yes, therapy helps!
Endosymbiotic theory: the origin of cell types

Endosymbiotic theory: the origin of cell types

July 12, 2024

The curiosity of the human being has no limits. He has always needed to appease that need to have knowledge for everything that surrounds him, whether through science or faith. One of the great doubts that has persecuted humanity is the origin of life. As a human being, asking about existence, about how it has come to this day, is a fact.

Science is not an exception. Many theories are related to this idea. The theory of evolution or the theory of serial endosymbiosis they are clear examples. The latter postulates how the current eukaryotic cells that shape the formation of both animals and plants have been generated.

  • Related article: "Types of major cells of the human body"

Prokaryotic and eukaryotic cells

Before starting, it is necessary to keep in mind what is a prokaryotic cell and a eukaryotic cell .


All have a membrane that separates them from the outside. The main difference between these two types is that in prokaryotes there is no presence of membranous organelles and their DNA is free inside. The opposite happens to the eukaryotes, which are full of organelles and whose genetic material is restricted in a region inside a barrier known as a nucleus. You have to keep this data in mind, because the endosymbiotic theory is based on explaining the appearance of these differences .

  • Maybe you're interested: "Differences between DNA and RNA"

Endosymbiotic theory

Also known as the theory of serial endosymbiosis (SET), was nominated by the American evolutionist biologist Lynn Margulis in 1967, to explain the origin of eukaryotic cells. It was not easy, and he was repeatedly denied his publication, because at that time he dominated the idea that eukaryotes were the result of gradual changes in the composition and nature of the membrane, so this new theory did not fit the belief predominant.


Margulis sought an alternative idea of ​​the origin of eukaryotic cells, establishing that this was based on the progressive union of prokaryotic cells, where one cell fagocita to others, but instead of digesting them, makes them part of it. This would have given rise to the different organelles and structures of the current eukaryotes. In other words, it talks about endosymbiosis, one cell is inserted into another , obtaining mutual benefits through a relationship of symbiosis.

The theory of endosymbiosis describes this gradual process in three large successive additions.

1. First incorporation

In this step, a cell that uses sulfur and heat as an energy source (thermoacidófila archaea) joins with a swimming bacterium (Espiroqueta). With this symbiosis, the ability to move of some eukaryotic cells would start thanks to the flagellum (how the sperm) and the appearance of the nuclear membrane , which gave the DNA greater stability.


Archaea, in spite of being prokaryotes, are a domain different from bacteria, and evolutionarily it has been described that they are closer to eukaryotic cells.

2. Second incorporation

An anaerobic cell, to which the oxygen increasingly present in the atmosphere was toxic, needed help to adapt to the new environment. The second incorporation that is postulated is the union of aerobic prokaryotic cells inside the anaerobic cell, explaining the appearance of organelles peroxisomes and mitochondria . The former have the capacity to neutralize the toxic effects of oxygen (mainly free radicals), while the latter obtain oxygen energy (respiratory chain). With this step, the animal eukaryotic cell and fungi (fungi) would already appear.

3. Third incorporation

The new aerobic cells, for some reason, performed endosymbiosis with a prokaryotic cell that had the capacity of photosynthesis (obtain energy from light), giving rise to the organelle of plant cells, the chloroplast. With this latest addition, there is the origin of the plant kingdom .

In the last two additions, the introduced bacteria would benefit from protection and obtaining nutrients, while the host (eukaryotic cell) would gain the ability to make use of oxygen and light, respectively.

Evidence and contradictions

Today, the endosymbiotic theory is partially accepted . There are points that have been found in favor, but others that generate many doubts and discussions.

The clearest is that Both the mitochondria and the chloroplast have their own circular double-stranded DNA in its interior in a free way, independent of the nuclear one.Something striking, as they remind some prokaryotic cells by their configuration. In addition, they behave like bacteria, because they synthesize their own proteins, use 70s ribosomes (and not 80s ribosomes like eukaryotes), develop their functions through the membrane and replicate their DNA and perform binary fission to divide (and not mitosis).

Evidence is also found in its structure. The mitochondria and the chloroplast have a double membrane. This could be due to its origin, the inner being the own membrane that surrounded the prokaryotic cell and the external one the vesicle of when it was phagocytized.

The biggest point of criticism is in the first incorporation. There is no evidence that can demonstrate that this union between cells existed, and without samples, it is difficult to sustain. The appearance of other organelles is also not explained of eukaryotic cells, such as the endoplasmic reticulum and the Golgi apparatus. And the same happens with peroxisomes, which do not have their own DNA or a double layer of membranes, so there are no samples as reliable as in the mitochondria or in the chloroplast.


Endosymbiotic Theory (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Théorie endosymbiotique: l'origine des types de cellules

Théorie endosymbiotique: l'origine des types de cellules

Juillet 16, 2024

La curiosité de l'être humain n'a pas de limites. Il a toujours eu besoin d'apaiser ce besoin d'avoir des connaissances pour tout ce qui l'entoure, que ce soit par le biais de la science ou de la foi. L’un des grands doutes qui a persécuté l’humanité est l’origine de la vie. En tant qu'être humain, poser des questions sur l'existence, sur la manière dont elle est arrivée à ce jour, est un fait.

La science n'est pas une exception. De nombreuses théories sont liées à cette idée. La théorie de l'évolution ou la théorie de l'endosymbiose en série ce sont des exemples clairs. Ce dernier postule comment les cellules eucaryotes actuelles qui façonnent la formation des animaux et des plantes ont été générées.

  • Article connexe: "Types de cellules principales du corps humain"

Cellules procaryotes et eucaryotes

Avant de commencer, il faut garder à l'esprit qu'est-ce qu'une cellule procaryote et une cellule eucaryote .


Tous ont une membrane qui les sépare de l'extérieur. La principale différence entre ces deux types réside dans le fait que chez les procaryotes, il n’ya pas d’organites membraneuses et que leur ADN est libre à l’intérieur. Le contraire se produit chez les eucaryotes, qui regorgent d’organites et dont le matériel génétique est restreint dans une région située à l’intérieur d’une barrière appelée noyau. Vous devez garder ces données à l'esprit, car la théorie endosymbiotique est basée sur l'explication de l'apparition de ces différences .

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Différences entre l'ADN et l'ARN"

Théorie endosymbiotique

Aussi connu sous le nom de théorie de l'endosymbiose en série (SET), a été nommée par la biologiste évolutionniste américaine Lynn Margulis en 1967, pour expliquer l'origine des cellules eucaryotes. Ce n’était pas facile et sa publication lui a été refusée à plusieurs reprises car il dominait à l’époque l’idée selon laquelle les eucaryotes résultaient de changements graduels dans la composition et la nature de la membrane. prédominant.


Margulis a cherché une autre idée de l'origine des cellules eucaryotes, établissant qu'elle reposait sur l'union progressive des cellules procaryotes, où une cellule fagocita à d'autres, mais au lieu de les digérer, en fait partie. Cela aurait donné naissance aux différents organites et structures des eucaryotes actuels. En d'autres termes, on parle d'endosymbiose, une cellule est insérée dans une autre , obtenant des avantages mutuels grâce à une relation de symbiose.

La théorie de l'endosymbiose décrit ce processus graduel en trois grandes additions successives.

1. Première incorporation

Dans cette étape, une cellule qui utilise le soufre et la chaleur comme source d’énergie (thermoacidófila archaea) s’associe à une bactérie nageuse (Espiroqueta). Avec cette symbiose, la capacité de déplacement de certaines cellules eucaryotes commencerait grâce au flagelle (comment le sperme) et l'apparition de la membrane nucléaire , ce qui a donné à l'ADN une plus grande stabilité.


Les archées, bien qu'elles soient procaryotes, sont un domaine différent de celui des bactéries et, au cours de l'évolution, il a été décrit qu'elles se rapprochent davantage des cellules eucaryotes.

2. Deuxième incorporation

Une cellule anaérobie, pour laquelle l'oxygène présent dans l'atmosphère était de plus en plus toxique, avait besoin d'aide pour s'adapter au nouvel environnement. La deuxième incorporation postulée est l’union de cellules procaryotes aérobies à l’intérieur de la cellule anaérobie, expliquant l'apparition de peroxysomes organites et mitochondries . Les premiers ont la capacité de neutraliser les effets toxiques de l'oxygène (principalement les radicaux libres), tandis que les derniers obtiennent de l'oxygène (chaîne respiratoire). Avec cette étape, la cellule animale eucaryote et les champignons (champignons) apparaissent déjà.

3. Troisième incorporation

Les nouvelles cellules aérobies, pour une raison quelconque, ont réalisé une endosymbiose avec une cellule procaryote ayant la capacité de photosynthèse (obtenir de l'énergie de la lumière), donnant naissance à l'organelle des cellules végétales, le chloroplaste. Avec ce dernier ajout, il y a l'origine du règne végétal .

Dans les deux derniers ajouts, les bactéries introduites bénéficieraient de la protection et de l'obtention d'éléments nutritifs, tandis que l'hôte (cellule eucaryote) gagnerait la capacité d'utiliser respectivement l'oxygène et la lumière.

Preuves et contradictions

Aujourd'hui, la théorie endosymbiotique est partiellement acceptée . Certains points ont été jugés favorables, mais d’autres suscitent de nombreux doutes et discussions.

Le plus clair est que La mitochondrie et le chloroplaste ont leur propre ADN double brin circulaire dans son intérieur de manière libre, indépendante du nucléaire.Quelque chose de frappant, car ils rappellent certaines cellules procaryotes par leur configuration. De plus, ils se comportent comme des bactéries, car ils synthétisent leurs propres protéines, utilisent des ribosomes des années 70 (et non des ribosomes des années 80 comme les eucaryotes), développent leurs fonctions à travers la membrane, reproduisent leur ADN et effectuent une fission binaire pour se diviser (et non une mitose).

La preuve se trouve également dans sa structure. La mitochondrie et le chloroplaste ont une double membrane. Cela pourrait être dû à son origine, l'intérieur étant la propre membrane qui entoure la cellule procaryote et l'extérieur, la vésicule de quand elle a été phagocytée.

Le principal point de critique concerne la première incorporation. Aucune preuve ne peut démontrer que cette union entre cellules a existé et, sans échantillons, elle est difficile à maintenir. L'apparence d'autres organites n'est également pas expliquée de cellules eucaryotes, telles que le réticulum endoplasmique et l’appareil de Golgi. Et il en va de même pour les peroxysomes, qui ne possèdent pas leur propre ADN ou une double couche de membranes. Il n’existe donc pas d’échantillons aussi fiables que dans la mitochondrie ou le chloroplaste.


How we think complex cells evolved - Adam Jacobson (Juillet 2024).


Articles Connexes