yes, therapy helps!
Enteric Nervous System: parts and functions

Enteric Nervous System: parts and functions

March 23, 2024

The enteric nervous system is the part of the autonomic nervous system responsible for regulating gastrointestinal vital functions. Among these functions is the regulation of the esophagus, stomach and colorectal functions; which in turn implies the absorption and digestion of nutrients, as well as the maintenance of protective mucous membranes. The operation of this system is the most complex of the set of elements that make up the autonomic nervous system.

Next we will see in more detail what is the enteric nervous system and what are some of its main functions and characteristics.

  • Related article: "Parts of the Nervous System: functions and anatomical structures"

What is the Enteric Nervous System?

The enteric nervous system is the cellular structure responsible for controlling our gastrointestinal functions. The above includes the mobility, secretion, local immunity and inflammation of the organs that make up the digestive system .


In other words, the enteric nervous system is responsible for regulating important functions for the intake, absorption, metabolism and digestion of food. It is also responsible for preventing diseases related to these activities.

The enteric nervous system originates in the cells of the neural crest (structure generated during embryonic development), which, in turn, is divided into two large branches of intertwined nerve cells. These branches are called "submucosa de Meissner" and "myenteric de Auerbach", and make up the two main components of the enteric nervous system.

This system is recognized as the most complex part of the peripheral nervous system and It is composed of a high concentration of neurons and glial cells . In fact, it contains the longest collection of neurons that are outside the brain.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Autonomic nervous system: structures and functions"

Origins and development of this system

The enteric nervous system is formed from embryonic development, from two main processes: cell proliferation and its differentiation with the great variety of glial cells and neuronal variants that make up the organism.

From the fourth week of gestation, a part of the cells of the neural crest, which give rise to the majority of the enteric nervous system, they migrate through the entire digestive tract .

The other part of the same cells, which contribute less to the formation of the SNE, migrate from the cranial region to the caudal region (ie, from the head to the opposite end). The latter gradually extend through the gastrointestinal tract of the embryo in all its components:


  • Previous bowel , which later forms the esophagus, the stomach and the duodenum (connective structure of the stomach with the one in charge of regulating the absorption of substances: the jejunum)
  • Middle intestine , which will originate the small intestine, including its first proposal called "blind"; the ascending colon, the appendix and a part of the transverse colon, called "proximal segment".
  • Posterior bowel , which forms a part of the transverse colon called "distal portion", as well as its descending part, the sigmoid (parts of the colon that have the shape of "S") and the rectum.

Components of the SNE

As we saw earlier, the enteric nervous system is divided into two main segments that arise from the neural crest. Each one of them contains a great variety of glial and nervous cells, and they are in charge of regulating the intake, absorption and metabolism of everything we eat. These segments, according to Oswaldo, et al. (2012), are the following:

Meissner submucosal plexus

It develops mainly in the small intestine and colon, and It is responsible for regulating digestion and absorption in music and blood vessels .

Myenteric plexus of Auerbach

It is found throughout the digestive tract, and is responsible for coordinate the activity of the muscle layers of said organ .

4 types of neurons that make it up

The large number of enteric neurons in the healthy adult small intestine remains constant for most of adult life, which seems to be the result of a process of continuous renewal of neurons in the intestine (Kulkarni, S. et al, 2017) .

The neurons that are part of the enteric nervous system, and therefore are responsible for regulating our gastrointestinal activity are the following (Oswaldo, et al, 2012):

1. Primary intrinsic afferent neurons

Being afferent, they are neurons that transport nerve impulses from the organs to the central nervous system.However, being primary neurons, they do not conduct sensory information directly, but they do so through other cells located in the enteric epithelium (the cellular tissue that covers the enteric nervous system). That is to say, its activity is mainly that of sensory transducers and in this way regulate physiological functions of the digestive tract.

2. Motor neurons

As its name says, it is responsible for activating the muscle layers that make up the digestive tract as well as blood vessels and some glands. They are in turn divided into excitatory motor neurons (for example, acetylcholine), or inhibitory motor neurons (such as nitric oxide or GABA). The latter, the inhibitory neurons, are responsible for regulating water secretion, blood flow and the release of electrolytes.

3. Interneurons

These are the nerve cells responsible for connecting the primary intrinsic afferent neurons with the motor neurons. They can be ascending or descending , according to whether they act from the head to the opposite extreme, or in the opposite direction.

5. Neurons intestinofugas

Its extensions are located outside the digestive tract and connects with the nerve ganglia to form a new ganglion called "prevertebral". Its main function is to warn about changes in bowel activity, so that it's about mechanoreceptors (Secondary neurons that trigger action potentials before mechanical stimuli).

Main functions of the SNE and associated pathologies

According to Furness, 2012, the main functions performed by the enteric nervous system as a whole are the following:

  • Determine the movement patterns of the gastrointestinal tract.
  • Control the secretion of gastric acid .
  • Regulate the movement and the fluids that cross the epithelium.
  • Modify blood flow locally
  • Modify and regulate the absorption of nutrients.
  • Interact with the intestinal endocrine system and also with the immune system.
  • Maintain the integrity of the epithelial barrier that divides the cells of the intestine.

