yes, therapy helps!
Eremophobia (phobia of loneliness): symptoms, causes and treatment

Eremophobia (phobia of loneliness): symptoms, causes and treatment

October 16, 2021

The human being is a gregarious animal, which requires social contact to survive and thrive in life. Family, couple, friends ... all this is part of our life and is of great importance in all stages of life. Although sometimes we may need to be alone and some people do not need continuous contact, most of us need and enjoy the company of others.

Thus, the idea of ​​loneliness prolonged in time is something that generates some discomfort and suffering. However, some people develop a phobia or panic disproportionate to the idea of ​​being alone, even if it is for brief periods, suffering from panic attacks and physiological symptoms in the face of this fear. This is what happens to people with eremophobia .


  • Related article: "[How to overcome solitude: 5 keys to break the isolation (/ social / overcome-the-loneliness)"

Phobia to the solitude: the eremofobia

It is understood by eremofobia to the phobia to the solitude. The eremophobia would be classified as a situational-specific phobia , that is to say, what produces fear would not be a concrete physical element (like a spider or a ray) but a situation or state in which the subject is or can be found: in this case, to be alone.

As a phobia it is a psychological alteration in which an irrational and disproportionate fear appears (often being the consideration of this irrationality recognized by the subject) towards a specific stimulus or situation, in this case being alone.


This fear is so intense that the fact of facing the phobic stimulus or the mere idea of ​​doing so generates an anxiety that is capable of generating alterations such as cold sweats, dizziness, headaches, tachycardia or respiratory problems , something that also generates an active avoidance or flight of this situation or stimulus or of what can remember it.

In the eremofobia the fear is in general towards the solitude, being habitual that the fear is given to remain physically alone although also usually includes the idea of ​​feeling alone in spite of being surrounded by people.

In this particular case, rumination and thoughts of an obsessive type also appear with the possibility of remaining alone, clouding the capacity for judgment and rationalization and feeling great anxiety at all times. Even in events where you are accompanied it is frequent that the anticipatory thought appears that it is going to be left alone . It can also generate anxious responses the possibility of being alone with strangers, it is not necessary for the loneliness to be physical.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of phobias: exploring the disorders of fear"

symptom

This level of fear of loneliness can become very disabling, with the person needing constant attention or company and greatly limiting their daily functioning.

Social contact with family, couple and friends can deteriorate, as well as leisure time and work performance (although it will depend on the type of job in question). The affected person will avoid at all costs remaining alone, being able in extreme cases to become totally dependent on the company of others. Thus, they will usually seek to stay with someone or stay in company at all times.

In extreme cases this can generate histrionic, theatrical behaviors and even the pretense of diseases in order to manipulate their environment, something that once detected will generate in general a departure from the environment and an increasing isolation of the subject (something in fact totally contrary to what the subject claims).

Likewise, it is also likely that a position of emotional dependence will be adopted towards their environment, regardless of the treatment that they provide, as long as they are not left alone. In fact, beyond the very suffering that this phobia generates, one of its most serious possible risks is that the fear of being left alone can lead to accepting degrading treatment and even situations of abuse in any of the vital areas, including harassment at work, harassment sexual or even dating violence. In some cases, in addition, fear and despair, irritability and even aggressiveness may appear if they try to leave them alone.

Possible causes

The specific causes of the appearance of this phobia are not fully known, although several hypotheses have been developed in this regard. In the first place it is worth mentioning that the fear of loneliness is common in almost all people, and this normative fear must be distinguished from the existence of a phobia.

One of the theories in this regard tells us that there are some phobias that come from stimuli and situations that we are pre-programmed to fear , being a product of the evolution of the species.If we think, for example, of the phobia of insects or snakes, we can imagine that in antiquity this fear and flight from these stimuli were adaptive since they posed a real threat to subsistence. In the case of loneliness, the same thing happens: in prehistory a person would only be an easy victim of a predator, being the capacity for defense or acquisition of food greatly diminished.

Thus, who remained in the group and was afraid to be alone had easier to survive, passing this feature to the next generations. If we add to this inherited tendency the existence of some type of stressor or threatening situation linked to being alone, we have a probable breeding ground for the appearance of a phobia or personality disorders such as the dependent or the histrionic.

Another theory tells us that this phobia is acquired by conditioning: at some point in life loneliness has been associated with a traumatic event or feeling of helplessness and lack of control of our life, and later the fear generated by that moment is generalized to any situation related to loneliness. Frequent examples are cases of children abandoned in childhood by their parents, homeless or those who become orphans at an early age. Also bullying or not being able to generate strong friendship relationships can generate fear of being left alone.

It is also important to bear in mind that, as a general rule, eremophobia usually appears, as occurs with social phobia, during adolescence and the formation of identity. In this stage the deprivation of the company of others or the perception of non-acceptance by the rest hinders the acquisition of a solid identity , something that in the long run will make it unfeasible to be alone with ourselves and to specify the company of someone to feel complete. It is also common for this type of phobia to occur in people with few social skills, lack of self-confidence, insecurity and low self-esteem.

It is also necessary to bear in mind that the fear of loneliness in the background may be transmitting a fear of death, not being able to get ahead by oneself, failure or not achieving vital goals (being frequent that one of they are to have family or social success).

  • Maybe you're interested: "Anuphophobia: the irrational fear of being single"

Treatment

The eremofobia is a highly invalidating problem for those who suffer it, but fortunately it is a treatable alteration through psychotherapy .

In the first place it will be necessary to explore what it is that the subject of loneliness fears or the ideas or conceptions it has about it. We will also have to work on why the need for company, at what moment the patient believes that fear originated and why, what meaning it gives to the phobia and the expectations and beliefs that it has both about itself and about the world or your future.

Once this is done, it may be advisable to apply therapeutic resources such as cognitive restructuring in order to work on the subject's beliefs and try to generate explanations about reality and about oneself that are more adaptive than those maintained up to now, as well as expectations and demands both in relation to the self and the environment.

It will also be useful to work on stress management, social skills and problem solving, Self-esteem and the feeling of self-efficacy and autonomy , all being something vital in this type of phobia.

Likewise and as in almost all phobias, the most effective method in the treatment of phobic symptoms (not so much in their causes, something that should be worked with methodologies like the previous ones) is exposure. It would try to make the subject was making a gradual exposure to loneliness, after agreeing with the therapist a hierarchy of items linked to it to which little by little it will be submitted. It may be useful to also use the prevention of response, that is to say that the subject avoids looking for company at the moment of the appearance of anxiety.

Bibliographic references:

  • American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. Fifth edition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelona.
  • Bados, A. (2005). Specific phobias University of Barcelona. Faculty of Psychology Departament de Personalitat, Avaluació i Tractament Psicològics.

What Is Monophobia? (October 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Eremophobia (phobie de la solitude): symptômes, causes et traitement

Eremophobia (phobie de la solitude): symptômes, causes et traitement

Juillet 25, 2022

L'être humain est un animal grégaire, qui a besoin d'un contact social pour survivre et prospérer dans la vie. Famille, couple, amis ... tout cela fait partie de notre vie et revêt une grande importance à toutes les étapes de la vie. Bien que nous ayons parfois besoin d’être seuls et que certaines personnes n’aient pas besoin de contact permanent, la plupart d’entre nous ont besoin et apprécient la compagnie des autres.

Ainsi, l’idée de la solitude prolongée dans le temps engendre un certain inconfort et des souffrances. Cependant, certaines personnes développent une phobie ou une panique disproportionnée par rapport à l’idée de rester seul, même pendant de courtes périodes, souffrant d’attaques de panique et de symptômes physiologiques face à cette peur. C'est ce qui arrive aux personnes atteintes d'eremophobia .


  • Article connexe: "[Comment surmonter la solitude: 5 clés pour briser l'isolement (/ social / surmonter la solitude)"

Phobie à la solitude: l'eremofobia

Il est compris par eremofobia à la phobie à la solitude. L'eremophobia serait classé comme une phobie spécifique à la situation c’est-à-dire que ce qui produit la peur ne serait pas un élément physique concret (comme une araignée ou un rayon) mais une situation ou un état dans lequel le sujet se trouve ou se trouve: dans ce cas, être seul.

En tant que phobie, il s'agit d'une altération psychologique dans laquelle une peur irrationnelle et disproportionnée apparaît (en prenant souvent en considération cette irrationalité reconnue par le sujet) vers un stimulus ou une situation spécifique, en l'occurrence seul.


Cette peur est si intense que le simple fait de faire face au stimulus phobique ou à la simple idée de le faire génère une anxiété capable de générer des altérations telles que sueurs froides, vertiges, maux de tête, tachycardie ou problèmes respiratoires , quelque chose qui génère également un évitement actif ou une fuite de cette situation ou de ce stimulus ou de ce qui peut s'en souvenir.

Dans l'eremofobia, la peur est en général vis-à-vis de la solitude, la peur de rester seul physiquement étant habituelle, même si elle inclut généralement l'idée de se sentir seul malgré le fait d'être entouré de personnes.

Dans ce cas particulier, la rumination et les pensées de type obsessionnel apparaissent également avec la possibilité de rester seules, assombrissant la capacité de jugement et de rationalisation et suscitant une grande anxiété à tout moment. Même dans les événements où vous êtes accompagné il est fréquent que la pensée anticipatoire apparaisse qu'il va rester seul . Cela peut également générer des réactions anxieuses, comme la possibilité d'être seul avec des étrangers, il n'est pas nécessaire que la solitude soit physique.


  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Types de phobies: explorer les troubles de la peur"

Les symptômes

Ce niveau de peur de la solitude peut devenir très handicapant, la personne ayant besoin d'attention constante ou de compagnie et limitant considérablement son fonctionnement quotidien.

Les contacts sociaux avec la famille, le couple et les amis peuvent se détériorer, de même que les loisirs et le travail (bien que cela dépende du type de travail en question). La personne touchée évitera à tout prix de rester seule, pouvant dans des cas extrêmes devenir totalement dépendante de la compagnie des autres. Ainsi, ils chercheront généralement à rester avec quelqu'un ou à rester en compagnie à tout moment.

Dans des cas extrêmes, cela peut générer des comportements histrioniques, théâtraux et même simulacre de maladies afin de manipuler leur environnement, ce qui, une fois détecté, générera en général un éloignement de l'environnement et un isolement croissant du sujet (quelque chose de totalement contraire à ce que prétend le sujet).

De même, il est également probable qu'une position de dépendance émotionnelle soit adoptée vis-à-vis de leur environnement, quel que soit le traitement fourni, tant qu'ils ne sont pas laissés à eux-mêmes. En fait, au-delà des souffrances engendrées par cette phobie, l’un de ses risques les plus graves est que la peur d’être laissée seule puisse conduire à accepter des traitements dégradants et même des situations de maltraitance dans l’un des domaines vitaux, notamment le harcèlement au travail, le harcèlement. violence sexuelle ou même amoureuse. Dans certains cas, la peur et le désespoir, l'irritabilité et même l'agressivité peuvent apparaître s'ils essaient de les laisser tranquilles.

Causes possibles

Les causes spécifiques de l'apparition de cette phobie ne sont pas complètement connues, bien que plusieurs hypothèses aient été développées à cet égard. En premier lieu, il convient de mentionner que la peur de la solitude est commune à presque toutes les personnes et que cette peur normative doit être distinguée de l’existence d’une phobie.

Une des théories à cet égard nous dit qu'il y a des phobies qui viennent de des stimuli et des situations que nous sommes préprogrammés à craindre , étant un produit de l'évolution de l'espèce.Si nous pensons, par exemple, à la phobie des insectes ou des serpents, nous pouvons imaginer que, dans l'Antiquité, cette peur et cette fuite de ces stimuli étaient adaptatives puisqu'ils constituaient une menace réelle pour la subsistance. Dans le cas de la solitude, la même chose se produit: dans la préhistoire, une personne ne serait que la victime facile d’un prédateur, sa capacité de défense ou d’acquisition d’aliments étant considérablement diminuée.

Ainsi, ceux qui sont restés dans le groupe et qui craignaient d’être seuls ont plus de facilité à survivre, transmettant cette caractéristique aux générations suivantes. Si nous ajoutons à cette tendance héréditaire l’existence d’un certain type de facteur de stress ou de situation menaçante lié au fait d’être seul, nous avons un terrain fertile pour l’apparition d’une phobie ou de troubles de la personnalité tels que la personne à charge ou l’histrionique.

Une autre théorie nous apprend que cette phobie est acquise par conditionnement: à un moment de la vie la solitude a été associée à un événement traumatique ou à un sentiment d'impuissance et le manque de contrôle de notre vie, et plus tard, la peur générée par ce moment est généralisée à toute situation liée à la solitude. Les exemples fréquents sont les cas d'enfants abandonnés dans leur enfance par leurs parents, de sans-abri ou d'orphelins de bonne heure. De plus, l’intimidation ou l’impossibilité de créer de solides relations d’amitié peut engendrer la peur de rester seul.

Il est également important de garder à l'esprit que, en règle générale, l'érémophobie apparaît généralement, comme c'est le cas pour la phobie sociale, à l'adolescence et lors de la formation de l'identité. A ce stade, la privation de la compagnie des autres ou la perception de non-acceptation par les autres entrave l'acquisition d'une identité solide , quelque chose qui, à long terme, rendra impossible la possibilité d'être seul avec soi-même et d'indiquer à la compagnie de se sentir complète. Il est également fréquent que ce type de phobie se produise chez des personnes ayant peu de compétences sociales, un manque de confiance en elles-mêmes, une insécurité et une faible estime de soi.

Il est également nécessaire de garder à l’esprit que la peur de la solitude à l’arrière-plan peut transmettre la peur de la mort, l’impossibilité de progresser par soi-même, l’échec ou l’atteinte de buts vitaux avoir du succès familial ou social).

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "Anuphophobie: la peur irrationnelle d'être célibataire"

Traitement

L’eremofobia est un problème hautement invalidant pour ceux qui en souffrent, mais heureusement c'est une altération traitable par psychothérapie .

En premier lieu, il faudra explorer ce que le sujet de la solitude craint ou les idées ou conceptions qu’il a à son sujet. Nous devrons également nous efforcer de comprendre pourquoi le besoin d’entreprise, à quel moment le patient croit que la peur est à l’origine et pourquoi, quel sens cela donne-t-il à la phobie et aux attentes et croyances qu’elle a à la fois sur elle-même et sur le monde ou ton avenir

Une fois que cela est fait, il peut être judicieux d’appliquer des ressources thérapeutiques telles que la restructuration cognitive afin de travailler sur les croyances du sujet et essayer de générer des explications sur la réalité et sur soi-même plus adaptatives que celles maintenues jusqu’à présent, ainsi que sur les attentes et les attentes. demande à la fois vis-à-vis de soi et de l'environnement.

Il sera également utile de travailler sur la gestion du stress, les compétences sociales et la résolution de problèmes, Estime de soi et sentiment d'efficacité personnelle et d'autonomie , tout étant quelque chose de vital dans ce type de phobie.

De même et comme dans presque toutes les phobies, la méthode la plus efficace pour traiter les symptômes phobiques (pas tellement leurs causes, il convient de travailler avec des méthodes comme les précédentes) est l'exposition. Il tenterait de faire en sorte que le sujet s'expose progressivement à la solitude, après avoir convenu avec le thérapeute d'une hiérarchie d'éléments liés à celle-ci, à laquelle il sera soumis peu à peu. Il peut être utile d’utiliser également la prévention de la réponse, c’est-à-dire que le sujet évite de chercher de la compagnie au moment de l’apparition de l’anxiété.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Association américaine de psychiatrie. (2013). Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux. Cinquième édition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelone.
  • Bados, A. (2005). Phobies spécifiques Université de Barcelone. Faculté de Psychologie Departament de Personalitat, Avaluació i Tractament Psicològics.

No Eye Has Seen - Eremophobia (Official Music Video) (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes