yes, therapy helps!
Emotional fatigue: strategies to face it and overcome it

Emotional fatigue: strategies to face it and overcome it

May 23, 2022

The emotional fatigue It refers to mental exhaustion that is related to prolonged symptoms of stress, anxiety or depression. We can all feel this extreme emotional exhaustion from time to time, although some people tend to experience it more often, as they are more sensitive or more empathic . Those who suffer from emotional fatigue feel that they have exhausted all their emotional resources and have nothing left to give to others.

Emotional fatigue: defining the concept

Emotional fatigue occurs in different situations. It is characteristic of some work related to assistance to other people (doctors, social workers, psychologists, firemen, etc.), because the emotional cost of these professions is not always rewarded. This type of fatigue can also be linked to affective problems, stemming from the difficulty of communicating or adapting to the environment.


In addition, in the work environment, emotional fatigue is a symptom that presents the Burnout or "Burning Syndrome", which affects workers who have reached a very high level of physical and emotional exhaustion.

How is emotional fatigue manifested?

Emotional fatigue occurs when an individual has exceeded their ability to withstand prolonged emotional stress . It is usual that people who suffer from it are not aware of its symptoms, because the demotivation and emotional fatigue, characteristic of this phenomenon, provokes a behavior of avoidance and rejection towards one's own emotions. This type of fatigue manifests itself with physical and psychological symptoms. Here are some of them:


  • Low tolerance to stress or stressful situations
  • Inattention
  • Lack of motivation and disinterest in life
  • Physical fatigue or loss of energy
  • Depersonalization

Emotional fatigue causes important problems for the person who suffers, both in their personal well-being and in their interpersonal relationships. These difficulties can cause depressive states as a result of the "lack of control" felt by the person with emotional fatigue. Therefore, it is necessary to pay attention to the symptoms to avoid more unnecessary suffering. Emotional fatigue can indicate more serious problems (depression, burnout, etc.), so it is important to know the exact cause that causes it to be able to act with the intention of addressing the underlying problem.

Ways to cope with emotional fatigue

Emotional fatigue can be treated if symptoms are detected as soon as possible. To prevent further consequences, it is necessary to have certain skills to cope with stress (positive coping strategies, taking time off, etc.). But first of all, the first step is to recognize the emotional fatigue in us and find out what circumstance is causing it.


Mindfulness and self-reflection

Many investigations seem to indicate that Mindfulness can be useful for this type of problems, because it helps us to better manage our emotions. Sometimes, it can be easy to recognize what things cause us emotional exhaustion, and in others, we must go a little deeper to discover what their symptoms are indicating. Self-reflection can help us find out the triggers of emotional fatigue in us.

In addition, Mindfulness provides tools to disconnect from what produces tension . Being in the present moment, with an attitude of acceptance and compassion towards ourselves, minimizes the impact of emotionally stressful situations, and allows us to face these situations in a positive way.

On the other hand, physical exercise provides many benefits at the psychological level, so that the usual practice can cause an escape route for the mind: improves self-esteem and promotes the release of chemicals in the brain related to happiness and well-being In this sense, a healthy lifestyle, with good sleep hygiene or a healthy diet, is fundamental to face the day to day in the best possible way, and positively affects our emotional well-being.

Psychological therapy to treat emotional fatigue

Emotional fatigue can be overcome by following these tips. Do not forget that, if at some time you are overwhelmed by your symptoms, It is a good idea to consult the problem with a mental health professional , which will provide you with tools and techniques to solve the situation.


Tony Robbins: How to deal with STRESS and DEPRESSION - #MentorMeTony (May 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Fatigue émotionnelle: stratégies pour y faire face et la surmonter

Fatigue émotionnelle: stratégies pour y faire face et la surmonter

Novembre 30, 2022

Le fatigue émotionnelle Il s'agit d'épuisement mental lié à des symptômes prolongés de stress, d'anxiété ou de dépression. Nous pouvons tous ressentir cet épuisement émotionnel extrême de temps en temps, bien que certaines personnes aient tendance à le ressentir plus souvent, comme elles le sont déjà. plus sensible o plus empathique . Ceux qui souffrent de fatigue émotionnelle ont le sentiment d'avoir épuisé toutes leurs ressources émotionnelles et de ne plus rien avoir à donner aux autres.

Fatigue émotionnelle: définir le concept

La fatigue émotionnelle se produit dans différentes situations. Il est caractéristique de certains travaux liés à l'assistance à d'autres personnes (médecins, assistants sociaux, psychologues, pompiers, etc.), car le coût émotionnel de ces professions n'est pas toujours récompensé. Ce type de fatigue peut également être lié à des problèmes affectifs, liés à la difficulté de communiquer ou de s'adapter à l'environnement.


En outre, dans l'environnement de travail, la fatigue émotionnelle est un symptôme qui présente le syndrome de Burnout ou «syndrome de brûlure», qui touche les travailleurs qui ont atteint un très haut niveau d'épuisement physique et émotionnel.

Comment se manifeste la fatigue émotionnelle?

Fatigue émotionnelle se produit lorsqu'un individu a dépassé sa capacité à supporter un stress émotionnel prolongé . Il est habituel que les personnes qui en souffrent ne soient pas au courant de ses symptômes, car la démotivation et la fatigue émotionnelle, caractéristiques de ce phénomène, provoquent un comportement d'évitement et de rejet envers ses propres émotions. Ce type de fatigue se manifeste par des symptômes physiques et psychologiques. En voici quelques unes:


  • Faible tolérance au stress ou à des situations stressantes
  • Inattention
  • Manque de motivation et manque d'intérêt pour la vie
  • Fatigue physique ou perte d'énergie
  • Dépersonnalisation

La fatigue émotionnelle provoque des problèmes importants pour la personne qui en souffre, tant dans son bien-être personnel que dans ses relations interpersonnelles. Ces difficultés peuvent provoquer des états dépressifs en raison du "manque de contrôle" ressenti par la personne souffrant de fatigue émotionnelle. Par conséquent, il est nécessaire de faire attention aux symptômes pour éviter davantage de souffrances inutiles. La fatigue émotionnelle peut indiquer des problèmes plus graves (dépression, épuisement professionnel, etc.). il est important de connaître la cause exacte qui la cause pouvoir agir avec l'intention de résoudre le problème sous-jacent.

Façons de faire face à la fatigue émotionnelle

La fatigue émotionnelle peut être traitée si les symptômes sont détectés dès que possible. Pour éviter d’autres conséquences, il est nécessaire de disposer de compétences pour faire face au stress (stratégies d'adaptation positives, prendre du temps, etc.). Mais tout d’abord, la première étape consiste à reconnaître notre fatigue émotionnelle et à déterminer les circonstances qui la provoquent.


Pleine conscience et auto-réflexion

De nombreuses enquêtes semblent indiquer que la pleine conscience peut être utile pour ce type de problèmes, car elle nous aide à mieux gérer nos émotions. Parfois, il peut être facile de savoir ce qui nous cause l’épuisement émotionnel, et dans d’autres, nous devons aller un peu plus loin pour découvrir ce que leurs symptômes indiquent. L'auto-réflexion peut nous aider à découvrir les déclencheurs de la fatigue émotionnelle en nous.

En plus de la pleine conscience fournit des outils pour déconnecter de ce qui produit de la tension . Être dans le moment présent, avec une attitude d'acceptation et de compassion envers nous-mêmes, minimise l'impact des situations de stress émotionnel et nous permet de faire face à ces situations de manière positive.

D'autre part, l'exercice physique offre de nombreux avantages sur le plan psychologique, de sorte que la pratique habituelle peut constituer une issue pour l'esprit: améliore l'estime de soi et favorise la libération de substances chimiques dans le cerveau liées au bonheur et bien-être En ce sens, un mode de vie sain, avec une bonne hygiène de sommeil ou une alimentation saine, est fondamental pour faire face au jour le jour de la meilleure façon possible et influe positivement sur notre bien-être émotionnel.

Thérapie psychologique pour traiter la fatigue émotionnelle

La fatigue émotionnelle peut être surmontée en suivant ces conseils. N'oubliez pas que si, à un moment donné, vos symptômes vous dépassent, C'est une bonne idée de consulter le problème avec un professionnel de la santé mentale. , qui vous fournira des outils et des techniques pour résoudre la situation.


5 raisons pour lesquelles vous êtes fatigué (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes