yes, therapy helps!
Endocrine system: anatomy, parts and functions

Endocrine system: anatomy, parts and functions

October 4, 2022

Some people say that human behavior is another aspect of our biological design, of what makes us born and develop as we do. In a certain sense, this is true: all our mental activity is, in essence, the product of a set of nerve cells that capture information from the senses, process it, and send orders to the muscles.

However, the nervous system is not the only component that allows us to relate to what surrounds us (and others) as we do. The endocrine system also intervenes in this , through its mechanisms of emission and uptake of hormones. In the following lines we will see what the endocrine system is, what its parts are, and what function it has in the organism.


  • Perhaps you are interested: "Parts of the Nervous System: functions and anatomical structures"

What is the endocrine system?

The nervous system is a network of organs and cells that have evolved so that rapid changes occur in the state of a living being, depending on the situation, maximizing the options of appearing an option or reflection that is useful in that context.

However, sometimes there is a need for these changes to be more sustained and affect not only the parts of the body that are involved in a specific action (for example, the arm), but in many target organs, more or less Same time. That is why the nervous system is complemented by what is known as the endocrine system .


The endocrine system is, in short, a set of organs and cellular tissues that They secrete types of substances called hormones, which travel through the bloodstream and they serve to regulate different biological processes.

Difference between the functioning of hormones and that of neurons

Unlike what happens with neuronal activity, the effects that the endocrine system exerts on the body are usually not immediate and take longer to fade, since since the "order" is given to release hormones until they reach their destination several seconds pass.

In addition, another of the differences between the endocrine system and the nervous system is that if in the first the electrochemically transmitted order can reach a specific place in the body, the hormones are never predestined to reach a certain place at a certain time , but by being released into the blood, they flood many parts of the body almost at once , some of these particles reaching their target organ by pure question of probability.


On the other hand, a single release of hormones has sustained effects on several parts of the body at the same time. This is not coincidence, because if something characterizes the endocrine system is that by regulating levels of hormones usually achieve that there is a balance (homeostasis) between different parts of the body, all of them adapting to the same situation, but each one his way

For example, in a dangerous situation, adrenaline is secreted in greater amounts by the endocrine system, doing so much that the heart can beat faster (to react quickly) and that the capillaries close to the skin are constricted, possibly so that in case of wounds, little blood is lost.

The fact that the work of hormones and neurons goes so hand in hand has made you can even talk about a neuroendocrine system : the nervous system takes care of very short-term work (thousandths of a second), and the endocrine gets effects that take a little longer to arrive but that last longer and are coherent with the work of the nerve cells.

His parts

Ente the endocrine organs and the parts of the body in general that are involved in the endocrine system , the following components stand out.

1. Pineal gland

Located in the lower part of the brain, the pineal gland or epiphysis acts as a bridge between the nervous system and the endocrine system. Among the hormones that segregate highlights melatonin , involved in the regulation of sleep-wake rhythm.

  • Related article: "Melatonin: the hormone that controls sleep and seasonal rhythms"

2. Pituitary gland

This part of the body, which is also called the pituitary gland, is also located in the lower part of the brain. It is very important, since it secretes many types of hormones and indirectly affects the segregation of others, since it stimulates other glands located in different parts of the body, including the thyroid.

It fulfills many functions, and among them the regulation of several biological processes stands out linked to reproduction and sexuality. For example, it allows the ability to lactate to appear, as well as the maturation of the ovules and the creation of sperm.Its role in growth is also very important, since it secretes growth hormone.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Pituitary gland (hypophysis): the nexus between neurons and hormones"

3. Adrenal gland

These glands are located on each of the two kidneys that the human body has, and their role in the endocrine system is linked to the regulation of stress states , fundamentally those that have to do with the fighting or flight behaviors. For example, they can increase blood volume, stimulate the available energy for immediate expenditure and inhibit biological processes with long-term goals, such as the inflammatory response.

4. Hypothalamus

The hypothalamus is one of the most important parts of the brain, and initiates several mechanisms of release of many different types of hormones from several glands, from the capture of nerve signals. For it, secretes hormones from the corticosteroid and catecholamine groups .

  • Related article: "Hypothalamus: definition, characteristics and functions"

5. Thyroid

The thyroid is a large gland located in the neck. Segregates calcitonin, triiodothyronine and thyroxine , hormones that intervene in the tel tel metabolism and oxygen consumption, as well as in the generation and regeneration of bones.


Anatomy and Physiology of Endocrine System (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Système endocrinien: anatomie, pièces et fonctions

Système endocrinien: anatomie, pièces et fonctions

Novembre 4, 2022

Certaines personnes disent que le comportement humain est un autre aspect de notre conception biologique, de ce qui nous fait naître et se développer comme nous le faisons. Dans un certain sens, cela est vrai: toute notre activité mentale est essentiellement le produit d'un ensemble de cellules nerveuses qui capturent des informations provenant des sens, les traitent et envoient des ordres aux muscles.

Cependant, le système nerveux n'est pas le seul composant qui nous permet de nous rapporter à ce qui nous entoure (et aux autres). Le système endocrinien intervient également dans cette , par ses mécanismes d’émission et d’absorption d’hormones. Dans les lignes suivantes, nous verrons ce qu'est le système endocrinien, quelles sont ses parties et quelle fonction il a dans l'organisme.


  • Peut-être vous êtes intéressé: "Parties du système nerveux: fonctions et structures anatomiques"

Quel est le système endocrinien?

Le système nerveux est un réseau d'organes et de cellules qui ont évolué de telle sorte que, selon la situation, l'état de l'être vivant évolue rapidement, ce qui permet d'optimiser les options permettant d'afficher une option ou une réflexion utile dans ce contexte.

Cependant, il est parfois nécessaire que ces modifications soient plus durables et touchent non seulement les parties du corps qui sont impliquées dans une action spécifique (par exemple, le bras), mais également dans de nombreux organes cibles. même temps. C'est pour ça que le système nerveux est complété par ce qu'on appelle le système endocrinien .


Le système endocrinien est, en bref, un ensemble d’organes et de tissus cellulaires qui Ils sécrètent des types de substances appelées hormones, qui voyagent dans le sang et ils servent à réguler différents processus biologiques.

Différence entre le fonctionnement des hormones et celui des neurones

Contrairement à ce qui se passe avec l'activité neuronale, les effets que le système endocrinien exerce sur le corps ne sont généralement pas immédiats et prennent plus de temps à s'estomper, car, dans la mesure où "l'ordre" est donné de libérer les hormones jusqu'à ce qu'elles atteignent leur la destination passe plusieurs secondes.

En outre, une autre différence entre le système endocrinien et le système nerveux réside dans le fait que si, dans un premier temps, l'ordre transmis par voie électrochimique peut atteindre un endroit spécifique du corps, les hormones ne sont jamais prédestinées pour atteindre un certain endroit à un certain moment. , mais en étant libéré dans le sang, ils inondent beaucoup de parties du corps presque à la fois , certaines de ces particules atteignant leur organe cible par pure question de probabilité.


Par ailleurs, une seule libération d'hormones a eu des effets persistants sur plusieurs parties du corps en même temps. Ce n'est pas une coïncidence, car si quelque chose caractérise le système endocrinien, c'est qu'en régulant les niveaux d'hormones, on parvient généralement à établir un équilibre (homéostasie) entre différentes parties du corps, chacune s'adaptant à la même situation, mais chacune son chemin

Par exemple, dans une situation dangereuse, l'adrénaline est sécrétée en plus grande quantité par le système endocrinien, en faisant en sorte que le cœur bat plus vite (pour réagir rapidement) et que les capillaires proches de la peau soient contractés, de sorte que, éventuellement, en cas de blessure, il y ait peu de perte de sang.

Le fait que le travail des hormones et des neurones aille de pair a fait que vous pouvez même parler d'un système neuroendocrinien : le système nerveux prend en charge le travail à très court terme (millièmes de seconde) et le système endocrinien produit des effets qui prennent un peu plus de temps à arriver mais qui durent plus longtemps et sont cohérents avec le travail des cellules nerveuses.

Ses parties

Ente les organes endocriniens et les parties du corps en général impliquées dans le système endocrinien , les composants suivants se démarquent.

1. Glande pinéale

Située dans la partie inférieure du cerveau, la glande pinéale ou épiphyse sert de pont entre le système nerveux et le système endocrinien. Parmi les hormones qui ségrègent met en évidence la mélatonine , impliqué dans la régulation du rythme veille-sommeil.

  • Article connexe: "La mélatonine: l'hormone qui contrôle le sommeil et les rythmes saisonniers"

2. Glande pituitaire

Cette partie du corps, également appelée glande pituitaire, est également située dans la partie inférieure du cerveau. C'est très important, car il sécrète de nombreux types d'hormones et affecte indirectement la ségrégation des autres, puisqu'il stimule d'autres glandes situées dans différentes parties du corps, y compris la thyroïde.

Il remplit de nombreuses fonctions et parmi eux se distingue la régulation de plusieurs processus biologiques liés à la reproduction et à la sexualité. Par exemple, cela permet d’apparaître la capacité de lacter, ainsi que la maturation des ovules et la création de spermatozoïdes.Son rôle dans la croissance est également très important puisqu'il sécrète de l'hormone de croissance.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par "l'hypophyse: le lien entre les neurones et les hormones"

3. Glande surrénale

Ces glandes sont situées sur chacun des deux reins du corps humain et leur rôle dans le système endocrinien est liée à la régulation des états de stress , fondamentalement ceux qui ont à voir avec les comportements de combat ou de fuite. Par exemple, ils peuvent augmenter le volume sanguin, stimuler l'énergie disponible pour une dépense immédiate et inhiber les processus biologiques ayant des objectifs à long terme, tels que la réponse inflammatoire.

4. hypothalamus

L'hypothalamus est l'une des parties les plus importantes du cerveau et initie plusieurs mécanismes de libération de différents types d'hormones de plusieurs glandes, à partir de la capture des signaux nerveux. Pour cela, sécrète des hormones des groupes corticostéroïdes et catécholamines .

  • Article connexe: "Hypothalamus: définition, caractéristiques et fonctions"

5. thyroïde

La thyroïde est une grosse glande située dans le cou. Séparer la calcitonine, la triiodothyronine et la thyroxine , les hormones qui interviennent dans le métabolisme et dans la consommation d’oxygène, ainsi que dans la génération et la régénération des os.


Endocrine System, part 1 - Glands & Hormones: Crash Course A&P #23 (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes