yes, therapy helps!
Empathic Leadership: empowering teamwork with empathy

Empathic Leadership: empowering teamwork with empathy

November 29, 2022

Nowadays, we are looking for and developing a new type of figure to form groups in team work: the empathic leader. This new role has much to do with a generational change, with a more open mentality towards workers, thus breaking with the traditional scheme of the authoritarian boss.

The same concept comprises a human quality: empathy. Empathetic leadership is that leadership whose way of fitting into a group of individuals is based on the connection between people and human and close treatment. Understanding others and enhancing their feelings within the group becomes a necessity.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 15 types of bosses: with which of them do you share an office?"

Defining empathic leadership

There is fierce competition within the labor market. In the labor market an added value is sought, an extra plus that can make a difference from the rest. That is, companies no longer seek only professional or academic knowledge. The big or small firms look for that pedagogical and emotional characteristic in a candidate that is going to captain the personnel.


Thus, the empathic leadership pretends to be based on a deeper understanding of each member of a team . Knowing their skills, their virtues, their shortcomings, their communication, cooperation and integration skills. The ultimate goal of this technique is to enhance the work performance and involve all the members of the group.

Leader vs. Boss

Note the differences between "the boss" and "the leader." The first holds a hierarchical position within a company . This is someone who is expressly dedicated to distribute guidelines and transmit orders in different tasks, without much room to discern or show opposition to what is ordered.


The leader, however, wins the sympathy, his own subordinates transfer that power, that legitimacy. The difference between the two profiles is a matter of attitude. Empathic leadership is formed on the basis of trust and mutual respect between worker and superior.

  • Related article: "The 10 differences between a boss and a leader"

Characteristics of the empathic leader

Empathic leadership is not limited only to empathy as a defining model. It responds to a series of bases and qualities that are much deeper than the personalist attitude.

Specifically, these are the 7 pillars of empathic leadership:

1. Humility

This is the basic principle of this type of leadership. Arrogance, arrogance or denigration are concepts that are antagonistic to empathy. A good leader should treat all the members with respect and without compromising their dignity, simply.


2. Flexibility

This translates directly into a lack of unjustified rigidity, without forgetting that the final word in decision-making is still the leader. Often you lose authority if you do not take good care of this detail .

3. Passion

The figure of the leader must show at all times an active attitude and energy . This has to transmit these values ​​to the rest of the group, so that all row in the same direction.

4. Values

In many of the companies and groups there is this lack when transmitting certain values. Corporatism is very important in the development of a business, and leadership must set an example and reinforce the company's principles .

5. Knowledge

The leader, more than anyone else, has to demonstrate absolute knowledge of the subject matter. This is the added value that respect for other team members will imply. It is very important to justify leadership for own merits and fitness .

6. Trust

Another of the last elements to demonstrate good leadership. The head of the group must show confidence in the capacities of the other members, and ask them about how to make or break.

7. Learning

As much as knowledge is a quality of any candidate to lead or lead a determined group, Extra learning never hurts . Above all, learning from the same group members, there must be feedback from both parties and a good leader needs to listen to others to grow professionally.

Why does this phenomenon appear?

All this responds to a generational evolution in all aspects. Sociology has been in charge of demonstrating that we are heading towards a more collectivist, less hierarchical society in which consensus is more valued.

In this way, this has also been transferred and applied in the business field. Our parents' times were different. Decades ago the boss was the highest authority , no matter too much the needs of each worker. This archaic way of managing a group of people was often discussed.

Empathic leadership arises from a need to improve productive performance combined with a change of values ​​at the social level . It is necessary to give a personal and individual value to each of the individuals that are part of a group.

Thus, numerous studies and reports have highlighted the effectiveness and productivity of implementing an empathic leadership model, being the only one that can respond to different needs and concerns to increase group welfare.

  • Maybe you're interested: "21 fun and useful teamwork dynamics"

Brené Brown on Empathy (November 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Leadership empathique: responsabiliser le travail d'équipe avec empathie

Leadership empathique: responsabiliser le travail d'équipe avec empathie

Avril 16, 2021

De nos jours, nous recherchons et développons un nouveau type de personnage pour former des groupes de travail en équipe: le leader empathique. Ce nouveau rôle a beaucoup à voir avec un changement de génération, avec une mentalité plus ouverte envers les travailleurs, rompant ainsi avec le schéma traditionnel du patron autoritaire.

Le même concept comprend une qualité humaine: l'empathie. Leadership empathique C’est ce leadership dont la façon de s’intégrer dans un groupe d’individus repose sur le lien entre l’être humain et le traitement de proximité. Comprendre les autres et renforcer leurs sentiments au sein du groupe devient une nécessité.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 15 types de patrons: avec lequel partagez-vous un bureau?"

Définir le leadership empathique

Il y a une concurrence féroce sur le marché du travail. Sur le marché du travail une valeur ajoutée est recherchée, un atout supplémentaire qui peut faire la différence. Autrement dit, les entreprises ne recherchent plus uniquement des connaissances professionnelles ou académiques. Les grandes ou les petites entreprises recherchent cette caractéristique pédagogique et émotionnelle chez un candidat au poste de capitaine.


Ainsi, la direction empathique prétend être basée sur une compréhension plus profonde de chaque membre d'une équipe . Connaissant leurs compétences, leurs vertus, leurs lacunes, leurs compétences en communication, coopération et intégration. Le but ultime de cette technique est d’améliorer les performances au travail et d’impliquer tous les membres du groupe.

Chef vs. Patron

Notez les différences entre "le patron" et "le chef". Le premier occupe une position hiérarchique au sein d'une entreprise . C'est quelqu'un qui est expressément dédié à la distribution de directives et à la transmission d'ordres dans différentes tâches, sans grande marge de manœuvre pour discerner ou montrer l'opposition à ce qui est commandé.


Le chef gagne cependant la sympathie, ses propres subordonnés transfèrent ce pouvoir, cette légitimité. La différence entre les deux profils est une question d'attitude. Le leadership empathique est formé sur la base de la confiance et du respect mutuel entre ouvrier et supérieur.

  • Article connexe: "Les 10 différences entre un chef et un chef"

Caractéristiques du chef empathique

Le leadership empathique ne se limite pas à l’empathie en tant que modèle déterminant. Il répond à une série de bases et de qualités beaucoup plus profondes que l'attitude personnaliste.

Plus précisément, ce sont les 7 piliers du leadership empathique:

1. humilité

C'est le principe de base de ce type de leadership. L'arrogance, l'arrogance ou le dénigrement sont des concepts antagonistes à l'empathie. Un bon dirigeant doit traiter tous les membres avec respect et sans compromettre sa dignité, simplement.


2. Flexibilité

Cela se traduit directement par un manque de rigidité injustifiée, sans oublier que le dernier mot de la prise de décision reste le leader. Souvent vous perdez l'autorité si vous ne prenez pas soin de ce détail .

3. passion

La figure du chef doit montrer à tout moment une attitude active et de l'énergie . Cela doit transmettre ces valeurs au reste du groupe, de sorte que toutes les lignes dans la même direction.

4. Valeurs

Dans beaucoup d'entreprises et de groupes, il y a ce manque lors de la transmission de certaines valeurs. Le corporatisme est très important dans le développement d’une entreprise et le leadership doit donner l'exemple et renforcer les principes de l'entreprise .

5. connaissances

Le leader, plus que quiconque, doit démontrer une connaissance absolue du sujet. C’est la valeur ajoutée que le respect des autres membres de l’équipe impliquera. Il est très important de justifier le leadership pour ses propres mérites et fitness .

6. confiance

Un autre des derniers éléments à démontrer un bon leadership. Le responsable du groupe doit montrer sa confiance dans les capacités des autres membres et leur demander comment ils vont réussir ou se défaire.

7. apprentissage

Autant que la connaissance soit une qualité pour tout candidat de diriger ou de diriger un groupe déterminé, L'apprentissage supplémentaire ne fait jamais de mal . Surtout, apprendre des mêmes membres du groupe, il doit y avoir un retour des deux parties et un bon leader doit écouter les autres pour se développer professionnellement.

Pourquoi ce phénomène apparaît-il?

Tout cela répond à une évolution générationnelle à tous points de vue. La sociologie a été chargée de démontrer que nous nous dirigeons vers une société plus collectiviste, moins hiérarchisée, dans laquelle le consensus est plus valorisé.

De cette manière, cela a également été transféré et appliqué dans le domaine des affaires. Les temps de nos parents étaient différents. Il y a des décennies, le patron était la plus haute autorité , peu importe les besoins de chaque travailleur. Cette façon archaïque de gérer un groupe de personnes a souvent été discutée.

Le leadership empathique découle de la nécessité d'améliorer la performance productive combiné avec un changement de valeurs au niveau social . Il est nécessaire de donner une valeur personnelle et individuelle à chacun des individus appartenant à un groupe.

Ainsi, de nombreuses études et rapports ont mis en évidence l'efficacité et la productivité de la mise en œuvre d'un modèle de leadership empathique, étant le seul à même de répondre à différents besoins et préoccupations pour accroître le bien-être du groupe.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "21 dynamiques de travail d'équipe amusantes et utiles"

Ebola Contact Tracers Need Two Very Different Skills - Factpod #14 (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes