yes, therapy helps!
Emotion-centered therapy: what it is and what problems it applies to

Emotion-centered therapy: what it is and what problems it applies to

June 12, 2024

The affective-emotional sphere is probably one of the most important when considering our level of well-being. How we feel and how we react to situations and the people around us affect our way of seeing reality (and also ourselves, others and the world itself) and our behavior. But it is not always easy to manage and manage our emotions and the way we structure and link them to events.

Sometimes severe conflicts may appear that may make it necessary to employ some type of therapy focused on these factors. While there are a variety of therapies that act on the emotional sphere, there is one that acts very specifically on them: emotion-centered therapy .


  • Related article: "The 8 types of emotions (classification and description)"

Emotion-centered therapy: what is it?

It receives the name of therapy centered in emotions or therapy focused in the emotions to a type of therapy or psychological treatment that, as its name indicates, is characterized by work specifically the emotional processing of situations , observing emotion as an adaptive reaction that allows survival and reaction to the environment as well as making us see our needs.

The therapy itself is deeply experiential, since the presence of changes depends largely on exposure to situations that generate emotions, and this appearance is sought in order to introduce changes in the schemes we use to deal with situations. In addition, this theory departs to a large extent from the humanist paradigm and client-centered therapy, seeking the development and optimization of the patient's potential. In fact, in its origin the therapy focused on emotions it was called Greenberg's experiential therapy .


The professional must adopt an empathetic and collaborative attitude, always accepting the reactions, emotions and motivations of the client or patient and trying to help detect emotions, focus and develop the subject's own autonomy, making him responsible for himself.

Emotion-centered therapy considers that emotion involves the emergence of physiological changes derived from the acquisition, interpretation and processing of external or internal information and our previous learning. Based on experience, we are generating a series of unconscious emotional schemes that lead us to a concrete way of reacting or feeling situations, being these schemes what is proposed to work during therapy.

The objective of this therapy is to help make patients able to identify, experiment without blocking, attribute a sense, communicate and adaptively manage their emotions. In short, efficiently manage your emotional sphere and achieve a good capacity to adapt to the environment. This is very useful in a wide variety of situations, such as for example before relational problems or after the presence of unwanted or traumatic experiences.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of psychological therapies"

Main mechanisms for change

With therapy focused on emotions, it is intended to achieve a change in emotional patterns, in the way of capturing, processing and expressing one's own emotionality. For this it is necessary to activate a series of mechanisms, highlighting the following.

1. Awareness

It is a factor that perhaps seems logical and simple, but that is decisive and is the basis when it comes to power introduce a change in the emotional schemes . Becoming aware or being able to distinguish, identify and name your own emotions is the most basic and fundamental step.

2. Emotional expression

Once the emotion itself is identified, it will be necessary to know and be able to express emotion, especially when we talk about negative emotions. It is rather a confrontation of emotion, of the fact of live it without introducing an avoidance that protects us against it .

3. Emotional regulation

In addition to identifying and living them, another of the mechanisms necessary to introduce changes is the fact of regulating emotion. Regular does not imply not feeling it or repressing it , but to be able to brake them or make them adaptive to the situation in which we are.

4. Reflection

Although already in the processing of emotion there are aspects and cognitive components, it is worth mentioning as another mechanism the ability to operate with information and give a sense to the experience.

5. Transformation

The last of the great mechanisms necessary for the change of emotions is transformation, that is, manage to modify the emotional experience to make it adaptive . An example may be the search for experiences that generate emotional responses incompatible with the initial emotion.

Situations in which it is usually applied

Focused therapy or focused on emotions is often used in specific situations and is usually linked to the treatment of relational problems, although it may have applicability in a large number of problems.

1. Couple therapy

One of the main contexts in which emotionally focused therapy is usually applied is in the world of the couple. And it has been shown that this type of therapy can allow work on emotional conflicts present in each of its members and on the relationship per se.

And it is that this modality allows working aspects such as attachment (not in vain is based in part on the theory of attachment) and to identify, express and share their emotions and affective needs. In this way this type of work can allow an improvement in the situation of each component of the couple and improve the existing communication, strengthening the existing link.

2. Family conflicts

In a similar way to the previous one, the therapy focused on emotions could become applicable in the family context, in order to be able to rework emotional schemes and communicate them efficiently.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 8 types of family conflicts and how to manage them"

3. Problems of socialization

People with socialization problems derived from emotional problems can benefit from this type of therapy, learning to transform their feelings and fears and to accept them in such a way that they do not interfere in their relationships. Likewise, communication is favored .

4. Eating disorders

Emotion-centered therapy has been used in the case of patients with eating disorders, due among other aspects to the high presence of negative emotionality regarding self-concept. It seems to be useful both individually and as a group , pretending that they identify, naturalicen and modify the emotions that maintain the alimentary problem.

Posttraumatic Stress Disorder

Emotion-centered therapy could be useful when working with the emotional sphere in cases of post-traumatic stress disorder. Sexual abuse, bullying, gender or intrafamily violence are examples of situations in which it could be applied.

Depression

Depressive disorders have as one of the main and most frequent characteristics the existence of emotions such as sadness or hopelessness . Working in the processing of emotions and situations and in the variation of the schemes (both cognitive and emotional) will contribute to the subject presenting an improvement in their situation.

Bibliographic references:

  • Brennan, M .; Emmerling, M. & Welton, J. (2015). Emotion-focused group therapy: addressing self-criticism in the treatment of eating disorders. Counseling and Psychotherapy Research, 15 (1), 67-75.
  • Elliot, R .; Watson, J.C .; Goldman, Rh.N. & Greenberg, L.S. (2004). Learning Emotion-Focused Therapy. The Process-Experiential Approach to Change. American Psychological Association. Washington, D.C.
  • Greenberg, L.S .; Elliott, R. & Pos, A. (2010). Therapy focused on emotions: an overview.
  • Greenberg, L. and Watson, J. (2006). Emotion-focused therapy of depression. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association.
  • Hervás, G. (2011). Psychopathology of emotional regulation: the role of emotional deficits in clinical disorders. Behavioral Psychology, 19 (2): 347-372.

Sue Johnson Emotionally Focused Couples Therapy (EFT) in Action Video (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Thérapie centrée sur l'émotion: de quoi s'agit-il et à quels problèmes s'applique-t-elle?

Thérapie centrée sur l'émotion: de quoi s'agit-il et à quels problèmes s'applique-t-elle?

Octobre 25, 2021

La sphère affective-émotionnelle est probablement l’un des plus importants pour notre niveau de bien-être. Ce que nous ressentons et comment nous réagissons aux situations et aux personnes qui nous entourent affecte notre façon de voir la réalité (ainsi que nous-mêmes, les autres et le monde lui-même) et notre comportement. Mais il n’est pas toujours facile de gérer et de gérer nos émotions et notre façon de les structurer et de les relier à des événements.

Parfois, de graves conflits peuvent apparaître pouvant nécessiter le recours à un type de traitement axé sur ces facteurs. Bien qu'il existe une variété de thérapies qui agissent sur la sphère émotionnelle, il y en a une qui agit très spécifiquement sur elles: thérapie centrée sur les émotions .


  • Article connexe: "Les 8 types d'émotions (classification et description)"

La thérapie centrée sur les émotions: qu'est-ce que c'est?

Il reçoit le nom de thérapie centrée sur les émotions ou thérapie axée sur les émotions à un type de thérapie ou de traitement psychologique qui, comme son nom l'indique, se caractérise par travailler spécifiquement le traitement émotionnel de situations , observer l’émotion comme une réaction d’adaptation qui permet de survivre et de réagir à l’environnement, tout en nous faisant voir nos besoins.

La thérapie elle-même est profondément expérientielle, car la présence de changements dépend en grande partie de l'exposition à des situations qui génèrent des émotions, et cette apparence est recherchée afin d'introduire des changements dans les schémas que nous utilisons pour gérer les situations. En outre, cette théorie s’éloigne dans une large mesure du paradigme humaniste et de la thérapie centrée sur le client, qui vise à développer et à optimiser le potentiel du patient. En fait, à l'origine, la thérapie était axée sur les émotions on l'appelait la thérapie expérientielle de Greenberg .


Le professionnel doit adopter une attitude empathique et collaborative, en acceptant toujours les réactions, les émotions et les motivations du client ou du patient et en s'efforçant de détecter les émotions, de se concentrer et de développer l'autonomie du sujet, le rendant responsable de lui-même.

La thérapie centrée sur l'émotion considère que l'émotion implique l'émergence de changements physiologiques dérivés de l'acquisition, de l'interprétation et du traitement d'informations externes ou internes et de nos apprentissages antérieurs. Basé sur l'expérience, nous générons une série de schémas émotionnels inconscients cela nous amène à une manière concrète de réagir ou de ressentir des situations, ce sont ces schémas qui sont proposés pour fonctionner pendant la thérapie.

L'objectif de cette thérapie est d'aider les patients à identifier, à expérimenter sans bloquer, à attribuer un sens, à communiquer et à gérer leurs émotions de manière adaptative. En bref, gérez efficacement votre sphère émotionnelle et développez une bonne capacité d'adaptation à l'environnement. Ceci est très utile dans une grande variété de situations, telles que par exemple avant les problèmes relationnels ou après la présence d'expériences non désirées ou traumatiques.


  • Peut-être que vous êtes intéressé: "Types de thérapies psychologiques"

Principaux mécanismes de changement

Avec une thérapie centrée sur les émotions, elle vise à modifier les schémas émotionnels, à capturer, à traiter et à exprimer sa propre émotivité. Pour cela, il est nécessaire d'activer une série de mécanismes, en soulignant les suivants.

1. sensibilisation

C’est un facteur qui semble peut-être simple et logique, mais qui est décisif et constitue la base du pouvoir introduire un changement dans les schémas émotionnels . Devenir conscient ou être capable de distinguer, identifier et nommer ses propres émotions est l’étape la plus fondamentale.

2. expression émotionnelle

Une fois que l'émotion elle-même est identifiée, il sera nécessaire de savoir et de pouvoir exprimer une émotion, en particulier lorsque nous parlons d'émotions négatives. C’est plutôt une confrontation d’émotion, du fait de vivre sans introduire un évitement qui nous protège contre elle .

3. Régulation émotionnelle

En plus de les identifier et de les vivre, un autre des mécanismes nécessaires pour introduire des changements est le fait de réguler les émotions. Régulier n'implique pas de ne pas le ressentir ou de le réprimer , mais pour pouvoir les freiner ou les rendre adaptables à la situation dans laquelle nous nous trouvons.

4. réflexion

Bien que le traitement de l'émotion comporte déjà des aspects et des composants cognitifs, il convient également de mentionner la possibilité d'utiliser l'information et de donner un sens à l'expérience.

5. Transformation

Le dernier des grands mécanismes nécessaires au changement d’émotions est la transformation, c’est-à-dire réussir à modifier l'expérience émotionnelle pour la rendre adaptative . Un exemple peut être la recherche d'expériences générant des réponses émotionnelles incompatibles avec l'émotion initiale.

Situations dans lesquelles il est généralement appliqué

La thérapie ciblée ou axée sur les émotions est souvent utilisée dans des situations spécifiques et est généralement liée au traitement de problèmes relationnels, bien qu'elle puisse être applicable à un grand nombre de problèmes.

1. Thérapie de couple

L'un des principaux contextes dans lesquels une thérapie axée sur les émotions est habituellement appliquée est celui du couple. Et il a été démontré que ce type de thérapie peut permettre travailler sur les conflits émotionnels présents dans chacun de ses membres et sur la relation lui-même

Et c’est que cette modalité permet aux aspects fonctionnels tels que l’attachement (non pas en vain de s’appuyer sur la théorie de l’attachement) et d’identifier, exprimer et partager leurs émotions et leurs besoins affectifs. De cette manière, ce type de travail peut permettre d’améliorer la situation de chaque élément du couple et d’améliorer la communication existante en renforçant le lien existant.

2. Conflits familiaux

De la même manière que la précédente, la thérapie axée sur les émotions pourrait devenir applicable dans le contexte familial, afin de pouvoir retravailler les schémas émotionnels et de les communiquer efficacement.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 8 types de conflits familiaux et comment les gérer"

3. Problèmes de socialisation

Les personnes ayant des problèmes de socialisation liés à des problèmes émotionnels peuvent bénéficier de ce type de thérapie, en apprenant à transformer leurs sentiments et leurs peurs et à les accepter de manière à ne pas nuire à leurs relations. De même la communication est favorisée .

4. Troubles de l'alimentation

La thérapie centrée sur les émotions a été utilisée dans le cas de patients souffrant de troubles de l’alimentation, en raison, entre autres, de la forte présence d’émotivité négative vis-à-vis du concept de soi. Il semble être utile à la fois individuellement et en groupe , en prétendant qu'ils identifient, naturels et modifient les émotions qui entretiennent le problème alimentaire.

Trouble de stress post-traumatique

Une thérapie centrée sur les émotions pourrait être utile lorsque vous travaillez avec la sphère émotionnelle en cas de trouble de stress post-traumatique. L’abus sexuel, l’intimidation, la violence sexiste ou la violence entre familles sont des exemples de situations dans lesquelles elle pourrait être appliquée.

La dépression

Les troubles dépressifs ont l’une des caractéristiques principales et les plus fréquentes l'existence d'émotions telles que la tristesse ou le désespoir . Travailler dans le traitement des émotions et des situations et dans la variation des schémas (cognitifs et émotionnels) contribuera à ce que le sujet présente une amélioration de sa situation.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Brennan, M .; Emmerling, M. et Welton, J. (2015). Thérapie de groupe axée sur les émotions: aborder l'autocritique dans le traitement des troubles de l'alimentation. Counselling and Psychotherapy Research, 15 (1), 67-75.
  • Elliot, R .; Watson, J.C .; Goldman, Rh.N. & Greenberg, L.S. (2004). Apprendre la thérapie axée sur les émotions. L'approche processus-expérientiel du changement. American Psychological Association. Washington, D.C.
  • Greenberg, L.S .; Elliott, R. et Pos, A. (2010). Thérapie axée sur les émotions: un aperçu.
  • Greenberg, L. et Watson, J. (2006). Traitement de la dépression axé sur les émotions. Washington, DC: Association américaine de psychologie.
  • Hervás, G. (2011). Psychopathologie de la régulation émotionnelle: le rôle des déficits émotionnels dans les troubles cliniques. Behavioral Psychology, 19 (2): 347-372.

Le changement climatique dans la perspective de la conférence de Paris: Questions-réponses en direct (Octobre 2021).


Articles Connexes