yes, therapy helps!
Eight important psychological aspects in videogames

Eight important psychological aspects in videogames

May 6, 2021

That technological evolution is growing exponentially to enormous levels, is no secret. In the same way, the videogame industry is doing so, with the technical characteristics of these and the money generated by them increasing. So that, we are in a stage of full apogee of the videogame industry and with it, before a process of expansion that is happening at a dizzying speed.

The generational technical leap is one of the most surprising factors in this industry since the current videogames are achieving increasing levels of graphic realism, which allows us to have a much more immersive and vivid experience. However, the most important milestone in the history of videogames may be the moment of consolidation of the e-Sports, which has given a big push to the whole industry and has allowed its growth to a point difficult to imagine previously.


One of the new paths that has been opened in this industry is the entry of psychologists as active agents in the development of video games. We will try to shed some light on this new field , even in its earliest phases but which aims to change the current paradigm.

Psychology and video games: a possible binomial?

Psychology is responsible for the study of human behavior, their mental processes and their sensations and perceptions. Since the main objective of videogames is to provide the audience with a pleasant and fun experience, Why not apply psychology in them to improve their role? And even more: Since playing video games involves explicit mental activity, do they have consequences on our levels of cognitive functioning? To make this article more understandable, we will begin by answering the second question to give rise to the first.


Gaming, a way to enhance certain cognitive skills

One of the primary characteristics of videogames is its visual nature, to which is added a motor component of interaction with the videogame, and several secondary elements such as music or dialogues. Due to its primary visual nature, spending time playing video games can enhance the visual-spatial abilities of players (Alloza, Costal & Jiménez, 2016), to the point of greatly improving this ability in those who perform this activity during many hours.

Therefore, authors like Green and Bavelier have been studying these phenomena for many years and trying to analyze all the visual processes that are enhanced, as well as including processes such as attention (Alloza, Costal & Jiménez, 2016). At the level of attention processes, we also see that there are substantial improvements in their basic performance and that this same improvement is translated or generalized to other activities (Wilms et al., 2013). All these implications in the functions of the human being could be broken down and analyzed in a much more specific and complete way, besides analyzing many others that also have implication; but this would lead us to make a much more extensive and more scientific article.


From the previous paragraph it is concluded that Video games produce great changes (mostly beneficial) in the cognitive functioning of people . In addition, they also produce improvements in motor skills and, increasingly, are being used in the rehabilitation of patients who have suffered a stroke (a type of syndrome that involves a sudden suspension of brain activity, accompanied by a variable degree of muscular paralysis) or to improve cognitive function in the elderly, even for the treatment of phobias. For these reasons, video games can turn out to be great tools for the work of a psychologist, but the involvement of this figure within the industry is not limited only to these functions.

8 aspects of a video game in which a psychologist has something to say

The psychology within videogames can be used in many ways and the truth is that, really, a psychologist can be very helpful at any stage of their development or in any field within a company dedicated to video games.

Some of the elements that a psychologist can contribute are:

1. Emotions, sensations and experience linked to gaming

A psychologist could perform functions of analysis of the quality of the immersion produced by a video game . The knowledge of the human mind and its behavior helps to decipher what the context of the game should be, together with all the elements that compose it, to generate the emotions or sensations that are desired.

two.Context (music, design ...)

Continuing with the previous point, a psychologist can design in addition to diagnosing whether an item is well designed or not . In this way topics such as lighting or music, for example, would be key factors in certain games that a psychologist could design properly.

3. Mechanics and reward systems

He could also adopt the role responsible for analyzing the game mechanics, contributing his expert vision of the human psyche, to feed them with characteristics that facilitate and provide more fun. Again you can also take a more active role and design the mechanics that limit the game to be able to generate certain sensations in the players. A couple of examples are the basic mechanics of positive reinforcement (rewards) for the player to continue playing and thus increase the retention of users. Or the social part of the videogame, designing a competition or social interactions to increase the engagement and motivation of the players, not being the only way to do it.

4. Personality profile of the characters

Also, also could easily design the personality profiles of the different characters that appear in the videogames s . In certain games there are pathological characters and who better than a psychologist to design specifically the behavioral patterns that these must show.

5. Design of levels and progress

The psychologist plays an important role also in the creation and design of videogame levels , or the way they have to teach the progress that the player has in him. Be it levels of the Candy Crush, secondary missions in a classic RPG, or different circuits in a racing game, the figure of the psychologist can contribute its bit, thus increasing the quality of the product and providing added value.

6. Economic aspect: monetization

Even at the economic level, an expert psychologist could play a very important role on the monetization of video games for being a great connoisseur of consumer profiles, and because of the innovations that are currently being made in the way of monetizing them.

7. Psychologists in video game multinationals

Out of the product, the psychologist could also fit quite well in a company dedicated to the development of video games . In fact there are already professional psychologists working actively in many departments of companies today, and videogames are no exception. Some of the examples are figures of Community Manager, Customer Experience Designer and even in the Human Resources department.

8. Sports coaching

By last, Psychology could also be applied to the professional competitive teams that participate in the e-Sports as a sports coaching , in the same way that it is used with professional athletes to prepare their mental and mental state before certain competitions or vital events.

Much to discover, much to advance

However, the role of psychology in video games is still at an early stage, although large companies like Valve , Ubisoft or EA Games They already have psychologists on staff as designers. However, there is a lot of reluctance to what our profession can contribute to the development of video games, which is undoubtedly a lot.


Your brain on video games | Daphne Bavelier (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Huit aspects psychologiques importants dans les jeux vidéo

Huit aspects psychologiques importants dans les jeux vidéo

Février 18, 2019

Cette évolution technologique connaît une croissance exponentielle à des niveaux énormes, n’est pas un secret. De la même manière, l’industrie du jeu vidéo le fait, ses caractéristiques techniques et l’argent généré par celles-ci s’accroissant. Donc, nous sommes à l'apogée de l'industrie du jeu vidéo et avec elle, avant un processus d'expansion qui se produit à une vitesse vertigineuse.

Le saut technique générationnel est l’un des facteurs les plus surprenants de ce secteur puisque les jeux vidéo actuels atteignent des niveaux de réalisme graphique sans cesse croissants, ce qui nous permet d’avoir une expérience beaucoup plus immersive et plus vivante. Cependant, l’étape la plus importante de l’histoire des jeux vidéo est peut-être le moment de la consolidation de la e-sport, ce qui a donné un grand coup de pouce à l’ensemble du secteur et a permis à sa croissance à un point difficile à imaginer auparavant.


L’une des nouvelles voies ouvertes dans ce secteur est l’entrée des psychologues en tant qu’agents actifs dans le développement des jeux vidéo. Nous allons essayer de faire la lumière sur ce nouveau terrain , même dans ses premières phases mais qui vise à changer le paradigme actuel.

Psychologie et jeux vidéo: un binôme possible?

La psychologie est responsable de l'étude du comportement humain, de ses processus mentaux, de ses sensations et de ses perceptions. L'objectif principal des jeux vidéo est de fournir au public une expérience agréable et amusante, Pourquoi ne pas appliquer la psychologie en eux pour améliorer leur rôle? Et plus encore: puisque les jeux vidéo impliquent une activité mentale explicite, ont-ils des conséquences sur nos niveaux de fonctionnement cognitif? Pour rendre cet article plus compréhensible, nous commencerons par répondre à la deuxième question pour donner lieu à la première.


Le jeu, un moyen d'améliorer certaines compétences cognitives

L'une des principales caractéristiques des jeux vidéo est sa nature visuelle, à laquelle s'ajoute un élément moteur de l'interaction avec le jeu vidéo et plusieurs éléments secondaires tels que la musique ou les dialogues. En raison de sa nature visuelle principale, passer du temps à jouer à des jeux vidéo peut améliorer les capacités visuelles-spatiales des joueurs (Alloza, Costal et Jiménez, 2016), au point d'améliorer considérablement cette capacité chez ceux qui exercent cette activité beaucoup d'heures.

Par conséquent, des auteurs tels que Green et Bavelier étudient ces phénomènes depuis de nombreuses années et essaient d’analyser tous les processus visuels améliorés, en incluant des processus tels que l’attention (Alloza, Costal & Jiménez, 2016). Au niveau des processus d’attention, nous constatons également des améliorations substantielles de leurs performances de base et que cette même amélioration est traduite ou généralisée à d’autres activités (Wilms et al., 2013). Toutes ces implications dans les fonctions de l'être humain pourraient être décomposées et analysées de manière beaucoup plus spécifique et complète, en plus d'en analyser de nombreuses autres qui ont également des implications; mais cela nous mènerait à un article beaucoup plus vaste et plus scientifique.


Au paragraphe précédent, il est conclu que Les jeux vidéo produisent de grands changements (généralement bénéfiques) dans le fonctionnement cognitif des personnes . En outre, ils améliorent également les capacités motrices et sont de plus en plus utilisés pour la réadaptation des patients victimes d'un accident vasculaire cérébral (type de syndrome impliquant une suspension soudaine de l'activité cérébrale, accompagnée d'un degré variable de paralysie musculaire) ou améliorer la fonction cognitive chez les personnes âgées, même pour le traitement des phobies. Pour ces raisons, les jeux vidéo peuvent s'avérer d'excellents outils pour le travail d'un psychologue, mais l'implication de ce personnage au sein de l'industrie ne se limite pas à ces fonctions.

8 aspects d'un jeu vidéo dans lequel un psychologue a quelque chose à dire

La psychologie dans les jeux vidéo peut être utilisée de nombreuses manières et la vérité est que, vraiment, un psychologue peut être très utile à n'importe quel stade de son développement ou dans n'importe quel domaine au sein d'une entreprise dédiée aux jeux vidéo.

Certains des éléments qu'un psychologue peut apporter sont les suivants:

1. Émotions, sensations et expériences liées au jeu

Un psychologue pourrait effectuer des fonctions d’analyse de la qualité de l’immersion produite par un jeu vidéo. . La connaissance de l'esprit humain et de son comportement aide à déchiffrer ce que devrait être le contexte du jeu, ainsi que tous les éléments qui le composent, afin de générer les émotions ou les sensations souhaitées.

2Contexte (musique, design ...)

Continuant avec le point précédent, un psychologue peut concevoir en plus de diagnostiquer si un article est bien conçu ou non . De cette manière, des sujets tels que l'éclairage ou la musique, par exemple, seraient des facteurs clés dans certains jeux qu'un psychologue pourrait bien concevoir.

3. Mécanique et systèmes de récompense

Il pourrait également assumer le rôle d’analyser les mécanismes du jeu, en apportant sa vision experte de la psyché humaine, afin de les nourrir de caractéristiques qui facilitent et procurent plus de plaisir. Encore une fois, vous pouvez également jouer un rôle plus actif et concevoir les mécanismes qui limitent le jeu pour pouvoir générer certaines sensations chez les joueurs. Quelques exemples sont les mécanismes de base du renforcement positif (récompenses) pour que le joueur continue à jouer et augmente ainsi la rétention des utilisateurs. Ou la partie sociale du jeu vidéo, concevoir un concours ou des interactions sociales pour augmenter la fiançailles et la motivation des joueurs, n'étant pas le seul moyen de le faire.

4. Profil de personnalité des personnages

Également aussi pourrait facilement concevoir les profils de personnalité des différents personnages qui apparaissent dans les jeux vidéo s . Dans certains jeux, il existe des personnages pathologiques et qui, mieux qu’un psychologue, ne peuvent concevoir spécifiquement les schémas comportementaux qu’ils doivent montrer.

5. Conception des niveaux et progrès

Le psychologue joue également un rôle important dans la création et la conception de niveaux de jeu vidéo. , ou la façon dont ils doivent enseigner les progrès que le joueur a en lui. Qu'il s'agisse de niveaux de Candy Crush, de missions secondaires dans un RPG classique ou de circuits différents dans un jeu de course, la figure du psychologue peut apporter sa contribution, augmentant ainsi la qualité du produit et offrant une valeur ajoutée.

6. Aspect économique: monétisation

Même au niveau économique, un psychologue expert pourrait jouer un rôle très important dans la monétisation des jeux vidéo pour être un grand connaisseur des profils de consommateurs, et pour les innovations qui sont en train d’être apportées pour les monétiser.

7. Psychologues dans les multinationales du jeu vidéo

Hors du produit, le psychologue pourrait aussi très bien s'intégrer dans une société dédiée au développement de jeux vidéo . En fait, des psychologues professionnels travaillent déjà activement dans de nombreux départements d’entreprises et les jeux vidéo ne font pas exception. Certains exemples sont des chiffres de Community Manager, Concepteur d'expérience client et même dans le département des ressources humaines.

8. Coaching sportif

Finalement, La psychologie pourrait également être appliquée aux équipes de compétition professionnelles participant au e-sport en tant que coach sportif , de la même manière qu’il est utilisé avec des athlètes professionnels pour préparer leur état mental avant des compétitions ou des événements vitaux.

Beaucoup à découvrir, beaucoup à avancer

Cependant, le rôle de la psychologie dans les jeux vidéo en est encore à ses débuts, bien que de grandes entreprises comme Valve , Ubisoft o Jeux EA Ils ont déjà des psychologues sur le personnel en tant que concepteurs. Cependant, notre profession peut contribuer au développement des jeux vidéo, ce qui est sans aucun doute beaucoup.


POLYBIUS - The Video Game That Doesn't Exist (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes