yes, therapy helps!
Erving Goffman's Theory of Social Action

Erving Goffman's Theory of Social Action

December 31, 2022

With a simple look at the posts of your friends or followers on social networks like Facebook or Instagram, we can see the way in which people reflect their life and personality through the photos and videos they upload.

However, in these networks there are no signs of suffering, hardship or sadness in the profiles of any of its members. We see many photos of happy faces, landscapes, smiles, phrases of overcoming; and yet there is no place for a reality as overwhelming and certain as it is the existence of human pain and suffering in the life of each person.

What do we really know about others when we see their profile on social networks? Can these virtual platforms tell us what people really are like?


This market of happiness samples that we find every time you open social networks, can be seen from one of the great theories of personality, developed by the sociologist and writer, Erving Goffman.

Erving Goffman and the personality created by interactions

This author develops his work around the creation of personality through interactions with others. He defends that a large part of our behavior depends on interpersonal scenarios and usually takes the forms of what we want to achieve and what interests us from our interlocutors. It is a constant handling of our image before others.


According to Goffman, in the interaction is always to define the situation in a way that allows to gain control over the impressions that others form of us. From this perspective, The best definition that corresponds to the person is that of an actor who plays a role and that acts through interactions with others.

From this theory, the interaction would consist of creating impressions that allow forming the inferences that benefit us and that reflect the intentions and the aspects of the identity that we want to communicate, making the relationship with the others a continuous management of the public image, a successive series of self-presentations.

Goffman's theory and social networks

Currently these self-presentations could be each of the photos and videos that we send to all those who follow us on social networks, as a way to create a positive image of others to obtain benefits on their own followers. But not only that would serve to sell our public image, but also each of the interactions we carry out on a day-to-day basis.


The meeting with the baker when buying the bread, the daily coffee with the coworkers, the appointment with that person that a friend introduced you ... Any of these scenarios involves the creation of impressions and, depending on your interpretation, the people with whom you interact will impose one personality or another.

From this perspective, identity is the way of presenting oneself as a function of the advantages and disadvantages of the possible multiple identities of the subject at a given moment. In short, Goffman's theory of social action would explain a set of roles that we are interpreting in each interaction with the objective of obtaining benefits and, above all, of being welcomed by society.

Goffman insists that such a play of representations never transmits the real identity, but rather the beloved identity, therefore, human behavior is characterized by the techniques of advertising, marketing and interpretation, which is why Goffman's model reflects the importance of negotiation as a form of social interaction .

The public image market

It is easy to conclude that it is a somewhat Machiavellian identity theory based on the superficial, the aesthetic and the false. However, the similarities of the conclusions of this author with the world of social networks and personal treatment, in which there is no room for suffering and misfortune but everything is hidden behind the products of a supermarket of happiness, appearances and aesthetics, they are very real and it is necessary to take them into account.

At least, to make us aware that the person behind that Instagram account may be far from the person who is actually .


Social Interaction & Performance: Crash Course Sociology #15 (December 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Erving La théorie de l'action sociale de Goffman

Erving La théorie de l'action sociale de Goffman

Juillet 31, 2022

En regardant simplement les messages de vos amis ou de vos abonnés sur des réseaux sociaux tels que Facebook ou Instagram, vous pouvez voir la façon dont les gens reflètent leur vie et leur personnalité à travers les photos et les vidéos qu'ils téléchargent.

Cependant, dans ces réseaux, aucun des membres ne présente de signes de souffrance, de difficultés ou de tristesse. Nous voyons beaucoup de photos de visages heureux, de paysages, de sourires, de phrases de dépassement; et pourtant il n'y a pas de place pour une réalité aussi écrasante et certaine que l'existence de la douleur et de la souffrance humaine dans la vie de chaque personne.

Que sait-on vraiment des autres quand on voit leur profil sur les réseaux sociaux? Ces plateformes virtuelles peuvent-elles nous dire à quoi ressemblent réellement les gens?


Ce marché des échantillons de bonheur que nous trouvons chaque fois que vous ouvrez des réseaux sociaux, peut être vu à partir d’une des grandes théories de la personnalité, développée par le sociologue et écrivain Erving Goffman.

Erving Goffman et la personnalité créée par les interactions

Cet auteur développe son travail autour de la création de personnalité à travers des interactions avec les autres. Il défend qu'une grande partie de notre comportement dépend de scénarios interpersonnels et prend généralement la forme de ce que nous voulons réaliser et de ce qui nous intéresse parmi nos interlocuteurs. C'est un traitement constant de notre image avant les autres.


Selon Goffman, l’interaction consiste toujours à définir la situation de manière à permettre de maîtriser les impressions que les autres forment de nous. Dans cette perspective, La meilleure définition qui correspond à la personne est celle d’un acteur qui joue un rôle et cela agit par des interactions avec les autres.

À partir de cette théorie, l’interaction consisterait à créer des impressions permettant de former les déductions qui nous sont bénéfiques et qui reflètent les intentions et les aspects de l’identité que nous souhaitons communiquer, faisant de la relation avec les autres une gestion continue de l’image publique, une séries successives d’auto-présentations.

La théorie de Goffman et les réseaux sociaux

Actuellement, ces auto-présentations pourraient être chacune des photos et vidéos que nous envoyons à tous ceux qui nous suivent sur les réseaux sociaux, afin de créer une image positive des autres pour obtenir des avantages pour leurs propres abonnés. Mais cela servirait non seulement à vendre notre image publique, mais également à chacune des interactions que nous entretenons quotidiennement.


La rencontre avec le boulanger lors de l'achat du pain, le café quotidien avec les collègues, le rendez-vous avec cette personne qu'un ami vous a présenté ... Chacun de ces scénarios implique la création d’impressions et, selon votre interprétation, les personnes avec lesquelles vous interagissez imposeront une personnalité ou une autre.

Dans cette perspective, l'identité est la manière de se présenter en fonction des avantages et des inconvénients des identités multiples possibles du sujet à un moment donné. En bref, la théorie de l'action sociale de Goffman expliquerait un ensemble de rôles que nous interprétons dans chaque interaction dans le but d'obtenir des avantages et, surtout, d'être accueillis favorablement par la société.

Goffman insiste sur le fait qu'un tel jeu de représentations ne transmet jamais l'identité réelle, mais l'identité bien-aimée. Le comportement humain est donc caractérisé par les techniques de la publicité, du marketing et de l'interprétation. C'est pourquoi Le modèle de Goffman reflète l'importance de la négociation en tant que forme d'interaction sociale .

Le marché de l'image publique

Il est facile de conclure qu’il s’agit d’une théorie de l’identité quelque peu machiavélique basée sur le superficiel, l’esthétique et le faux. Cependant, les similitudes des conclusions de cet auteur avec le monde des réseaux sociaux et du traitement personnel, dans lesquelles il n'y a pas de place pour la souffrance et le malheur mais où tout est caché derrière les produits d'un supermarché de bonheur, d'apparences et esthétique, ils sont très réels et il est nécessaire de les prendre en compte.

Au moins, pour nous faire savoir que la personne derrière ce compte Instagram peut être loin de la personne qui est réellement .


l'interactionnisme (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes