yes, therapy helps!
Episodic memory: definition and associated parts of the brain

Episodic memory: definition and associated parts of the brain

May 29, 2024

Many times, when we talk about what we remember or fail to remember we are referring not to general knowledge about the world, but about ourselves and our experiences. In this case we are the main experts, and we can not talk about having more or less culture to know more or less details about our life, since we decide which parts are relevant and which are not.

This type of memory based on the memories of our lives is episodic memory , and our brain has a system of nerve cells specialized in keeping it in operation, which produces curious phenomena. Next we will see what are the characteristics of this mental capacity.


  • Related article: "Types of memory: how memory stores the human brain?"

What is episodic memory?

The one known as episodic memory is the type of memory responsible for processing and storing autobiographical information of each one and, specifically, that facet of their own experiences that can be expressed in words or images. In other words, it is the set of superior psychological processes that create narrative memories about one's own life, that for which one has passed.

The memories of childhood are the typical example of declarative memory, since they are composed of small stories, anecdotes that one has lived in the first person and are linked to information about contexts that one has gone through .


Thus, episodic memory is composed of data relating to a place and a moment located at some point in our past, regardless of whether these memories are more precise or more blurred.

On the other hand, and contrary to what for decades came to be defended from psychological currents related to psychoanalysis, these memories are almost always conscious (and, therefore, limited), although sometimes, if the footprint they left is very weak, they may disappear for a while to reappear timidly afterwards, although in no case do they return in great detail or through a phase cathartic; The case of false memories inculcated by another person is different, since they do not correspond with something that really happened.

Distinguishing it from emotional memory

Keep in mind that episodic memory overlaps a lot with another type of memory that, despite working with the first, is governed by different logics: emotional memory.


This set of mental processes is responsible for leave an emotional trace linked to past experiences , that is, something that can not be expressed in words.

For example, when we smell something that reminds us of our youth in a small town, that information goes beyond words and of what can be narrated and transmitted to others; after all, it is composed of subjective emotions. We can explain stories about the things that we live in that place, but we can not spread emotions in such a direct way, only an approximation.

In short, emotional memory is not part of the category called "declarative memory", composed of semantics and episodic memory, and therefore is not composed of concepts.

Parts of the brain involved

Possibly, the two most relevant brain structures in the functioning of episodic memory are the hippocampus and the cerebral cortex, especially that found in the temporal lobes.

The hippocampi (as there is one in each hemisphere of the brain) are structures located on the inner side of the temporal lobes, and are believed to act as a "directory" of information. That is encode memories belonging to declarative memory , and then let these migrate to other areas of the brain, spread over almost the entire cerebral cortex, which is where they are "stored" (especially important is the role of the prefrontal cortex).

In comparison, for example, emotional memory depends much more on another pair of structures known as tonsils, and not so much on hippocampi. In this way, people with damaged hippocampus can remember very little about their life and, nevertheless, preserve emotional responses to certain stimuli linked to their past: a house, a song, etc.

Disorders that damage it

Since the memories of episodic memory are distributed throughout a large part of the brain, there are many pathologies and types of accidents capable of harming it. In practice, it is the dementias that most fatten this mental capacity (along with other types of memory). The case of Alzheimer's disease is known precisely because autobiographical memories are lost as the pathology progresses.

Other diseases capable of damaging it are brain tumors, ischemia in the brain, encephalitis in one of its varieties and a large number of serious neurological disorders, such as Korsakoff's syndrome or spongiform encephalopathies that perforate nervous system tissues.


The Hippocampus and episodic memory (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Mémoire épisodique: définition et parties associées du cerveau

Mémoire épisodique: définition et parties associées du cerveau

Avril 15, 2021

Souvent, lorsque nous parlons de ce dont nous nous souvenons ou ne nous en souvenons pas, nous ne parlons pas de connaissances générales sur le monde, mais de nous-mêmes et de nos expériences. Dans ce cas, nous sommes les principaux experts et nous ne pouvons pas parler d’avoir plus ou moins de culture pour connaître plus ou moins de détails sur notre vie, car nous décidons quelles parties sont pertinentes et lesquelles ne le sont pas.

Ce type de mémoire basé sur les mémoires de nos vies est une mémoire épisodique , et notre cerveau possède un système de cellules nerveuses spécialisées dans son fonctionnement qui produit des phénomènes curieux. Nous verrons ensuite quelles sont les caractéristiques de cette capacité mentale.


  • Article connexe: "Types de mémoire: comment la mémoire stocke le cerveau humain?"

Qu'est-ce que la mémoire épisodique?

Celle connue sous le nom de mémoire épisodique est le type de mémoire responsable du traitement et du stockage des informations autobiographiques de chacun d’eux et, plus précisément, cette facette de leurs propres expériences qui peut être exprimée en mots ou en images. En d’autres termes, c’est l’ensemble des processus psychologiques supérieurs qui créent des mémoires narratives sur sa propre vie, celle pour laquelle on est passé.

Les souvenirs d'enfance sont l'exemple typique de la mémoire déclarative, puisqu'ils sont composés de petites histoires, d'anecdotes que l'on a vécues à la première personne et sont liés à des informations sur contextes que l'on a traversé .


Ainsi, la mémoire épisodique est composée de données relatives à un lieu et à un moment situés dans notre passé, que ces mémoires soient plus précises ou plus floues.

D'autre part, et contrairement à ce qui a été défendu pendant des décennies contre les courants psychologiques liés à la psychanalyse, ces souvenirs sont presque toujours conscients (et, par conséquent, limités), bien que parfois, si l'empreinte laissée par eux soit très faible, ils peuvent disparaître pendant un certain temps pour réapparaître ensuite timidement, bien qu'en aucun cas ils ne reviennent en détail ou par une phase cathartique; Le cas de faux souvenirs inculqués par une autre personne est différent, car ils ne correspondent pas à quelque chose qui s'est réellement passé.

Le distinguer de la mémoire émotionnelle

Gardez à l'esprit que la mémoire épisodique recoupe beaucoup un autre type de mémoire qui, malgré le travail avec le premier, est régie par différentes logiques: la mémoire émotionnelle.


Cet ensemble de processus mentaux est responsable de laisser une trace émotionnelle liée aux expériences passées , c’est-à-dire quelque chose qui ne peut pas être exprimé avec des mots.

Par exemple, lorsque nous sentons quelque chose qui nous rappelle notre jeunesse dans une petite ville, cette information dépasse les mots et de ce qui peut être raconté et transmis aux autres; après tout, il est composé d'émotions subjectives. Nous pouvons expliquer des histoires sur les choses que nous vivons dans cet endroit, mais nous ne pouvons pas répandre des émotions de manière aussi directe, mais seulement une approximation.

En bref, la mémoire émotionnelle ne fait pas partie de la catégorie appelée "mémoire déclarative", composée de sémantique et de mémoire épisodique, et n'est donc pas composée de concepts.

Parties du cerveau impliquées

Les deux structures cérébrales les plus importantes pour le fonctionnement de la mémoire épisodique sont probablement l'hippocampe et le cortex cérébral, en particulier celui des lobes temporaux.

Les hippocampes (comme il en existe un dans chaque hémisphère du cerveau) sont des structures situées sur la face interne des lobes temporaux et sont supposés agir comme un "répertoire" d'informations. C'est que encoder des mémoires appartenant à la mémoire déclarative , puis laissez-les migrer vers d’autres régions du cerveau, réparties sur presque tout le cortex cérébral, où ils sont "stockés" (le rôle du cortex préfrontal est particulièrement important).

En comparaison, par exemple, la mémoire émotionnelle dépend beaucoup plus d'une autre paire de structures appelées amygdales, et pas tellement de l'hippocampe. De cette façon, les personnes dont l'hippocampe est endommagé se souviennent très peu de leur vie et, néanmoins, préserver les réponses émotionnelles à certains stimuli liés à leur passé: une maison, une chanson, etc.

Des troubles qui l'endommagent

Les mémoires de mémoire épisodique étant réparties dans une grande partie du cerveau, il existe de nombreuses pathologies et types d'accidents susceptibles de lui nuire. En pratique, ce sont les démences qui font le plus grossir cette capacité mentale (avec d'autres types de mémoire). Le cas de la maladie d'Alzheimer est connu précisément parce que les mémoires autobiographiques sont perdues au fur et à mesure que la pathologie progresse.

Les autres maladies susceptibles de l'endommager sont les tumeurs cérébrales, l'ischémie cérébrale, une encéphalite à l'une de ses variétés et un grand nombre de troubles neurologiques graves, tels que le syndrome de Korsakoff ou des encéphalopathies spongiformes perforant les tissus du système nerveux.


Le cerveau en 2 minutes : la mémoire affective (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes