yes, therapy helps!
Entorrinal cortex (brain): what is it and what functions does it have?

Entorrinal cortex (brain): what is it and what functions does it have?

May 4, 2024

The cerebral cortex is one of the most known structures, developed and visible in our brain, possessing a large number of functions that allow us to be who and how we are and adaptively behave in order to survive. But we are not facing a homogeneous mass that takes care of everything: different brain regions have different nerve fibers that specialize in different functions.

Although it is common to know names such as prefrontal or orbitofrontal cortex, other areas are not as popular and tend to go unnoticed despite carrying out important functions. Among the latter we can find the entorhinal cortex , which we are going to talk about in this article.


  • You may be interested: "Parts of the human brain (and functions)"

What is the entorhinal cortex?

The entorhinal cortex is a region of the brain located in the ventromedial temporal region, specifically located in the parahippocampal gyrus caudal to the olfactory cortex of the uncus and in direct contact with the hippocampus. It includes the areas of Brodmann 28 and 34, and borders the perirrinal cortex and the lateral sulcus.

This brain region has multiple connections to different areas of the brain. Connects with the olfactory and visual pathways and with different structures of the temporal, parietal and frontal lobes (including the orbitofrontal cortex.) However, the structure with the highest level of connection is the hippocampus, serving as a relay center that distributes information that enters or leaves it and acts as a bridge between it and other areas of the brain. between hippocampus and entorhinal cortex is carried out through the so-called perforating pathway.


It is considered an area of ​​association that ends up integrating and sending information to the hippocampus, as well as an important part of the limbic system, receiving afferences from the amygdala and contributing to the sensory information of emotional components in memory.

Principal functions

The entorhinal cortex has a very important role in our organism, allowing the realization, integration and good functioning of a large number of cognitive functions . Some of the functions in which this part of the cortex has been most involved are the following.

1. Relief center

Traditionally its best-known function, one of the multiple roles of the entorhinal cortex is that of allow information from the rest of the cortex to reach the hippocampus and in turn that which arises from the hippocampus reaches the rest of the brain.


2. Memory: formation and consolidation of memories

The entorhinal cortex is considered one of the most relevant brain nuclei in terms of memory capacity, being the bridge through which arrives and sends information to or from the hippocampus.

Is about a fundamental region in the formation and consolidation of memories In fact, lesion of the entorhinal cortex can make it difficult or even impossible to encode and record new content or information, producing anterograde amnesia.

One aspect to highlight is that this cortex is active during sleep, especially in REM, something linked to its role in the consolidation of memories in memory.

  • You might be interested: "[Types of memory: how does the human brain store memories?] (Types of memory: how does memory store the human brain?)"

3. Gnosias

The entorhinal cortex is not only important in the formation of memories, but also in the recognition of stimuli . And it is deeply linked to semantic memory, which dictates what are the things we see and allows us to recognize them.

4. Visual and auditory information association

This brain region also has an important role at the associative level, being an area in which auditory and visual information is integrated. In fact, through the entorhinal cortex it passes information referring to all the senses, although said information arrives directly from multimodal association areas (that is, not only the information of one direction but directly the integration of several).

5. Space navigation

Another function in which the involvement of the entorhinal cortex was observed is spatial orientation and navigation. This area is the one it lets us know in which direction we are moving , being involved in the formation of mental maps.

6. Coding of odors

The entorhinal cortex also has a relevant role in regard to the olfactory system. Specifically, has been associated with the ability to code the intensity of odor and in the association of smells with memories.

Some associated disorders

The entorhinal cortex is an important brain region whose injury can have multiple consequences and effects. Mainly memory and recognition alterations occur , but also difficulties appear at the level of orientation, visual and motor problems.

Among some of the main disorders in which we have seen the presence of lesions in the entorhinal cortex (usually together with those of the hippocampus), we can the following.

1. Amnesic syndrome

Amnestic syndrome is understood to be an alteration in memory derived from some type of brain injury (psychogenic amnesias or those produced by non-organic mental disorders are not included in the syndrome).

In the amnestic syndrome anterograde amnesia is fundamentally produced in which the subject is not able to record new information, something that may or may not be accompanied by retrograde amnesia (I do not remember previous events in the subject's life). Traditionally linked to hippocampal problems, in this type of syndromes there is usually also an important involvement of the entorhinal and perirrinal cortex.

2. Alzheimer's

Multiple authors and researchers consider that the entorhinal cortex is one of the points in which Alzheimer's originates, being one of the first areas that are affected by this disease. Specifically, neurodegeneration generated by the accumulation of tau protein is observed in the lateral part of the entorhinal cortex, as well as the formation of beta-amyloid plaques. This will later expand along the temporal cortex and finally to the rest of the brain as the disease progresses.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Alzheimer's: causes, symptoms, treatment and prevention"

3. Agnosias

Although we are not dealing with a disorder per se, but rather with a symptom, agnosia is understood as the lack of recognition of the properties of a stimulus with which we are familiar. The presence of lesions in the entorhinal cortex can hinder this process, by linking to hippocampal memory. For example, odor recognition may disappear.

Bibliographic references

  • Chadwick, M.J .; Jolly, A.E .; Amos, D.P .; Hassabis, D. & Spiers, H.J. (2015). A Goal Direction Signal In the Human Entorhinal / Subicular Region. Current Biology, 25: 87-92.
  • Khan, U.A .; Liu, L .; Provenzano, F.A .; Berman, D.E .; Profaci, C.P .; Sloan, R .; Mayeux, R .; Duff, K.E. & Small, S.A. (2014). Molecular drivers and cortical spread of lateral entorhinal cortex dysfunction in preclinical Alzheimer's disease. Nature Neuroscience, 17: 304-311.
  • Rolls, E.T .; Kringelbach, M.L. & de-Araujo, I.E. (2003). Different representations of pleasant and unpleasant odours in the human brain. Eur J Neurosci; 18: 695-703.
  • Stedman, T.L. (1990). Stedman's Medical Dictionary, 25th Edition. William & Wilkins.

2-Minute Neuroscience: The Hippocampus (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le cortex enterrinal (cerveau): de quoi s'agit-il et quelles sont ses fonctions?

Le cortex enterrinal (cerveau): de quoi s'agit-il et quelles sont ses fonctions?

Mai 25, 2022

Le cortex cérébral est l'une des structures les plus connues, développée et visible dans notre cerveau, possédant un grand nombre de fonctions qui nous permettent d'être qui et comment nous sommes et de nous comporter de manière adaptative pour survivre. Mais nous ne sommes pas confrontés à une masse homogène qui s’occupe de tout: différentes régions du cerveau possèdent différentes fibres nerveuses spécialisées dans différentes fonctions.

Bien qu'il soit courant de connaître des noms tels que cortex préfrontal ou orbitofrontal, d'autres régions ne sont pas aussi populaires et ont tendance à passer inaperçues malgré leurs importantes fonctions. Parmi ces derniers, on trouve le cortex entorhinal , dont nous allons parler dans cet article.


  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Parties du cerveau humain (et fonctions)"

Qu'est-ce que le cortex entorhinal?

Le cortex entorhinal est une région du cerveau située dans la région temporale ventromédiale, spécifiquement située dans le gyrus parahippocampique caudal au cortex olfactif de l’unus et en contact direct avec l'hippocampe. Il comprend les zones de Brodmann 28 et 34, et borde le cortex périrrinal et le sulcus latéral.

Cette région cérébrale a de multiples connexions avec différentes zones du cerveau. Se connecte avec les voies olfactives et visuelles et avec différentes structures des lobes temporaux, pariétaux et frontaux (y compris le cortex orbitofrontal.) Cependant, la structure avec le niveau de connexion le plus élevé est l’hippocampe, qui sert de centre de relais qui diffuse les informations qui y pénètrent ou qui la quittent et sert de pont entre celui-ci et d’autres régions du cerveau. entre l'hippocampe et le cortex entorhinal se fait par la voie dite perforante.


Il s'agit d'un domaine d'association qui finit par intégrer et envoyer des informations à l'hippocampe, ainsi qu'à une partie importante du système limbique, recevant des afférences de l'amygdale et contribuant à l'information sensorielle des composants émotionnels de la mémoire.

Fonctions principales

Le cortex entorhinal joue un rôle très important dans notre organisme, permettant la réalisation, l'intégration et le bon fonctionnement d'un grand nombre de fonctions cognitives . Certaines des fonctions dans lesquelles cette partie du cortex a été le plus impliquée sont les suivantes.

1. centre de secours

Traditionnellement sa fonction la plus connue, l’un des rôles multiples du cortex entorhinal est celui de permettre aux informations du reste du cortex d'atteindre l'hippocampe et à son tour, ce qui provient de l'hippocampe atteint le reste du cerveau.


2. Mémoire: formation et consolidation des mémoires

Le cortex entorhinal est considéré comme l'un des noyaux cérébraux les plus importants en termes de capacité de mémoire. Il constitue le pont par lequel les informations arrivent et envoient des informations vers ou depuis l'hippocampe.

Il s'agit de une région fondamentale dans la formation et la consolidation des mémoires En fait, une lésion du cortex entorhinal peut rendre difficile, voire impossible, le codage et l'enregistrement de nouveaux contenus ou informations, produisant une amnésie antérograde.

Un aspect à souligner est que ce cortex est actif pendant le sommeil, en particulier dans les régions REM, ce qui est lié à son rôle dans la consolidation des mémoires dans la mémoire.

  • Cela pourrait vous intéresser: "[Types de mémoire: comment le cerveau humain stocke-t-il des souvenirs?] (Types de mémoire: comment la mémoire stocke-t-elle le cerveau humain?)"

3. Gnosias

Le cortex entorhinal est important non seulement dans la formation des souvenirs, mais aussi dans la reconnaissance des stimuli . Et cela est profondément lié à la mémoire sémantique, qui dicte ce que nous voyons et nous permet de les reconnaître.

4. Association d'informations visuelles et auditives

Cette région du cerveau joue également un rôle important au niveau associatif, en tant que domaine dans lequel les informations auditives et visuelles sont intégrées. En fait, à travers le cortex entorhinal, il transmet des informations relatives à tous les sens, bien que ces informations arrive directement des zones d'association multimodales (c’est-à-dire non seulement l’information d’une direction, mais directement l’intégration de plusieurs).

5. Navigation spatiale

Une autre fonction dans laquelle la participation du cortex entorhinal a été observée est l'orientation spatiale et la navigation. Cette zone est celle cela nous permet de savoir dans quelle direction nous allons , étant impliqué dans la formation de cartes mentales.

6. Codage des odeurs

Le cortex entorhinal joue également un rôle important dans le système olfactif. Plus précisément a été associé à la capacité de coder l'intensité de l'odeur et dans l'association des odeurs avec des souvenirs.

Quelques troubles associés

Le cortex entorhinal est une région cérébrale importante dont la lésion peut avoir de multiples conséquences. Principalement des altérations de la mémoire et de la reconnaissance , mais des difficultés apparaissent également au niveau de l’orientation, des problèmes visuels et moteurs.

Parmi les principaux troubles dans lesquels nous avons constaté la présence de lésions dans le cortex entorhinal (généralement associées à celles de l'hippocampe), nous pouvons citer les suivantes.

1. syndrome amnésique

On entend par syndrome amnésique une altération de la mémoire résultant d'un certain type de lésion cérébrale (les amnésies psychogènes ou celles produites par des troubles mentaux non organiques ne sont pas incluses dans le syndrome).

Dans le syndrome amnésique l'amnésie antérograde est fondamentalement produite dans lequel le sujet n'est pas en mesure d'enregistrer de nouvelles informations, quelque chose qui peut être accompagné ou non d'une amnésie rétrograde (je ne me souviens pas d'événements précédents dans la vie du sujet). Traditionnellement liée aux problèmes de l'hippocampe, dans ce type de syndromes, il existe également une implication importante du cortex entorhinal et périrrinal.

2. Alzheimer

De nombreux auteurs et chercheurs considèrent que le cortex entorhinal est l’un des points d’origine de la maladie d’Alzheimer, l’une des premières zones touchées par cette maladie. Plus précisément on observe une neurodégénérescence générée par l'accumulation de la protéine tau dans la partie latérale du cortex entorhinal, ainsi que la formation de plaques bêta-amyloïdes. Cela se développera plus tard le long du cortex temporal et finalement jusqu'au reste du cerveau au fur et à mesure de l'évolution de la maladie.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Alzheimer: causes, symptômes, traitement et prévention"

3. Agnosias

Bien qu'il ne s'agisse pas d'un trouble en soi, mais d'un symptôme, on entend par agnosie le manque de reconnaissance des propriétés d'un stimulus avec lequel nous sommes familiers. La présence de lésions dans le cortex entorhinal peut entraver ce processus en se liant à la mémoire de l'hippocampe. Par exemple, la reconnaissance des odeurs peut disparaître.

Références bibliographiques

  • Chadwick, M.J .; Jolly, A.E .; Amos, D.P .; Hassabis, D. & Spiers, H.J. (2015). Un signal de direction de but dans la région entorhinale / subiculaire humaine. Current Biology, 25: 87-92.
  • Khan, États-Unis; Liu, L .; Provenzano, F.A .; Berman, D.E; Profaci, C.P .; Sloan, R .; Mayeux, R; Duff, K.E. & Small, S.A. (2014). Facteurs moteurs moléculaires et propagation corticale du dysfonctionnement du cortex entorhinal latéral dans la maladie d'Alzheimer préclinique Nature Neuroscience, 17: 304-311.
  • Rolls, E.T .; Kringelbach, M.L. & de-Araujo, I.E. (2003). Différentes représentations d'odeurs agréables et désagréables dans le cerveau humain. Eur J Neurosci; 18: 695-703.
  • Stedman, T.L. (1990). Stedman's Medical Dictionary, 25ème édition. William et Wilkins.

SVT BAC S - Le cerveau : cortex et aires cérébrales (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes