yes, therapy helps!
Eric Kandel: biography of this neuroscientist

Eric Kandel: biography of this neuroscientist

July 18, 2024

Erik Kandel (1929-) is an Austrian neuroscientist based in the United States, whose studies have been fundamental for the molecular understanding of cognitive processes. For this same work, he received the Nobel Prize in Medicine and Physiology in 2000, specifically after investigating learning and memory and its synaptic correlate.

In this article we will see a biography of Eric Kandel , as well as some elements of his academic career and his main theoretical proposals.

  • Related article: "Neuropsychology: what is it and what is its object of study?"

Eric Kandel: biography of a neurologist of learning and memory

Eric Kandel was born in Vienna on November 7, 1929. Together with his mother, Charlotte Zimela, and his father, Hermann Kandel, young Eric left Austria in 1938, after Germany joined the country in the same year. . In 1939, and under the same context, Eric Kandel, Ludwig (his older brother), and later his parents, moved to Brooklyn, New York, where some of his relatives were already living.


Once established in this city, Eric Kandel began his academic training in Flatbush Yeshiva and then in the Erasmus Hall High School. Years later he joined Harvard University , where he studied a degree in history and literature. I was specifically investigating the attitudes of National Socialism in different German writers.

In this context, Kandel encountered the dominant theories of European and North American psychology, a question that soon led Kandel to redirect his studies. It was the paradigm of. B. F. Skinner who dominated the studies on learning and memory . However, Kandel did not agree to defend the strict separation between psychology (the unobservable) and behavior (the observable), which was at the base of the proposals of the behavioral psychologist.


At the same time but in the opposite direction was another Austrian neurologist, Sigmund Freud, who had studied at the beginning of his career the neurological root of conflict and psychic activity , according to Freudian root psychoanalysis. Also influenced by Ana Kris, who had also emigrated from Vienna along with her psychoanalyst parents, Erik Kandel was interested in an important way to study psychology from this paradigm.

  • Maybe you are interested: "History of Psychology: authors and main theories"

First studies in psychoanalysis and the neurophysiology laboratory

The easiest way to professionalize as a psychoanalyst at this time was to study physics and later psychiatry. Thus, Kandel enrolled in the chemistry course and later joined the NYU Medical School. After receiving this training, and in the course of his training as a psychiatrist and psychoanalyst, Erik Kandel took an important interest in understand the biological basis of the mind .


This led him to collaborate with Wade Marshall, who was one of the most recognized young scientists in brain studies in the United States. Along with other neurologists, Marshall had systematized the first paradigm of neural representation in the brain of a sensory system. These studies represented the first significant proposal on the existence of Topographic and systematic maps on the sensory surface of touch, vision and hearing .

In this context, for Eric Kandel it was not only interesting to investigate problems in psychiatry and psychoanalysis in biological terms, but to find the cellular and molecular mechanisms of complex processes such as learning and memory.

The biology of memory

During his career, Eric Kandel has studied the cellular structure of the hippocampus and, from there, has proposed theories about the biology of memory. Not only that, but together with the works of Arvid Carlsson and Paul Greengard, who have explained the mechanism of action of dopamine and other neurotransmitters, Erik Kandel proposed systems of molecular action of learning and memory.

These studies earned these three researchers the Nobel Prize in Medicine and Physiology of the year 2000. In addition, these are studies that have impacted in an important way the explanations about brain activity in different disorders such as Parkinson's, Alzheimer's, depression, schizophrenia, among others. It is one of the most important contributions of the twentieth century, at which time the neurosciences and the study of the synapse has been of special relevance.

Kandel's studies have been carried out with different animal species, both vertebrates and invertebrates, and their results have been applied to the understanding of human beings. Kandel suggests that memory is located in the synapses , with which, changes in the function of these are determinants in the consolidation, the loss and the structuring of the memory, and consequently of the learning. Specifically through this, long-term synaptic alterations have been studied as well as possible strategies to reverse them.

Eric Kandel is currently principal investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, a member of the Scientific Council of the Brain and Behavioral Research Foundation, and has been director of the department of neuroscience at Columbia University.

Bibliographic references

  • Eric R. Kandel. Biographical (2018). The Nobel Prize. Retrieved October 17, 2018. Available at //www.nobelprize.org/prizes/medicine/2000/kandel/auto-biography/.
  • Eric Kandel Austrian-American Neurobiologist (2018). Encyclopaedia Britannica. Retrieved October 17, 2018. Available at //www.britannica.com/biography/Eric-Kandel.
  • Bermejo, M. I. (S / A). Eric Kandel The web of biographies. Retrieved October 17, 2018. Available at //www.mcnbiografias.com/app-bio/do/show?key=kandel-eric.

History of Neuroscience: Eric Kandel (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Eric Kandel: biographie de ce neuroscientifique

Eric Kandel: biographie de ce neuroscientifique

Juin 13, 2021

Erik Kandel (1929-) est un neuroscientifique autrichien basé aux États-Unis. Ses études ont été fondamentales pour la compréhension moléculaire des processus cognitifs. Pour ce même travail, il a reçu le prix Nobel de médecine et de physiologie en 2000, notamment après avoir étudié l'apprentissage et la mémoire et son corrélat synaptique.

Dans cet article, nous verrons une biographie d'Eric Kandel , ainsi que certains éléments de son parcours académique et ses principales propositions théoriques.

  • Article connexe: "Neuropsychologie: qu'est-ce que c'est et quel est son objet d'étude?"

