yes, therapy helps!
Epithalamus: parts and functions of this brain structure

Epithalamus: parts and functions of this brain structure

July 18, 2024

The human brain is not an amorphous and homogeneous mass , but it can be found in a large number of structures and substructures with large differences between them, which work with different neurotransmitters and have various functions.

Although some of these structures of the brain are known by many people, such as the amygdala or the hippocampus, others are more unknown despite having an important role in regulating our behavior. For example, helping to regulate hormones and to follow circadian rhythms. This is the case of the epithalamus , which we are going to talk about in this article.

  • Related article: "Parts of the human brain (and functions)"

What is the epithalamus?

The epithalamus is a relatively small structure that is part of the diencephalon and that can be found just above the thalamus and touching the roof of the third ventricle. It is a structure mainly linked to the limbic system, being relevant in the management of instinct and emotions.


It is also associated with the neuroendocrine system through the pineal gland, one of the main structures that forms part of the epithalamus that is also part of this system. We are dealing with a structure with a wide gamma of connections with the rest of the brain regions, including the olfactory system (also related to the perception and reaction to odors) and many other structures of the encephalon.

  • Related article: "What is the thalamus and what is its function in our nervous system?"

Parts of the epitalamo

The epithalamus is configured by a set of structures of great importance for the human being. Apart from the medullary striae, nerve fibers that establish connections with other regions of the brain, we can find two large structures, which are the most relevant and known of the epitalamo.


Epiphysis or pineal gland

The most known structure of the epithalamus is the pineal gland. It is an element known since antiquity (specifically the first information that has been found about it date from the third century BC), proposing Descartes the existence in it of animal spirits related to emotions.

Inervated by the autonomic nervous system and being connected to other nuclei such as the septals, the pineal gland is an important regulating brain structure of the neuroendocrine system , participating in functions such as the regulation of energy and sexuality.

One of the most important aspects of the pineal gland is the fact that it is responsible for secreting melatonin from serotonin, when the illumination is nonexistent or very low. In this way the epiphysis is essential in regulation of circadian rhythms and sleep and wakefulness .


It is also involved in the synthesis of endorphins and sex hormones such as luteinizing hormone, as well as sexual growth and maturation (which delays its activity).

  • Related article: "Pineal gland (or epiphysis): functions and anatomy"

Habenula or habenular nuclei

In addition to the pineal gland, the other major structure of the epithalamus is the habenula or habenular nuclei (since there are actually two structures). It is linked to the previous one, and it is very important when receiving and send connections nuclei of the limbic system and reticular formation . Habenular nuclei are elements that, unlike epiphyses, do not have endocrine functions.

Acts largely as a bridge between various brain areas (including in addition to the above the thalamic nuclei, those of the forebrain or preoptic area) but precisely because of these connections also seems to be involved in the motivation not to act, fear and negative evaluations of the facts similar to those that in the past could have caused us harm. Finally, they are also linked to the ability to provide emotional information to the smells .

Its functions

As we have indicated previously, although the epithalamus is not especially known, its existence and functioning in the brain is of great relevance for the human being, having important functions for our adaptation and survival.

As part of the limbic system, participates in the management of emotion and motivation . In this sense, its role in different disorders such as depression or anticipatory anxiety can be explored.

One of these functions is the management of circadian rhythms, our biological clock that regulates at what times of the day we have and use more or less energy.In this sense it also has great importance in the management of sleep, because the pineal gland present in the epitalamo reacts to the absence of light producing melatonin and decreasing energy levels, facilitating sleep.

It also participates in sexual growth and maturation , adjusting the biological rhythm in which we develop and we become adults. Finally, their connections with olfactory pathways make them relate to the ability to perceive smells and give them an emotional meaning.

Bibliographic references

  • Kandel, E.R .; Schwartz, J.H. & Jessell, T.M. (2001). Principles of neuroscience. Fourth edition. McGraw-Hill Interamericana. Madrid.

the Diencephalon (Brain) ☆ Human Anatomy Course (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Epithalamus: parties et fonctions de cette structure cérébrale

Epithalamus: parties et fonctions de cette structure cérébrale

Juillet 6, 2020

Le cerveau humain n'est pas une masse amorphe et homogène , mais il peut être trouvé dans un grand nombre de structures et sous-structures avec de grandes différences entre elles, qui fonctionnent avec différents neurotransmetteurs et ont différentes fonctions.

Bien que certaines personnes, telles que l’amygdale ou l’hippocampe, connaissent certaines de ces structures cérébrales, d’autres sont plus méconnues bien qu’elles jouent un rôle important dans la régulation de notre comportement. Par exemple, aider à réguler les hormones et à suivre les rythmes circadiens. C'est le cas de l'épithalamus , dont nous allons parler dans cet article.

  • Article connexe: "Parties du cerveau humain (et fonctions)"

Quel est l'épithalamus?

L'épithalamus est une structure relativement petite qui fait partie du diencephale et que peut être trouvé juste au-dessus du thalamus et toucher le toit du troisième ventricule. C'est une structure principalement liée au système limbique, pertinente dans la gestion de l'instinct et des émotions.


Il est également associé au système neuroendocrinien par l'intermédiaire de la glande pinéale, l'une des principales structures faisant partie de l'épithalamus, qui fait également partie de ce système. Nous avons affaire à une structure avec une vaste gamme de connexions avec le reste des régions du cerveau, y compris le système olfactif (également lié à la perception et à la réaction aux odeurs) et à de nombreuses autres structures de l'encéphale.

  • Article connexe: "Qu'est-ce que le thalamus et quelle est sa fonction dans notre système nerveux?"

Parties de l'epitalamo

L'épithalamus est configuré par un ensemble de structures d'une grande importance pour l'être humain. Outre les stries médullaires, fibres nerveuses qui établissent des liens avec d'autres régions du cerveau, on peut trouver deux grandes structures, qui sont les plus pertinentes et les plus connues de l'épitalamo.


Épiphyse ou glande pinéale

La structure la plus connue de l'épithalamus est la glande pinéale. C’est un élément connu depuis l’antiquité (plus précisément, les premières informations trouvées à ce sujet datent du troisième siècle avant JC), proposant à Descartes l’existence en lui d’esprits animaux liés à des émotions.

Inervé par le système nerveux autonome et connecté à d’autres noyaux tels que les septaux, la glande pinéale est une structure cérébrale régulatrice importante du système neuroendocrinien , participant à des fonctions telles que la régulation de l’énergie et de la sexualité.

L'un des aspects les plus importants de la glande pinéale est le fait qu'elle est responsable de la sécrétion de mélatonine par la sérotonine, lorsque l'éclairage est inexistant ou très faible. De cette façon, l'épiphyse est essentielle dans régulation des rythmes circadiens, du sommeil et de l'éveil .


Il est également impliqué dans la synthèse d'endorphines et d'hormones sexuelles telles que l'hormone lutéinisante, ainsi que dans la croissance et la maturation sexuelles (ce qui retarde son activité).

  • Article connexe: "Glande pinéale (ou épiphyse): fonctions et anatomie"

Habenula ou noyaux habénulaires

En plus de la glande pinéale, l'autre structure majeure de l'épithalamus est l'habenula ou les noyaux habénulaires (puisqu'il existe en fait deux structures). Il est lié au précédent et il est très important de recevoir et de recevoir envoyer des noyaux de connexion du système limbique et la formation réticulaire . Les noyaux habénulaires sont des éléments qui, contrairement aux épiphyses, ne possèdent pas de fonctions endocriniennes.

Agit en grande partie comme un pont entre différentes zones du cerveau (y compris, en plus des noyaux thalamiques ci-dessus, celles du cerveau antérieur ou de la région préoptique), mais justement à cause de ces connexions, semble également être impliqué dans la motivation à ne pas agir, la peur et les des faits similaires à ceux qui par le passé auraient pu nous causer un préjudice. Enfin, ils sont également liés à la capacité de fournir des informations émotionnelles aux odeurs .

Vos fonctions

Comme nous l'avons indiqué précédemment, bien que l'épithalamus ne soit pas spécialement connu, son existence et son fonctionnement dans le cerveau sont d'une grande importance pour l'être humain, car ils ont des fonctions importantes pour notre adaptation et notre survie.

Dans le cadre du système limbique, participe à la gestion de l'émotion et de la motivation . En ce sens, son rôle dans différents troubles tels que la dépression ou l’anxiété anticipée peut être exploré.

L’une de ces fonctions est la gestion des rythmes circadiens, notre horloge biologique qui régule à quel moment de la journée nous avons et utilisons plus ou moins d’énergie.En ce sens, il a également une grande importance dans la gestion du sommeil, car la glande pinéale présente dans l'épitalamo réagit à l'absence de mélatonine produisant de la lumière et à une diminution du niveau d'énergie, facilitant le sommeil.

Il participe également à la croissance et à la maturation sexuelles , en ajustant le rythme biologique dans lequel nous nous développons et devenons adultes. Enfin, leurs liens avec les voies olfactives les amènent à comprendre leur capacité à percevoir les odeurs et à leur donner un sens émotionnel.

Références bibliographiques

  • Kandel, E.R .; Schwartz, J.H. & Jessell, T.M. (2001). Principes de neuroscience. Quatrième édition. McGraw-Hill Interamericana. Madrid

'' THE MESSENGER '' ( thierry DAILLEUX ) notre double, le dédoublement, Lundi 12 Décembre 2016 (Juillet 2020).


Articles Connexes