yes, therapy helps!
Enuresis (urinating on): causes, symptoms and treatment

Enuresis (urinating on): causes, symptoms and treatment

July 12, 2024

Enuresis is part of elimination disorders , corresponding to the group of psychopathologies related to the stage of childhood and development. Its manifestation is often the external sample of some kind of internal and intense emotional discomfort of the child.

Even though wetting the bed is a very common phenomenon in childhood, this disorder is relatively poorly understood. Far from maintaining the unfounded belief in the commission of this type of behavior as voluntary and malicious acts on the part of the child, we will now explain the main characteristics that define this disorder.

What is enuresis?

Enuresis can be defined as the clinically significant difficulty in exercising adequate control of the sphincters in the absence of a cause, either organic or derived from the consumption of certain substances, clearly observable.


Among the diagnostic criteria, it is emphasized that the child must perform such elimination behavior in inappropriate situations involuntarily with a frequency equal to or greater than twice a week for at least three months Consecutive

In addition, this type of behavior must generate a significant emotional discomfort in different areas of the child's life and can not be diagnosed before the age of five.

  • Related article: "The 7 main sleep disorders"

Comorbidity and prevalence

In the usual way, the diagnosis of enuresis is associated with sleepwalking, night terrors and, above all, problems with sleep. deterioration of self-esteem, incomprehension and paternal criticism . As a result of these circumstances, the isolation of the child is derived in terms of participation in activities that involve outings such as excursions or camps.


The prevalence in each sex varies according to age, being higher in younger children and older girls, although the general proportion varies around 10% of the child population . Night enuresis is the most frequent. In most cases there is a spontaneous remission, mainly of secondary type, but it can also be maintained until adolescence.

  • Related article: "The regulation of emotions in childhood"

Types of enuresis

Enuresis can be classified according to three different criteria: moment when the episodes of sphincter decontrol , if it has preceded a time in which the child was able to control the pee and if it is accompanied by other concomitant symptoms.

Based on these criteria we can establish the following types of enuresis.


1. Diurnal, nocturnal or mixed enuresis

Diurnal enuresis occurs during the day and is related to anxious symptoms, more frequent in girls. The night type is more frequent and it is linked to images referring to the act of urinating during REM sleep. Cases of mixed enuresis are those in which the episodes occur both by day and by night.

2. Primary or secondary enuresis

The qualifier "primary" applies if the child has not previously experienced a sphincter control stage. In the case of enuresis secondary if a control stage has been observed in the past of a minimum duration of six months.

3. Monosymptomatic or polysymptomatic enuresis

As the name suggests, monosymptomatic enuresis is not accompanied by any other type of symptomatology, while polysymptomatic enuresis is accompanied by other voiding manifestations such as pollakiuria (increase in the number of daily urinations).

Causes

Without being able to count today with a general consensus on what are the factors that cause enuresis, there seems to be some agreement in establishing an interaction between causes of biological type and psychological type .

There are three kinds of explanations that shed light on the origin of this disorder.

1. Genetic theories

Genetic research has found that 77% of children diagnosed with enuresis belong to families in which both parents presented said alteration during his childhood, compared to 15% of the children of families with no history.

In addition, greater correspondence has been found between monozygotic twins than between dizygotic twins, which indicates a significant degree of genetic determination and heritability.

  • Related article: "Genetics and behavior: do genes decide how we act?"

2. Physiological theories

Physiological theories defend the existence of altered bladder function , as well as insufficient capacity in the bladder.On the other hand, there has been a deficit in the secretion of the hormone vasopressin or antidiuretic, predominantly during the night.

3. Psychological theories

These theories argue for the presence of emotional or anxiogenic conflicts that result in the loss of sphincter control, although some authors indicate that it is enuresis itself that motivates these emotional alterations.

It seems that the experience of stressful experiences like the birth of a brother , the separation of the parents, the death of a significant person, the change of school, etc. they can be associated with the development of the disorder.

The behavioral current proposes a process inadequate learning of hygienic habits as a possible explanation of enuresis, further affirming that certain parental patterns can negatively reinforce the acquisition of sphincter control.

  • Related article: "Infant stress: some basic tips for parents in distress"

Intervention and treatment

Various are the treatments that have a proven efficacy in the intervention in enuresis, although it is true that multimodal therapies that combine several of the components listed below have a more acceptable success rate.

Next, we will describe the intervention techniques and procedures currently used in the treatment of enuresis.

1. Motivational therapy

In enuresis, Motivational Therapy focuses on the decreased anxiety and emotional disturbances comorbid with the disorder, as well as working to enhance self-esteem and improve the family relationship.

