yes, therapy helps!
Emotional Intelligence and Positive Psychology: discovering the keys to success

Emotional Intelligence and Positive Psychology: discovering the keys to success

May 6, 2024

Emotions are perhaps one of those spheres of personality that we rarely value and that in western culture tend to continue to be considered something like irrational : mere outbursts of our animality that take us away from the ideal of logical, quasi-machine men.

Although it is also very true that this vision is no longer as strong as it was in the times of the Enlightenment, The truth is that it continues to exist and continues to permeate a dualistic vision that separates reason from the heart" or rather, of emotions.

Two essential concepts: Positive Psychology and Emotional Intelligence

This conception of the human person that falls more within the scope of philosophical study and discussion has had repercussions beyond the merely theoretical. Indeed, in its moment the enlightened vision led to important political and social changes attested in any history book and together with them a huge scientific and industrial advance that in a few decades advanced by leaps and bounds and whose benefits and consequences we continue living today.


Suffice it to observe life always fast and moving in any big city, especially in industrialized countries; the need for efficiency and effectiveness as well as success both personally and socially, the transformation of social relationships from new technologies and social networks where a deep thought does not have more than 140 characters or lasts more than a few hours how much or where the vision that a person has changes according to their Facebook status ; the need to overcome separativity[i] by entering into the game of the supply and demand market in love based more on sentimentality and, unfortunately, on sex appeal; the change in the way of understanding the term traditional equality that held the Christian view of the world to one where equality it is no longer being the same in nature but with intrinsic differences that made us different and we looked for unity, but where equality it has become synonymous with identity [ii]. Numerous authors have studied and written about the consequences of contemporary society: Frankl, Fromm, Goleman, among others.


"Know yourself"

Now, faced with this reality facing the world in which we live, Psychology has chosen to return, in fact, to a very basic principle: Know yourself . As old as the oracle of Delphi from where the legend says that it arose and always important because man is always the same beyond the change of his social and historical circumstances. This old and always new saying has been translated today in the so-called emotional intelligence that could be broadly defined as "the ability or ability to know how to perceive, understand and manage one's emotions" [iii].

Emotions are thus conceived not as something extrinsic to be of the human person, but as an integral part of the whole capable of entering the realm of reason and, consequently, of being channeled for the good of the person and society. This means that emotions are not enemies to be oppressed or controlled, but rather a way to develop, capable of being trained and apprehended so that the person can use them to their full potential, not only having one more life. healthy and harmonious, but also the ability to face the adversities that arise in it.


The road to emotional intelligence

Getting the best out of the human being is perhaps one of the most praiseworthy and noble things that Psychology is doing today. Since psychological science began to conform as such, special emphasis was always given to what was wrong with the human being: Mental disorders, the unconscious and the Freudian theory . The vision that one still has of psychology is still that of a kind of madman in many places and in some way promoted by the mass media.

Emotional Intelligence is just one of those new trends in which the focus, without forgetting the weak side of Man, looks more to what we do in fact: The positive evaluation of emotions, the search for happiness and its achievement, love, strengths and virtues, Being able to achieve the goals set are some of the new areas as psychology wants to help the human being.

Positive Psychology: the foundations of the perfectible being

This new approach is what we call Positive Psychology . It is not just about accusing man of a fatalistic determinism (psychoanalysis and classical behaviorism), but of seeing him as a s er perfectible , always open to improve and, above all, not as a sick being to be diagnosed.

This is perhaps one of the most indispensable things in this century full of noise, ever changing information, social and electronic networks, and a market eager to have professionals who fit in their molds on the one hand, and, on the other, consumers of increasingly perishable items.

What Emotional Intelligence and Positive Psychology give to the world is the ability to be a person: Not losing my self in front of everything that surrounds me (reification) and, above all, giving the tools to be able to live fully .

Bibiliographic references:

  • Coon, D. and Mitterer, J. (2010) Introduction to psychology: Access to mind and behavior. Mexico D. F .: Cengage learning
  • Fromm, E. (2000) The art of Loving. Mexico D. F .: Paidós
  • Goleman, D. (1995) Intelligence thrillsl. Mexico D. F .: Javier Vergara Editor
  • Pretelín, F. (2012) Referendum Twitter. Mexico D. F .: Coyoacán
  • Rojas, E. (1992) The Light man, a life without values. Mexico D. F .: Booke
  • //www.youtube.com/watch?v=GhKPpYCCXLs
  • //www.youtube.com/watch?v=WcZrUtDYqb8&index = ...
  • [i] Fromm, E. (2000) The art of love. Mexico D. F .: Paidós, p. 19
  • [ii] Cf. FROMM, E. Ob. Cit., P. 24-25

Documentary on Emotional Intelligence: What is your emotions not telling you? MUST WATCH (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Intelligence émotionnelle et psychologie positive: découvrir les clés du succès

Intelligence émotionnelle et psychologie positive: découvrir les clés du succès

Mai 20, 2022

Les émotions sont peut-être l’une de ces sphères de la personnalité que nous valorisons rarement et qui, dans la culture occidentale, ont tendance à continuer d’être considérées comme telles. irrationnel : de simples explosions de notre animalité qui nous éloignent de l’idéal des hommes logiques et quasi-machine.

Il est également vrai que cette vision n’est plus aussi forte qu’au temps des Lumières, La vérité est qu’il continue d’exister et qu’il imprègne une vision dualiste qui sépare raison du coeur" ou plutôt des émotions.

Deux concepts essentiels: psychologie positive et intelligence émotionnelle

Cette conception de la personne humaine qui relève davantage de l’étude et de la discussion philosophiques a eu des répercussions au-delà du purement théorique. En effet, à ce moment-là, la vision éclairée a conduit à d'importants changements politiques et sociaux attestés dans tous les livres d'histoire et, avec eux, un énorme progrès scientifique et industriel qui, en quelques décennies, a progressé à pas de géant et dont nous continuons à vivre avantages et conséquences.


Il suffit d'observer la vie toujours rapidement et en mouvement dans n'importe quelle grande ville, en particulier dans les pays industrialisés; le besoin d'efficience et d'efficacité ainsi que de succès tant sur le plan personnel que social, la transformation des relations sociales à partir des nouvelles technologies et des réseaux sociaux où une pensée profonde ne compte pas plus de 140 caractères ou dure plus de quelques heures combien ou où la vision qu'une personne a changé en fonction de son statut Facebook ; le besoin de surmonter séparativité[i] en entrant dans le jeu du marché de l'offre et de la demande amoureux reposant davantage sur la sentimentalité et, malheureusement, sur le sex-appeal; le changement dans la manière de comprendre le terme «égalité traditionnelle» qui maintenait la vision chrétienne du monde en un égalité ce n’est plus la même nature mais des différences intrinsèques qui nous ont différenciés et nous avons cherché conduire, mais où égalité il est devenu synonyme d'identité [ii]. De nombreux auteurs ont étudié et écrit sur les conséquences de la société contemporaine: Frankl, Fromm, Goleman, entre autres.


"Apprenez a vous connaître"

Maintenant, face à cette réalité à laquelle le monde dans lequel nous vivons sont confrontés, la psychologie a choisi de revenir à un principe de base: Apprenez a vous connaître . Aussi vieux que le oracle de Delphes d'où la légende dit que cela est apparu et toujours important parce que l'homme est toujours le même au-delà du changement de ses circonstances sociales et historiques. Ce vieil adage, toujours nouveau, a été traduit aujourd’hui dans ce que l’on appelle l’intelligence émotionnelle, que l’on pourrait définir au sens large comme "la capacité ou la capacité de savoir percevoir, comprendre et gérer ses émotions" [iii].

Les émotions ne sont donc pas conçues comme un élément extrinsèque de la personne humaine, mais comme une partie intégrante de l'ensemble capable d'entrer dans le domaine de la raison. et, par conséquent, d'être canalisé pour le bien de la personne et de la société. Cela signifie que les émotions ne sont pas des ennemis à opprimer ou à contrôler, mais plutôt un moyen de se développer, capable d'être formé et appréhendé afin que la personne puisse les utiliser à son plein potentiel, en plus d'avoir une vie en plus. sain et harmonieux, mais aussi la capacité de faire face aux adversités qui se produisent en elle.


Le chemin de l'intelligence émotionnelle

Tirer le meilleur parti de l'être humain est peut-être l'une des choses les plus louables et les plus nobles que la psychologie accomplisse aujourd'hui. Depuis que la science psychologique a commencé à se conformer comme telle, l'accent a toujours été mis sur ce qui n'allait pas avec l'être humain: Troubles mentaux, l'inconscient et la théorie freudienne . La vision que l’on a encore de la psychologie est toujours celle d’une sorte de fou en de nombreux endroits et d’une certaine manière promue par les médias.

L'intelligence émotionnelle n'est qu'une de ces nouvelles tendances dans lequel l'accent est mis, sans oublier le côté faible de l'homme, sur ce que nous faisons en réalité: l'évaluation positive des émotions, la recherche du bonheur et de son accomplissement, l'amour, les forces et les vertus, Pouvoir atteindre les objectifs fixés fait partie des nouveaux domaines dans lesquels la psychologie veut aider l'être humain.

Psychologie positive: les fondements de l'être perfectible

Cette nouvelle approche est ce que nous appelons Psychologie positive . Il ne s’agit pas seulement d’accuser l’homme d’un déterminisme fataliste (psychanalyse et comportementalisme classique), mais de le voir comme un s er perfectible , toujours ouvert à l’amélioration et, surtout, pas comme un être malade à diagnostiquer.

C’est peut-être l’une des choses les plus indispensables de ce siècle, pleine de bruits, d’informations en constante évolution, de réseaux sociaux et électroniques, et d’un marché qui souhaite ardemment avoir des professionnels qui tiennent dans leur moule d’une part et, de l’autre, des consommateurs de articles de plus en plus périssables.

Ce que l’intelligence émotionnelle et la psychologie positive confèrent au monde, c’est la capacité d’être une personne: Ne pas me perdre face à tout ce qui m'entoure (réification) et, surtout, donner les outils pour vivre pleinement .

Références bibliographiques:

  • Coon, D. et Mitterer, J. (2010) Introduction à la psychologie: accès à l'esprit et au comportement. Mexico D. F.: Cengage learning
  • Fromm, E. (2000) L'art d'aimer. Mexique D. F.: Paidós
  • Goleman, D. (1995) Sensations d'intelligencel. Mexico D. F.: Javier Vergara Editeur
  • Pretelín, F. (2012) Référendum Twitter. Mexique D. F.: Coyoacán
  • Rojas, E. (1992) L'homme de lumière, une vie sans valeurs. Mexico D. F.: Booke
  • //www.youtube.com/watch?v=GhKPpYCCXLs
  • //www.youtube.com/watch?v=WcZrUtDYqb8&index = ...
  • [i] Fromm, E. (2000) L'art de l'amour. Mexico D. F.: Paidós, p. 19
  • [ii] Cf. FROMM, E. Ob. Cit., P. 24-25

La puissance de l'Intention (Documentaire) (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes