yes, therapy helps!
Enneagram personality and eneatipos: what are they?

Enneagram personality and eneatipos: what are they?

May 6, 2021

Among the areas that psychology covers, it has been decades since the study of Personality types arouses great interest and media coverage.

In part, this is why, in and out of this science, many proposals for classifying personality types that are now well-known have appeared. Among them is the Enneagram of the personality and its classification by eneatipos .

What is the personality enneagram?

The personality enneagram is difficult to define with a phrase, because it has many facets. That is why the explanation of what is will be detached throughout this article.


Its most clear and easy facet from the beginning is the following: The Enneagram is a circle with nine lines . East:

In fact, the term enneagram refers to this geometric and circular figure of nine points in which the enneatypes are represented.

This figure shows the second facet easier to understand about what the enneagram is. The Enneagram is, in practice, a system for classifying personality. As such, raises some categories that theoretically can be used to explain trends and propensities that define the habitual behavior of people.


These categories with which you try to classify the different types of personality through the enneagram are the eneatipos, which are numbered from 1 to 9. Thus, each person could be defined by an enneatype, which would pick up the characteristics in which the person stands out more

The eneatipos

  • Eneatype 1 : perfectionism It is a category that applies to people who are particularly demanding with what they do and who struggle to get closer to an ideal version of themselves.
  • Eneatype 2 : tendency to help. This piece of the enneagram describes the people involved in helping others and who underestimate their own needs.
  • Eneatype 3 : the search for personal success It applies to people with a tendency to narcissism who constantly seek to give a good image in the face of others. They like to show off and make their aesthetics speak in their favor to cover their insecurities.
  • Eneatype 4 : artistic sensitivity. These are people who see themselves as part of a very special story, and their way of perceiving things tends to be imbued with a strong emotional charge that turns them into tragic and melancholic people. In addition, they are individualistic and like to think of themselves as unique people differentiated from the rest.
  • Eneatype 5 : investigative spirit. Describes very rational and dispassionate people, with great interest to understand objectively the reality that surrounds them. They do not usually talk much about themselves or their emotions.
  • Eneatype 6 : adherence to the rules and tendency to distrust. What characterizes this enneatype is the propensity to abide by the norms and to question all the logics of action that come out of them. If they are separated from these norms, they are very insecure and fall into constant doubt.
  • Eneatype 7 : tendency to enthusiasm and outbursts. The people described by this enneatype are in a constant search for pleasure, which makes them abandon their long-term plans with some frequency. They usually show good humor and reject the possibility of committing themselves so as not to have to regret losses.
  • Eneatype 8 : attachment for the feeling of justice. It describes people who like to be in control of the situation and who devote a lot of effort to making the poor pay the consequences. They tend to be sure of themselves and trust their criteria, something that puts them in a position to offer protection to others.
  • Eneatype 9 : spirit pacifier and mediator. People who excel in this aspect tend to flee conflict and, in general, show a passive attitude. They prefer to focus their actions on consensus and avoid shrillness in their behavior. In addition, they let important decisions be made by others.

The displacements within the enneagram

According to the logic that is usually attributed to the operation of the enneagram, each person can be explained by the enneatype that best fits her . However, if there were certain atypical circumstances, the context could cause the person to start acting in a similar way as a person defined by another type would do, that is, their personality would experience a displacement.


The directions to which one could move from the point of departure of his enneatype are explained in the circle with lines, in which the 9 eneatipos of the personality enneagram are represented. Thus, the enneatype 1 (perfectionist) could move to position 4 (artist) or 7 (the enthusiast), and each of these other enneatypes, in turn, can also move to two others.These lines would also serve to point out the possible routes of personal development that each person can undertake depending on which is the enneatype from which they start.

Why the Enneagram is not a personality test

What we have so far, as explained, is a personality classification system and a proposal about how transitions from one personality type to another are made. This, in the absence of knowing if there are investigations that endorse the usefulness and robustness of this classification method, and without knowing how each person's scores could be measured in each type, it does not seem unreasonable. But there is a reason why the enneagram can not be considered a personality test : it is based on pseudoscientific ideas.

Although the enneagram accounts for different personality types, it is neither a test of personality nor, as a whole, a tool that can be exploited by psychology if certain guarantees of efficacy are expected. The reason is that it is not a simple classification system of psychological characteristics but goes much further, because is based on a belief system based on esotericism and magical thinking .

This means, among other things, that the enneagram of personality and the formulation of enneatypes not only rest on presuppositions about the functioning of mental processes, but also start from a supernatural vision of what exists and is part of reality .

Thus, for example, it is said that the enneagram can serve to explain our personality, but also to discover the basic mistakes we make in our lives and how we can grow spiritually. This is something very important: among the reasons for being the Enneagram is to be an instrument for the spiritual development of the person, serving to identify the essential problems that affect us every day ... and all this, without having to give information detailed about what things affect us, in what context we live, with whom we relate, etc.

Playing with ambiguities

The reason these powers are attributed to the use of the enneagram is that it supposedly reflects the way in which invisible cosmic forces structure the functioning of reality and, of course, of ourselves. That is the utility of the enneagram is excused under a layer of metaphysics explained on the basis of inaccuracies .

The eneatipos represent these cosmic forces that govern the functioning of the universe, and to demonstrate it, appeals to the mathematical curiosities that appear when playing with the numbers represented in the scheme of relations between enneatypes that represents the enneagram. For example, if we divide the number 1 between the 7 (the magic number) the result will be 0.142857142857, that is, the sequence of numbers that is captured in the figure starting from enneatype 1 and ending at 7.

These "magic" properties of the numbers are universal (they are fulfilled in any situation), and The Enneagram finds in these numbers a way to bond with the essential , which goes beyond the context and can only be explained in a very abstract and confusing way.

Conclusions

Like the ancient Pythagoreans, the defenders of the enneagram go to numerology to try to establish links between the mystical nature between numbers, people and the environment in which they live , exposing mathematical curiosities and taking for granted the existence of supernatural connections between the structure of the human mind and the functioning of the cosmos.

As a tool, the Enneagram is not scientifically useful because it is not designed to be tested and make it possible to detect failures in its operation. Everything it offers are vague explanations that could describe practically anyone. Therefore, their classification system of personality types is arbitrary, although that does not mean that one can find satisfaction in seeing oneself through the descriptions of oneself that one offers.

Neither the enneagram was born with the purpose of generating scientifically valid knowledge, nor its method of application has to do with the principles that govern psychology as a science. However, among the supposed virtues of this tool is the possibility of offering solutions to major life problems from a system applicable to all people, regardless of their context. After all, we are all supposed to be subject to the same cosmic forces.

Bibliographic references:

  • Gurdjieff, G. I. The Enneagram
  • Palmer, H. (2014). The Enneagram Barcelona: The March hare.
  • The Essential Enneagram

Conócete a ti mismo en el Eneagrama por Alberto Peña PARTE1 (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Personnalité de l'Ennéagramme et Eneatipos: de quoi s'agit-il?

Personnalité de l'Ennéagramme et Eneatipos: de quoi s'agit-il?

Mai 21, 2019

Parmi les domaines couverts par la psychologie, cela fait des décennies que l’étude de la types de personnalité suscite un grand intérêt et une couverture médiatique.

C'est en partie pour cette raison que de nombreuses propositions de classification des types de personnalité désormais bien connues sont apparues. Parmi eux se trouve le Ennéagramme de la personnalité et son classement par eneatipos .

Quel est l'ennéagramme de la personnalité?

L'ennéagramme de la personnalité est difficile à définir avec une phrase, car il comporte de nombreuses facettes. C'est pourquoi l'explication de ce qui sera sera détachée tout au long de cet article.


Sa facette la plus claire et la plus facile depuis le début est la suivante: L’Ennéagramme est un cercle de neuf lignes . Ce:

En fait, le terme ennéagramme fait référence à cette figure géométrique et circulaire de neuf points dans lesquels les enneatypes sont représentés.

Cette figure montre la deuxième facette plus facile à comprendre sur ce qu'est l'ennéagramme. Ennéagramme est, en pratique, un système de classification de la personnalité. En tant que tel, soulève des catégories qui peuvent théoriquement être utilisées pour expliquer les tendances et les tendances qui définissent le comportement habituel des personnes.


Ces catégories avec lesquelles vous essayez de classer les différents types de personnalité à travers l’ennéagramme sont les eneatipos, numérotés de 1 à 9. Ainsi, chaque personne pourrait être définie par un enneatype, qui indiquerait les caractéristiques dans lesquelles la personne se démarque plus

Les eneatipos

  • Eneatype 1 : perfectionnisme C’est une catégorie qui s’applique aux personnes particulièrement exigeantes avec ce qu’elles font et qui ont du mal à se rapprocher d’une version idéale d’elles-mêmes.
  • Eneatype 2 : tendance à aider. Cet extrait de l'ennéagramme décrit les personnes impliquées dans l'aide aux autres et qui sous-estiment leurs propres besoins.
  • Eneatype 3 : la recherche du succès personnel Cela s'applique aux personnes ayant tendance au narcissisme qui cherchent constamment à donner une bonne image face aux autres. Ils aiment se faire valoir et faire en sorte que leur esthétique parle en leur faveur pour couvrir leurs insécurités.
  • Eneatype 4 : sensibilité artistique. Ce sont des gens qui se voient comme faisant partie d’une histoire très spéciale, et leur façon de percevoir les choses a tendance à être imprégnée d’une charge émotionnelle forte qui les transforme en personnes tragiques et mélancoliques. En outre, ils sont individualistes et aiment se considérer comme des personnes uniques différenciées des autres.
  • Eneatype 5 : esprit d'investigation. Décrit des personnes très rationnelles et sans passion, avec un grand intérêt pour comprendre objectivement la réalité qui les entoure. Ils ne parlent généralement pas beaucoup d’eux-mêmes ou de leurs émotions.
  • Eneatype 6 : respect des règles et tendance à la méfiance. Ce qui caractérise cet enneatype est la propension à respecter les normes et à remettre en question toutes les logiques d’action qui en découlent. S'ils sont séparés de ces normes, ils sont très peu sûrs et tombent dans le doute constant.
  • Eneatype 7 : tendance à l'enthousiasme et aux explosions. Les personnes décrites par cet enneatype sont constamment à la recherche de plaisir, ce qui les oblige à abandonner assez souvent leurs projets à long terme. Ils font généralement preuve de bonne humeur et refusent de s’engager pour ne pas avoir à regretter les pertes subies.
  • Eneatype 8 : attachement au sentiment de justice. Il décrit les personnes qui aiment contrôler la situation et qui consacrent beaucoup d’efforts à ce que les pauvres en paient les conséquences. Ils ont tendance à être sûrs d'eux-mêmes et à faire confiance à leurs critères, ce qui les met en mesure de protéger les autres.
  • Eneatype 9 : sucette spirituelle et médiateur. Les personnes qui excellent dans cet aspect ont tendance à fuir les conflits et, en général, à faire preuve d'attitude passive. Ils préfèrent concentrer leurs actions sur le consensus et éviter les comportements stridents. En outre, ils ont laissé des décisions importantes être prises par d'autres.

Les déplacements au sein de l'ennéagramme

Selon la logique généralement attribuée au fonctionnement de l'ennéagramme, chaque personne peut être expliquée par le type de ennui qui lui convient le mieux . Cependant, si certaines circonstances étaient atypiques, le contexte pourrait amener la personne à agir de la même manière que le ferait une personne définie par un autre type, c'est-à-dire que sa personnalité subirait un déplacement.


Les directions vers lesquelles on peut se déplacer à partir du point de départ de son enneatype sont expliquées dans le cercle avec des lignes, dans lesquelles sont représentées les 9 eneatipos de l'ennéagramme de la personnalité. Ainsi, le type ennemi 1 (perfectionniste) peut passer à la position 4 (artiste) ou 7 (amateur), et chacun de ces autres enneatypes, à son tour, peut également passer à deux autres.Ces lignes serviraient également à indiquer les voies possibles de développement personnel que chaque personne peut emprunter en fonction du type de départ dont elle est issue.

Pourquoi l'Ennéagramme n'est pas un test de personnalité

Comme nous l’avons expliqué, nous avons jusqu’à présent un système de classification de la personnalité et une proposition sur la manière dont les transitions d’un type de personnalité à un autre sont effectuées. Ceci, à défaut de savoir s'il existe des enquêtes qui confirment l'utilité et la robustesse de cette méthode de classification, et sans savoir comment les scores de chaque personne pourraient être mesurés dans chaque type, cela ne semble pas déraisonnable. Mais il y a une raison pour laquelle l'ennéagramme ne peut pas être considéré comme un test de personnalité : il est basé sur des idées pseudoscientifiques.

Bien que l'ennéagramme prenne en compte différents types de personnalité, il ne s'agit ni d'un test de la personnalité ni, globalement, d'un outil pouvant être exploité par la psychologie si certaines garanties d'efficacité sont attendues. La raison en est que ce n’est pas un simple système de classification des caractéristiques psychologiques mais va beaucoup plus loin, parce que est basé sur un système de croyance basé sur l'ésotérisme et la pensée magique .

Cela signifie, entre autres choses, que l'ennéagramme de la personnalité et sa formulation ne reposent pas uniquement sur des présupposés sur le fonctionnement des processus mentaux, mais partent également d'une vision surnaturelle de ce qui existe et fait partie de la réalité. .

Ainsi, par exemple, on dit que l'ennéagramme peut servir à expliquer notre personnalité, mais également à découvrir les erreurs fondamentales que nous commettons dans nos vies et à déterminer comment nous pouvons grandir spirituellement. C’est quelque chose de très important: l’Ennéagramme est un instrument de développement spirituel de la personne qui permet d’identifier les problèmes essentiels qui nous concernent tous les jours ... et tout cela, sans avoir à donner d’informations. détailler ce qui nous affecte, dans quel contexte nous vivons, avec qui nous sommes en relation, etc.

Jouer avec les ambiguïtés

La raison pour laquelle ces pouvoirs sont attribués à l’utilisation de l’ennéagramme est qu’il reflète supposément la manière dont des forces cosmiques invisibles structurent le fonctionnement de la réalité et, bien entendu, de nous-mêmes. C'est que l'utilité de l'ennéagramme est excusée sous une couche de métaphysique expliquée sur la base d'inexactitudes .

Les eneatipos représentent ces forces cosmiques qui régissent le fonctionnement de l'univers et, pour le démontrer, font appel aux curiosités mathématiques qui apparaissent lorsque l'on joue avec les nombres représentés dans le schéma de relations entre enneatypes qui représente l'ennéagramme. Par exemple, si nous divisons le nombre 1 entre le 7 (le nombre magique), le résultat sera 0,142857142857, c'est-à-dire la séquence de nombres qui est capturée dans la figure commençant à partir du type 1 et se terminant à 7.

Ces propriétés "magiques" des nombres sont universelles (elles se réalisent dans n'importe quelle situation), et L’Ennéagramme trouve dans ces chiffres un moyen de créer des liens avec l’essentiel , qui dépasse le contexte et ne peut être expliqué que de manière très abstraite et déroutante.

Conclusions

Comme les anciens pythagoriciens, les défenseurs de l'ennéagramme vont à la numérologie pour tenter d'établir des liens entre la nature mystique entre les nombres, les personnes et l'environnement dans lequel ils vivent , exposant des curiosités mathématiques et prenant pour acquis l’existence de liens surnaturels entre la structure de l’esprit humain et le fonctionnement du cosmos.

L’Ennéagramme n’est pas scientifiquement utile en tant qu’outil car il n’est pas conçu pour être testé et permet de détecter les défaillances de son fonctionnement. Tout ce qu’il offre sont des explications vagues qui pourraient décrire pratiquement tout le monde. Par conséquent, leur système de classification des types de personnalité est arbitraire, bien que cela ne signifie pas que l’on puisse trouver de la satisfaction à se voir à travers les descriptions de soi qu’il offre.

Ni l'ennéagramme n'est né dans le but de générer des connaissances scientifiquement valables, ni sa méthode d'application n'a à voir avec les principes qui régissent la psychologie en tant que science. Cependant, parmi les vertus supposées de cet outil, il y a la possibilité de proposer des solutions aux principaux problèmes de la vie à partir d'un système applicable à tous, quel que soit leur contexte. Après tout, nous sommes tous censés être soumis aux mêmes forces cosmiques.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Gurdjieff, G. I. L'Ennéagramme
  • Palmer, H. (2014). L'Ennéagramme Barcelone: ​​Le lièvre de mars.
  • L'ennéagramme essentiel

Conócete a ti mismo en el Eneagrama por Alberto Peña PARTE1 (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes