropriété est de qualité : être dans la même pièce voir deux écrans différents avec un compte, car il n'y a pas de dialogue.

Les conversations et les jeux qui apparaissent spontanément dans ces contextes sont une source de connaissances qui permet aux jeunes de voir le monde avec des yeux différents, de poser de nouvelles questions et de s’intéresser à davantage de sujets. Ce dernier est fondamental car la curiosité est le moteur de l’apprentissage.

2. Enquêter sur vos goûts et intérêts

Le moyen le plus efficace d'intéresser les enfants et les jeunes à l'apprentissage de nouvelles activités qui leur donnent plus d'autonomie est de les relier aux sujets qui les intéressent , soit en créant des narrations dans lesquelles les sujets d’intérêt sont encadrés et ceux qui doivent être appris, en tant qu’exercices dans lesquels on retrouve les deux éléments.

3. Expérience avec les systèmes de récompense

Dans certains cas, Des systèmes incitatifs similaires à l'économie des puces peuvent être utiles pour renforcer l'apprentissage et l'indépendance : chaque fois que des progrès significatifs sont réalisés, une récompense est donnée qui ne devrait pas être retardée.

L’idéal est que les récompenses soient rares et plus symboliques que matérielles, puisqu'elles symbolisent ainsi l’acquisition d’une série de compétences et d’aptitudes qui sont la conséquence de l’apprentissage en soi, au lieu d’être une chose totalement étrangère à celle-ci et, par conséquent, ils sont davantage liés à la motivation intrinsèque.

Cette stratégie, ajoutée à la précédente, peut rendre les incitations plus attrayantes. Par exemple, si l'enfant s'intéresse beaucoup aux fictions basées sur un monde magique, les récompenses peuvent être des médailles liées à ces univers fictifs.


4 étapes de L'éducation Des Enfants Selon la Sagesse Tibétaine (Janvier 2022).


Articles Connexes