Improper operation of this system affects the functions described above. For the most part, the inadequate functioning of the SNE neuropathies are related that make difficult the control of the muscular activity and the movement of the mucous fluid . The above is reflected in different diseases of the colon and digestive tract.

In addition, the inadequate functioning of the SNE can be of congenital origin or acquired during the postnatal development. Generally, the latter occurs due to a secondary medical condition that ends up significantly damaging the functioning of the SNS, although it can also occur due to an iatrogenic effect of some drug, or a neuropathology induced by drug use.

Bibliographic references:

  • Kulkarni, S., Micci, M-A., Leser, J., Shin, Ch., Tang, S-Ch., Fu, Y-Y., ..., Pasricha, P. (2017). Adult enteric nervous system in health is maintained by a dynamic balance between neuronal apoptosis and neurogenesis. Proceedings of the National Academy of Science of the United States of America, 114 (18): E3709-E3718.
  • Furness, J. (2012). The enteric nervous system and neurogastroenterology. Nature Reviews Gastroenterology & Hepatology, 9: 286-294.
  • Oswaldo, J., Frank-Márquez, N., Cervantes-Bustamante, R., Cadena-León, J., Montijo-Barrios, E., ... Ramírez-Mayans, J. (2012). Enteric nervous system and gastrointestinal motility
  • Grundy, D. and Schemann, M. (2007). Enteric nervous system. Current Opinion in Gastroenterology, 23 (2): 121-126.

Neurology | Enteric Nervous System (March 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Système nerveux entérique: pièces et fonctions

Système nerveux entérique: pièces et fonctions

Septembre 26, 2022

Le système nerveux entérique est la partie du système nerveux autonome responsable de la régulation des fonctions vitales gastro-intestinales. Parmi ces fonctions figure la régulation des fonctions œsophagienne, stomacale et colorectale; ce qui implique l'absorption et la digestion des nutriments, ainsi que le maintien des muqueuses protectrices. Le fonctionnement de ce système est le plus complexe de l’ensemble des éléments qui composent le système nerveux autonome.

Ensuite, nous verrons plus en détail ce qu'est le système nerveux entérique et quelles sont certaines de ses principales fonctions et caractéristiques.

  • Article connexe: "Parties du système nerveux: fonctions et structures anatomiques"

Quel est le système nerveux entérique?

Le système nerveux entérique est la structure cellulaire responsable du contrôle de nos fonctions gastro-intestinales. Ce qui précède comprend le la mobilité, la sécrétion, l'immunité locale et l'inflammation des organes qui composent le système digestif .


En d'autres termes, le système nerveux entérique est responsable de la régulation de fonctions importantes pour la consommation, l'absorption, le métabolisme et la digestion des aliments. Il est également responsable de la prévention des maladies liées à ces activités.

Le système nerveux entérique prend naissance dans les cellules de la crête neurale (structure générée au cours du développement embryonnaire), qui se divise à son tour en deux grandes branches de cellules nerveuses entrelacées. Ces branches sont appelées "sous-muqueuse de Meissner" et "myenteric de Auerbach" et constituent les deux composants principaux du système nerveux entérique.

Ce système est reconnu comme la partie la plus complexe du système nerveux périphérique et Il est composé d'une forte concentration de neurones et de cellules gliales . En fait, il contient la plus longue collection de neurones situés à l'extérieur du cerveau.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Système nerveux autonome: structures et fonctions"

Origines et développement de ce système

Le système nerveux entérique est formé à partir du développement embryonnaire, de deux processus principaux: la prolifération cellulaire et sa différenciation avec la grande variété de cellules gliales et de variants neuronaux qui composent l’organisme.

A partir de la quatrième semaine de gestation, une partie des cellules de la crête neurale, à l'origine de la majorité du système nerveux entérique, ils migrent à travers tout le tube digestif .

L'autre partie des mêmes cellules, qui contribuent moins à la formation du SNE, migre de la région crânienne vers la région caudale (c'est-à-dire de la tête à l'extrémité opposée). Ces derniers s’étendent progressivement dans le tractus gastro-intestinal de l’embryon dans tous ses composants:


  • Intestin précédent , qui forme ensuite l'œsophage, l'estomac et le duodénum (structure conjonctive de l'estomac avec celle chargée de réguler l'absorption de substances: le jéjunum)
  • L'intestin moyen , qui sera à l'origine de l'intestin grêle, y compris sa première proposition appelée "aveugle"; le côlon ascendant, l'appendice et une partie du côlon transverse, appelée "segment proximal".
  • Intestin postérieur , qui forme une partie du côlon transverse appelée "partie distale", ainsi que sa partie descendante, le sigmoïde (parties du côlon ayant la forme d'un "S") et du rectum.

Composants de l'END

Comme nous l'avons vu précédemment, le système nerveux entérique est divisé en deux segments principaux issus de la crête neurale. Chacune d'entre elles contient une grande variété de cellules gliales et nerveuses et est chargée de réguler l'absorption, l'absorption et le métabolisme de tout ce que nous mangeons. Ces segments, selon Oswaldo et al. (2012), sont les suivants:

Plexus sous-muqueux de Meissner

Il se développe principalement dans l'intestin grêle et le côlon, et Il est responsable de la régulation de la digestion et de l'absorption dans la musique et les vaisseaux sanguins .

Plexus myentérique d’Auerbach

Il se trouve dans tout le tube digestif et est responsable de la coordonner l'activité des couches musculaires dudit organe .

4 types de neurones qui le composent

Le grand nombre de neurones entériques dans l'intestin grêle adulte en bonne santé reste constant pendant la majeure partie de la vie adulte, ce qui semble être le résultat d'un processus de renouvellement continu des neurones dans l'intestin (Kulkarni, S. et al, 2017). .

Les neurones faisant partie du système nerveux entérique, et donc responsables de la régulation de notre activité gastro-intestinale, sont les suivants (Oswaldo et al, 2012):

1. Neurones afférents intrinsèques primaires

Étant afférents, ce sont des neurones qui transportent les impulsions nerveuses des organes vers le système nerveux central.Cependant, étant des neurones primaires, ils ne conduisent pas directement les informations sensorielles, mais ils le font via d'autres cellules situées dans l'épithélium entérique (le tissu cellulaire qui recouvre le système nerveux entérique). C'est-à-dire, son activité est principalement celle des transducteurs sensoriels et ainsi réguler les fonctions physiologiques du tube digestif.

2. motoneurones

Comme son nom l'indique, il est responsable de l'activation des couches musculaires qui composent le tube digestif, ainsi que des vaisseaux sanguins et de certaines glandes. Ils sont à leur tour divisés en motoneurones excitateurs (acétylcholine, par exemple) ou motoneurones inhibiteurs (oxyde nitrique ou GABA, par exemple). Ces derniers, les neurones inhibiteurs, sont responsables de la régulation de la sécrétion d’eau, du débit sanguin et de la libération d’électrolytes.

3. Interneurones

Ce sont les cellules nerveuses responsables de la connexion des neurones afférents intrinsèques primaires aux motoneurones. Ils peuvent être ascendant ou descendant , selon qu’ils agissent de la tête à l’extrême opposé ou dans le sens opposé.

5. Neurones intestinofuges

Ses extensions sont situées à l'extérieur du tube digestif et se connectent aux ganglions nerveux pour former un nouveau ganglion appelé "prévertébral". Sa fonction principale est d’avertir des modifications de l’activité intestinale, de sorte que il s'agit de mécanorécepteurs (Neurones secondaires qui déclenchent des potentiels d’action avant les stimuli mécaniques).

Principales fonctions de l'END et pathologies associées

Selon Furness, 2012, les principales fonctions remplies par le système nerveux entérique sont les suivantes:

  • Déterminer les schémas de mouvement du tractus gastro-intestinal.
  • Contrôler la sécrétion d'acide gastrique .
  • Réglez le mouvement et les fluides qui traversent l'épithélium.
  • Modifier le flux sanguin localement
  • Modifier et réguler l'absorption des nutriments.
  • Interagir avec le système endocrinien intestinal et aussi avec le système immunitaire.
  • Maintenir l'intégrité de la barrière épithéliale qui divise les cellules de l'intestin.

Une mauvaise utilisation de ce système affecte les fonctions décrites ci-dessus. Pour l'essentiel, le fonctionnement inadéquat de l'END les neuropathies sont liées et rendent difficile le contrôle de l'activité musculaire et le mouvement du liquide muqueux . Ce qui précède se reflète dans différentes maladies du côlon et du tube digestif.

De plus, le fonctionnement inadéquat de l'END peut être d'origine congénitale ou acquis au cours du développement postnatal. Généralement, cette dernière est due à une affection médicale secondaire qui finit par nuire considérablement au fonctionnement du SNS, bien qu'elle puisse également résulter d'un effet iatrogène de certains médicaments ou d'une neuropathologie induite par l'usage de médicaments.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Kulkarni, S., Micci, M-A., Leser, J., Shin, Ch., Tang, S-Ch., Fu, Y-Y., ..., Pasricha, P. (2017). Le système nerveux entérique adulte en santé est maintenu par un équilibre dynamique entre l'apoptose neuronale et la neurogenèse. Actes de l'Académie nationale des sciences des États-Unis d'Amérique, 114 (18): E3709-E3718.
  • Furness, J. (2012). Le système nerveux entérique et la neurogastroentérologie. Nature Reviews Gastroenterology & Hepatology, 9: 286-294.
  • Oswaldo, J., N. Frank-Márquez, R. Cervantes-Bustamante, J., Cadena-León, E. Montijo-Barrios, ... Ramírez-Mayans, J. (2012). Système nerveux entérique et motilité gastro-intestinale
  • Grundy, D. et Schemann, M. (2007). Système nerveux entérique. Current Opinion in Gastroenterology, 23 (2): 121-126.

Dennis and Dr. Jen Clark on It's Supernatural with Sid Roth - God's Presence 24/7 (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes