yes, therapy helps!
Empty Nest Syndrome: when loneliness takes over the home

Empty Nest Syndrome: when loneliness takes over the home

January 25, 2022

The Empty Nest Syndrome It is a disorder associated with the process of loss suffered by parents when children leave the family home.

Empty Nest Syndrome

Have you ever wondered how the moods ? The answer to this question is complex, since they are born in the middle of a torrent of information that comes from both the inside and the outside of the person. We are not emotionally autonomous beings, with feelings that arise spontaneously in us and turn outward in our acts and our way of expressing affective states; in any case, n Our feelings are born in the continuous feedback with what happens around us .


Bearing this in mind, it is not strange to think that our emotional states are due, at least in part, to the type of relationship we have with others and the degree to which we have the opportunity to relate to certain people.

Definition: the solitude of the silent home

The Empty Nest Syndrome It is a clear example of this. This concept is used to refer to the feeling of loneliness and sadness experienced by parents, mothers and caregivers in general when the young people they once occupied become emancipated and stop sharing a house with them . It is common for the Empty Nest Syndrome to occur when the children leave home to move to the city where their faculty is located, when they decide to live alone and take care of themselves or when they get married. In all cases something similar happens: something changes in the day-to-day of the caregivers, because certain people stop being as present as before.


This sense of loss does not have to be based only on the absence of treatment with the children, but it can have a negative effect on the self-image if great value was given to the fact of being responsible for caring for another person. The search for a meaning to what is done can be disrupted if much of that existential effort has to do with the upbringing and care of others.

Differences between men and women

A simple variation like going from sharing a house with a child to stopping doing so can profoundly disrupt the repertoire of emotional states of parents and guardians, because the emotions are related to the objective changes that occur in the context .

However, at present the context is determined, in part, by the gender assigned to each person. As for the gender bias women have had a traditional role linked to parenting and the domestic sphere, also are the most likely to experience the Empty Nest Syndrome : an inequality embodied objectively (the distribution of domestic tasks) also involves variations in the perception of this objectivity (the departure of the children from the home).


But, in addition, it is possible that part of the reasons why women tend to experience more this feeling of loss is in the fact that these episodes frequently coincide with menopause.

That does not mean that men can not develop the typical symptoms of the Empty Nest Syndrome, but in statistical terms it is less common to occur.

What is happening with the Empty Nest Syndrome in our day?

It is very possible that in recent years the effects of the Empty Nest Syndrome are being affected by the changes in life habits and the economic crisis . On the one hand, there is a growing number of young adults unable to emancipate themselves due to lack of income. On the other hand, the fact that birth rates are falling in many countries may reflect that there are more and more families with only one child, which could mean that their emancipation would mean a more abrupt change.

In addition, the demands of a stricter labor market lead many young people to work far from their usual place of residence, which makes family conciliation difficult and makes meetings with parents less frequent and more spaced over time.

Nor is it so frequent that there is little time between the children emancipating and the time when they have a child, so in some cases people who live with the Empty Nest Syndrome they do not even have the opportunity to take care of their grandchildren (which, on the other hand, if they exist, could be hundreds of kilometers away).

The partial loss of contact with a son or daughter may seem difficult to cope with, but the way in which this is experienced depends in large part on material conditions such as those provided by the labor market and the economic situation of the child. the families.


THE EMPTY NEST SYNDROME (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Syndrome du nid vide: quand la solitude envahit la maison

Syndrome du nid vide: quand la solitude envahit la maison

Septembre 4, 2022

Le Syndrome du nid vide Il s'agit d'un trouble associé au processus de perte subi par les parents lorsque les enfants quittent le domicile familial.

Syndrome du nid vide

Vous êtes-vous déjà demandé comment le humeurs ? La réponse à cette question est complexe, car ils sont nés au milieu d’un torrent d’informations qui viennent de l’intérieur et de l’extérieur de la personne. Nous ne sommes pas des êtres émotionnellement autonomes, avec des sentiments qui surgissent spontanément en nous et se tournent vers l'extérieur dans nos actes et notre façon d'exprimer des états affectifs; en tout cas, n Nos sentiments sont nés dans la rétroaction continue avec ce qui se passe autour de nous .


En gardant cela à l'esprit, il n'est pas étonnant de penser que nos états émotionnels sont dus, du moins en partie, au type de relation que nous entretenons avec d'autres et à la mesure dans laquelle nous avons la possibilité de nouer des relations avec certaines personnes.

Définition: la solitude de la maison silencieuse

Le Syndrome du nid vide C'est un exemple clair de cela. Ce concept est utilisé pour désigner le sentiment de solitude et de tristesse ressenti par les parents, les mères et les dispensateurs de soins en général. quand les jeunes qu'ils occupaient autrefois s'émancipent et cessent de partager une maison avec eux . Il est courant que le syndrome du nid vide se produise lorsque les enfants quittent leur foyer pour aller s'installer dans la ville où se trouve leur faculté, lorsqu'ils décident de vivre seuls et de prendre soin de eux-mêmes ou lorsqu'ils se marient. Dans tous les cas, quelque chose de similaire se produit: quelque chose change dans le quotidien des aidants, car certaines personnes cessent d'être aussi présentes qu'avant.


Ce sentiment de perte ne doit pas nécessairement être fondé sur l’absence de traitement avec les enfants, mais il peut avoir un effet négatif sur l’image de soi si l’on accorde une grande importance au fait d’être responsable de prendre soin d’une autre personne. La recherche d'un sens à ce qui est fait peut être perturbée si l'essentiel de cet effort existentiel a à voir avec l'éducation et le soin des autres.

Différences entre hommes et femmes

Une simple variation, comme passer de la maison commune à un enfant à cesser de le faire, peut profondément perturber le répertoire des états émotionnels des parents et des tuteurs, car les émotions sont liées aux changements objectifs qui se produisent dans le contexte .

Cependant, à l'heure actuelle, le contexte est déterminé en partie par le sexe attribué à chaque personne. Comme pour le sexisme les femmes ont eu un rôle traditionnel lié à la parentalité et à la sphère domestique, également sont les plus susceptibles de souffrir du syndrome du nid vide : une inégalité objectivement matérialisée (la répartition des tâches domestiques) implique également des variations dans la perception de cette objectivité (le départ des enfants du foyer).


Mais, en outre, il est possible qu'une partie des raisons pour lesquelles les femmes ont tendance à ressentir davantage ce sentiment de perte réside dans le fait que ces épisodes coïncident souvent avec la ménopause.

Cela ne signifie pas que les hommes ne peuvent pas développer les symptômes typiques du syndrome du nid vide, mais en termes statistiques, il est moins fréquent de se produire.

Que se passe-t-il avec le syndrome du nid vide à notre époque?

Il est fort possible que ces dernières années les effets du syndrome du nid vide soient affectés par la changements d'habitudes de vie et la crise économique . D'une part, il y a un nombre croissant de jeunes adultes incapables de s'émanciper par manque de revenus. D'autre part, le fait que les taux de natalité soient en baisse dans de nombreux pays peut indiquer qu'il y a de plus en plus de familles avec un seul enfant, ce qui pourrait signifier que leur émancipation signifierait un changement plus brutal.

De plus, les exigences d'un marché du travail plus strict amènent de nombreux jeunes à travailler loin de leur lieu de résidence habituel, ce qui rend la conciliation familiale difficile et rend les réunions avec les parents moins fréquentes et plus espacées dans le temps.

Il n’est pas non plus si fréquent qu’il y ait peu de temps entre l’émancipation des enfants et le moment où ils ont un enfant, aussi, dans certains cas, les personnes qui vivent avec le syndrome du nid vide ils n'ont même pas la possibilité de s'occuper de leurs petits-enfants (qui, par contre, s’ils existent, pourraient être à des centaines de kilomètres).

La perte partielle de contact avec un fils ou une fille peut sembler difficile à gérer, mais la manière dont elle est vécue dépend en grande partie de conditions matérielles telles que celles offertes par le marché du travail et la situation économique de l'enfant. les familles


The Vietnam War: Reasons for Failure - Why the U.S. Lost (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes