yes, therapy helps!
Eróstrato syndrome: doing crazy things to become famous

Eróstrato syndrome: doing crazy things to become famous

July 14, 2024

It is known that social relationships change the deepest aspects of our way of being. Thanks to the existence of others, for example, we learn the ability to use language, thanks to which we are able to think and even to develop an identity, a concept of "I".

However, sometimes, the existence of a civilization in which standing out from the crowd is considered a feat can lead to behaviors that are at best outlandishly bizarre and, in the worst case, criminal. This phenomenon by which some people decide to do anything, however extreme, to become famous, it can be called Eróstrato syndrome .


  • You may be interested: "Narcissistic Personality Disorder: How are narcissistic people?"

Who was Eróstrato?

Eróstrato was a Greek shepherd originally from the city of Ephesus. But unlike other great historical figures of Ancient Greece, he was neither a renowned intellectual, like Plato or Aristotle, nor a politician and military man like Pericles, nor a reputed merchant.

If today we know that during the Hellenic world of the fourth century BC. C. there was a specific man called Eróstrato is because he wanted to be remembered for millennia. To go down in history, the Greek Eróstrato decided to burn one of the most beautiful monuments of the Mediterranean: the temple of Artemis of Ephesus, one of the seven wonders of the world .


Although knowing the motivations of this humble pastor was forbidden the mention or registration of his name to prevent future generations from knowing of its existence, the result jumps at sight: Eróstrato wanted fame at any price, and not even the more terrifying threats prevented him from achieving his goal; far from stopping his popularity, the prohibitions fed his legend.

A case of Streisand effect

The phenomenon by which a prohibited information is disseminated precisely because of the prohibition imposed on it is called the Streisand effect. The case of Eróstrato fits perfectly into what centuries after his life and death was known by the singer's surname, but that is not what draws the attention of Greek history.

What is fascinating is that, on the one hand, someone can get to guide all their life towards the attainment of fame, on the one hand, and that this can come in a way as tragic as, in reality, easy: the only price to pay is life itself.


  • Related article: "The Streisand effect: trying to hide something creates the opposite effect"

The Eróstrato syndrome reaches today

Unfortunately, there are currently two conditions that make the story of Eróstrato can be repeated many times, thus giving the Eróstrato syndrome.

On the one hand, globalization makes the distance between anonymous citizens and celebrities is immense : it is impressive to think about the number of people who know about references such as Shakespeare or, in recent years, Lady Gaga and the like. On the other hand, there are a large number of people who live in apathy or in a degree of alienation that can promote the perception of social recognition as the maximum objective that can be aspired to.

Actually, the society of the spectacle, in which it is easy to obtain fame by means of fast acts, relatively free of effort and impacting, makes the Eróstrato syndrome easily targeted: fame arrives, if one wants.

It is possible to create viral phenomena, acts that occupy the covers of many web pages and newspapers, and all this simply moved by the fact that they wanted to be there. Other people see it, observe how the one who has sought popularity has achieved it, and take note of it. This, on the other hand, is a mechanism that serves both for more or less innocuous acts, such as creating a funny video, as for those who cause pain, such as certain types of attacks .

The same society that teaches that taking care of others is desirable, gives the tools so that everyone knows that personal story (or a distorted version of it, but a story of its own, after all). Social networks burn, newspapers spread all kinds of related information, and there are even ways to make the legend pass from word of mouth through the use of mobile phones or even live transmission.

It is clear that you can not control what others think of you, but to a certain extent you can get sneak into the torrent of thoughts of others , to break into the consciences of others even though those others have not sought it. That's why Eróstrato's story is still relevant today.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Facebook, Instagram ...and the summer you're missing "
Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Syndrome d'Eróstrato: faire des choses folles pour devenir célèbre

Syndrome d'Eróstrato: faire des choses folles pour devenir célèbre

Février 3, 2023

On sait que les relations sociales modifient les aspects les plus profonds de notre façon d’être. Grâce à l'existence des autres, par exemple, nous apprenons à utiliser le langage, grâce auquel nous sommes capables de penser et même de développer une identité, un concept de "je".

Cependant, parfois, l'existence d'une civilisation dans laquelle se distinguer de la foule est considérée comme un exploit peut conduire à des comportements au mieux étrangement bizarres et, dans le pire des cas, criminels. Ce phénomène par lequel certaines personnes décident de faire quelque chose, même extrême, pour devenir célèbre, on peut appeler le syndrome d'Eróstrato .


  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Trouble de la personnalité narcissique: comment sont les narcissiques?"

Qui était Eróstrato?

Eróstrato était un berger grec originaire de la ville d'Éphèse. Mais contrairement à d’autres grandes figures historiques de la Grèce antique, il n’était ni un intellectuel de renom, comme Platon ou Aristote, ni un homme politique et militaire comme Périclès, ni un marchand réputé.

Si nous le savons aujourd'hui, pendant le monde hellénique du IVe siècle av. C. il y avait un homme appelé Eróstrato parce qu'il voulait rester dans les mémoires pendant des millénaires. Pour entrer dans l'histoire, le Grec Eróstrato a décidé de brûler l'un des plus beaux monuments de la Méditerranée: le temple d'Artémis d'Ephèse, une des sept merveilles du monde .


Bien que connaître les motivations de cet humble pasteur soit interdit de mentionner ou d'enregistrer son nom pour empêcher les générations futures de connaître son existence, le résultat saute aux yeux: Eróstrato voulait à tout prix la gloire, et même pas des menaces plus terrifiantes l'ont empêché d'atteindre son objectif; loin d’arrêter sa popularité, les interdits ont nourri sa légende.

Un cas d'effet Streisand

Le phénomène par lequel une information interdite est diffusée précisément en raison de la prohibition qui lui est imposée est appelé effet Streisand. Le cas d'Eróstrato s'inscrit parfaitement dans ce que des siècles après sa vie étaient connus sous le nom de famille du chanteur, mais ce n'est pas ce qui attire l'attention de l'histoire grecque.

Ce qui est fascinant, c’est que, d’une part, quelqu'un puisse guider sa vie tout au long de sa vie vers la gloire, et que cela puisse être aussi tragique que facile, en réalité: le seul prix payer c'est la vie elle-même.


  • Article connexe: "L'effet Streisand: essayer de cacher quelque chose crée l'effet inverse"

Le syndrome d'Eróstrato atteint aujourd'hui

Malheureusement, il existe actuellement deux conditions qui font que l'histoire d'Eróstrato peut être répétée plusieurs fois, donnant ainsi le syndrome d'Eróstrato.

D'une part, la mondialisation rend la distance entre les citoyens anonymes et les célébrités est immense : il est impressionnant de penser au nombre de personnes qui connaissent des références telles que Shakespeare ou, au cours des dernières années, Lady Gaga, etc. D'autre part, un grand nombre de personnes qui vivent dans l'apathie ou dans un degré d'aliénation peuvent favoriser la perception de la reconnaissance sociale comme objectif maximal auquel on peut aspirer.

En réalité, la société du spectacle, dans laquelle il est facile d’obtenir la renommée au moyen d’actes rapides, relativement peu d'effort et sans impact, permet de cibler facilement le syndrome d'Eróstrato: la renommée arrive, si l'on veut.

Il est possible de créer des phénomènes viraux, des actes qui occupent la couverture de nombreuses pages Web et de journaux, et tout simplement ému par le fait qu’ils voulaient y être. D'autres personnes le voient, observent comment celui qui a recherché la popularité y est parvenu et en prend note. Ceci, en revanche, est un mécanisme qui sert à la fois pour des actes plus ou moins inoffensifs, tels que la création d’une vidéo amusante, comme pour ceux qui causent de la douleur, tels que certains types d'attaques .

La même société qui enseigne que prendre soin des autres est souhaitable, donne les outils pour que tout le monde connaisse cette histoire personnelle (ou une version déformée de celle-ci, mais une histoire qui lui est propre, après tout). Les réseaux sociaux brûlent, les journaux diffusent toutes sortes d'informations connexes et il existe même des moyens de faire passer la légende du bouche à oreille grâce à l'utilisation de téléphones portables ou même à une transmission en direct.

Il est clair que vous ne pouvez pas contrôler ce que les autres pensent de vous, mais dans une certaine mesure, vous pouvez obtenir se faufiler dans le torrent des pensées des autres , pour pénétrer dans la conscience des autres même si ceux-ci ne l'ont pas recherchée. C'est pourquoi l'histoire d'Eróstrato est toujours d'actualité.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Facebook, Instagram ...et l'été tu manques "
Articles Connexes