yes, therapy helps!
Edward Titchener and structuralist psychology

Edward Titchener and structuralist psychology

November 8, 2022

Together with his mentor, the famous Wilhelm Wundt, Edward Titchener was the founder of structuralist psychology , a psychological current of theoretical and methodological character that was centered in the analysis of the mental processes through introspection and that arose during the first years of century XX.

Although this school of thought was defeated by the functionalism of William James, which gave way to behaviorism, and by other psychological orientations that opposed the proposals of Wundt and Titchener (such as the German Gestalt), it had a key influence on the development of scientific psychology, even if this happened mostly by reaction.


  • Related article: "History of Psychology: authors and main theories"

Biography of Edward Titchener

When he began studying at university, the British Edward Bradford Titchener (1867-1927) focused on classical literature; nevertheless, he became increasingly interested in biology. In particular, he drew attention to the book "Principles of physiological psychology" by Wilhelm Wundt, who founded the first psychological laboratory and is considered the father of scientific psychology.

After translating the work of the German psychophysiologist into English, Titchener moved to Leipzig to study with his idol; It was the year 1890. Tutoring by Wundt, Titchener published his doctoral thesis , in which he analyzed the binocular or stereoscopic vision (the phenomenon by which the images captured by the two eyes are processed together).


In 1892 Titchener returned to the United Kingdom for a few months; He later moved to Ithaca, a city in the state of New York, to work as a professor of psychology and philosophy at Cornell University. There he founded his own psychology laboratory, in addition to disseminating and developing Wundt's ideas to make way for structuralist psychology.

Titchener not only devoted himself to teaching, even though this was his main profession; he also published several books focused on psychological theory and methodology , among which stands out Experimental psychology (1901-1905), and was the editor of scientific journals as important as American Journal of Psychology.

Structuralist psychology

The structuralist school played an important role in the psychology of the early twentieth century. Titchener, Wundt and the other theorists of this orientation had the objective of analyze the mind from the basic elements that make it up , and how they come together to form complex processes. For this they relied mainly on the introspective method.


There is debate as to whether the foundation of structuralist psychology should be attributed to Wundt or Titchener. While the central ideas of this psychological orientation start from Wundt , it was Titchener who systematized, extended and popularized his proposals in the United States, which at that time were becoming the world nucleus of psychology.

Structuralist psychology proposes that we can understand the structure of mental processes through the definition and categorization of the elements that make up the psyche, particularly the mental contents and the processes by which they take place.

Titchener affirmed that consciousness (or mind) is formed by three types of phenomenon: sensations, affections and images . When joining several of the same class, complex processes appear. The sensations would be the elements that make up the perceptions, while the affections would give rise to the emotions and ideas to the thoughts.

The introspective method

The structuralist psychology of Titchener was based on the use of the introspective method, by which a trained subject he exercises the role of observer and descriptor of his own psychological processes . To provoke them different types of stimuli were used, which varied according to the task to be performed and the type of mental content studied.

The introspective method had already been used by Wundt; however, Titchener applied it in a much more rigorous way. In particular, this author rejected the study of unconscious processes, which includes constructs such as "instinct". Thus, his study techniques focused on the description of the conscious psychological experience.

According to Titchener, it is possible to obtain reliable information about the nature of the mind through introspection and self-knowledge. In fact, for this author this is the only method that allows to analyze mental processes reliably , since he affirmed that psychology must necessarily be a discipline based on introspection.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 31 best Psychology books you can not miss"

The legacy of structuralism

In a general way, it is considered that structuralist psychology disappeared with Titchener: the psychological schools that opposed the approaches of this author won the ideological battle in the scientific community. However, in the same way as Wundt, Titchener played a key role in the development of experimental and scientific psychology.

The functionalism of William James emerged as a reaction to Titchener's structuralism . This orientation placed the focus on the relevance of aspects forgotten by structuralist psychology such as empirical methods, statistical comparison or systematic experimentation, and was the fundamental antecedent of Watson's behaviorism.

At present, the type of psychology that Titchener advocated is still alive in a different form in cognitive psychology, which also focuses on the description of mental processes and phenomena in many subjective cases. In addition, the utility of the introspective method has been valued by a large number of psychologists in recent decades.

A curious fact about Titchener is the fact that it was this author who coined the Anglo-Saxon term "empathy" (empathy). The word comes from the classical Greek "empatheia", which means "passion or physical affection"; it was adapted to German ("Einfühlung") by Hermann Lotze and Robert Vischer and finally Titchener translated it into English.

Bibliographic references:

  • Hothersall, D. (2004). History of psychology. New York: McGraw-Hill.
  • Titchener, E. B. (1902). Experimental psychology: A manual of laboratory practice (Vol. 1). New York: MacMillan & Co., Ltd.

Structuralism - Psychology (November 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Edward Titchener et la psychologie structuraliste

Edward Titchener et la psychologie structuraliste

Septembre 1, 2022

Avec son mentor, le célèbre Wilhelm Wundt, Edward Titchener était le fondateur de la psychologie structuraliste , courant psychologique de caractère théorique et méthodologique qui était centré sur l'analyse des processus mentaux par introspection et qui est apparu au cours des premières années du siècle XX.

Bien que ce fonctionnaire ait été défait par le fonctionnalisme de William James, qui a cédé le pas au behaviorisme, ainsi que par d'autres orientations psychologiques allant à l'encontre des propositions de Wundt et Titchener (comme la Gestalt allemande), il a eu une influence déterminante sur le développement. de la psychologie scientifique, même si cela est arrivé principalement par réaction.


  • Article connexe: "Histoire de la psychologie: auteurs et théories principales"

Biographie d'Edward Titchener

Lorsqu'il a commencé ses études universitaires, le Britannique Edward Bradford Titchener (1867-1927) s'est concentré sur la littérature classique. néanmoins, il s'intéresse de plus en plus à la biologie. En particulier, il a attiré l'attention sur le livre "Principes de la psychologie physiologique" de Wilhelm Wundt, qui a fondé le premier laboratoire de psychologie et qui est considéré comme le père de la psychologie scientifique.

Après avoir traduit en anglais les travaux du psychophysiologiste allemand, Titchener déménage à Leipzig pour étudier avec son idole. C'était l'année 1890. Tutorat par Wundt, Titchener a publié sa thèse de doctorat , dans lequel il a analysé la vision binoculaire ou stéréoscopique (le phénomène par lequel les images capturées par les deux yeux sont traitées ensemble).


En 1892, Titchener retourna au Royaume-Uni pendant quelques mois. Il a ensuite déménagé à Ithaca, une ville de l'État de New York, où il a enseigné la psychologie et la philosophie à la Cornell University. Là-bas, il a fondé son propre laboratoire de psychologie, en plus de diffuser et de développer les idées de Wundt pour faire place à la psychologie structuraliste.

Titchener ne s’est pas seulement consacré à l’enseignement, même si c’était sa profession principale; il a également publié plusieurs livres axés sur la théorie psychologique et la méthodologie , parmi lesquels se distingue Psychologie expérimentale (1901-1905), et était l'éditeur de revues scientifiques aussi importantes que American Journal of Psychology.

Psychologie structuraliste

L'école structuraliste a joué un rôle important dans la psychologie du début du XXe siècle. Titchener, Wundt et les autres théoriciens de cette orientation avaient pour objectif de analyser l'esprit à partir des éléments de base qui le composent et comment ils se combinent pour former des processus complexes. Pour cela, ils ont principalement utilisé la méthode introspective.


Il y a un débat quant à savoir si le fondement de la psychologie structuraliste devrait être attribué à Wundt ou à Titchener. Pendant que les idées centrales de cette orientation psychologique partent de Wundt , c’est Titchener qui a systématisé, étendu et popularisé ses propositions aux États-Unis, qui étaient alors en train de devenir le noyau mondial de la psychologie.

La psychologie structuraliste propose de comprendre la structure des processus mentaux à travers la définition et la catégorisation des éléments constitutifs de la psyché, en particulier le contenu mental et les processus par lesquels ils se déroulent.

Titchener a affirmé que la conscience (ou l'esprit) est formée par trois types de phénomènes: sensations, affections et images . Lorsque vous rejoignez plusieurs personnes de la même classe, des processus complexes apparaissent. Les sensations seraient les éléments qui constituent les perceptions, alors que les affections donneraient lieu aux émotions et aux idées des pensées.

La méthode introspective

La psychologie structuraliste de Titchener était basée sur l’utilisation de la méthode introspective, selon laquelle un sujet entraîné il exerce le rôle d'observateur et de descripteur de ses propres processus psychologiques . Pour les provoquer, différents types de stimuli ont été utilisés, lesquels variaient en fonction de la tâche à accomplir et du type de contenu mental étudié.

La méthode introspective avait déjà été utilisée par Wundt; Cependant, Titchener l'a appliqué de manière beaucoup plus rigoureuse. En particulier, cet auteur a rejeté l'étude des processus inconscients, qui inclut des constructions telles que "l'instinct". Ainsi, ses techniques d'étude se sont concentrées sur la description de l'expérience psychologique consciente.

Selon Titchener, il est possible d'obtenir des informations fiables sur la nature de l'esprit par l'introspection et la connaissance de soi. En fait, pour cet auteur c'est la seule méthode permettant d'analyser de manière fiable les processus mentaux , puisqu'il affirmait que la psychologie devait nécessairement être une discipline basée sur l'introspection.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 31 meilleurs livres de psychologie à ne pas manquer"

L'héritage du structuralisme

D'une manière générale, on considère que la psychologie structuraliste a disparu avec Titchener: les écoles psychologiques qui s'opposaient aux approches de cet auteur ont remporté la bataille idéologique au sein de la communauté scientifique. Cependant, comme Wundt, Titchener a joué un rôle clé dans le développement de la psychologie expérimentale et scientifique.

Le fonctionnalisme de William James est apparu en réaction au structuralisme de Titchener . Cette orientation mettait l'accent sur la pertinence d'aspects oubliés de la psychologie structuraliste tels que les méthodes empiriques, la comparaison statistique ou l'expérimentation systématique, et constituait l'antécédent fondamental du behaviorisme de Watson.

À l’heure actuelle, le type de psychologie préconisé par Titchener existe toujours sous une forme différente en psychologie cognitive, qui met également l’accent sur la description des processus et phénomènes mentaux dans de nombreux cas subjectifs. En outre, l’utilité de la méthode introspective a été valorisée par un grand nombre de psychologues au cours des dernières décennies.

Un fait curieux à propos de Titchener est le fait que c'est cet auteur qui a inventé le terme anglo-saxon "empathie" (empathie) Le mot vient du grec classique "empatheia", qui signifie "passion ou affection physique"; il a été adapté à l'allemand ("Einfühlung") par Hermann Lotze et Robert Vischer et finalement traduit par Titchener en anglais.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Hothersall, D. (2004). Histoire de la psychologie. New York: McGraw-Hill.
  • Titchener, E. B. (1902). Psychologie expérimentale: Manuel de pratique de laboratoire (Vol. 1). New York: MacMillan & Co., Ltd.

Structuralism - Psychology (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes