yes, therapy helps!
Emotional instability: what is it and what signals can be detected?

Emotional instability: what is it and what signals can be detected?

January 25, 2022

Emotions are the foundation of our mental activity. Without them, we would not be able to guide our behavior towards any specific goal, nor would we know in an approximate way what we want and do not want in our lives.

However, the fact of having a resource as a wide range of emotions has a not so positive side: the possibility of experiencing emotional instability . Let's see what it is and in what ways it can appear.

  • Related article: "The 8 types of emotions (classification and description)"

What is emotional instability?

Emotional instability is a personality trait that belongs to the spectrum of neuroticism, and is expressed through the expression of relatively abrupt changes in a person's emotional state .


In some cases, emotional instability can be practically innocuous, if the context is propitious; but in other extreme cases, It can become a psychological phenomenon linked to discomfort both those who experience it in the first person and those who are close to the previous one.

Characteristics of emotionally unstable people

Among the typical characteristics of people with emotional instability, the following stand out.

1. Bias towards discomfort

It may seem that in certain aspects emotionally unstable people live life intensely, but the fact of being so sensitive to the changes that occur with each situation often causes them to focus their attention on those experiences that make them feel bad, either by anger, sadness or fear .


This is due to a bias aimed at trying to get away from discomfort, as a priority goal, more important than enjoying those moments of happiness.

2. Quick changes of mood

The emotional instability causes that the stimuli of the present are imposed easily to the emotional states derived from experiences that have happened recently, even though the new situations that unleash those emotions are apparently less important than what has happened to us before and has left us that good or bad taste in your mouth.

For example, someone with emotional instability who passed his driving test a few hours ago may feel very sad to see a television ad with a sad message.

3. Low tolerance to frustration

Emotionally unstable people they do not usually assimilate well the moments in which their expectations are frustrated , since they see these situations as added problems for the simple fact of being unexpected.


4. Complex personal relationships

In general, people with pronounced emotional instability come to have difficulties to have a social network and broad support , since their social skills suffer due to the low control over emotions.

The extreme case: affective lability

When the emotional instability becomes so pronounced that can be considered a symptom of a mental disorder , is known as affective lability. It is a common phenomenon in psychotic disorders such as schizophrenia, cyclothymia or bipolar disorder.

In these cases, the situation is serious and may even go hand in hand with other symptoms that strongly affect emotional states, such as hallucinations.

  • Related article: "Emotional lability: what is it and what are its symptoms?

Can you learn to control emotions?

In non-pathological cases of emotional instability, it is usually possible to train the ability to regulate emotions in a useful and adaptive way . However, for this purpose, psychological intervention is usually necessary with the help of professionals of this discipline.

The field of Emotional Intelligence , in particular, it is an area of ​​intervention that points towards promising discoveries. This mental aptitude is known to be related to general intelligence (measured by the IC) without being exactly the same, and that has to do with the ease with which we become happy.

To enjoy a better emotional balance, then, it is necessary to go through a series of practical situations that help us to draw habits of life that promote a joint and coherent vision of our experiences, as well as a modification of our fundamental beliefs by means of what is known as cognitive restructuring. In this way, tremendous interpretations of reality, which make us prone to sudden changes in mood, will lose strength in favor of a more realistic perception of things.


How to Identify Symptoms of Mental Illness in a Friend (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Instabilité émotionnelle: de quoi s'agit-il et quels signaux peuvent être détectés?

Instabilité émotionnelle: de quoi s'agit-il et quels signaux peuvent être détectés?

Mars 4, 2021

Les émotions sont le fondement de notre activité mentale. Sans eux, nous ne serions pas en mesure d'orienter notre comportement vers un objectif spécifique, ni de savoir approximativement ce que nous voulons et ce que nous ne voulons pas dans nos vies.

Cependant, le fait d’avoir une ressource comme un large éventail d’émotions a un côté moins positif: la possibilité d'éprouver une instabilité émotionnelle . Voyons ce que c'est et de quelle manière il peut apparaître.

  • Article connexe: "Les 8 types d'émotions (classification et description)"

Qu'est-ce que l'instabilité émotionnelle?

L’instabilité émotionnelle est un trait de personnalité qui appartient au spectre du neuroticisme et qui se traduit par l’expression de changements relativement brusques dans l'état émotionnel d'une personne .


Dans certains cas, l’instabilité émotionnelle peut être pratiquement inoffensive si le contexte est propice; mais dans d'autres cas extrêmes, Cela peut devenir un phénomène psychologique lié à un inconfort à la fois ceux qui en font l'expérience à la première personne et ceux qui sont proches de la précédente.

Caractéristiques des personnes émotionnellement instables

Parmi les caractéristiques typiques des personnes en instabilité émotionnelle, on distingue les suivantes.

1. Biais envers l'inconfort

Il peut sembler que, sous certains aspects, les personnes émotionnellement instables vivent intensément, mais le fait d’être très sensible aux changements qui surviennent dans chaque situation les pousse souvent à se concentrer davantage sur ces expériences qui les rendent mal à l'aise, soit par la colère, la tristesse ou la peur .


Cela est dû à un parti pris visant à essayer de sortir de la gêne, un objectif prioritaire, plus important que de profiter de ces moments de bonheur.

2. Changements rapides d'humeur

L’instabilité émotionnelle fait que les stimuli du présent s’imposent facilement aux états émotionnels dérivés d’expériences récentes, même si les nouvelles situations qui déclenchent ces émotions sont apparemment moins importantes que ce qui nous est arrivé auparavant et nous a quittées ce bon ou mauvais goût dans votre bouche.

Par exemple, une personne instable sur le plan émotionnel qui a passé son permis de conduire il y a quelques heures peut se sentir très triste de voir une publicité télévisée avec un message triste.

3. Faible tolérance à la frustration

Personnes émotionnellement instables ils n'assimilent généralement pas bien les moments où leurs attentes sont frustrées , car ils voient ces situations comme des problèmes supplémentaires pour le simple fait d’être inattendues.


4. Relations personnelles complexes

En général, les personnes présentant une instabilité émotionnelle prononcée en viennent à avoir difficultés à avoir un réseau social et large soutien , car leurs compétences sociales souffrent du manque de contrôle des émotions.

Le cas extrême: la labilité affective

Quand l'instabilité émotionnelle devient si prononcée que peut être considéré comme un symptôme d'un trouble mental , est connu sous le nom de labilité affective. C'est un phénomène courant dans les troubles psychotiques tels que la schizophrénie, la cyclothymie ou le trouble bipolaire.

Dans ces cas, la situation est grave et peut même aller de pair avec d’autres symptômes qui affectent fortement les états émotionnels, tels que les hallucinations.

  • Article connexe: "La labilité émotionnelle: qu'est-ce que c'est et quels sont ses symptômes?"

Pouvez-vous apprendre à contrôler les émotions?

Dans les cas d’instabilité émotionnelle non pathologique, il est généralement possible de former la capacité de réguler les émotions de manière utile et adaptative . Cependant, à cette fin, une intervention psychologique est généralement nécessaire avec l'aide de professionnels de cette discipline.

Le domaine de l'intelligence émotionnelle c'est en particulier un domaine d'intervention qui ouvre la voie à des découvertes prometteuses. On sait que cette aptitude mentale est liée à l’intelligence générale (mesurée par le CI) sans être exactement la même chose, et cela a à voir avec la facilité avec laquelle nous devenons heureux.

Pour jouir d'un meilleur équilibre émotionnel, il est donc nécessaire de passer en revue une série de situations pratiques qui nous aident à dessiner des habitudes de vie qui favorisent une vision commune et cohérente de nos expériences ainsi qu'une modification de nos croyances connu sous le nom de restructuration cognitive. De cette manière, les interprétations extraordinaires de la réalité, qui nous rendent sujets à de brusques changements d'humeur, perdront de leur force au profit d'une perception plus réaliste des choses.


Pourquoi il est crucial d'assumer sa lâcheté ! (Mars 2021).


Articles Connexes