2. The Pipe-Stop Technique

The "Pipí-Stop" is based on the operating technique of Token Economics . Once the anamnesis was made and the functional analysis of the case was elaborated by means of the interviews with the parents and the child, it is prescribed to carry out an autoregistration on the evolution of the enuretic episodes during each night. At the end of the week a count of points is made and, in case of having reached a certain goal, the child receives a reward for the achievement obtained.

At the same time follow-up interviews with the family are carried out, tips are given to increase the effectiveness of the bladder function and progressively more advanced objectives are being proposed.

3. Training in Dry Bed

This intervention program proposes a series of tasks divided into three differentiated phases in which fundamental principles of operant conditioning are applied: positive reinforcement, positive punishment and overcorrection of behavior.

At first, together with the installation of a Pipi-Stop device (sound alarm), the child is instructed in the so-called "Positive Practice", in which the subject must get out of bed to go to the bathroom Repeatedly, ingest a limited amount of fluid and go back to bed and start the dream. After an hour he is awakened to see if he is able to endure the need to urinate for longer. This procedure is repeated every hour that same night.

In case of wetting the bed, the Cleaning Training is applied, by which the child must change both his own clothes and those of the bed that has been soiled before going back to sleep.

In a second phase, the child is awakened every three hours until he gets add seven consecutive nights without wetting the bed . At that moment, we move on to a final phase in which the alarm device is removed and we allow it to sleep through the night without waking it up. This last phase ends when the child has achieved a total of seven nights in a row without wetting the bed.

For each successful night it is positively reinforced to the child and for each night of non-control, Positive Practice should be applied immediately.

4. Bladder distension exercises

They consist of training the child to go increases all the time of urine retention Gradually The child should notify the parents when they feel like urinating and in addition, the volume of fluid retained in the bladder should be measured and recorded periodically on each occasion prior to urination.

5. Pharmacological treatments

Pharmacological treatments, such as Desmopressin (antidiuretic) or Oxybutyn and Imipramine (muscle relaxants for increased bladder capacity), have a moderate efficacy in the treatment of enuresis, since they get lost the improvements as soon as the treatment is abandoned and have considerable side effects (anxiety, sleep disturbances, constipation, vertigo, etc.).

6. Multimodal treatments

These intervention packages combine different techniques exposed in previous lines and present a higher efficacy since they address the alterations produced in the cognitive (psychoeducation of the disorder), affective (coping with anxiety, fears and concerns generated), somatic (pharmacological prescription), interpersonal (coping with family stressors) areas. and behavioral (the intervention of enuretic behavior directly).

Leaving the bed wet

As has been observed, enuresis is a complex psychopathology that requires a set of interventions that involve the entire family system.

It is very relevant the application of behavior modification techniques , concretely the "Pipí-Stop" and the Training in cleaning, although equally fundamental it becomes to deepen and to determine what factors of emotional character are causing such symptomatology.

Bibliographic references:

  • Belloch, A., Sandín, B. and Ramos, F. (1995). Manual of psychopathology (Vol.2, Part VI, Psychopathology of development). Madrid: McGraw-Hill.
  • Caballo, V. and Simón, M. A. (Eds.) (2002). Manual of clinical psychology of childhood and adolescence, 2 volumes. Madrid: Pyramid.
  • Ollendick, T. H. and Hersen, M. (1993). Psychopathology for children. Barcelona: Martinez Roca.
  • Méndez, F.J. and Maciá, D. (1990). Behavior modification with children and adolescents. Book of cases. Madrid: Pyramid.

Health Problems : Reasons for Adult Bedwetting (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Enurésie (uriner sur): causes, symptômes et traitement

Enurésie (uriner sur): causes, symptômes et traitement

Mai 20, 2019

L'énurésie fait partie des troubles d'élimination , correspondant au groupe de psychopathologies liées au stade de l’enfance et au développement. Sa manifestation est souvent l'échantillon externe d'une sorte de malaise émotionnel interne et intense de l'enfant.

Bien que mouiller le lit est un phénomène très courant dans l'enfance, ce trouble est relativement mal compris. Loin de maintenir la croyance infondée dans la perpétration de ce type de comportement en tant qu'actes volontaires et malveillants de la part de l'enfant, nous allons maintenant expliquer les principales caractéristiques qui définissent ce trouble.

Qu'est-ce que l'énurésie?

L'énurésie peut être définie comme la difficulté cliniquement significative d'exercer un contrôle adéquat des sphincters en l'absence d'une cause, qu'elle soit organique ou dérivée de la consommation de certaines substances, clairement observable.


Parmi les critères de diagnostic, il est souligné que l'enfant doit adopter ce comportement d'élimination dans des situations inappropriées involontairement avec une fréquence égale ou supérieure à deux fois par semaine pendant au moins trois mois Consécutive

En outre, ce type de comportement doit générer un inconfort émotionnel important dans différents domaines de la vie de l'enfant et ne peut être diagnostiqué avant l'âge de cinq ans.

  • Article connexe: "Les 7 principaux troubles du sommeil"

Comorbidité et prévalence

Comme d'habitude, le diagnostic d'énurésie est associé au somnambulisme, aux terreurs nocturnes et, surtout, aux problèmes de sommeil. détérioration de l'estime de soi, incompréhension et critique paternelle . En raison de ces circonstances, l’isolement de l’enfant découle de sa participation à des activités comportant des sorties telles que des excursions ou des camps.


La prévalence dans chaque sexe varie selon l'âge, étant plus élevée chez les enfants plus jeunes et les filles plus âgées, bien que la proportion générale varie environ 10% de la population enfantine . L'énurésie nocturne est la plus fréquente. Dans la plupart des cas, il existe une rémission spontanée, principalement de type secondaire, mais elle peut également être maintenue jusqu'à l'adolescence.

  • Article connexe: "La régulation des émotions dans l'enfance"

Types d'énurésie

L'énurésie peut être classée selon trois critères différents: moment où le épisodes de décontrôle du sphincter , si elle a précédé une période au cours de laquelle l'enfant était capable de contrôler le pipi et si celle-ci est accompagnée d'autres symptômes concomitants.

Sur la base de ces critères, nous pouvons établir les types d’énurésie suivants.


1. Énurésie diurne, nocturne ou mixte

L'énurésie diurne survient pendant la journée et est liée à des symptômes anxieux, plus fréquents chez les filles. Le type de nuit est plus fréquent et il est lié à des images faisant référence à l'acte d'uriner pendant le sommeil paradoxal. Les cas d'énurésie mixte sont ceux dans lesquels les épisodes se produisent de jour comme de nuit.

2. Énurésie primaire ou secondaire

Le qualificatif «primaire» s’applique si l’enfant n’a jamais fait l’objet d’une phase de contrôle du sphincter. Dans le cas de l'énurésie secondaire si un stade de contrôle a été observé dans le passé d'une durée minimale de six mois.

3. énurésie monosymptomatique ou polysymptomatique

Comme son nom l'indique, l'énurésie monosymptomatique n'est accompagnée d'aucun autre type de symptomatologie, tandis que l'énurésie polysymptomatique est accompagnée par autres manifestations mictionnelles telles que la pollakiurie (augmentation du nombre de mictions quotidiennes).

Les causes

Sans pouvoir compter aujourd'hui avec un consensus général sur les facteurs qui causent l'énurésie, il semble exister un certain consensus pour établir une interaction entre causes de type biologique et de type psychologique .

Trois types d'explications permettent de mieux comprendre l'origine de ce trouble.

1. Théories génétiques

Les recherches génétiques ont montré que 77% des enfants diagnostiqués avec l'énurésie appartiennent à des familles dans lesquelles les deux parents ont présenté ladite modification pendant son enfance, comparé à 15% des enfants de familles sans antécédents.

De plus, une correspondance plus grande a été trouvée entre les jumeaux monozygotes qu'entre les jumeaux dizygotes, ce qui indique un degré significatif de détermination génétique et d'héritabilité.

  • Article connexe: "Génétique et comportement: les gènes décident-ils de notre action?"

2. Théories physiologiques

Les théories physiologiques défendent le existence d'une altération de la fonction vésicale , ainsi que la capacité insuffisante de la vessie.Par ailleurs, la sécrétion de l'hormone vasopressine ou antidiurétique est restée déficitaire, principalement pendant la nuit.

3. Théories psychologiques

Ces théories plaident en faveur de la présence de conflits émotionnels ou anxiogéniques entraînant la perte du contrôle du sphincter, bien que certains auteurs indiquent que c'est l'énurésie elle-même qui motive ces altérations émotionnelles.

Il semble que l'expérience de expériences stressantes comme la naissance d'un frère , la séparation des parents, le décès d'une personne importante, le changement d'école, etc. ils peuvent être associés au développement de la maladie.

Le courant comportemental propose un processus apprentissage inadéquat des habitudes d'hygiène comme explication possible de l’énurésie, affirmant en outre que certains schémas parentaux peuvent renforcer négativement l’acquisition du contrôle du sphincter.

  • Article connexe: "Stress infantile: conseils de base pour les parents en détresse"

Intervention et traitement

Divers sont les des traitements à l'efficacité prouvée dans l’intervention sur l’énurésie, bien qu’il soit vrai que les thérapies multimodales combinant plusieurs des composants énumérés ci-dessous présentent un taux de réussite plus acceptable.

Ensuite, nous décrirons les techniques et procédures d’intervention actuellement utilisées dans le traitement de l’énurésie.

1. Thérapie motivationnelle

Dans l'énurésie, la thérapie de motivation met l'accent sur diminution de l'anxiété et des perturbations émotionnelles en plus de travailler pour améliorer l'estime de soi et améliorer les relations familiales.

2. La technique du tuyau d'arrêt

Le "Pipí-Stop" est basé sur la technique de fonctionnement de Token Economics . Une fois que l'anamnèse a été faite et que l'analyse fonctionnelle du cas a été élaborée à l'aide d'entretiens avec les parents et l'enfant, il est prescrit d'effectuer un auto-enregistrement sur l'évolution des épisodes énurétiques au cours de chaque nuit. A la fin de la semaine, un décompte des points est effectué et, s'il atteint un certain objectif, l'enfant reçoit une récompense pour la réalisation obtenue.

Parallèlement, des entretiens de suivi avec la famille sont effectués, des conseils sont donnés pour accroître l’efficacité de la fonction de la vessie et des objectifs progressivement plus avancés sont proposés.

3. Entraînement au lit sec

Ce programme d’intervention propose une série de tâches divisées en trois phases différenciées dans lesquelles sont appliqués les principes fondamentaux du conditionnement opérant: renforcement positif, punition positive et surcorrection de comportement.

Tout d'abord, en même temps que l'installation d'un appareil Pipi-Stop (alarme sonore), l'enfant est initié à la "Pratique positive", dans laquelle le sujet doit sortir du lit pour aller aux toilettes À plusieurs reprises, ingérer une quantité limitée de liquide et retourner au lit et commencer le rêve. Au bout d'une heure, il est réveillé pour voir s'il est capable de supporter le besoin d'uriner plus longtemps. Cette procédure est répétée toutes les heures cette même nuit.

En cas de mouillage du lit, la formation de nettoyage est appliquée, par laquelle l’enfant doit changer ses vêtements et ceux du lit souillé avant de se rendormir.

Dans une seconde phase, l’enfant est réveillé toutes les trois heures jusqu’à ce qu’il soit ajouter sept nuits consécutives sans mouiller le lit . À ce moment, nous passons à une phase finale au cours de laquelle le dispositif d’alarme est retiré et nous le permettons de dormir toute la nuit sans le réveiller. Cette dernière phase se termine lorsque l'enfant a réussi sept nuits de suite sans mouiller le lit.

Pour chaque nuit réussie, il est positivement renforcé à l'enfant et pour chaque nuit de non-contrôle, la pratique positive doit être appliquée immédiatement.

4. Exercices de distension de la vessie

Ils consistent à former l'enfant à aller augmente tout le temps de rétention d'urine Peu à peu L'enfant doit aviser les parents lorsqu'il a envie d'uriner et, en outre, le volume de liquide retenu dans la vessie doit être mesuré et enregistré périodiquement à chaque occasion avant la miction.

5. Traitements pharmacologiques

Les traitements pharmacologiques, tels que la desmopressine (antidiurétique) ou l’Oxybutyn et l’imipramine (myorelaxants pour augmenter la capacité de la vessie), ont une efficacité modérée dans le traitement de l’énurésie, car ils se perdent les améliorations dès que le traitement est abandonné et avoir des effets secondaires considérables (anxiété, troubles du sommeil, constipation, vertiges, etc.).

6. Traitements multimodaux

Ces forfaits d'intervention combiner différentes techniques exposées dans les lignes précédentes et présentent une plus grande efficacité puisqu'ils traitent des altérations produites dans les domaines cognitif (psychoéducation de la maladie), affectif (gérer l'anxiété, les peurs et les soucis générés), somatique (prescription pharmaceutique), interpersonnel (gérer les facteurs de stress familiaux). et comportementale (intervention directe du comportement énurétique).

Laissant le lit humide

Comme on l'a observé, l'énurésie est une psychopathologie complexe qui nécessite un ensemble d'interventions impliquant l'ensemble du système familial.

C'est très pertinent le application de techniques de modification du comportement , concrètement le "Pipí-Stop" et la formation au nettoyage, bien qu’il soit tout aussi fondamental d’approfondir et de déterminer les facteurs de caractère émotionnel à l’origine de cette symptomatologie.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Belloch, A., Sandín, B. et Ramos, F. (1995). Manuel de psychopathologie (Vol.2, Partie VI, Psychopathologie du développement). Madrid: McGraw-Hill.
  • Caballo, V. et Simón, M. A. (Eds.) (2002). Manuel de psychologie clinique de l'enfance et de l'adolescence, 2 volumes. Madrid: pyramide.
  • Ollendick, T.H. et Hersen, M. (1993). Psychopathologie pour les enfants. Barcelone: ​​Martinez Roca.
  • Méndez, F.J. et Maciá, D. (1990). Modification du comportement chez les enfants et les adolescents. Livre de cas. Madrid: pyramide.

Remèdes à la maison pour arrêter l'énurésie nocturne naturellement (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes