yes, therapy helps!
Erotomania: definition, symptoms, characteristics and treatment

Erotomania: definition, symptoms, characteristics and treatment

May 27, 2020

Romantic love, or the feeling of being in love with another person, is one of the most turbulent and agitating experiences of the state of mind that a person can live. Love can alter and transform the way a person thinks, speaks and behaves, and can become an immense source of well-being when it is reciprocated.

However, what happens when a person becomes obsessed with the idea that the other is also in love with him when, however, the reality is different? This alteration of thought is known as erotomania , and in it the person is fully convinced that his love is reciprocated, even if there is no proof of it.


  • Related article: "The 12 most curious and shocking types of delusions"

What is erotomania?

Erotomania is a strange way of Paranoid delirium currently classified as delusional disorder erotomaniac type . The content of this delirium is characterized by a deep conviction that another person, usually of social class or higher rank, has romantic feelings or is in love with the delusional person.

These beliefs or perceptions that the other person possesses a series of romantic emotions towards the patient are completely unfounded, since, in addition, in most cases the actual contact that exists between these two people is practically nil.


Also, this delirium brings Stalking behaviors towards the other person , feelings of hope or longing for the other and, when the other does not respond, ends up leading to a deep resentment towards it.

The patient may come to believe that there is a kind of invisible and mystical communication between the two, blaming the other for sending him signals of love or provoking these beliefs.

This disorder, traditionally known as Clerambault Syndrome, was widely described by this French psychiatrist in 1921 in his treatise Les Psychoses Passionelles.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Toxic love: 10 characteristics of impossible couples"

Possible causes

Usually, the most common cause of erotomania is related to the suffering of affective, organic-cerebral or schizophrenic disorders . Which foster in the person an erroneous perception of reality, as well as a misinterpretation of their experiences, which leads to create a passionate delirium with anyone for whom you feel a fixation.


Erotomaniac behaviors are related to other psychiatric disorders such as schizophrenia, depression, bipolar disorder or paraphrenia.

Likewise. There are a number of risk factors that may favor the origin of this strange disorder. The most important are social isolation and extreme loneliness, sexual inhibitions and the consumption of toxic substances as drugs and alcohol.

The typical epidemiology of this condition is mainly focused on single women, with extreme loneliness and over 30 years of age, however there are also records of erotomania in men with the same characteristics.

Clinical characteristics of erotomania

Although, due to its uniqueness, there is not much current scientific literature on erotomania, you can see a series of common characteristics in patients who suffer from it . These characteristics are:

1. A common delirium for all patients

Unlike most delirious disorders, in erotomania the basic delirium of all patients is that another person is in love with them .

2. It can be recurrent

During the development of the disorder, the patient can be convinced that the same person is in love with him for a long period of time , the most known registered case has been 37 years; or alternatively, the patient can alternate different people, which are replaced by others in similar delusions.

3. Illusionary communication with the other person

During his delusions the patient is convinced that the other person, center of his delirium, communicates with him through hidden messages, strange signals and keys or gestures that the patient interprets in any way.

4. Culpabilization of the other

In a large number of cases, the patient has the conviction and perseveres in the idea that the other person was the one who initiated the contact or the one who started the "love affair".

5. Greater social status of the other person

As a general rule, the target of the patient's delusions is usually a person of a higher social or economic status , even affecting famous people, politicians, etc.

6. Construction of strange theories

As in many other delirious disorders, the patient constructs a series of strange theories that allow him to stay in his delirium, being more and more complicated according to the person object of the delirium denies or flatly rejects the ideas or approaches of the other.

7. There does not have to be a real contact

The person center of the delirium of the patient does not have to be someone that he knows firsthand. Likewise, said person may completely ignore the patient's intentions or thoughts or, on the contrary, end up tormented by the patient's constant attempts to contact him or her.

A person affected by erotomania can reach try to contact obsessively with the other by phone calls, postal or electronic mail or even by stalking.

Treatment and prognosis

Although most people who suffer from this disorder rarely reach mental health services, erotomania requires a psychotherapeutic intervention in tune with the treatments for delirious disorders .

To this day, these treatments involve a psychological and pharmacological approach , in which psychologists and doctors must coordinate and work to improve the mental health of the patient.

Although the intervention may undergo some change depending on the severity or disposition of delirium, psychological therapy aims to settle the patient in reality, also helping pharmacological therapy through the administration of antipsychotic medication, of antidepressants or of mood stabilizing drugs.

It is necessary to point out that although the intervention in patients with erotomania manages to reduce the delirium of love, at least in 50% of cases, it does not usually disappear completely, constituting a chronic condition.

  • Related article: "Types of antipsychotics (or neuroleptics)"

The John Hinckley Jr. case

One of the most renowned cases of erotomania, which ended up becoming famous worldwide was that of John Hinckley Jr. occurred in 1981. During his love delirium, Hinckley ended up committing an assassination attempt on US President Ronald Reagan .

After the failed assassination attempt, he stated that his motivation was to dazzle the well-known actress Jodie Foster , for which he felt an obsession derived from his erotomaniac delirium. The central idea of ​​Hinckley's delirium was that the assassination of President Reagan would cause the actress to declare publicly his love for him.

Before the attack on the president, Hinckley had already carried out obsessive and persecutory behaviors to the actress through constant telephone calls, letters and sudden appearances in all those places where the actress was.

Finally, Hinckley was exculpated through the allegation of psychological disorders and was admitted to a psychiatric center.


What is OBSESSIVE LOVE? What does OBSESSIVE LOVE mean? OBSESSIVE LOVE meaning & explanation (May 2020).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Erotomanie: définition, symptômes, caractéristiques et traitement

Erotomanie: définition, symptômes, caractéristiques et traitement

Septembre 21, 2021

L'amour romantique, ou le sentiment d'être amoureux d'une autre personne, est l'une des expériences les plus turbulentes et les plus agitées de l'état d'esprit qu'une personne puisse vivre. L'amour peut altérer et transformer la façon dont une personne pense, parle et se comporte et peut devenir une source immense de bien-être lorsqu'il est réciproque.

Cependant, que se passe-t-il lorsqu'une personne devient obsédée par l'idée que l'autre l'aime aussi, alors que la réalité est différente? Cette altération de la pensée est connue sous le nom d'érotomanie et la personne y est pleinement convaincue que son amour est réciproque, même s’il n’ya aucune preuve de cela.


  • Article connexe: "Les 12 types de délires les plus curieux et les plus choquants"

Qu'est-ce que l'érotomanie?

Erotomania est une étrange façon de Délire paranoïaque actuellement classé comme type délirant de type érotomane . Le contenu de ce délire est caractérisé par la conviction profonde qu'une autre personne, généralement de classe sociale ou d'un rang supérieur, a des sentiments romantiques ou est amoureuse de la personne délirante.

Ces croyances ou perceptions selon lesquelles l'autre personne possède une série d'émotions romantiques envers le patient sont totalement infondées car, de plus, dans la plupart des cas, le contact réel qui existe entre ces deux personnes est pratiquement nul.


En outre, ce délire apporte Traquer des comportements envers l'autre personne , des sentiments d’espoir ou d’aspiration à l’autre et, lorsque l’autre ne répond pas, finissent par provoquer un profond ressentiment à son égard.

Le patient peut en venir à croire qu'il existe une sorte de communication invisible et mystique entre les deux, reprochant à l'autre de lui avoir envoyé des signaux d'amour ou provoquant ces croyances.

Ce trouble, traditionnellement appelé syndrome de Clerambault, a été largement décrit par ce psychiatre français en 1921 dans son traité Les Psychoses Passionelles.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Amour toxique: 10 caractéristiques de couples impossibles"

Causes possibles

En général, la cause la plus fréquente d’érotomanie est liée à la souffrance de troubles affectifs, organiques-cérébraux ou schizophréniques . Ce qui favorise chez la personne une perception erronée de la réalité, ainsi qu'une interprétation erronée de leurs expériences, ce qui conduit à créer un délire passionné avec toute personne pour qui vous ressentez une fixation.


Les comportements érotomanes sont liés à d'autres troubles psychiatriques tels que la schizophrénie, la dépression, le trouble bipolaire ou la paraphrénie.

De même Un certain nombre de facteurs de risque peuvent favoriser l’origine de cet étrange trouble. Les plus importants sont l'isolement social et la solitude extrême, inhibitions sexuelles et consommation de substances toxiques comme drogues et alcool.

L'épidémiologie typique de cette affection concerne principalement les femmes célibataires, extrêmement solitaires et âgées de plus de 30 ans. Cependant, des cas d'érotomanie chez des hommes présentant les mêmes caractéristiques ont également été rapportés.

Caractéristiques cliniques de l'érotomanie

Bien que, en raison de son caractère unique, il existe peu de littérature scientifique actuelle sur l'érotomanie, vous pouvez voir une série de caractéristiques communes chez les patients qui en souffrent . Ces caractéristiques sont:

1. Un délire commun pour tous les patients

Contrairement à la plupart des troubles délirants, dans l'érotomanie le délire fondamental de tous les patients est qu'une autre personne est amoureuse d'eux .

2. Il peut être récurrent

Au cours du développement de la maladie, le patient peut être convaincu que la même personne est amoureuse de lui pendant une longue période , le cas enregistré le plus connu a 37 ans; ou bien, le patient peut alterner différentes personnes, qui sont remplacées par d'autres dans des illusions similaires.

3. Communication illusoire avec l'autre personne

Au cours de ses délires, le patient est convaincu que l’autre personne, centre de son délire, communique avec elle par le biais de messages cachés, de signaux étranges et de touches ou de gestes que le patient interprète de quelque manière que ce soit.

4. Culpabilisation de l'autre

Dans un grand nombre de cas, le patient a la conviction et persévère dans l’idée que c’est l’autre personne qui a initié le contact ou celui qui a lancé "l’affaire amoureuse".

5. Meilleur statut social de l'autre personne

En règle générale, la cible des délires du patient est généralement une personne de statut social ou économique supérieur , affectant même des personnages célèbres, des politiciens, etc.

6. Construction d'étranges théories

Comme dans beaucoup d'autres troubles délirants, le patient construit une série de théories étranges qui lui permettent de rester dans son délire, étant de plus en plus compliqué selon la personne objet du délire nie ou rejette catégoriquement les idées ou les approches de l'autre.

7. Il ne doit pas y avoir de vrai contact

Le centre de la personne du délire du patient ne doit pas nécessairement être connu de personne. De même, ladite personne peut ignorer complètement les intentions ou les pensées du patient ou, au contraire, se laisser tourmenter par les tentatives constantes du patient pour le contacter.

Une personne atteinte d'érotomanie peut atteindre essayez de contacter obsessionnellement avec l'autre par téléphone, par courrier postal ou électronique ou même par le harcèlement criminel.

Traitement et pronostic

Bien que la plupart des personnes atteintes de ce trouble aient rarement accès aux services de santé mentale, l'érotomanie nécessite une intervention psychothérapeutique. en phase avec les traitements des troubles délirants .

A ce jour, ces traitements impliquent une approche psychologique et pharmacologique , dans lequel les psychologues et les médecins doivent coordonner et travailler pour améliorer la santé mentale du patient.

Bien que l’intervention puisse subir des modifications en fonction de la gravité ou de la nature du délire, la thérapie psychologique vise à établir le patient dans la réalité, tout en aidant également la thérapie pharmacologique. l'administration d'antipsychotiques, d'antidépresseurs ou de médicaments stabilisateurs de l'humeur.

Il est nécessaire de souligner que, bien que l'intervention chez les patients atteints d'érotomanie parvienne à réduire le délire d'amour, au moins dans 50% des cas, elle ne disparaît généralement pas complètement, constituant une maladie chronique.

  • Article connexe: "Types d'antipsychotiques (ou neuroleptiques)"

L'affaire John Hinckley Jr.

L'un des cas d'érotomanie les plus célèbres, qui a fini par devenir célèbre dans le monde entier, est celui de John Hinckley Jr. survenu en 1981. Au cours de son délire amoureux, Hinckley a fini par commettre tentative d'assassinat du président américain Ronald Reagan .

Après l'échec de la tentative d'assassinat, il a déclaré que sa motivation était d'éblouir la célèbre actrice Jodie Foster , pour laquelle il a ressenti une obsession dérivée de son délire érotomane. L'idée centrale du délire de Hinckley était que l'assassinat du président Reagan amènerait l'actrice à déclarer publiquement son amour pour lui.

Avant l'attaque contre le président, Hinckley avait déjà adopté des comportements obsessionnels et persécutifs envers l'actrice au moyen d'appels téléphoniques constants, de lettres et d'apparences soudaines dans tous les lieux où l'actrice se trouvait.

Enfin, Hinckley a été disculpé du fait de l'allégation de troubles psychologiques et a été admis dans un centre psychiatrique.


LE MATIN DES MAGICIENS (AUDIOBOOK) - JACQUES BERGIER + LOUIS PAUWELS - PARTIE 1 (Septembre 2021).


Articles Connexes