Eric Kandel: biographie d'un neurologue d'apprentissage et de mémoire

Eric Kandel est né à Vienne le 7 novembre 1929. Avec sa mère, Charlotte Zimela, et son père, Hermann Kandel, le jeune Eric a quitté l'Autriche en 1938, après l'entrée de l'Allemagne dans le pays la même année. . En 1939, et dans le même contexte, Eric Kandel, Ludwig (son frère aîné) et, plus tard, ses parents, s'installèrent à Brooklyn, New York, où vivaient déjà certains de ses proches.


Une fois installé dans cette ville, Eric Kandel a commencé sa formation académique à Flatbush Yeshiva, puis au lycée Erasmus Hall. Des années plus tard, il rejoint l'Université de Harvard , où il a étudié en histoire et littérature. J'étudiais spécifiquement les attitudes du national socialisme chez différents écrivains allemands.

Dans ce contexte, Kandel a rencontré les théories dominantes de la psychologie européenne et nord-américaine, une question qui a rapidement conduit Kandel à réorienter ses études. C'était le paradigme de. B. F. Skinner qui a dominé les études sur l'apprentissage et la mémoire . Cependant, Kandel n'a pas accepté de défendre la séparation stricte entre la psychologie (l'inobservable) et le comportement (l'observable), qui était à la base des propositions du psychologue du comportement.


Dans le même temps, mais dans le sens opposé, un autre neurologue autrichien, Sigmund Freud, avait étudié au début de sa carrière. la racine neurologique du conflit et de l'activité psychique , selon la psychanalyse racine freudienne. Également influencé par Ana Kris, qui avait également émigré de Vienne avec ses parents psychanalystes, Erik Kandel était intéressé par un moyen important d'étudier la psychologie sous ce paradigme.

  • Peut-être vous êtes intéressé: "Histoire de la psychologie: auteurs et théories principales"

Premières études en psychanalyse et en laboratoire de neurophysiologie

La meilleure façon de se professionnaliser en tant que psychanalyste à cette époque était d'étudier la physique et plus tard la psychiatrie. Ainsi, Kandel s'est inscrit au cours de chimie et a ensuite rejoint la NYU Medical School. Après avoir suivi cette formation et au cours de sa formation de psychiatre et psychanalyste, Erik Kandel a manifesté un intérêt important pour comprendre la base biologique de l'esprit .


Cela l'a amené à collaborer avec Wade Marshall, l'un des jeunes scientifiques les plus reconnus en matière d'études du cerveau aux États-Unis. Avec d'autres neurologues, Marshall avait systématisé le premier paradigme de la représentation neuronale dans le cerveau d'un système sensoriel. Ces études constituent la première proposition significative sur l’existence de Cartes topographiques et systématiques sur la surface sensorielle du toucher, de la vision et de l'audition .

Dans ce contexte, pour Eric Kandel, il était non seulement intéressant d'étudier les problèmes de psychiatrie et de psychanalyse en termes biologiques, mais également de trouver les mécanismes cellulaires et moléculaires de processus complexes tels que l'apprentissage et la mémoire.

La biologie de la mémoire

Au cours de sa carrière, Eric Kandel a étudié la structure cellulaire de l'hippocampe et, à partir de là, a proposé des théories sur la biologie de la mémoire. Non seulement cela, mais conjointement avec les travaux d'Arvid Carlsson et de Paul Greengard, qui ont expliqué le mécanisme d'action de la dopamine et d'autres neurotransmetteurs, Erik Kandel a proposé des systèmes d'action moléculaire de l'apprentissage et de la mémoire.

Ces études ont valu à ces trois chercheurs le prix Nobel de médecine et de physiologie de l’an 2000. En outre, il s’agit d’études qui ont eu un impact important sur les explications de l’activité cérébrale dans différents troubles tels que la maladie de Parkinson, la maladie d’Alzheimer, la dépression, la schizophrénie, entre autres. C’est l’une des contributions les plus importantes du XXe siècle, à une époque où les neurosciences et l’étude de la synapse avaient une importance particulière.

Les études de Kandel ont été réalisées avec différentes espèces animales, vertébrés et invertébrés, et leurs résultats ont été appliqués à la compréhension de l'être humain. Kandel suggère que la mémoire se trouve dans les synapses , avec lesquels, les changements dans la fonction de ceux-ci sont déterminants dans la consolidation, la perte et la structuration de la mémoire, et par conséquent de l'apprentissage. Plus précisément, les modifications synaptiques à long terme ont été étudiées, de même que les stratégies possibles pour les inverser.

Eric Kandel est actuellement chercheur principal du Howard Hughes Medical Institute, membre du conseil scientifique de la Fondation de recherche sur le cerveau et le comportement et a été directeur du département de neuroscience de l'Université Columbia.

Références bibliographiques

  • Eric R. Kandel. Biographique (2018). Le prix Nobel. Consulté le 17 octobre 2018. Disponible à l'adresse suivante: http://www.nobelprize.org/prizes/medicine/2000/kandel/auto-biography/.
  • Eric Kandel Neurobiologiste américano-autrichien (2018). Encyclopédie Britannica. Extrait le 17 octobre 2018. Disponible à l'adresse http://www.britannica.com/biography/Eric-Kandel.
  • Bermejo, M. I. (S / A). Eric Kandel Le web des biographies. Récupéré le 17 octobre 2018. Disponible à l'adresse http://www.mcnbiografias.com/app-bio/do/show?key=kandel-eric.

Eric Kandel interview (2001) (Juin 2021).


Articles Connexes