yes, therapy helps!
Emotional capital, a critique of the theory of emotional intelligence

Emotional capital, a critique of the theory of emotional intelligence

June 24, 2021

In the second of the conferences that compose frozen Intimidades, Eva Illouz begins by making a comparison between Samuel Smiles, author of Self-help (1859), and Sigmund Freud.

While it is true that currently the postulates of these two authors tend to resemble to such an extent that psychology is confused with self-help, the basic principles that originate them are considerably different .

The differences between self-help and psychology

While Smiles considered that "moral force could overcome the position and social destiny of a person," Freud "maintained the pessimistic conviction (...) that the ability to help was conditioned by the social class to which he belonged".


So, for the father of psychoanalysis, "self-help and virtue" were not in themselves sufficient elements for a healthy psyche, because "only transference, resistance, work with dreams, free association - and not "volition" or "self-control" - could lead to a psychic and, ultimately, a social transformation ".

The fusion of psychology and self-help: the therapeutic narrative

To understand the approach of psychology to the popular culture of self-help we should attend to the social phenomena that began to be accentuated in the United States from the sixties: the discrediting of political ideologies, the expansion of consumerism and the so-called sexual revolution they contributed to increase a narrative of self-realization of the self.


Likewise, the therapeutic narrative managed to permeate the dominant cultural meanings through the capillarity offered by a series of social practices related to the management of emotions.

On the other hand, in the theoretical basis of the syncretism between psychology and self-help are the theses of Carl Rogers and Abraham Maslow, for whom the search for self-realization, understood as "the motivation in all forms of life to fully develop their possibilities "was inherent to a healthy mind. This is how psychology became primarily a therapeutic psychology that, "by postulating an ideal of indefinite health and in constant expansion," he made self-realization the criterion by which to classify increasingly emotional states in healthy or pathological.

Suffering and individualism in the therapeutic narrative

In light of this, Illouz presents a series of examples of how the therapeutic narrative depends entirely on establishing and generalizing previously a diagnosis in terms of emotional dysfunction to subsequently assert the prescriptive capacity that is presupposed. Therefore, self-realization needs to give meaning to psychic complications in the individual's past ("what prevents happiness, success and intimacy").


Accordingly, the therapeutic narrative became a commodity with the performative capacity to transform the consumer into a patient ("Since, in order to be better -the main product that is promoted and sold in this new field-, you must first be sick"), mobilizing a series of professionals related to psychology, medicine, industry pharmaceutical, the publishing world and television.

And since "it consists precisely in giving meaning to common lives as an expression (hidden or open) of suffering", the interesting thing about The therapeutic narrative of self-help and self-realization is that it entails a methodological individualism , based on "the need to express and represent one's own suffering". The author's opinion is that the two demands of the therapeutic narrative, self-realization and suffering, were institutionalized in the culture, since they were in consonance with "one of the main models for the individualism that the State adopted and propagated" .

Emotional intelligence as capital

On the other hand, the field of mental and emotional health resulting from the therapeutic narrative is sustained by means of the competence it generates. Proof of this competence is the notion of "emotional intelligence", which, based on certain criteria ("self-awareness, control of emotions, personal motivation, empathy, management of relationships"), allows to consider, and stratify, the aptitude of people in the social and, especially, labor, while granting a status (cultural capital) and facilitates personal relationships (social capital) in order to obtain economic returns.

Similarly, the author reminds us that we must not underestimate the implications of emotional intelligence in the security of the self in the context of an intimacy that in the contemporaneity of late modernity is extremely fragile.

Bibliographic references:

  • Illouz, Eva. (2007). Frozen Intimacies. The emotions in capitalism. Katz Editores (p.93-159).

Keynote Lecture, Prof. Eva Illouz, What is Emotional Capital? (June 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Capital émotionnel, une critique de la théorie de l'intelligence émotionnelle

Capital émotionnel, une critique de la théorie de l'intelligence émotionnelle

Janvier 27, 2023

Dans la seconde des conférences qui composent Intimidades glacées, Eva Illouz commence par faire une comparaison entre Samuel Smiles, auteur de Self-help (1859), et Sigmund Freud.

S'il est vrai qu'actuellement, les postulats de ces deux auteurs ont tendance à se ressembler à un point tel que la psychologie est confondue avec l'entraide, les principes de base qui les ont créés sont très différents .

Les différences entre l'entraide et la psychologie

Alors que Smiles considérait que "la force morale pouvait surmonter la position et le destin social d'une personne," Freud "maintenait la conviction pessimiste (...) que la capacité de l'aide était conditionnée par la classe sociale à laquelle il appartenait".


Ainsi, pour le père de la psychanalyse, "l'entraide et la vertu" n'étaient pas en soi des éléments suffisants pour une psyché saine, car "seulement le transfert, la résistance, le travail avec les rêves, la libre association - et non "volition" ou "maîtrise de soi" - pourraient conduire à une transformation psychique et, finalement, à une transformation sociale ".

La fusion de la psychologie et de l'auto-assistance: le récit thérapeutique

Pour comprendre l'approche de la psychologie vis-à-vis de la culture populaire d'entraide, nous devons nous intéresser aux phénomènes sociaux qui ont commencé à s'accentuer aux États-Unis à partir des années soixante: le discrédit des idéologies politiques, l'expansion du consumérisme et la prétendue révolution sexuelle ils ont contribué à augmenter le récit de la réalisation de soi du soi.


De même le récit thérapeutique a réussi à imprégner les significations culturelles dominantes à travers la capillarité offerte par une série de pratiques sociales liées à la gestion des émotions.

D'autre part, dans la base théorique du syncrétisme entre psychologie et auto-assistance sont les thèses de Carl Rogers et Abraham Maslow, pour qui la recherche de la réalisation de soi, comprise comme "la motivation dans toutes les formes de vie pour développer pleinement leur possibilités "était inhérent à un esprit sain. C’est ainsi que la psychologie est devenue principalement une psychologie thérapeutique que, "en postulant un idéal de santé indéfinie et en expansion constante", il a fait de la réalisation de soi le critère permettant de classer des états de plus en plus émotionnels en santé ou pathologiques.

Souffrance et individualisme dans le récit thérapeutique

À la lumière de ces éléments, Illouz présente une série d’exemples montrant comment le récit thérapeutique repose entièrement sur l’établissement et la généralisation préalable d’un diagnostic en termes de dysfonctionnement émotionnel afin d’affirmer ultérieurement la capacité prescriptive présupposée. Par conséquent, la réalisation de soi doit donner un sens aux complications psychiques du passé de l'individu ("ce qui empêche le bonheur, le succès et l'intimité").


En conséquence, le récit thérapeutique est devenu une marchandise dotée de la capacité performative de transformer le consommateur en patient ("Pour être meilleur, le produit principal promu et vendu dans ce nouveau domaine, vous devez d’abord être malade"), mobilisant une série de professionnels liés à la psychologie, à la médecine, à l’industrie pharmaceutique, le monde de l'édition et la télévision.

Et puisque "cela consiste précisément à donner un sens à des vies communes en tant qu’expression (cachée ou ouverte) de la souffrance", l’intéressant Le récit thérapeutique de l’auto-assistance et de la réalisation de soi est qu’il s’agit d’un individualisme méthodologique , fondée sur "le besoin d’exprimer et de représenter ses propres souffrances". Selon l'auteur, les deux exigences de la narration thérapeutique, la réalisation de soi et la souffrance, ont été institutionnalisées dans la culture, puisqu'elles correspondaient à "l'un des principaux modèles d'individualisme adopté et propagé par l'État". .

L'intelligence émotionnelle comme capital

D'autre part, le domaine de la santé mentale et émotionnelle résultant de la narration thérapeutique est alimenté par la compétence qu'il génère. La preuve de cette compétence est la notion "d'intelligence émotionnelle" qui, selon certains critères ("prise de conscience de soi, maîtrise des émotions, motivation personnelle, empathie, gestion des relations"), permet de considérer, et stratifier, les aptitudes des personnes dans le social et, en particulier, le travail, tout en accordant un statut (capital culturel) et facilite les relations personnelles (capital social) afin d’obtenir des rendements économiques.

De même, l'auteur rappelle qu'il ne faut pas sous-estimer les implications de l'intelligence émotionnelle sur la sécurité de soi dans le contexte d'une intimité extrêmement fragile à la contemporanéité de la modernité récente.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Illouz, Eva. (2007). Intimités figées. Les émotions dans le capitalisme. Katz Editores (p.93-159).
Articles Connexes