yes, therapy helps!
Emotional blackmail: a powerful form of manipulation in the couple

Emotional blackmail: a powerful form of manipulation in the couple

July 19, 2024

The emotional blackmail and the handling Unfortunately, they can be common in relationships, but also between friends and family. The emotional blackmailer acts in accordance with his interests, and he blames, annoys and provokes fear of the victim of blackmail.

According to Susan Forward, author of the book Emotional Blackmail, emotional blackmail is "a powerful weapon of manipulation with which people close to us threaten us, directly or indirectly, to punish us if they do not get what they want".

Causes of emotional blackmail

The causes that lead a person to be a blackmailer are many. For example, low self-esteem, which can cause an individual to be constantly looking for confirmation of your partner's love and provoking demonstrations that the other person will not leave you.


Narcissistic people with Personality Disorder can also carry out constant emotional blackmail with their family, friends and partner. This is a way to reaffirm and consolidate your personality.

The fear of the victim's abandonment also favors the blackmailer trying to take a position of power over it, in a situation that can be quite similar to emotional dependence. On the other hand, people who have been victims of emotional blackmail from an early age, or individuals who have been "spoiled" and "overprotected", are more likely to adopt a manipulative personality . The latter have a low tolerance for frustration and, moreover, have become accustomed to having everything they want. Something that can affect your interpersonal relationships.


Strategies of the sentimental blackmailer

The sentimental blackmailer You can use different strategies to achieve your goal . Through the power he knows he has over the other person, the blackmailer "turns the tables" and takes advantage of the vulnerability of the victim.

For this, he can use psychological strategies (more or less consciously) like the ones presented below:

The self-punishment

The blackmailer uses phrases like "If you leave me, it's not worth living". In this way makes the victim feel guilty and permanently obliged not to question the foundations of the relationship.

The punishment

The person who blackmails use threatening phrases as the following: "If you do that, do not blame me if I leave you". In this way, the other person feels constantly tied to "correct" behavior patterns, thereby ensuring their freedom and personality.


However, this is one of the less subtle forms of emotional blackmail, and for that reason it is not as dangerous as the rest, since from the beginning it is relatively clear what happens. However, in certain contexts a very abused person may not be aware that these are threats, due to their emotional investment in the relationship.

The silence

The emotional blackmailer creates a negative couple environment , because he can show his anger through silence. This makes the victim think that the situation of "bad weather" is his fault. It's another way to make the victim of blackmail feel guilty.

In addition, this form of blackmail is powerful because it uses passivity for the victim to become obsessed with what happens because of his confusion and incomprehension.

Victimization

Emotional blackmail also includes victimhood . An example can be the following sentence: "If you go with your friends, I'll be alone and bored".

More about victimhood in this post: "Chronic victimhood: people who complain about vice"

The promises

The blackmailers also they are experts in making promises that never meet . For example, "If you give me another chance I will show you that I can change". This type of behavior can be a warning signal, since it is one of the typical behaviors in the cycles of partner violence.

The blame

Making the couple feel guilty for their own wrong behavior It is one of the most used strategies. For example: "I am aggressive because you provoke me" or "I have been unfaithful because you do not give me enough". This is another signal that can alert us that a situation of psychological abuse may be occurring.

Protect yourself from an emotional blackmailer

Many times It is not easy to recognize that a person is being blackmailed . The emotional price that causes sentimental blackmail is very high. For example, the loss of a being he loves, or feeling embarrassed or guilty for letting himself be manipulated.

The blackmailer is a skilled person who knows how to manipulate and, at times, may seem (or say) that he is very much in love with his partner or can justify his behavior in a thousand different ways, but the consequences on the victim's welfare can be very negative Further, the blackmailer is not necessarily a bad or perverse person It may be his emotional instability that leads him to act that way. Therefore, we must be aware that each situation is different and value it calmly and serenely, but also firmly if we have to make a decision.

Now, since in emotional blackmail there are two actors, and the behavior of the blackmailer can not always be changed, the blackmailed person can work on himself to stop being a victim of emotional manipulation. Working emotional Intelligence, self-esteem or practicing Mindfulness, are some of the tools that can be useful in this situation and will help the victim to empower themselves in front of life.

Serious or potentially serious cases of emotional blackmail

In severe cases of emotional blackmail, it is possible that the affected person needs psychological help to overcome the situation and recover from the emotional wounds caused. Talking to friends and family, and going to a psychology specialist, are important for recover emotional well-being of the person who has suffered emotional blackmail for a long time.


What is Emotional Abuse? SIGNS you are in an emotionally abusive relationship (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Chantage émotionnel: une puissante forme de manipulation dans le couple

Chantage émotionnel: une puissante forme de manipulation dans le couple

Septembre 13, 2022

Le chantage affectif et la manipulation Malheureusement, ils peuvent être communs dans les relations, mais aussi entre amis et famille. Le maître chanteur émotionnel agit conformément à ses intérêts, et il blâme, agace et provoque la peur de la victime du chantage.

Selon Susan Forward, auteur du livre Chantage émotionnel, le chantage émotionnel est "une arme de manipulation puissante avec laquelle des proches nous menacent, directement ou indirectement, de nous punir s'ils n'obtiennent pas ce qu'ils veulent".

Causes de chantage émotionnel

Les causes qui poussent une personne à devenir maître chanteur sont nombreuses. Par exemple, une faible estime de soi, qui peut amener une personne à être constamment à la recherche de la confirmation de l'amour de votre partenaire et provoquer des démonstrations que l'autre personne ne vous quittera pas.


Les narcissiques présentant un trouble de la personnalité peuvent également subir un chantage émotionnel constant avec leur famille, leurs amis et leur partenaire. C'est un moyen de réaffirmer et de consolider votre personnalité.

La peur de l'abandon de la victime favorise également le maître chanteur qui tente d'exercer une position de force sur elle, dans une situation qui peut être assez similaire à la dépendance émotionnelle. En revanche, les personnes victimes de chantage émotionnel depuis leur plus jeune âge ou les personnes "gâtées" et "surprotégées", sont plus susceptibles d'adopter une personnalité manipulatrice . Ces derniers ont une faible tolérance à la frustration et se sont en outre habitués à avoir tout ce qu'ils veulent. Quelque chose qui peut affecter vos relations interpersonnelles.


Stratégies du maître chanteur sentimental

Le maître chanteur sentimental Vous pouvez utiliser différentes stratégies pour atteindre votre objectif . Par le pouvoir qu’il sait avoir sur l’autre personne, le maître chanteur "renverse les rôles" et tire parti de la vulnérabilité de la victime.

Pour cela, il peut utiliser stratégies psychologiques (plus ou moins consciemment) comme ceux présentés ci-dessous:

L'auto-punition

Le maître chanteur utilise des phrases telles que "Si tu me quittes, ça ne vaut pas la peine d'être vécu". De cette manière rend la victime se sentir coupable et obligé en permanence de ne pas remettre en cause les fondements de la relation.

Punition

La personne qui fait chanter utiliser des phrases menaçantes comme suit: "Si tu fais ça, ne me blâme pas si je te laisse". De cette manière, l’autre personne se sent constamment liée à des comportements «corrects», assurant ainsi sa liberté et sa personnalité.


Cependant, il s’agit d’une des formes les moins subtiles de chantage émotionnel et, pour cette raison, elle n’est pas aussi dangereuse que les autres, car ce qui se passe au départ est relativement clair. Cependant, dans certains contextes, une personne très maltraitée peut ne pas savoir que ce sont des menaces, en raison de son investissement affectif dans la relation.

Le silence

Le maître chanteur émotionnel crée un environnement de couple négatif , car il peut montrer sa colère à travers le silence. Cela fait penser à la victime que la situation de "mauvais temps" est de sa faute. C'est une autre façon de culpabiliser la victime du chantage.

De plus, cette forme de chantage est puissante car elle utilise la passivité pour que la victime devienne obsédée par ce qui se passe à cause de sa confusion et de son incompréhension.

Victimisation

Chantage émotionnel aussi comprend la victimisation . Un exemple peut être la phrase suivante: "Si tu y vas avec tes amis, je serai seul et ennuyé".

Plus d'informations sur la victimisation dans ce post: "Victimité chronique: les personnes qui se plaignent du vice"

Les promesses

Les maîtres chanteurs aussi ils sont des experts en promesses qui ne se rencontrent jamais . Par exemple, "Si vous me donnez une autre chance, je vous montrerai que je peux changer". Ce type de comportement peut constituer un signal d’avertissement, car c’est l’un des comportements typiques des cycles de violence entre partenaires.

La faute

Faire en sorte que le couple se sente coupable de son mauvais comportement C'est l'une des stratégies les plus utilisées. Par exemple: "Je suis agressif parce que tu me provoques" o "J'ai été infidèle parce que tu ne me donnes pas assez". Ceci est un autre signal qui peut nous alerter qu'une situation de violence psychologique peut se produire.

Protégez-vous contre un maître-chanteur émotionnel

À plusieurs reprises Il n'est pas facile de reconnaître qu'une personne fait l'objet d'un chantage . Le prix émotionnel qui cause le chantage sentimental est très élevé. Par exemple, la perte d'un être qu'il aime, ou se sentir gêné ou coupable de se laisser manipuler.

Le maître chanteur est un homme de métier qui sait manipuler et peut parfois sembler (ou dire) être très amoureux de sa partenaire ou peut justifier son comportement de mille façons différentes, mais les conséquences sur le bien-être de la victime peuvent être très lourdes. négatif En outre, le maître chanteur n'est pas nécessairement une personne mauvaise ou perverse C'est peut-être son instabilité émotionnelle qui le pousse à agir de la sorte. Par conséquent, nous devons être conscients que chaque situation est différente et l’évaluer calmement et sereinement, mais aussi fermement si nous devons prendre une décision.

Or, comme dans le chantage émotionnel, il y a deux acteurs et que le comportement du maître chanteur ne peut pas toujours être changé, la personne soumise au chantage peut travailler sur elle-même pour ne plus être victime de manipulation émotionnelle. L'intelligence émotionnelle au travail, l'estime de soi ou la pleine conscience sont quelques-uns des outils qui peuvent être utiles dans cette situation et aideront la victime à se prendre en charge face à la vie.

Cas graves ou potentiellement graves de chantage émotionnel

Dans les cas graves de chantage émotionnel, il est possible que la personne affectée ait besoin d'une aide psychologique pour surmonter la situation et se remettre des blessures émotionnelles causées. Parler aux amis et à la famille et consulter un spécialiste en psychologie sont importants pour retrouver le bien-être émotionnel de la personne qui a subi un chantage émotionnel pendant une longue période.


9 Formes de Manipulation Émotionnelle (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes