yes, therapy helps!
Emotions: 5 emotional ingredients in the sauce of life

Emotions: 5 emotional ingredients in the sauce of life

May 26, 2022

It is a fairly simple task for any self-respecting person, trying to establish an analogy between the emotions or feelings that we can experience throughout our life and the different flavors that we taste , coming from the mixture of foods that make up our diet.

That pleasure that we experience when tasting an excellent food, that runs through our 5 senses and plunges us into a kind of state of fullness and harmony, due in part to the skill of a great chef to combine and cook food, can be similar to the state of abstraction underlying the contemplation of a beautiful natural landscape or the first days of a love that seemed impossible, for example.


  • Related article: "Emotional psychology: main theories of emotion"

The taste of emotions

Life can also evoke certain flavors in certain moments, as it has been suggested in countless literary works, songs or movies, which form part of the collective imaginary as an emotional synesthesia. In this way, we could find the following associations among others:

1. Sweet

Following popular philosophy, we understand that sweet moments are those associated with moments of success, whether personal, professional or similar. We understand that a person goes through a sweet moment when things are coming out in line with their expectations or even better. We could compare that taste then with emotions such as joy or sentimental states such as euphoria, satisfaction, love , etc.


2. Salty

Say that a person is salty (or 'leave' that would say the Andalusians) or that has salt, fundamentally has to do with the ability that person has to overcome their fear of making a fool of themselves or what others will say. That is to say, to orientate towards fun in everyday situations or in short, to enjoy certain events, knowing how to contribute a little more salt.

3. Bitter

When we imagine a bitter person, we usually imagine a person angry with the world, complaining or moody, who has no difficulty expressing his anger right and left. We can also think about sad, or melancholic people who encounter difficulties to be able to enjoy their lives, independently of whether or not there are objective factors that justify it.


  • Maybe you're interested: "73 phrases of melancholy to understand this feeling"

4. Spicy

Saying that a situation has become spicy or that this or that person is "picantona" usually evokes a certain state of excitement of a sexual nature mainly, related to emotional tension of pleasurable nature , in most cases, aroused by a situation "rise in tone". It is true that you can not say that everyone enjoys the spicy, just as there are people who, either because of inexperience, personal pudors or several other factors, find it difficult to experience this exciting sensation as pleasurable.

5. Acid

In the case of sour taste, I can not stop thinking about a type of humor without filters, in the style of Hugh Laurie -protagonist of the series of "House" -, in which the feelings themselves are expressed without taking into account those of others .

It also perfectly reflects the states of pressure to which certain people with high levels of self-demand, who experience anxiety, stress or various emotional tensions, derived from obsessive thinking styles in a pessimistic premonitory format, also called concerns, are submitted.

Curiously, these emotional states are associated with digestive disorders mainly of the gastritis type, heartburn and other problems of a psychosomatic nature.

Emotional regulation is like making a recipe

Learning to manage our emotions, knowing how to interpret the situations and changes that life has in store for us is an art, an art that can be learned, in the same way that a magnificent chef combines the ingredients to enrich his sauces, we can learn to favor certain interpretations of our reality , so that our vital tasting is fuller. Bon appetit!


Q&A! MISCARRIAGE EMOTIONS, IVY, FOOD! (May 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Emotions: 5 ingrédients émotionnels dans la sauce de la vie

Emotions: 5 ingrédients émotionnels dans la sauce de la vie

Février 24, 2020

C’est une tâche assez simple pour toute personne qui se respecte, essayant d’établir une analogie entre les émotions ou les sentiments que nous pouvons vivre tout au long de notre vie et les différentes saveurs que nous dégustons , provenant du mélange des aliments qui composent notre alimentation.

Ce plaisir que nous éprouvons lorsque nous goûtons une excellente nourriture, qui traverse nos 5 sens et nous plonge dans une sorte d’état de plénitude et d’harmonie, dû en partie à la capacité d’un grand chef à combiner et à cuisiner des plats, peut être semblable à l’état d'abstraction sous-jacente à la contemplation d'un beau paysage naturel ou aux premiers jours d'un amour qui semblait impossible, par exemple.


  • Article connexe: "Psychologie émotionnelle: principales théories de l'émotion"

Le goût des émotions

La vie peut aussi évoquer certaines saveurs à certains moments, comme le suggèrent d'innombrables œuvres littéraires, chansons ou films, qui font partie de l'imaginaire collectif en tant que synesthésie émotionnelle. De cette façon, nous pourrions trouver les associations suivantes parmi d'autres:

1. doux

Suivant la philosophie populaire, nous comprenons que les moments doux sont ceux associés aux moments de succès, qu’ils soient personnels, professionnels ou similaires. Nous comprenons qu’une personne traverse un moment doux au cours duquel les choses se déroulent conformément à ses attentes ou même mieux. Nous pourrions comparer ce goût alors avec des émotions telles que la joie ou des états sentimentaux tels que l'euphorie, la satisfaction, l'amour etc.


2. salé

Dire qu’une personne est salée (ou «laisse» qui dirait les Andalous) ou qu’elle a du sel, a fondamentalement à voir avec la capacité de cette personne à surmonter sa peur de se ridiculiser ou de dire ce que les autres diront. C'est-à-dire, s'orienter vers le plaisir au quotidien ou bien, profiter de certains événements en sachant contribuer un peu plus en sel.

3. amer

Lorsque nous imaginons une personne amère, nous imaginons généralement une personne en colère contre le monde, qui se plaint ou qui est de mauvaise humeur, qui n’a aucune difficulté à exprimer sa colère à droite et à gauche. On peut aussi penser à personnes tristes ou mélancoliques qui rencontrent des difficultés pouvoir jouir de leur vie, qu’il existe ou non des facteurs objectifs qui le justifient.


  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "73 phrases de mélancolie pour comprendre ce sentiment"

4. épicé

Dire qu'une situation est devenue épicée ou que telle personne est "picantona" évoque généralement un certain état d'excitation de nature sexuelle principalement, liée à la tension émotionnelle de nature agréable , dans la plupart des cas, suscité par une situation "monte de ton". Il est vrai que vous ne pouvez pas dire que tout le monde apprécie l’épicé, de même qu’il existe des personnes qui, du fait de leur manque d’expérience, de pudors personnels ou de plusieurs autres facteurs, ont du mal à expérimenter cette sensation excitante comme étant agréable.

5. acide

Dans le cas du goût acidulé, je ne peux m'empêcher de penser à un type d'humour sans filtres, à la manière de Hugh Laurie - protagoniste de la série de "House" -, dans laquelle les sentiments eux-mêmes sont exprimés sans prendre en compte ceux des autres .

Il reflète également parfaitement les états de pression auxquels sont soumises certaines personnes très exigeantes, qui souffrent d'anxiété, de stress ou de tensions émotionnelles diverses, dérivées de modes de pensée obsessionnels dans un format prémonitoire pessimiste, également appelé préoccupations.

Curieusement, ces états émotionnels sont associés à des troubles de la digestion, principalement du type gastrite, des brûlures d’estomac et d’autres problèmes de nature psychosomatique.

La régulation émotionnelle est comme faire une recette

Apprendre à gérer nos émotions, savoir interpréter les situations et les changements que la vie nous réserve est un art, un art qui s’apprend, tout comme un chef magnifique combine les ingrédients pour enrichir ses sauces, nous pouvons apprendre à privilégier certaines interprétations de notre réalité , de sorte que notre dégustation vitale est plus complète. Bon appétit!


Les vertus de la raw food avec Marie-Sophie L (Février 2020).


Articles Connexes